??!
1 photo
Holman Dial EZY Controller

Holman Dial EZY Controller

2.1 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Anthony K.

Anthony K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Losing time

published

My 4 station Dial(not)Ezy controller has been losing time. I called Holman and was told to either claim under the 12 month warranty or bin it. It was not marketed as a disposable component so i think i had a reasonable expectation that it would last longer than 18 months. I would not recommend Holman to any reader. The irrigation fittings are obscenely expensive and you can’t rely on the control panel to run them efficiently. Bin it? Bin Holman.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$150.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Faulty products

published

The second one only lasted 2 years the first one lasted 4 years holman please contact me to organise a free replacement . I will than alter my review. Now bunnings do not stock this product

Incentivised ReviewNo
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

EZY to program with lots of timing and watering options.

published

New 6 station external unit replaced older Holman unit. Very easy change over about 30mins all up. Recently successfully fitted a Hunter brand wireless rain sensor to comply with NSW water restrictions. Performed as expected during recent thunderstorm. One small niggle can’t get the rain delay days program to save. I can adjust the number but it just keeps flashing without saving. Is there a missing sentence in the manual?

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Paul, the number you have input is set, it will flash, but this is set. No need to press anything further.

Garden Tools

Find out how Holman Dial EZY Controller compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eye for detail

Eye for detailPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

Hopeless

published

Like many others here I have been through multiple units (two in my case) with each failing. They are clearly very cheaply made andjust don't last. Don't bother with this product, try something else. I've just put in a B-HYVE WiFi unit and it is a revelation!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Scott the Landscape PRO

Scott the Landscape PROThe Mallee, VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 22 likes

2 time round this basic 6 station controller is working well,

published

First one died with no apparent error but no signal transmitted to stations, but returned to bunnings and they replaced it on the spot, the second one has been going for 12mths no problems.

The Dial Ezy Irrigation Controller is designed for residential applications.

This six station controller enables you to set up separate start times, to a maximum of six starts per day.
Each start time can be set as a separate watering schedule.
The (valves) will water in sequential order and on the days selected.

This controller is great for low pressure and drip irrigation systems and for enabling flexible watering schedules to suit your local environment or watering restrictions.

Must be mounted indoors or under cover

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
dkk

dkkPerth

Same problem as IAN 11 NOVEMBER 18

published

Second controller, wont retain settings .Horrible product. Pity, i had previous model for years
Worked fine.Have contacted holman via there email contact page. Haven't heard back.They should recall product and issue refund. Obviously all controllers are duds.Refunds and apologies should be issued. Make whomever is responsible for this batch accountable

Date PurchasedNov 2018
3 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
dkk
dkk
Holman
Holman I.Holman

please call our service team who will walk through the programming with you to check it is not a programming error, they will then be able to replace it for you if it is indeed faulty.
1300 716 188.

Ian

IanPort Kennedy

Dial easy

published

Does not retain input values, date,time, start time, run times defaults when you turn the dial back to auto. Have to reset the times every time than it loses the information when you switch back to auto. Ok it's a brand new unit and doesn't do what you claim it should do.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Ian, please call us on 1`300 716 188 for assistance with this. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Fred

FredMandurah

  • Verified purchase

which wires do you connect to get power and to use auxiliary manual water outlet from bore

published

The connection details are different from one Holman to another Holman irrespective of the same number of solenoid connections, when my brand new controller is turned on to power, it tells me the battery is faulty, far from happy, totally inconvenient, supplier too far away to make easy warranty return

Date PurchasedJun 2018
2 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Fred
Fred

thankyou.

martin

martinmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

holman pro 469

published

Hi ,
What a lot of crap , I have spent so much wasted time trying to get the irrigation set up .
The same thing is happening to the controller that I have . I have had this for over 2 years and has never worked properly .
I have only 1 program set to go off with 4 stations . Station 1 starts when its supposed to but station 2,3 and 4 all start one after another and not at the times that they are set to start and the entire cycle will just keep on going .

Date PurchasedMay 2015
4 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
martin
martin

Thank you for the comment but I have only set each station to go of once.
Can you please advise if there is some way of setting the controller back to a default mode, that will solve everything if what you wrote is correct .
Cheers,
Martin

Holman
Holman I.Holman
Garden Tools

Find out how Holman Dial EZY Controller compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rhonda

RhondaGeraldton

It is so easy to set and forget just great when you program properly I love my dual timer. It is my

published

Dual timer is my jewel so easy and saves me so much time I’m now thinking about getting the 400 I am so impressed with the 200 . My front lawn has never looked so good now I can put the mower to good use and give myself a workout as well . Don’t know why the bad reviews I give it top marks.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Vince

VinceGlenbrook

I have bought a dial ezy plus

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Vince, Thank you for your review! We are Australian owned and operated. If you require any further assistance, you are welcome to call us on 1300 716 188
Thank you, your Holman Service Team

J.L.

