??!
5 photos
iRobot Roomba 600 Series

iRobot Roomba 600 Series

670, 690, 630, 637 and 650
4.2 from 185 reviews

It vacuums alright

We purchased the Roomba 670 at Good Guys. I’ve used it twice. I find it noisy and loud. I’ve been observing it clean and it does kind of go erratic and everywhere but it hardly vacuumed my rug and then second use it died in the middle of our entrance. Maybe because it didn’t dock properly or charge as my husband fiddle with the dock/charger. It’s just I can’t tell if it’s charging. It seems to not have an obvious charge/battery light to say it’s charging or if it’s full. It’s hard to tell why it will go back to same areas maybe because it senses it has more dirt compared with others. It does get under some furniture but not all. It can’t fit under our tv unit because of the sensor knob on top. Overall, I think it’s okay.

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Often

What would I do without it!

We have a large upstairs bedroom with thick carpet and a tiled en-suite. I love my Roomba. I turn it on while I’m downstairs and just like magic, my entire upstairs floors are clean again. Shifting from carpet to tiles is no problem for our Roomba and seriously, I have recommended it to so many people as it makes our life so easy. It needs to be emptied after every clean for best efficiency but it’s an easy job. Running time is approximately an hour.

Purchased for $575.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally

Loveeee it!

Love my irobot. Helps me clean the house everyday while I’m doing other chores. Hubby is always happy coming home to very clean house. My only regret...should have bought it sooner! ;)

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
1 comment
Good Morning Alma Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Roomba 670. Kind regards iRobot

Love it. Can't live without it!!

We have both carpet and tiles, the roomba is awesome, you can actually see where it's been. Also added bonus of the app and being able to sync with Google home. Highly recommend

Purchased in May 2019 at Domaine for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
1 comment
HI Scottkel M. Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 670. How great is it not only to have an app to set your Roomba off to clean but also voice activation via Google Home and Alexa. Kind regards iRobot

Regretful decision Roomba 670

This is my first review and must say the product is terrible. I bought Roomba 670 thinking it will save time but it didn't serve the purpose.It doesn't clean properly and takes so much time to do the job and i have to monitor it while its working. A regrettable decision for me.I had to go back to my old vacuum cleaner which is far superior than this even though its 2-3 years old. I shouldn't have experimented :(.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $439.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Pet OwnerNo
1 comment
Good Morning Caps I am sorry to hear the experience you have had with your Roomba 670. If you can please contact our office on 1300 727 421 we would very much like to discuss this further with you. Kind regards iRobot

Rod the Roomba

I got my IRoomba 600 yesterday hmmm he did half of my room then left ?? Is he lazy or will he remember to come back. I have lino floors and flat rug in lounge and bedroom. I'm amazed at how much he picked up. I thought I was clean!!!

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
System Errors Occasionally

Roomba 670 disappointing

I found the roomba not as effective as i thought. In one bedroom it missed down one side of the bed due to hitting cornices. It also pulled my phone charger out and got tangled. Even when i line it up to go over bits it has not picked it up. It struggles from floorboards to rugs. There is nothingon the website showing info about needing to move cords from blinds, powercords etc. Now i regret not buying a dyson stick for slightly more money

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Often
1 comment
Good Morning Lisa Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 670. The Roomba 600 series uses iAdapt Navigation to move the Roomba around the home. This means the Roomba uses walls and furniture to help govern the direction it will travel. This can result in the Roomba missing some areas of the home. As this is a ground level vacuum it is recommended to remove all smalls items from the floor ie kids toys such Lego and cords as these can affect the Roomba's performance. Kind regards IXL Home

Brilliant Roomba 630

Love this cleaner. I have mostly tiles which it zips around on and always stops at the 2 sets of steps I have. I am always surprised when I see how much it has picked up. I just lift it down the steps to carpeted areas and leave it for 20 minutes to do its job. Have not had any issues with this cleaner so far. I did buy with extended product care due to ongoing issues I had with the Aldi version I had purchased previously (Aldi did give full refund).

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Good Morning LizM Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 630. The are great for setting and forgetting as the cliff sensors underneath will stop the Roomba from dropping down anything more than approx. 2 inch's in height. Kind regards iRobot

Love it. Definitely time saver

Works well I totally love it. It’s definitely a time saver and cleans well. I would recommend this to everyone. Whether you have rugs or not. I happen to have both. I can’t find anything wrong with it. It also works well with your iPhone app. You can program and review history. It also updates for you

Date PurchasedDec 2018
2 comments
HI Patty Thank you for taking time to review the Roomba. These are a fantastic device for maintenance cleaning. Kind regards iRobotYou are welcome

WARNING! Does not work on dark carpet!!!

