??!
4 photos
iRobot Roomba 980

iRobot Roomba 980

MPN: 36403495
4.3 from 111 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(73)
(18)
(6)
(8)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (16)
  • Product is used:
    • Several times a week (6)
    • Weekly (5)
    • Daily (5)
    • Rarely (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (16)
  • Pet OwnerYes (10) · No (6)
  • System Errors Occasionally (8) · Never (4) · Often (2) · Every time (1)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    4.5 (14)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (15)


Josh D.

Josh D.Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I got a similar one off Thetechworldcompany.com they have the best pricing for irobot cleaners

published

Pet friendly. Voice command. Lots of types aswell. Different colors. Io h h j h check h h h h h hoc h h hoc h b v check h h

Purchased in October 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers

Susan L.

Susan L.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Short lived

published

My iRobot Roomba stopped working after 13 months, 1 month out of warranty. Don't waste your money. It worked ok when it was working but what's the point of buying something that dies so quickly?

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot
Linda S

Linda SGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great Robot Vacuum

published

We’ve found the Roomba 980 to do a fantastic job on our carpet and a good job on our wooden floors. With the hard floors it sometimes flicks the dirt around and it doesn’t all get picked up. I love how the app works and how it can be programmed. It does a great job picking up our cats hair which is all over the place.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot
Slim Jim

Slim JimPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I now have more time for wine!

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Tanya C.

Tanya C.

  • 3 reviews

Excellent concept - but they need further development on quality.

published

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Often
See all answers

Sofia Ali

Sofia AliGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good but could be better

published

I love that this vacuum works autonomously, & cleans all areas of my house (tiles, floorboards & carpet) while I am at work. It does a great job. Only downfall is it easily gets caught and if this happens it stops in the middle of a job and requires manual intervention.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Often
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

brett w

brett w

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It's name is Betsy!!!

published

Since June our Roomba has cleaned our tiled and carpeted house brilliantly, even gets up the stuff on the mats near the doors. set and forget....program and start from our smart device while at work is fantastic.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

Smarty

Smarty

  • 6 reviews

what a time saver

published

We have had the 980 for three weeks now and it is awesome. Cleans the whole house while we are out. handles wood floors, rugs and carpets with ease. Works better than our stick vacuum. The remote app is a great addition as well.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Never
See all answers
Leila sh

Leila shSydney, NSW

Love my Roomba ! Extremely happy

published

We have laminate flooring , some rugs and tiles. Roomba clean all these surfaces very well . I no longer needed to vacuum clean the house since we bought Roomba 2 months ago. Easy to empty , very user friendly product! I can’t live without it

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $530.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Afternoon Leila
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 980.
Thanks iRobot

Captain Sunshine

Captain SunshineGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews

Fantastic...wish I had it 20 years ago!!!

published

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,259.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
System Errors Never
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Morning Captain Sunshine
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 980. You have said it best, these are a must have to come home to nice clean house after a hard day at work.
Kind regards iRobot


No way would I recommend this

published

As a repairer of appliances, I would not recommend this product. They only supply minimal spare parts. If that part doesn't fix it, you are stuck out of pocket with parts and a product that does not work. They do not supply PCB control board in Australia. Buy a Samsung or LG!!!

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used: Rarely
See all answers

Busy Mum03

Busy Mum03Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it. Easily cleans a family house.

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Morning Busy Mum03
Thank you for taking the time the Roomba 980 has saved you to review it. These are a fantastic maintenance cleaner. Perfect for whilst you are at home doing other things or whilst you are out.
Kind regards iRobot


Worked well, for a week....

published

Started off working well and picked up an impressive amount of dust. Now works for 2 or 3 minutes then gets "stuck on a cliff" - even in the middle of a light coloured carpet that is free of shadows or any other dark colours. Very disappointed. Will be taking it back for a refund.

Purchased in April 2019.

Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Awesome robot cleaner

published

Better than expected, the amount of dust that was picked up in our carpet was phenomenal. We recently moved into a new home and had the carpets professionally cleaned, Roomba picked up a lot more than they did! The app is great, handy when you are in a different room and you can turn it on and off it goes.
We have tiles and carpet and it does both. Well worth the $$.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Morning Teagan
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 980. These are fantastic. Wait until you try using the app from work. Just make sure you give anyone at home a heads up.
Kind regards iRobot

AlyceFranklin

AlyceFranklinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my lil roomba!

published

I have a dog who sheds a lot and the roomba works wonders! I set it when I go out and it does the job with ease. I was concerned about how it would cope with the dog hair however a friend had one also too and she praises hers as well. Strongly recommend! Now it just needs a steaming option!

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $489.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
2 comments
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot
AlyceFranklin
AlyceFranklin

Great. Thanks for letting me know!

maria.fassoulakis

maria.fassoulakisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Much more effective than I expected

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
3 comments
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot
maria.fassoulakis
maria.fassoulakis

Thank you.
I will do

maria.fassoulakis
maria.fassoulakis

And I agree the set and forget is brilliant. Makes household maintenance so much easier


julliams

julliamsAustralia

  • 2 reviews

This product has made a big difference to our home

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Hande

HandeSydney

  • 4 reviews

The best in the market!

published

I’ve used another vacuum robot and it did a terrible job which was the same price as Roomba 980. Roomba 980 is a very clever robot, you can guess what it’s trying you to do and it’s fun to watch him go everywhere. App is great, once job is done, mapping of the area is perfect. Once it’s finished with the room, it starts to swipe the corners. Only downside would be that they could I’ve added a better side brush and bigger dustbin.
I highly recommend this machine to any other in the market.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Afternoon Hande
Thank you for your taking the time to review the Roomba 980. These are a fantastic device and the mapping on the app allows you to see where the Roomba has been and how many times it has cleaned a single area.
Kind regards iRobot


Grunky

GrunkyOcean Grove

Wonderful for elderly cat owner

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Yoyo

YoyoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent product

published

Very well, can go from tile to carpet with no problem. Also have the sensor to stop it to go area we don't want it to go, even we got dogs, love it to be able to pick up anything have no issue. Highly recommend to anyone which have kids and pets.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Good Morning Yoyo
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 980. You are 100% right, these are a fantastic device for anyone and everyone that has pets and kids and those that do not.
Kind regards iRobot


Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Nancy1

Nancy1asked

Will the room a get stuck if I have a fringe rug?

1 answer
iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Hi Nancy
It is possible, I have a couple of rugs that i have to fold or pick up so my Roomba doesn't get stuck on them. The alternative is to have the fringe under the rung when the Roomba is on.


David S.

David S.asked

Has anyone else updated to the latest iRobot app and after the update got an error 15 with no option to reset? I downloaded the app update and my poor Roomba 960 seems to have been bricked... Ive only had it out of the box for 6 months or so... is this a faulty version of firmware?

No answers

Ray G.

Ray G.asked

Is anyone having issues with the Recharge & Resume function on the Roomba 980 model. Mine just depletes the battery and runs out of power as it does not recognize a low-level state anymore.

6 answers
Captain Sunshine
Captain Sunshine

Hi Ray, We aren’t having any problems with the Recharge and Resume. Having said that it has only run low on battery once and that was when we first got it, it went home and came back out and continued on once it had enough charge.

Ray G.
Ray G.

Ok, thanks. We've had our Roomba 980 for two years with no problems but in the last couple of months, the unit no longer returns to the charging station when it gets low on power and just keeps running until out of energy (around 110 minutes), then chimes to place Roomba on the charger.

iRobot
Teghan R.iRobot

Hi Ray,
Based on the fact you have had your Roomba for approx 2 years, it sounds as though the battery may need replacing.

You can also try, if not already so, having the docking station in a central location of the home, that way the Roomba doesn't have too far to go back to recharge.
Kind regards iRbobot


Get an answer from our members and iRobot representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.