??!
4 photos
Ikea MALM Bed Frames

Ikea MALM Bed Frames

3.2 from 35 reviews

Reviews

3.2

35 reviews
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Ease of Assembly
    1.5 (2)
Previous
Next
jaredbrownliehodges

jaredbrownliehodgesSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Squeaking non-stop

published

Assembly wasn't bad but have tired everything to fix this god damn squeaking. Would return it if I could find my receipt and be done with terrible cheap IKEA products ..

Purchased in February 2020 at IKEA NSW, Tempe for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly

Malm assembly difficult

published

Parts of the assembly were difficult or impossible (the silly metal criss-cross bars had the wrong screw sizes). The slats had to be individually inserted and there was little info in the instructions how to do it. Figure a ten hour job. Wouldn't recommend.

Purchased in December 2019 at IKEA for A$325.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
W B.

W B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Gas lift bed frame

published

Communivation was ok via email. Until I received a bed frame with wrong bar and then no answer over almost a week. Things scattered on floor, causing me stress of messy bedroom and loss of money. Never order online

Purchased in November 2019 at Tommy Swiss for A$375.00.

Beds

Find out how Ikea MALM Bed Frames compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Felix

FelixWestern Australia, 6155

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Unable to assemble due to wrong items packaged within

published

I had the packaging home delivered and found that the screws provided to assemble the support under the wooden bed slats are of the wrong size. It all came from the packaging within which is a disappointment. I tried to ring IKEA twice to only have my phone cut off after being on hold for 20 minutes and another for 15 minutes. I would appreciate if IKEA could get back to me to resolve the issue.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Time waster and lowest quality material

published

The Drawers dont fit under King bed and a joint whole broke after assembled the 4th time ( moved a lot lately)Extremely cheep material, accessories like drawers, side tables dont always fit to all Malm bed!

Date PurchasedJul 2013
Debi Slinger

Debi SlingerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 2 likes

Exceeded expectations

published

My daughter and I put this bed together on our own and she just loved it. Doesn’t freak. Good firmness / softness. Storage underneath better. Fits nicely in her room. Solid frame.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ash

Ash

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Solid and Cheap

published

Was one of the easiest thing to build Ive ever found from ikea. the wood is really light but really strong. Typical IKEA quality which was impressive. Will withstand quite the bedroom shenanigans.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Wan Lee

Wan Leeperth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to assemble and affordable

published

I have bought two of these from Ikea and very happy with them. The price is not that expensive and easy to be assembled. I assemble both bed frame by myself and the instruction is easy to be followed.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Zak.

Zak.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good but quirky dimensions

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Beds

Find out how Ikea MALM Bed Frames compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chan

ChanAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Stylish and steady.

published

I have been sleeping on this bed frame for approximately 2 years now. My favourite part of the bed frame is they allow 4 drawers to be under the bed which is an optional purchase. It's very convenient as I use it to store my clothes and shoes. The bed is also very steady and strong, it does not make noises when you lay on it.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Frances

FrancesLondon

The worst bed I have ever bought

published

I bought Malm double. Difficult to assemble, supplied with 2 single Luroy wooden bed slats that balance side by side on the central bed frame support so fall out with the slightest movement. Drawers don't fit properly. I am accustomed to Ikea furniture assembly and have dismantled and reassembled the bed and drawers again with no improvement. My worse Ikea purchase ever!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Kt0000

Kt0000

  • 2 reviews

Decent cheap bed

published

The bed frame is difficult to assemble without a drill. The supporting beams are difficult to screw in, and the bed frame is very squeaky. The corners of the bed is also quite painful to walk into!

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Bad idea to discontinue low profile

published

IKEA changed the whole design of the MALM low profile bed frame making it not a low profile bed.
Very disappointing when one wants another low profile bed. The high bed frame does not offer the effect of a low profile which was original MALM bed.
If you are buying a MALM, make sure you know the design changed.

Date PurchasedJun 2009
vubby

vubby

  • 6 reviews

Simple but not the best quality

published

These bed frames are not made from the best wood but are sturdy nevertheless. Would not suggest buying it at full price, but they are more worth it if you catch it on sale. They also come with optional drawers.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Drawers don't fit!

published

Be wary, we ordered the king malm bed and the drawers didn't fit. When we returned the bed, we were informed that there is an old version that has been out for years and those drawers are slightly to big. Make sure you get the latest version king bed drawers!!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Beds

Find out how Ikea MALM Bed Frames compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Codes

CodesDubbo

Bed

published

Fabulous I am happy with my bed that I have got from you’s and it that strong and the money I spent it worth it and my bed side tables are fabulous as well

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Ivo

Ivo

  • 6 reviews

Good looking frame, squeaky with every little move

published

I bought the king size bed frame as I was attracted by the design and storage drawers. I thought it looked sturdy, however with every little movement it makes a squeaking noise. I've taken the mattress down and re-tighten all the screws. It still squeaks whenever I'm on it. I regret getting it as I'm always cautious and try to make minimal movement in fear of the slat/frame breaking.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Do NOT buy this bed!!!!

published

From the day I purchased the King Sized Malm platform bed, the slats do NOT stay put. I have even gone so far as to have two pieces of particle board cut to rest under the mattress and the slats STILL fell out. I have replaced the rails, I have taken the bed apart and put it back together man times, I've used longer screws....I hate this bed and can't wait to get another one!

Date PurchasedJul 2013
Glenn

Glenn

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for the price

published

It's just a bed frame. Nothing special.
Aside from the simple looks, it's utterly practical and of decent quality. I purchased it second hand for next to nothing and have had no issues with it over the last 2 years. There's no squeaks and it's feels stable and solid.

Date PurchasedApr 2014

Never a quiet moment.

published

This is hands down the worst bed I have ever used. So much so that when we move, we will probably have to pay someone to take it. Every little move you make makes the entire bed squeak so loud it will wake your neighbors up. It is constantly making noise. Even if you're able to fall asleep, good luck staying asleep if you breathe too much.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Chetan C.

Chetan C.asked

Has anyone tried a MALM IKEA King Bed frame with a Koala King Mattress ? IKEA King Bed frames are 202*180 and a standard king mattress like that of Koala's is 203*183. I love the MALM bed frame wondering if the mattress will just fit in ?

2 answers
Jaimee-Leigh F.
Jaimee-Leigh F.

I wanted to ask the exact same question! I’m not sure if a Australian standard mattress fits a ikea king as they are different :(

Moya D.
Moya D.

Did anyone ever test this out? @Chetan did you get the Koala mattress?

unknown

unknownasked

Can you pick which side you want the drawers on a MALM single bed?

No answers
Edd M.

Edd M.asked

Will the queen size headboard fit the double size mounting points for this bed (both are same model, just different sizes)?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.