??!
9 photos
Hyundai Santa Fe

Hyundai Santa Fe

CM, SM, DM, TM
4.0 from 183 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (26)
  • Braking
    4.0 (26)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (26)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (24)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (26)
  • Handling
    3.8 (26)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (26)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (26)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (26)
  • Features
    4.0 (26)
Previous
Next
Peta

PetaFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lane keep assist can't be permanently turned off

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Another Santa Fe with a Transmission problem

published

Purchased Santa Fe Highlander in 2014 No major problems until 2020 (105000kms) when the transmission broke while turning a corner. Having researched the internet, spoken to private mechanics and dealership service personnel this is a common problem which occurs around 100,000kms. I have experienced a complete lack of ownership of the problem and support from Hyundai customer care. Hyundai need to admit that this major problem is kilometer based not time based and extend the warranty for this problem to 150,000kms.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
David T

David TWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Death trap.

published

Engine has cut out on my daughter's 2007 Santa Fe with 180K on the odometer twice now, leaving her stranded across a couple of busy intersections. Local Ford dealer workshop replaced the fuel filter but this hasn't fixed it. Foreman has driven the car and tested it but can't find the problem.

Purchased for $7,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shiremum

ShiremumSydney, NSW

The most unreliable and defect ridden car I've ever had

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2013

Average quality, good gadgets

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Steve

Steve

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Santa Fe handled rough roads very well

published

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
N Menezes

N Menezes

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good mix of space, power, comfort, features, tech, versatility and safety

published

Good comfy spacious 2nd car. Versatile 7 seats, full size spare tyre, heated and ventilated seats, quilted contour electric memory leather seats with memory, lumbar support, reasonable economy for highway driving. Good turning circle and smooth ride and easy handling for size.

Purchased in May 2020 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bee F.

Bee F.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great suv

published

Good quality interior, great looking from the outside as well
Comes with android auto and Apple CarPlay
Loads of safety features including brake assist and lane warnings as well as blind spot warning

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
WIZBASKY y.

WIZBASKY y.

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Hyundai Santa Fe - Rusty Parts

published

I bought a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe in 2020, so it's 2 years old, and the boot door gas strut brackets are already rusting badly.

I used to be in the manufacturing industry buying services like powder coating & e-coatings for brackets so i know this is cheap shoddy work.

Brackets like this should not be rusting at all for a long time, maybe if it was parked by the beach non stop for 2 years I could understand, but even then it should not happen.

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cody A.

Cody A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

I LOVE MY HYUNDAI!

published

We brought our Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2014, last year and I've loved every second of owning it. I had numerous cars in the past, but this car beats the rest. It's smooth, extremely fuel efficient, the leather seats are a dream to clean and its spacious, making it ideal for the kids in the back.

From here on in, I'd only ever purchase another Hyundai.

Purchased at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Albert

AlbertPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Family Car

published

We have had the Santa Fe for 3 years now and the car has been pretty much perfect so far, except for one problem the electric hand brake has broken and it's pretty expensive to replace, but apart from that all good.

Purchased for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Very Dissapointing

published

I Own this Santa fe highlander 2016 from last 3 years. I had first 2 years very smooth but last 1.5 years are very dissapointing. The Suv had broken down twice & had to go back where i bought it from. The Sellers are pretty honest & friendly but overall quality for brand is average. I had this Hyundai brand after long time but sorry to say its really below average . M sorry Hyundai but m not gonna recommend any of ur car to my mates or any1 i knw at all.
Thanks
Very unsattiesfied & devastated customer.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jack D.

Jack D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Worst car

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Rachael Hallett

Rachael HallettAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Luxurious family car

published

Ive had my car since Jan 2016. I still genuinely love driving it. Its smooth, comfortable and luxurious. At this price point, nothing compares.

Ive had no major issues with the car but the after sales service is poor. There was a minor electric issue with a switch which was replaced at a service, under warranty. Occasionally the screen freezes which they dont seem to want to fix but its very sporadic and doesnt happen often.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Melanie L.

Melanie L.Hobart, TAS

Power and Economy

published

Purchased in December 2015 at JMC for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sogn

SognPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing features

published

Purchased in July 2019 at John Hughes Car Sales for $70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Robyn D

Robyn DWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Loved this car

published

Bought a 2016 D Sante Fe Highlander and it is the best car I have ever owned.
Loved the reactive cruise control plus all the safety features of this car.
Cannot rate it highly enough.
Love Love Love it!

Purchased in August 2016 at Hyundai Dealers for $56,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Steve Botha

Steve BothaPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews

Best value for money quality car ever!

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Mandurah Hyundai for $64,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Roddy

RoddySydney, NSW

Great SUV for the price.

published

Great SUV for the price. I purchased this car a year and a half ago and was delighted with the price as it has all the latest safety features. I drive almost every day and it is a delight to drive being rather nimble to handle. so far I have logged up 11,000 km and had one 2000 km trip. I leave all the seats down and have a single mattress in the back so that when I go away if I need to I can sleep in the back. It has heaps of room and is very economical on a trip. My previous car was a Toyota 2010 Kluger and I must say I enjoy driving this more. Great acceleration when needed and has a sporty feel.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Gerry

GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Diesel fuel economy shocking, Build quality good, infotainment glitchy

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Lara

Laraasked

Santa Fe DM (2012-2018)

I have had mine (2015 model) for just over 5 years and am having to replace diff pushers and diff pushing for over $2000. Warranty expired in August just gone and was told that I must have been driving on the beach, or over some terrain by Hyundai. They are refusing to cover it. RAC said that he has heard this is common with Hyundai sante fe cars.

No answers
EMILY B.

EMILY B.asked

Santa Fe CM (2006-2012)

Vehicle shuts down after 15 minutes idling turbo changed after market did not come with pre sensor positioning would this cause shut down?

No answers
Susan K.

Susan K.asked

Santa Fe

does a 2010 santre fe have a pdf fitted

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 12 Hyundai Santa Fe
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $46,000$43,000$60,500$54,000
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.5 L/100km9.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.2L
Max Power147kW @ 3800rpm138kW @ 6000rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm241Nm @ 4000rpm440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 12 Hyundai Santa Fe

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.