??!
2 photos
Holman Water Whiz

Holman Water Whiz

400, 200, 100
1.7 from 30 reviews

Reviews

(3)
(1)
(1)
(3)
(22)


Peter

PeterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish

published

The first unit worked irregularly, replaced it, second one started leaking, third now working irregularly. All of this within 2 months of purchasing, will be returning for a refund now.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $164.00.


I have 3 WaterWhiz 200's that work perfectly

published

I have been using 3 WaterWhiz 200's for around 2 years and their operation has been faultless. They are reliable and work every time. I am surprised at all the negative reviews for this product.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $109.00.

DON’T EVER BUY

published

This product does not deserve 1 Star.

Like most people it says it’s watering but nothing happens. Bought it today and immediately failed, never worked, replaced 3 hours after the original purchase and the second unit worked once and then nothing.

This is beyond a joke considering it is not a cheap timer.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $164.00.

Mark

MarkCentral, SA

Useless

published

I bought this to water a property I own in the country that I do not live at . Like the other reviews , the valves to not switch on even though the screen shows water is on. This is both on manual and auto . So disappointed when you see your garden dying because this thing does not come on. I’m astounded that this is a known issue for a few years now and it is being still made and sold . What a waste for such an expensive timer

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $175.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Hopeless

HopelessGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Absolutely Hopeless

published

I have now returned this thing twice spend time and I'm still trying to get it going it shows its watering but nothing happens on both Manual and automatic, mode Any Suggestions!!!!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $105.00.


Anthony

Anthony

  • 2 reviews

It indicates it watering but no water

published

This is garbage. Purchased both th 200 and 400 series. 200 has been swapped out once and now have the same problem with the 400. It doesnt water even though it indicates it is. Also zone 3 manual operation doesnt work on its own.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $160.00.


Mando1163

Mando1163Western District, VIC

Works once then requires reset

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.


Karen

KarenSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

NO WATER!

published

Does NOT work! Did not come on the morning we were to go away and could not even get it to function on manual. Went online to check reviews and low and behold people with exactly the same problem. NOT RELIABLE!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $100.00.

Mary

MaryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don't waste your money

published

Had one of these which worked well for 2 weeks then a hit or miss situation, valves wouldn't open on 2 of the outlets. After re programming several times trying to get it to work returned it to Bunnings for a replacement, same situation one of the zones not functioning at all. This timer is not fit for the purpose intended, how could you possibly go away and rely on it working. Having now read other reviews Holman must be aware of this inherent fault and should be doing something to rectify the situation. A pile of rubbish!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Unusable

published

I bought this to water my garden for a week while I was away on holiday. I set it up correctly as per the instructions and it simply wouldn't work. One tap would work but the other wouldn't and pressing OK would sometimes reset the device and make me set the time all over again. It just seemed to work at random.

I ended up returning this after wasting a day of trying to get it working. Don't bother buying this junk.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $105.00.


steve.adams.102977

steve.adams.102977Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Failed after about one week of use

published

I purchased this item earlier in the year but only recently installed it. One of the cycles continually failed to activate after a week of use even though the image on the screen showed water exiting the tap . (And yes the water supply tap was turned on ) . The many negative online reviews along with my experience with this lamentable product meant I decided not to bother with seeking an identical replacement from my supplier ( Bunnings) as I have zero confidence in its ability to meet my expectations. I opted for a cash refund.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.


Du P.

Du P.Sydney, NSW

Great product!!

published

Surprise that got so many negative feedbacks ! But it works so well for me.
My only problem and why I searched it today, is because I need purchase for the 4 outlets rather than 2 outlets. Headache !!

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $80.00.


Mat

Mat

  • 2 reviews

frustrating

published

Had one of these units recently and have had to replace it twice in the space of 10 days. Installed them for a new lawn so had to have a functioning unit. It failed almost every time, either one of the four stations would come on and not the others, a couple of times no stations would come on at all. Even had issues turning it on manually. Constantly bleeding the unit as per the instructions. Holman are obviuosly well aware of this. Very frustrating and after the second unit failed. Also had purchased a Holman manual four hose splitter brass unit that worked for 5 days and then water spewing out the sides. I chose Holman because they're an Aussie brand but certainly won't purchase or recommend this brand.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Thank you Mat, we will pass your feedback on.