J.L.Perth

  • Verified purchase

Power supply plugpack fail within 12 months

published

I bought the Dial EzyPlus from Bunnings. The power supply plug pack failed recently. Brought this to Bunnings for an exchange but was informed the EzyPlus is no longer available and they are unable to assist :-(.

Very upset as I paid $89 for this. Would have expected the power supply to last longer than this. Power supply is kept indoor and no chance of rain damage.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Leanne

LeannePerth

  • 6 reviews

Tricky but worth it!

published

So easy to instal. Had a bit of trouble programming my timer but called the staff there and they were amazingly patient going thru all the programming with me. Wonderful Australian support
My irrigation now runs perfectly and i am very happy with it. Such a great product for a beginner gardener like myself and at a budget price. Good job Holman

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Thank you Leanne for your review. We are Australian owned and operated. If you require any further assistance, you are welcome to call us on 1300 716 188
Thank you, your Holman Service Team!

Glen

GlenADELAIDE

  • 4 reviews

CLOCK LOSES TIME

published

I have bought 5 DIALEZY controllers and every time they seem OK until they are turned off for winter... on switching on in summer the programmes are still in memory but clock loses up to 4 hours ever day. They really are only reliable for the 12 months of warranty and seem to fail just outside warranty ... will not buy another one.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Generally very good but very unhappy with Holman

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
4 comments
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Greenink
Greenink
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Garden Tools

Find out how Holman Dial EZY Controller compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scholl

schollMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Health Hazard

published

This unit compared to the 28 year old mechanical one it replaced is difficult to program, for the not so young, make sure the unit is at eye level, as recommended, then struggle with the tiny writing identifying each function. This unit should come with a health hazard warning, EZY is misleading, setting up 6 stations for 1start is a health hazard, in my opinion, setting up 6 for multiple starts could prove deadly. This unit flashes OFP for OFF which was not a good start, will have to search for a mechanical controller and bin this, bought on eBay (will I never learn) at least Bunnings take returns over the counter.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Thank you Scholl for your review, you are most welcome to call our wonderful tech team in customer service and they will walk thru the programing with you. Thank you, your Holman Service Team!

FAULTY AFTER WINTER LAY UP

published

Im having the same problem. After the winter lay up - i.e. unit switched to OFF - turning unit back on to test run to AUTO the unit registers 'faulty' and 'AC supply'
Using a test meter across the transformer output terminals (orange wires) correct current is showing at approx 27 volts ( 24 output from transformer).
Unit is less than 1 year old and already not working. Single station not working, test run not working. New battery replaced. Glass fuse checked and ok.
Not impressed at all. Old unit still worked even tho LED display was faded.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello, Sorry to hear you are experiencing difficulties with your unit. Please call our customer Service Team on 1300 716 133 and we will be happy to help.

gardener

gardener

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just purchased a new unit to replace the old one, good controllers once set up correctly

published

Have used Holman Dial Ezy controllers before and never had a any issues if they are set up correctly'
I have a CRS1556PR I replaced the old Dial Ezy I had that was about 8 years old, so old the housing perished and the numbers faded, never missed a beat, not bad for around 8 years and it was in the house when we bought the house so is likely older.
Before you go and condemn any product make sure you have followed procedure to set it up, it is a computer after all. They must be installed on thousands of homes all over Australia, go figure the odds of getting a bad one.

Cheers gardeners

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman
Scooterman

ScootermanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Unit is faulty, when I switch to set day intervals it just shows me the current time

published

Unit is faulty, when I switch to set day intervals it just shows me the current time of day...it's useless like this, goes off every day. This unit was installed about 8 months ago by landscaper and I don't have a receipt... Has cost me a lot in wasted water and has killed my Murraya hedge by overwatering according to nurseryman. Cost me $160 to replace 21 plants. Keep away from Holman, it's junk.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Just keeps watering!

published

My Ezy Controller just decides it wants to re-run the programs continuously. I set 4 solenoids to go off 15 mins apart. After the 4th it starts again until I switch the dial to off and then back to Auto for my next day of watering. Hardly "Ezy". The clock is also losing time so I have to adjust it each week. Wouldn't buy another one.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

This is a programming error. You need to have a single start time set, with start 2, 3 and 4 set to off. This will fix the issue. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Heather

Heatherasked

What warranty does the Holeman Ezy 6 station irrigation controller have?

1 answer
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Heather, for product support, please call us on 1300 716 188. Thank you, your Holman Team!

Rick M.

Rick M.asked

What the heck is the off button for, when it wont turn off. I think this controller is a dud.

No answers
Pete

Peteasked

My Holman ezy one 8 station controller comes up power fault. Have checked power supply and is ok, changed battery with a new one, also replaced the whole controller with a new one. Still shows up power fault. Can set time, date and program controller but cannot test stations or run stations manually.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holman representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.