9 photos
Hyundai Santa Fe

Hyundai Santa Fe

CM, SM, DM, TM
4.0 from 186 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Hyundai? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (29)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (29)
  • Braking
    4.1 (29)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (29)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (27)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (29)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (28)
  • Handling
    3.8 (29)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (29)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (29)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (29)
  • Features
    4.0 (29)
Previous
Next
Ole M8
Ole M8Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Extremely Reliable Vehicle

published

12/2012 DM Model Santa Fe AWD Auto Diesel
Extremely Reliable Vehicle, Very Roomy, Comfortable ride ,Fuel efficient, Quick vehicle for a diesel, Handling is solid an firm, brakes are also solid positive feel

Only One issue That they do have is they do smash rear diffs around 150-170Thous kms
Which is the only fault, its Expensive which will set you back $3900-$4200 for the Diff ONLY
The cause is due to a poorly built Diff Housing, Just ask the question if buying second hand if it has been changed

Overall it still a perfect, reliable Vehicle

Purchased in February 2020 at PrivateFleet for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Raffaele C
Raffaele CSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I never buy Hyundai ever Again

published

Hi, for 70thousand dollars you expect something, this is a piece of garbage, very noise on take off, body parts very loose and vibrating, after one month from purchase day, I had a problem with adaptive lights steering, has been at Phil Gilbert service for 2 weeks no one now this problem and no one now this car as this function, never been fixed, Parramatta Hyundai, never fixed, so this car is still faulty contacted Customer Care Australia, very rude, and not interested to fix the problem. So I'm saying people be very carefully when you buy a car especially $70.000 dollars.

Purchased in February 2020 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Raffaele C
Raffaele C

never buy Hyundai again, Australian Consumer not trusted, ACCC, not trusted. been tru all of them no help

Raffaele C
Raffaele C

Buyers, don't trust salesman or dealers, not even ACCC, trust your mechanic, ask questions before you buy

Damien W.
Damien W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Best car I’ve ever had!

published

I have the 2020 V6 Elite and use my car every day in heavy traffic and highway driving and everything in between. The V6 engine is wonderful and the transmission is smooth and very responsive. No turbo or diesel lag here. 206kW of power and most of it accessible at lower rev ranges. Very quiet, smooth over bumps.
Agree the lane keeping assist is annoying especially having to turn it off each time. It does work beautifully on highways though.
In short - it does everything well and can’t recommend it highly enough.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peta
PetaFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lane keep assist can't be permanently turned off

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Another Santa Fe with a Transmission problem

published

Purchased Santa Fe Highlander in 2014 No major problems until 2020 (105000kms) when the transmission broke while turning a corner. Having researched the internet, spoken to private mechanics and dealership service personnel this is a common problem which occurs around 100,000kms. I have experienced a complete lack of ownership of the problem and support from Hyundai customer care. Hyundai need to admit that this major problem is kilometer based not time based and extend the warranty for this problem to 150,000kms.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
David T
David TWestern District, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Death trap.

published

Engine has cut out on my daughter's 2007 Santa Fe with 180K on the odometer twice now, leaving her stranded across a couple of busy intersections. Local Ford dealer workshop replaced the fuel filter but this hasn't fixed it. Foreman has driven the car and tested it but can't find the problem.

Purchased for $7,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Shiremum
ShiremumSydney, NSW

The most unreliable and defect ridden car I've ever had

published
Incentivised Review No
Year2013

Average quality, good gadgets

published

Purchased in February 2020 for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve
Steve
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Santa Fe handled rough roads very well

published

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
N Menezes
N Menezes
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good mix of space, power, comfort, features, tech, versatility and safety

published

Good comfy spacious 2nd car. Versatile 7 seats, full size spare tyre, heated and ventilated seats, quilted contour electric memory leather seats with memory, lumbar support, reasonable economy for highway driving. Good turning circle and smooth ride and easy handling for size.

Purchased in May 2020 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bee F.
Bee F.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Great suv

published

Good quality interior, great looking from the outside as well
Comes with android auto and Apple CarPlay
Loads of safety features including brake assist and lane warnings as well as blind spot warning

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
WIZBASKY y.
WIZBASKY y.
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hyundai Santa Fe - Rusty Parts

published

I bought a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe in 2020, so it's 2 years old, and the boot door gas strut brackets are already rusting badly.

I used to be in the manufacturing industry buying services like powder coating & e-coatings for brackets so i know this is cheap shoddy work.

Brackets like this should not be rusting at all for a long time, maybe if it was parked by the beach non stop for 2 years I could understand, but even then it should not happen.

Cody A.
Cody A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews

I LOVE MY HYUNDAI!

published

We brought our Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2014, last year and I've loved every second of owning it. I had numerous cars in the past, but this car beats the rest. It's smooth, extremely fuel efficient, the leather seats are a dream to clean and its spacious, making it ideal for the kids in the back.

From here on in, I'd only ever purchase another Hyundai.

Purchased at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Albert
AlbertPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Family Car

published

We have had the Santa Fe for 3 years now and the car has been pretty much perfect so far, except for one problem the electric hand brake has broken and it's pretty expensive to replace, but apart from that all good.

Purchased for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Very Dissapointing

published

I Own this Santa fe highlander 2016 from last 3 years. I had first 2 years very smooth but last 1.5 years are very dissapointing. The Suv had broken down twice & had to go back where i bought it from. The Sellers are pretty honest & friendly but overall quality for brand is average. I had this Hyundai brand after long time but sorry to say its really below average . M sorry Hyundai but m not gonna recommend any of ur car to my mates or any1 i knw at all.
Thanks
Very unsattiesfied & devastated customer.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Santa Fe compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Rod
Rodasked
Santa Fe TM (2018-2021)

Three times I’ve been highway driving to Mittagong from Camden and my 2019 Santa Fe seems to miss a beat whilst driving at 110 km/h it drives perfectly it happened For about one or two seconds very much like your heart missing a beat.Anyone got any ideas thanks in advance

2 answers
Raffaele C
Raffaele C

Hi, Rod for this problem first thing I would check the fuel and fuel filters, is yor car petrol or diesel?

Rod
Rod

It’s a diesel

Lara
Laraasked
Santa Fe DM (2012-2018)

I have had mine (2015 model) for just over 5 years and am having to replace diff pushers and diff pushing for over $2000. Warranty expired in August just gone and was told that I must have been driving on the beach, or over some terrain by Hyundai. They are refusing to cover it. RAC said that he has heard this is common with Hyundai sante fe cars.

No answers
EMILY B.
EMILY B.asked
Santa Fe CM (2006-2012)

Vehicle shuts down after 15 minutes idling turbo changed after market did not come with pre sensor positioning would this cause shut down?

No answers
See all Hyundai Santa Fe questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai Santa Fe

Details

Compare all 12 Hyundai Santa Fe
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $46,000$43,000$60,500$54,000
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.5 L/100km9.3 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.2L
Max Power147kW @ 3800rpm138kW @ 6000rpm147kW @ 3800rpm147kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm241Nm @ 4000rpm440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm440Nm @ 1750-2750rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018
Compare all 12 Hyundai Santa Fe

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.