Daveo78

Daveo78Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Run for 12 months flawlessly

published

Had the 4 station Pope model and took it back after 1 week. One station just kept flowing everytime it turned on. Spent more on the four outlet Holman and honestly they are light years apart. 12 months later and it still has full battery. No issues. Fingers crossed it continues.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $150.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

hello Daveo78, Thank you for your review.

john.38

john.38Northeast, VIC

Latest units unreliable

published

Had a unit for 12 months and was really happy until every time I tried a manual water the unit would lose the time and day. Continued doing this after battery change.
Fortunately the unit had a 2 year warranty and I returned it to Bunnings. I have have since exchanged 3 units over the last month all with the same issue of being very unreliable. After ringing Holman Tech support, I was advised that I must have a pressure issue.
This seems very unlikely as it is usually 1 out of the 2 zones that doesnt work . And this is random.
It appears there have been many people with the same issues. I just hope Holman do take note and fix this common problem .

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $105.00.

UnHappy

UnHappySouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Don't waste your money , should have read reviews .

published

Purchased at Bunnings 13/11/2019 for $105 . Seemed perfect for my needs .
Connected , tested , all good , set 2 zones 2 x 10 min. watering twice a day every 3rd day .
Headed off for work away for 2 weeks .
Arrived home to a dry unwatered garden with dried out & dead pot plants and garden.
Checked operation , switched to manual & yep it operated but the valve didn't open .
NO Watering at all .!!
Bunnings refunded money .
Why sell a known faulty product I asked ?

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Leopold for $105.00.


Steve

SteveHunter Region, NSW

Fails to Operate

published

I bought this a couple of months ago thinking that it would be just what I needed as we regularly spend time away from home. What a dreadful mistake. I should have read all the reviews. It seems to operate OK when sitting on my kitchen table (ie the valves open and close as programed) but doesn't operate when attached to the garden tap. On manual control it only works about 25% of the time. My fruit trees are too precious to leave them to be watered by this device.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $125.00.

1 comment
Holman
Holman I.Holman

Hello Steve, thank you for your review.


JaiCee

JaiCeeMoncrieff 2914, ACT

Absolute Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.

1 comment
JaiCee
JaiCee

Update today... none of the zones turned on... don't waste your money. The Orbit has 5 star reviews


Leigh.

Leigh.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Unreliable, seldom worked.

published

We have one of these timers and have had it for two years and it works faultlessly.
Needing a second timer, I bought another one exactly the same.
The second timer is useless. Doesnt come on when programmed. And having used the same timer previously, I know how to operate it!
Cost me my lemon tree, as it died while we were away over winter.
Bunnings were superb, offering first a change over, and it was faulty too, then my money back.
Purchase this timer at your peril.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $99.00.


Neil

NeilSydney, NSW

  • 18 reviews

Not rubbish....but close

published

I had a Pope 3 way timer for ten years but the programming button wore out so I went shopping at Bunnings. I found the Holman 4 way and decided the extra outlet could be useful so I bought one. To be fair I've been using it for 18 months without a problem until the feeder pipe started leaking inside the unit and now sprays water all over the electrical equipment inside. As a result its heading for the bin. I've just been to Bunnings to buy a 3 way Pope. So I'm not going to tell you how to spend your money but I had a $99 Pope timer for 10 YEARS and a $169 Holman for 18 MONTHS. If you do the maths.......... Good luck with whatever you choose to buy.

Purchased in May 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $169.00.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Nick M

Nick Masked

My Water Whiz 400 keeps resetting the time by itself. I have it on Auto, when I come back to it is on 'set time' and the time has changed.
How can I stop it doing this please?

2 answers
DrDG
DrDG

Hi Nick, I have never experienced this issue myself. Have you tried to reset the Water Whiz and try setting the time again. To reset it, press and hold the OK button till the time is reset to 7.00am. The unit will be in default settings now. Also make sure that your batteries have a good charge and are not close to being dead.

Nick M
Nick M

Dear Dr DG
Thank you for your prompt response
I renewed batteries (they seemed OK) and reset as you suggested. Clock seems to work now - and switches on at the right times etc.
It runs the first channel, then gets stuck on the second - won't send any water now even on manual to channels 2,3 or 4. Channel 1 works fine.
Any ideas? Maybe a malfunction?
Nick


hugh

hughasked

How do i stop water flowing out from under screw on part on top of timer

1 answer
DrDG
DrDG

How are you Hugh,

How much water is flowing/leaking out and does it leak continuously? Let me know please. I have never had this problem with all 3 of my Water Whiz 200 timers. Have you checked to see if the screw connection is tight. You may need to used white Teflon tape to help stop the water leaking out. Hope this helps.


kane g.

kane g.asked

Do you have to reduce the water pressure going into the 400 because it’s just popping the droppers off at full pressure

1 answer
DrDG
DrDG

No I don’t adjust the water pressure. The water timer just connects directly into the tap with no issues at all.


Get an answer from our members and Holman representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.