?
? !
1 photo
Hoover Paws and Claws

Hoover Paws and Claws

2.6 from 10 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (5)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (4)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (2) · No (5)
Previous
Next
Kelly

KellyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Awful Vaccum! Broke after 6 months

published

We were sold this for $350 and it has poor suction & fliter has fallen apart in less than 6 months and store wont assist as thats "normal" Our old $99 vaccum was 1000x better.

Purchased in March 2020 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Kelly
Kelly
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kerryn L.

Kerryn L.South West, WA

Poor quality

published

Over a period of 17 months both wheels have broken off the foot, the telescopic pole no longer latches in place and a piece has snapped off the nozzle meaning it no longer fits snugly in the pole. Terrible quality and the worst $399 I've ever spent. Would not recommend this model or brand.

Purchased in January 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Heidi R.

Heidi R.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews

So work needs to be put into it

published

I use his product to clean dog hair off my floor and carpets. It’s not the best with the fur... it only gets about half of it and you really need to put your back into it to get it off. Suction isn’t powerful and it clogs up pretty quickly. It needs improvements but it’s about right for its value.

Purchased in July 2019 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Paws and Claws compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed

DisappointedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

only good for 10 uses

published

I bought a Paws and Claws Hoover vacuum, was left unopened for the first 4 months, used it a dozen times and now will not turn on. Was told that i should've bought a more expensive machine if i wanted it to last longer and that i should just buy another one. (because i purchased it on special)

Purchased in December 2018 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
L and L

L and L

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Great Suction

published

We have 4 bedrooms, large living area and hardwood floors with one area rug and the power of this vacuum is great. Only quibble is that very occasionally when vacuuming on strong suction on the rug the brush attachment comes off.

Purchased in November 2019 at Godfreys for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Hoover
Godfrey G.Hoover
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vin Lever

Vin LeverMid North Coast, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

A handy vacuum cleaner - solid performer at a good price

published

A handy vaccum cleanner. It has the cyclonic action and sucks up heavy dirt in the carpet. Not too noisy. The vacuum is pretty solid for plastic and built well and it is easy to clean the cylinder out. Easy to drag around. I find I need to push harder to move the carpet cleaning attachment across the carpet due to the rubber blades when using on high suction.
Pulling it backwards makes it a bit easier but it sure can suck.
Good for pets as claimed.

Purchased in June 2018 at Godfreys for $439.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vahid H.

Vahid H.Perth, WA

Waste of money!

published

I bought this a year and a half ago. I used it once a week to vacuum our one-bedroom pet-free apartment. The suction was very good but the engine suddenly broke down last week! Only a few months after the warranty. So I have to chuck it away as replacing the engine would cost the same as buying a new one!

Purchased in February 2018 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $150.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MichaelM

MichaelMSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified

Quiet and powerful

published

This vacuum cleaner is just what we needed. It has a powerful cyclonic action and sucks up heavy dirt in the carpet. It also runs quietly making it more bearable for everyone in the house. The adaptors are handy to get into small places. I haven't used the pet brush tool as I don't have any furry pets. The vacuum is built well and it is easy to clean the cylinder out. It is stable and doesn't tip over easily. I find I need to push harder to move the carpet cleaning attachment across the carpet due to the rubber blades when using on high suction. Pulling it backwards makes it a bit easier. The hose attachment is made of strong plastic but over time it has cracked so I will be getting a replacement for it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barb

BarbVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

Can't go pass the price...

published

Great sturdy vacuum... excellent at picking up all animal hair...the attachments that come with it are handy for getting into those creases and corners... don't need to use my old toothbrush and that is a time wasted... doesn't leave that fine dust like my old one... looks like an expensive vacuum... greatly recommended...

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Hoover Paws and Claws compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Godsclaws

GodsclawsBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Pointless

published

What a stupid vacuum. It shouldn't be advertised for those with pets because it DOESN'T EVEN COME WITH THE BRUSH HEAD for getting pet hair off carpet! You have to buy it as an extra for either $50 online or $70 in store. It definitely didn't get the hair off my carpet or mats. You think it's fairly quiet until it sucks onto something. Then it makes a very sudden loud hissing noise which I guarantee will scare the fur off your pet. Stupid and pointless as a vacuum for pet hair for those reasons. The weakest vacuum in the world will suck up pet hair from a hard floor so it hasn't even got that as a selling point.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Nannaof7

Nannaof7asked

Trying to vacuum carpet and it is sooooo hard to use. Is there another switch on here to use other then foot one on head.

1 answer
MichaelM
MichaelM

Try reducing suction by opening red slider at the handle part. Make sure you don't have tile setting on the floor piece. I've found it harder to vacuum when pushing it forward compared to pulling backwards when vacuuming.

Get an answer from our members and Hoover representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $99.00
Bin Capacity1.2 L
HEPA FilterNo
TypeBagless
Cord Length6 m
Power1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.