??!
5 photos
iRobot Roomba 600 Series

iRobot Roomba 600 Series

637, 670, 690, 630 and 650
4.2 from 180 reviews

Rod the Roomba

I got my IRoomba 600 yesterday hmmm he did half of my room then left ?? Is he lazy or will he remember to come back. I have lino floors and flat rug in lounge and bedroom. I'm amazed at how much he picked up. I thought I was clean!!!

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
System Errors Occasionally

Roomba 670 disappointing

I found the roomba not as effective as i thought. In one bedroom it missed down one side of the bed due to hitting cornices. It also pulled my phone charger out and got tangled. Even when i line it up to go over bits it has not picked it up. It struggles from floorboards to rugs. There is nothingon the website showing info about needing to move cords from blinds, powercords etc. Now i regret not buying a dyson stick for slightly more money

Purchased in February 2019 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Often
1 comment
Good Morning Lisa Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 670. The Roomba 600 series uses iAdapt Navigation to move the Roomba around the home. This means the Roomba uses walls and furniture to help govern the direction it will travel. This can result in the Roomba missing some areas of the home. As this is a ground level vacuum it is recommended to remove all smalls items from the floor ie kids toys such Lego and cords as these can affect the Roomba's performance. Kind regards IXL Home

Brilliant Roomba 630

Love this cleaner. I have mostly tiles which it zips around on and always stops at the 2 sets of steps I have. I am always surprised when I see how much it has picked up. I just lift it down the steps to carpeted areas and leave it for 20 minutes to do its job. Have not had any issues with this cleaner so far. I did buy with extended product care due to ongoing issues I had with the Aldi version I had purchased previously (Aldi did give full refund).

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Good Morning LizM Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 630. The are great for setting and forgetting as the cliff sensors underneath will stop the Roomba from dropping down anything more than approx. 2 inch's in height. Kind regards iRobot

Love it. Definitely time saver

Works well I totally love it. It’s definitely a time saver and cleans well. I would recommend this to everyone. Whether you have rugs or not. I happen to have both. I can’t find anything wrong with it. It also works well with your iPhone app. You can program and review history. It also updates for you

Date PurchasedDec 2018
2 comments
HI Patty Thank you for taking time to review the Roomba. These are a fantastic device for maintenance cleaning. Kind regards iRobotYou are welcome

WARNING! Does not work on dark carpet!!!

For this amount of money I would expect it to work everywhere in my house. Very disappointing. The glossy paper workaround only works for so long. I’m now going to have to perform surgery on it to try to make it work on my black carpet.

Also, when it reaches the top of the stairs it just stops. Why can’t it turn around and go away from the stairs? It just dies.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
5 comments
Good Afternoon Luke Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 650. This particular model uses the iAdapt Navigation system to move around the home. Meaning it uses the touch of you furniture and walls to navigate its way around. depending on the direction it is sent, this can lead to some area's being cleaned more than others. Due to the cliff sensors underneath the Roomba, all models find it difficult to operate on dark to black surfaces, this could be the reason when it reaches the edge of your stairs it is not turning around and continuing its cycle. If you would like to contact us directly on 1300 727 421 with reference C0159031 we would very much like to discuss the above with you more. Kind regards iRobotWhat would you like to discuss further with me?Good Morning Luke We would like to discuss your review of the product further with you. Kind regards iRobot

iRobot does not clean well due to very poor suction

I bought this iRobot thinking it will help pick up dirt and clean my floor. Especially since it has "Dirt detect" written on its box and this 3 stage patented cleaning method.
After two days of using it, I am disappointed at its inability to pick up dirt. It does a poor job at it. I then investigated and learned that it has poor suction, I tried reading about its specs. I found nothing indicated about its suction power, a key feature of vacuum cleaners you would think that should be made known to buyers and consumers. There was nothing printed on the box about its suction power and nowhere in the manual and owner's guide.
Upon googling various websites, I learned that its suction power is only 600pa. No wonder it does not clean well! Even the much cheaper Eufy model comes with 1200pa!
It is very misleading to omit this information on the packaging and in the manual. The manufacturer should review this. If this information were on the box, consumers could raise this question with the salesman and make a more informed decision about buying this vacuum cleaner. I am considering making a complaint to the ACCC.

