?
? !
10 photos
Huawei Y5

Huawei Y5

2017, 2015, 2018, 2019
3.6 from 86 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.1 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (13)
  • Software
    3.2 (14)
  • Battery Life
    3.8 (13)
  • Camera Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Hardware
    3.0 (13)
Previous
Next
Michael A.

Michael A.Illawarra, NSW

Good Phone

published

I've had the phone a month now. I moved to the Y5 from an iphone 6 and I far prefer the Y5. I only use it as a phone and for internet and it is fast with no problems.

Purchased in December 2020 for $149.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Got problems

published

Connection is bad. Apps closes from ram, resets it, phone is... Not worth this money. Now in fix. Everything was good only for some days. Also got problem with cellular data saving.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Loz B.

Loz B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Slow slow slow

published

Slow phone. Looks good though. It’s slow just to move to the dial screen to type in a phone number. I don’t recommend this phone. Might be suitable for individuals who don’t care if it’s slow and may not notice lag as much. For someone who spends a lot of time on their phone, I don’t recommend it.

Purchased in January 2019 at Big W for $200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Mobile Phones

Find out how Huawei Y5 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pastor Alexander

pastor AlexanderGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

better than my s8 samsung

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $168.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
John Parker

John ParkerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Not worth buying

published

I purchased the Huawei Y7 2019 to replace a Samsung Galaxy S4 which is getting a little long in the tooth.
It was difficult to set up and many of the icons differ from standard ones.
I installed a mobile SIM card and my wife took it to Indonesia. It was next to useless as she could not get used to it. MY Samsung Galaxy S& is much easier to use even though it is much older.
I have now replaced the Huawei with a second hand Samsung S7 which is working much better.
I would not recommend buying this phone.

Purchased in November 2019 at Telstra On Line shop for $179.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Related Articles
Previous

Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Sezib

SezibNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Generic responses to research questions

published

Research told there was wifi calling and the Telstra rural blue tick. There is no wifi calling and the phone has worse coverage than the one it was to replace.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $159.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
kane

kaneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

decent phone but worth getting

published

not a bad phone alot better phones but good for a cheap phone battrey life good camera pretty bad and youtube graphics are not great can be glitchie but works well with games the most annoying thing is when people call u its comes up with unknown even when u put them on contacts

Purchased in June 2019 for $152.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Bob H.

Bob H.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Why Five Y5

published

Given 5 stars very practical size the battery way out lasts my previous phone camera gives excellent pictures even in dim lighting so much so that useage as a camera alone is value for money bought this year 2019 as well tried by others previously

Purchased in May 2019 at on line for $300.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Chelle

ChelleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Great phone

published

The Huawei Y5 2018 is a great phone, I use it every day to watch YouTube and play games on it, I haven't had it freeze on me too much but most phones freeze now and then. All my apps work well and with no interruptions.

Purchased in December 2018 at Coles Supermarkets for $99.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Mobile Phones

Find out how Huawei Y5 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LiSa_DmT

LiSa_DmTCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Horrible android operating system

published

The android operating system on this phone is terrible, i think that they have tried to make it simple to appeal to the apple market, but all that means is that they took away a tonne of the android features. There is No App Draw button or function and it makes the phone annoying to use. Hardware wise the phone is good.

Purchased in December 2018 at Kmart for $79.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dave

DaveSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for the internet (Sort'a), but useless for its primary task.

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Westfields vodafone for $200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
ouzocoke

ouzocokeNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Y5
  • Verified

Don't do it, walk away NO - Run Away.

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $600.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
0bserver

0bserverSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't bother

published

Phone is terrible. Laggy, slow, Not what you would expect in 2019. Absolutely terrible phone. Buy something else. Mine is going in the trash i'm so annoyed at how slow it is

Purchased in April 2019 at big w for $99.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Kbh

KbhGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good backup phone

published

Huawei Y5 2018
Android 8.0
No home button. Screen is good. Offer sd card expandion
With contacts. It is a bit slow to load the names.
I am satisfy with this phone with this price

Purchased in March 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
mates.in.china

mates.in.chinaNortheast, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Far better than we Expected!

published

Thought we'd take a punt after reading reviews - Under $120 AU NEW.
Went with Huawei just because Washington and friends are out to 'wreck' Huawei...
GPS is very accurate. We use 'Here' a navigation app as opposed to G/Maps. Camera is much better than many other higher level phones. and has many advanced features. My wife likes it better than her iPhone6 and is selling that to buy a Huawei also. Memory card addition is a big plus
We don't play games, so don't care about CPU/ Graphic speeds. However every app runs very well.
Looks nice, feels solid, not too bad in sunlight - And fits my work shirt pocket, which is essential for guys.
All in all worth way more than the investment. Good one Huawei - You've scored a new loyal customer.

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $128.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Mobile Phones

Find out how Huawei Y5 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Keith H.

Keith H.asked

Y5

how do you know if a battery is genuine.

No answers
Margaret L.

Margaret L.asked

Y5

can not get the phone to ring when i call have got the volume up loud but no sound what am i doing wrong

No answers
alaska m.

alaska m.asked

Y5

How do you remove the small icon on the right corner of Huawei y5?

1 answer
John Parker
John Parker

I do not know.
I had so much trouble with this phone that I got rid of it.
I will never buy another Huawai phone.

See all Huawei Y5 questions

Get an answer from our members and Huawei representatives

Huawei Y5

Details

Compare all 4 Huawei Y5
Huawei Y5 2018
  • Discontinued

Huawei Y5 2018

3.7
(7)
Huawei Y5 2015
  • Discontinued

Huawei Y5 2015

3.4
(33)
Huawei Y5 2017
  • Discontinued

Huawei Y5 2017

4.0
(39)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $199.00$149.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage
Charging PortMicro-USB
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight146 g142 g
Colour / FinishAmber BrownBlack
Dimensions 147.13 x 70.78 x 8.45 mm146.5 x 70.9 x 8.3 mm
Display
Pixel Density295 ppi
Display TechnologyIPS LCDLCD
Screen Size 5.71"5.45"
Screen Resolution1520 x 720 pixels720 x 1440 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetQuad-core 1.4 GHz
Battery Size3,020 mAh3,020 mAh
Internal Storage32 GB16 GB
Memory (RAM)2 GB2 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)8MP
Front Camera(s)5MP
Release dateApr 2019
Replaced byHuawei Y5 2019Huawei Y5 2017Huawei Y5 2018
Compare all 4 Huawei Y5
  • MPN: 1101001180
  • GTIN13: 6901443191123

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.