For this amount of money I would expect it to work everywhere in my house. Very disappointing. The glossy paper workaround only works for so long. I’m now going to have to perform surgery on it to try to make it work on my black carpet.

Also, when it reaches the top of the stairs it just stops. Why can’t it turn around and go away from the stairs? It just dies.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
5 comments
Good Afternoon Luke Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 650. This particular model uses the iAdapt Navigation system to move around the home. Meaning it uses the touch of you furniture and walls to navigate its way around. depending on the direction it is sent, this can lead to some area's being cleaned more than others. Due to the cliff sensors underneath the Roomba, all models find it difficult to operate on dark to black surfaces, this could be the reason when it reaches the edge of your stairs it is not turning around and continuing its cycle. If you would like to contact us directly on 1300 727 421 with reference C0159031 we would very much like to discuss the above with you more. Kind regards iRobotWhat would you like to discuss further with me?Good Morning Luke We would like to discuss your review of the product further with you. Kind regards iRobot

iRobot does not clean well due to very poor suction

I bought this iRobot thinking it will help pick up dirt and clean my floor. Especially since it has "Dirt detect" written on its box and this 3 stage patented cleaning method.
After two days of using it, I am disappointed at its inability to pick up dirt. It does a poor job at it. I then investigated and learned that it has poor suction, I tried reading about its specs. I found nothing indicated about its suction power, a key feature of vacuum cleaners you would think that should be made known to buyers and consumers. There was nothing printed on the box about its suction power and nowhere in the manual and owner's guide.
Upon googling various websites, I learned that its suction power is only 600pa. No wonder it does not clean well! Even the much cheaper Eufy model comes with 1200pa!
It is very misleading to omit this information on the packaging and in the manual. The manufacturer should review this. If this information were on the box, consumers could raise this question with the salesman and make a more informed decision about buying this vacuum cleaner. I am considering making a complaint to the ACCC.

I really regret buying this Roomba.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Tracy We are saddened to hear you have been unhappy with the performance of the Roomba 600 series. If you like to contact us on 1300 727 421 with reference C0158720 we would very much like to discuss this further with you. In the meantime we will defiantly pass these concerns on to iRobot HO. Kind regards iRobot

Fantastic small vaccuum cleaner

I regularly use or Roomba for hard for vaccuuming. I do find that it isn't fantastic for large areas but you can section areas off for it to clean.
The last sensors work well and last a long time.
The dust is easy to empty straight into the bin. It does have a problem getting hair tangled in the brushes.
I have used it on carpet but I much prefer my Miele for this.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Good Afternoon Rosie W Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 630. This is a great unit for maintenance cleaning. The Roomba 630 series is designed to do as much cleaning as possible during the approx 60 minute run time. So you sectioning off areas for the Roomba to clean is a fantastic idea. Kind regards iRobot

Great vacuum cleaner

We love our Roomba. It cleans so well - I can’t believe all the dirt it finds! It easily fits under the bed and couches where other vaccums can’t clean. It returns to base and charges independently and is easy to empty when full of dust and dirt. The base charging station is really compact and discretely sits in a corner of our family room.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Karen Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. Kind regards iRobot

Rubbish - Don't waste your money

Was supposed to make life easier. Unit requires constant cleaning and manages to get caught up in everything. Bumps into furniture with force and leaves marks. Struggles to charge on base and constantly readjusts itself, cleaning all contacts doesn't make much difference. Generally stops for no reason or cannot find it's way back to base. You will spend more time every week trying to clean/make it work than it takes to vacuum with a normal vacuum. Have given up and thrown it out. Never again.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Mike Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the product. We would very much like to talk with you further about this. If it is okay, can you please email service@ixl.com.au with reference C0158579 with your contact number and we can give you a call. Kind regards iRobot

Not perfect but exceeded expectations

Bought the 637 model as a Choice review said it was best for pet hair. Also as I had not used a robot vacuum for the house before I wanted to test an lower level model as they are not cheap.
Our house is open plan with many rooms on a lower level, concrete floors, middle eastern rugs (with tassles) and the Roomba 637 handles it all well. The amount of dust and pet hair it pick up is impressive and it also picks up cornflakes. It travels well between the rooms and 99% returns to the base which is tucked away in the study.
The virtual wall works well to stop it going onto sliding door tracks where it was getting stuck.