I really regret buying this Roomba.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Tracy We are saddened to hear you have been unhappy with the performance of the Roomba 600 series. If you like to contact us on 1300 727 421 with reference C0158720 we would very much like to discuss this further with you. In the meantime we will defiantly pass these concerns on to iRobot HO. Kind regards iRobot

Fantastic small vaccuum cleaner

I regularly use or Roomba for hard for vaccuuming. I do find that it isn't fantastic for large areas but you can section areas off for it to clean.
The last sensors work well and last a long time.
The dust is easy to empty straight into the bin. It does have a problem getting hair tangled in the brushes.
I have used it on carpet but I much prefer my Miele for this.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Good Afternoon Rosie W Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 630. This is a great unit for maintenance cleaning. The Roomba 630 series is designed to do as much cleaning as possible during the approx 60 minute run time. So you sectioning off areas for the Roomba to clean is a fantastic idea. Kind regards iRobot

Great vacuum cleaner

We love our Roomba. It cleans so well - I can’t believe all the dirt it finds! It easily fits under the bed and couches where other vaccums can’t clean. It returns to base and charges independently and is easy to empty when full of dust and dirt. The base charging station is really compact and discretely sits in a corner of our family room.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Karen Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. Kind regards iRobot

Rubbish - Don't waste your money

Was supposed to make life easier. Unit requires constant cleaning and manages to get caught up in everything. Bumps into furniture with force and leaves marks. Struggles to charge on base and constantly readjusts itself, cleaning all contacts doesn't make much difference. Generally stops for no reason or cannot find it's way back to base. You will spend more time every week trying to clean/make it work than it takes to vacuum with a normal vacuum. Have given up and thrown it out. Never again.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Mike Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the product. We would very much like to talk with you further about this. If it is okay, can you please email service@ixl.com.au with reference C0158579 with your contact number and we can give you a call. Kind regards iRobot

Not perfect but exceeded expectations

Bought the 637 model as a Choice review said it was best for pet hair. Also as I had not used a robot vacuum for the house before I wanted to test an lower level model as they are not cheap.
Our house is open plan with many rooms on a lower level, concrete floors, middle eastern rugs (with tassles) and the Roomba 637 handles it all well. The amount of dust and pet hair it pick up is impressive and it also picks up cornflakes. It travels well between the rooms and 99% returns to the base which is tucked away in the study.
The virtual wall works well to stop it going onto sliding door tracks where it was getting stuck.

I would definitely buy this again but will probably now spend the money buy a smarter model that can map out the rooms.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Boyd thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. These are a fantastic device for getting in and round to clean up after indoor pets even cornflakes. Kind regards iRobot

Absolutely love it

I love this vacuum, I use it nearly every day. I love tipping out all the dirt it has picked up, very satisfying to see. It's dirt that would normally be on my floor, I used to vacuum weekly now it's every couple of days, with 4 kids makes my life so much easier, and the house is so much cleaner!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Good Afternoon Paula Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 630. These are a fantastic maintenance vacuum cleaner. Allowing you to use you standard vacuum least frequently. Kind regards iRobot

This robotic vacuum is so funny to watch

We love watching this robot vac as it hits walls and goes back and just hits it again and again until it's not funny. The dust in the box is heaps so it must get the dirt out of the floor our stick vac can't do. It did cost a bit more than the Lower prices one but it's ok

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Good Morning Luke Swan Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 690. Kind regards iRobot

Had High Expectation but diappointed!

We just purchased a Irobo Rooba 637 model and found it pretty useless on tiles. Its picks up dirt where it goes but it misses portions of the house to clean and the random manner it cleans means parts of the floor are left uncleaned. It been banging into out furniture and has chipped off our new furniture and the corners of the staircase balustrade as it tries to climb on top if it. When it was low on battery it didnt go back to its base to charge and died in one of the bedrooms. After charging I took the irobo to seprate parts of the house to clean the sections it had missed but it again went over areas it had gone before and missed the parts that it had earlier. I intend to ring Good Guys and ask for refund.

P.S: We are not new to Robo Vac. We used a Neato Robo Vac about 4 years ago in Singapore and it was excellent, went by in an orderly manner and picked up all dirt on the floor. The battery has obviously died as I didnt use it for so many years but still have it and now plan to source a battery for it as I am certain it will still do a better job despite being an old model.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Good Morning Pooja Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 637. We would very much like to discuss the above with you further. Are you able to contact us on 1300 727 421 with reference C0157270. Kind regards iRobot

Excellent for the price point!

Keep his butt clean and its all good! He brings us treasures in his dust bin all the time. It's actually interesting to clean him out to see what he caught. The first few runs he was loaded with dust and pet hair. I mean so much hair I was thinking OMG where did that come from. After a week of running it slowed down. He is going places we cant reach with a regular vacuum and it's amazing.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Good Morning NoahPr Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 637. These are fantastic and you will defiantly find the more often you use it the less often you will have to "keep his butt clean" as you put it :). Kind regards iRobot

This Is Not A Toy.

I bought this unit about two and a half years ago with low expectations. It looked like a kid's toy that maybe could pick up some crumbs. Well I was wrong. This thing picks up just about every thing on the surface of my carpets, leaving them looking like I've run a full sized vacuum over them. Of course it isn't powerful enough to suck the crud from deep down inside the carpets. For that I have a Vax which I reluctantly drag out every 6 months or so.
I can't see why you would need one of the expensive/complicated room mapping models when this one does the job just fine.
In the time I've had it, it hasn't let me down - not once (touch wood).
Can't wait to see what they come up with in the next few years.

