??!
1 photo
Husqvarna TS 242

Husqvarna TS 242

2.6 from 33 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.6

33 reviews
5
(7)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Safety
    3.5 (6)
  • Hill / Slope Performance
    3.3 (6)
  • Turning
    3.7 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Peta

PetaGreat Southern, WA

Don't buy this ride on lawn mower

published

Worst ride on lawn mower!!! I've had nothing but trouble after buying it 18 months ago to mow a 3 acre area around our house. Have taken it back twice to Agent/Seller & when they put on my statement that I didn't use the choke and throttle correctly, I was amiss. Today (3 months later), the belt came off the cutting mechanism!!! For the price of this machine, totally disappointed & would never recommend it

Purchased at star sales and service, albany wa for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Joel

JoelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Perfect machine

published

Had the mower for 5 years done over 600 hours on a large 45 acre farm, yes replaced a few spindles but for the amount of work is understandable.
Would 100% recommend. Kohler motor is unbreakable giving service intervals are met,
Original motor, original deck and tyres.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Adrian

AdrianNorth Queensland, QLD

Owned a John Deere- won't go back!

published

I have owned a John Deere D 110 in the past- tractor was reliable but the deck spindles had to be rebuilt every time I sharpened or replaced the blades- so far the husqvarna only has 26 hrs- first blade change- original spindles will go round again.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna TS 242 compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex L.

Alex L.North-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great machine

published

perfect for my little 3 acre block, I have the ts242d, great on slopes and soft areas, haven't hot it bogged yet, can still cut while in reverse. Easy to clean and service. Reliable with a Kawasaki engine.

Purchased in September 2019 at north west mowers burnie tas for A$4,750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
jazton

jaztonPerth, WA

Rubbish

published

Waist of money backfired in 15 mins wouldnt start again and cheap spindles needed replacement after accidentally small rock.
Now there is a recall for the fuel system cheap machine in my veiw

Purchased in September 2016 for A$3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Marco

MarcoPerth, WA

Don't touch these

published

Quick release system is useless, very easily damaged, mine has been ripped off twice and spindle has been damaged
Always having problems starting it....
To much of a pain in the head.... absolute junk and thats all after only 3 years old with 65 hours on the clock
Husqvarna should be charged by Consumer Affairs for selling these as mowers.

Purchased in November 2016 for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Functionality
Hill / Slope Performance
Turning
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers

Yep, never again.

published

I've had my ts242 for a couple of years now, only about 60hrs on the clock. Always seems to have something going wrong with it. My acre block is not the easiest to mow, but today I hit a small clump of dirt and broke the alloy belt housing that attaches to the mowing deck. This is the THIRD TIME. It just has no strength. Also, the blade indicator light keeps coming on and also not engaging when I can't see anything wrong with it. Always clean it out and give it a bit of a wash. It just seems to be a piece of junk, thinking about swapping to a John Deere, but after reading the reviews, they don't seem to be much better. May as well cut my lawn with scissors.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Husqvarna mower

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Bear

BearYangan

Absolutely pathetic. I purchased a 138, when it was less than 3 months old with 12 hours on meter

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna TS 242 compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Country consumer

Country consumerNorthern Region, NSW

Good mower if used with care

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Major problem at 16hours

published

Both spindles had to be replaced at 16 Hours, also had starting problems when new the choke needed fixing, apart from this the mower is fine. I find the code method to switch on the ignition a waste of time. The mower is comfortable to use and very good at cutting the grass. So far I am reasonably happy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
noel

noelbellbrook nsw

great mower with a few problems

published

have ts24 replacing lth21 42 more speed more talk a great mower apart from one problem the new quick blade release in the first few hours of mowing cap came off chewed up by blades next mow the other one came off yesterday removed blades fore sharpening the brackets that hold blads on were very hard to undo because of the buildup of hard dirt had to use the wd spray the blade holders are hinged with two cotter pins on one side they went awol don't know how the blade stayed on pretty scary thought still on the original blades there is a bit of wear through not being protected by the caps i think the idea of a quick release system is a good one but it needs much improvement i think there should be a recall it is dangerous

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Brian

BrianChilders

Too clever

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Phil J

Phil JCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does what I need it to do

published

After much researching I bought the TS 242 despite some of the reviews on here. It came with poly trailer, cover and bottle of oil and was the best value mower I could find by far. It's perfect for my needs and I've had no problems with it at all (touch wood) aside from accidently starting it with the oil cap off. It only gets used 4 or 5 times each summer but it's over some pretty rough and step ground, it's handled everything so far without issues.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Rocket

Rocketperth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Value For Money

published

The cheapest mower i could find with the features it has. Great all round mower. Smooth operation. Nice big fuel tank. 5 year warranty when purchased with 5 litres of engine oil. Powerful Kawasaki Engine. I'm impressed with the features and priced well at $3799. I also thought the 36 months interest free deal was something to consider when purchasing one.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Ride-On Mowers

Find out how Husqvarna TS 242 compares to other Ride-On Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gh

GhSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Purchasers Review Husqvarna TS 242

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Gh
Gh
Daniel

DanielPerth

Couldn't get it running until I learnt of the Manual​ choke.

published

I purchased the TS 242 and used it twice. Then it stopped. I read everything in the manual and I've used ride on mowers before and still couldn't get it to start/ kick over. It sounded like it needed more choke...
Turns out some of the mowers have a faulty choke line. There's a manual override under the hood at the front of the engine. If you hold down the choke lever and press the electronic starter button it will work every time. Do this and then go get the choke adjustment done from the dealer. The dealer said it's quite common and once the adjustment is done, it's all sorted. Using this method also doesn't affect the engine, it's just a pain popping the hood and reaching over everytime to start it.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bought it

Bought itAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

great no drama except reversing it of the ute was a bit tense

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

A case of more is less - much much less

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Doons

DoonsLismore

Issues are non stop

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Husqvarna 200 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Stephen H.

Stephen H.asked

TS 242

My 242 hit a small root and caused the blade to split the stone guard. The mowing mechanism now makes a dreadful noise when engaged. Can the the guard be welded apor will it have to be replaced? If so, approximately how much would this cost?

No answers
Willem V.

Willem V.asked

TS 242

Are the 242 and 342 ts now of a better quality now and are the spindles protected with a shearing devise in case of hitting an obstacle.? When a starting switch is accidentilly left on does the hour meter continues to count or does the meter only count when the engine is running? Which is important!
Looking forward to your reply WVB

No answers
Marthese S.

Marthese S.asked

TS 242

What are they like now with the Kawasaki engine

2 answers
Jim
Jim

No idea. Mines 7 years old

Peter kleinschmidt
Peter kleinschmidt

Kawasaki engine is great they fixed all the issues mine is 2 years old now only done 55 hrs but no problems at all

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.