I would definitely buy this again but will probably now spend the money buy a smarter model that can map out the rooms.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Boyd thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. These are a fantastic device for getting in and round to clean up after indoor pets even cornflakes. Kind regards iRobot

Absolutely love it

I love this vacuum, I use it nearly every day. I love tipping out all the dirt it has picked up, very satisfying to see. It's dirt that would normally be on my floor, I used to vacuum weekly now it's every couple of days, with 4 kids makes my life so much easier, and the house is so much cleaner!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Paula Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 630. These are a fantastic maintenance vacuum cleaner. Allowing you to use you standard vacuum least frequently. Kind regards iRobot

This robotic vacuum is so funny to watch

We love watching this robot vac as it hits walls and goes back and just hits it again and again until it's not funny. The dust in the box is heaps so it must get the dirt out of the floor our stick vac can't do. It did cost a bit more than the Lower prices one but it's ok

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Good Morning Luke Swan Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 690. Kind regards iRobot

Had High Expectation but diappointed!

We just purchased a Irobo Rooba 637 model and found it pretty useless on tiles. Its picks up dirt where it goes but it misses portions of the house to clean and the random manner it cleans means parts of the floor are left uncleaned. It been banging into out furniture and has chipped off our new furniture and the corners of the staircase balustrade as it tries to climb on top if it. When it was low on battery it didnt go back to its base to charge and died in one of the bedrooms. After charging I took the irobo to seprate parts of the house to clean the sections it had missed but it again went over areas it had gone before and missed the parts that it had earlier. I intend to ring Good Guys and ask for refund.

P.S: We are not new to Robo Vac. We used a Neato Robo Vac about 4 years ago in Singapore and it was excellent, went by in an orderly manner and picked up all dirt on the floor. The battery has obviously died as I didnt use it for so many years but still have it and now plan to source a battery for it as I am certain it will still do a better job despite being an old model.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Good Morning Pooja Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. We would very much like to discuss the above with you further. Are you able to contact us on 1300 727 421 with reference C0157270. Kind regards iRobot

Excellent for the price point!

Keep his butt clean and its all good! He brings us treasures in his dust bin all the time. It's actually interesting to clean him out to see what he caught. The first few runs he was loaded with dust and pet hair. I mean so much hair I was thinking OMG where did that come from. After a week of running it slowed down. He is going places we cant reach with a regular vacuum and it's amazing.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Good Morning NoahPr Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 637. These are fantastic and you will defiantly find the more often you use it the less often you will have to "keep his butt clean" as you put it :). Kind regards iRobot

This Is Not A Toy.

I bought this unit about two and a half years ago with low expectations. It looked like a kid's toy that maybe could pick up some crumbs. Well I was wrong. This thing picks up just about every thing on the surface of my carpets, leaving them looking like I've run a full sized vacuum over them. Of course it isn't powerful enough to suck the crud from deep down inside the carpets. For that I have a Vax which I reluctantly drag out every 6 months or so.
I can't see why you would need one of the expensive/complicated room mapping models when this one does the job just fine.
In the time I've had it, it hasn't let me down - not once (touch wood).
Can't wait to see what they come up with in the next few years.

Ps not for people who love manual vacuuming. Come to think of it, I've never actually met one of those.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
HI Raw Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 630. Kind regards iRobot

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Why is my Roomba start cleaning again out of the blue without me starting it up?
No answers

How does this model work with an app, didn’t think that was an option.
3 answers
Not sure with 630 as I bought the 670, with 670 it’s basically just to activate the clean button, pause and send home. Always help with notifications if there’s error or roomba needed help. If you get the higher range, I think you can navigate or set up cleaning area and schedules. Hope it helps. ;)ThanksGood Morning cstrattonjones Sadly the iRobot Roomba 630 is not a wifi enabled Roomba. This can only be operated manually. kind regards iRobot

I recently changed the side brushes ( as I have done before) but it keeps falling off. I've tightened the screw each time very snugly and it still comes off after a few minutes of use, and it does not turn like it used to. What am I doing wrong?
1 answer
Good Morning Jackie G I am not a 100% on why this can be happening. Can you please contact our office on 1300 727 421 with reference C0164157 for further discussion. Kind regards iRobot

Details

iRobot Roomba 690iRobot Roomba 670iRobot Roomba 637iRobot Roomba 630iRobot Roomba 650
CategoryRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $590.00$649.00
Bin Capacity0.6 L
HEPA FilterNoNo
Weight3.5 kg3 kg
FeaturesWi-Fi ConnectivityWi-Fi Connectivity
Running Time 90 min60 min
Charging Time2 hours
Dimensions 94 x 330 x 330 mm92 x 340 x 340 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJul 2013Jul 2013

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN12: 881550138289
  • MPN: R637

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.