??!
2 photos
Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

3.4 from 36 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(11)
(6)
(5)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Ease of Assembly
    2.5 (4)
Milord

MilordDuffy 2611, ACT

  • 189 reviews

A fantastic day bed except for the assembly challenges

published

Purchased in November 2019 at IKEA ACT, Canberra for $757.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
Auspex

AuspexSydney, NSW

Slopes!

published

There is a slight but definite slope as the slats are designed to be slightly higher at the back to allow the bed to go in and out. You can see this with a spirit level. Makes you feel like you are rolling out of bed.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
Jacquie

JacquieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

stylish but a bit hard

published

We purchased this as a spare bed, but it became a regular use bed. The bed is beautifully constructed and good quality and stylish. The mattresses are less so. They are quite thin and hard. There is an option to purchase thicker mattresses, but if you ever use it as a day bed and have to stack the thicker mattresses, it will be to high.

Purchased in April 2017 at IKEA NSW, Tempe.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ahmad F.

Ahmad F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best one in the market

published

Since we just moved in from overseas, we had to buy a bed and also a sofa which we put in our living room. So, we searched everywhere and examined thoroughly every option, to be both chic and comfortable for longterm use. This is the one. You sleep on a bed with a firm mattress and sit on a double mattress which is nicely designed. The hardest part is the assembly though, which took me 5 to 6 hours in 2 days and that is why I gave it a 4 star.

Purchased in July 2019 at IKEA VIC, Springvale for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly

Designed to be looked at, not used.

published

Had the bed just over a year before I noticed some sagging in the middle. Removed the mattresses to find that all the screws had worn and fallen out and the frame had completely come apart. The wheels on the drawer had also twisted and fallen apart. It was put together perfectly well and I'm by no means too heavy, it's just poorly design for frequent use. The pull out section is not designed to hold weight properly. Clearly only effective as a single bed or decor.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

This will break due to poor design

published

The bed lasted a year of weekend use. The problem starts with how you pull the bed out. If you don't get the exact middle every time it looses at the back. This becomes more problematic over time as the wheels aren't really designed to be pulled on the carpet. This action twists the main support which will eventually pop out leading to the screws (attached to the back of the drawers) to eventually fail and rip out (destroying the bed). It looks pretty but because the wheels are crap and the main support area isn't thick nor actual wood the whole thing will break.

Style over function.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Awful.

published

this bed is absolutely terrible, it looks great when it’s first put together ( which takes ages! ) however, drawers broke straight away and i can’t even sleep on it anymore! The two compartments just came apart!! absolutely awful quality, having to buy a new bed now as i am unable to sleep on this bed anymore.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
RossS

RossSPerth

  • 2 reviews

Great all rounder

published

Love love love this piece. I was lucky enough to find one in the as is section in the Dove Grey colour. Absolutely nothing wrong with it. Purchased the harder memory foam mattresses to go with it. Looks great all compact in the daybed setup in my home office, easily converts to a King Bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
MishB

MishBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Ikea Day bed - really good

published

Takes ages to build but definitely worth it.
We have it in our spare room, and use it for guests. I have bought a foam mattress topper to put on top as the thin mattresses didn't cut it. Just have to store it when the topper isn't being used.
Haven't had any issues with the slats. However I have pulled the trundle out too far a couple of times, but I'm not sure if this has happened because I missed something when building it!!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great choice!

published

Great choice! We have a small bedroom and my husband and I open it and use it as a king bed every night! We've been using it for almost a year and we're so happy with the quality and practicality of it!

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Beautiful and practical but terrible quality

published

It is just above one year old, we keep it in guest room so it was used only few times and two slots are already broken. Hope I can buy new ones otherwise it is a fraud!

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Keeps getting worse

published

Even though the bed looks great it gives you such bad back ake, I have had this bed for a year and from the cost thought it would be a great bed for everyday use, it is not my back has never been worse and I can barley sleep on the product, i do not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Worst bed ever

published

This bed started out as a great.
Priced right although assembly was necessary.
It's a trundle and the slats are not sturdy.
My daughter cannot use the additional bed because it's bows in the middle. Had this bed a little over a year and within the first six months the drawers brok;They most likely cannot be replaced. The wholes make it essentially impossible to glue back together.
I have searched for replacement but have not found any. I will try to replace but unhappy with the quality of this bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Clark

ClarkWA, 6102

  • 7 reviews

Looks great!

published

Love this day bed. Bought it for my toddler and so glad we did! Great for a day bed or child's bed. Had a couple stay in it 2 weeks and it was fine but any longer and it would of been too hard. Perfect for a wee one. And will come in handy when she's old enough for sleep overs with friends. It's huge when extended!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
newhome

newhomeAU

  • 2 reviews

very nice and efficient

published

for the price we pay, it is probably worth of it, bed and sofa easy to install and expand.
however, if you are looking for something very soft, probably not a good idea.

Date PurchasedJul 2013
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
deanosimmo

deanosimmoAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Versatile bed

published

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it. She uses the bed during the day as a sofa, hanging out with friends, watching TV or doing homework on. Great addition of pull-out bed underneath and as storage. It is very solid. Easy to build.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Solid piece of furniture. Time consuming, but not complicated. Electric screwdriver a must!!!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Emily

EmilyToowoomba

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Functional bed for sunroom/guest bedroom

published
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Tahereh

TaherehWoodville, SA

  • 11 reviews

great if you have a small space

published

I bought this bed frame about one and half years ago. It still looks great. I especially love its drawers because my unit is small and I have a lot of stuff and no place to put them!!!! this bed frame really helped me with organising the extra sheets and etc. It is just a little small to sleep is you need a lot of space otherwise great product.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Kimmyv

KimmyvEtobicoke

Perfect for lounging around on with lots of pillows or a good nights sleep . Lots of wonderful stora

published

Assembly took approximately five hours. If you used a power drill it would be faster but it is not necessary. Easy to follow instructions . Just take your time and look each set of instructions over carefully . A wonderful product . We were totally satisfied .

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Rach79

Rach79asked

Would you buy a double duvet for this and tuck it under or buy a single duvet? Thanks

No answers
Foufou O.

Foufou O.asked

Could I use 2 norgedel regular twin
Mattresses on the Hemness daybed?

No answers
Angel B.

Angel B.asked

My husband just assembled this bed, got it used, but the drawers seem to catching and not opening and shutting smoothly....what can we do to fix this? There doesn’t seem to be any protruding screws, so not sure why it’s catching.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and IKEA representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.