Ps not for people who love manual vacuuming. Come to think of it, I've never actually met one of those.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
HI Raw Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 630. Kind regards iRobot

I don’t know how I lived without it!

I wanted a Roomba because I wanted to free up some of the time I spend cleaning, with a wood fire, two cats and a dog that spend a lot of time inside I had found myself Vacuuming and sweeping every day. I was a little sceptical but went ahead with the purchase anyway and I am so glad I did, this is my second favourite appliance second only to my dishwasher. I have it automatically set to go off every day while I am at work and I couldn’t be happier with the results. I don’t need to sweep/vacuum at all and I have so much more time to relax. We have vinyl plank flooring and carpet and it works well on both.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Hi Taya Thank you for reviewing the iRobot Roomba 690. It is awesome that we now have a 600 series Roomba that you can set and forget, only to be reminded when you get home, because you have clean floors. Kind regards iRobot

Great model

I bought a robot vacuum when they came out and it failed. With long hair and pets it got stuck on my hair missed corners etc. A friend bought this and said it was great. Despite cyniscim I asked at in jb hiFi about it. While more expensive models claimed to suck up more stuff the employee recommended the roombs range saying every brush was removable for cleaning and replacement at home. It does make noise like a vacuum so I turn it on when I go out. If it gets stuck on a cord etc it stops and I detangle and put it back on the charger. A review said this was annoying but I found it useful to know what it got stuck on. The best part was being able to take all the brushes out for cleaning. It's surprising how often you don't realise there's jam or a ribbon or something on the floor and it runs through it. Does corners well. I used to vacuum once a week and touch up the m a in wal kjways each day. Now i just vacuum once a week

Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Good Afternoon Thank you for reviewing the iRobot Roomba 630. I too have long hair and was cynical about having this working in my home. But as long as the Flexible Roller and Roller and Side brush are cleaned on a regular bases this is a fantastic unit. Kind regards iRobotYep really happy with it :)

Not too bad - still need to vacuum properly once in a while

Every surface it passes over gets cleaned very well.
However, this model has no actual built-in navigation or anything - it just travels randomly based on collisions with furniture. Which is fine, but it can get itself stuck inside the four legs of a chair for like 20 minutes. Which would be funny, except it's so noisy.
If you're going to spend more than $500 on a vacuum cleaner anyway, then get the more expensive models, in my opinion.

Scares the crap out of the dog, too

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
HI dreamwalker02 Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 637. You are correct in advising the navigation on this model is different from the top of the range Roomba 980, that takes are snap short of the home so Roomba know where to go and not to get stuck. I hope your dog isnt getting to upset by the Roomba :) Kind regards iRobot

Just a gimmick

We bought this hoping we wouldn't have to do as much vacuuming but we still have to do it manually and it takes time having to put it on charge and clean it out almost after every use. It dose a poor job on our floors and charge time is shocking

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Good Morning Penny We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your purchase of the Roomba 637. If you would like, please contactt us on 1300 727 421 and we will see if we can help you get more from your Roomba. Kind regards iRobot

Love it!

This does exactly what i need. Put it on every morning when leaving for work on our floorboards and I come home to no mess. Pet hair gone! Noise level is comparable to a hairdryer, so we only use it when we are out. Doesn't replace a major vacuum and mop but is lovely to come home to a house with clean floors. Surprised how much dirt and hair it picks up. No problem going from floorboards to rugs, floorboards to carpet areas. Happy with my purchase - helps make me feel like I have a clean house! Have gone from stick vacuuming eating areas daily, and a big vacuum and mop every week - to every few weeks. Thumbs up!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
That's awesome violetandolive, these are a fantastic maintenance vacuum, saving everyone form having to bring out their larger vacuums on a regular bases. Kinds regards iRobot

Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Does 670 and 690 not work on darker carpets?
1 answer
good Afternoon Tamara Depending on the brightness of the home verse the darkness of the carpet will determine if the Roomba will work. All models have cliff sensors underneath, these detect a drop in the level from about 2" upwards. Due to this dark to black carpet or flooring can been seen as a drop in the floor. If you would like to discuss this a little more, please do not hesitate to contact our office on 1300 727 421. Kind regards iRobot

I have wooden carpet edges at doorways. Would it get over them?
1 answer
Good Afternoon Myrene The Roomba should be able to go over a lip on the floor up to approx 1 inch high. Kind regards iRobot

does it operate well on tiles?
3 answers
It works great on my tiled floor.Hi Marcelle The iRobot Roomba's are fantastic on all flat surfaces from tile, hardfloors to carpet. Kind regards iRobotIt works on tiles but i found it missed bits on my floorboards. I returned mine as it did not work as effectively as i hoped. I believe the basic model.is limited

Details

Roomba 637Roomba 690Roomba 670Roomba 630Roomba 650
Running Time90minutes
Weight3.6kg3.6kg
Price (RRP)$599$849$599$799
Release dateJul 2013Jul 2013Jul 2013

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN12: 881550138289
  • MPN: R637

Similar listings