??!
20 photos
Subaru Outback

Subaru Outback

3GEN, 4GEN, 2GEN, 5GEN
4.1 from 154 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
83
4 star
36
3 star
12
2 star
14
1 star
9

xavibear

xavibearSYDNEY

  • 14 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great family car

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ELK

ELKSydney, NSW

Designed for city driving

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
fdsaj

fdsajAU

  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes

Not good enough

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jimbo

JimboCentral Queensland, QLD

All 4 the Driver is SO TRUE

published

Second hand purchase from SA and return drive to Mackay Queensland was a dream drive. Used daily great for trips to Cairns, Emerald and Gladstone. The eyesight is a great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Quality vehicle with a Subaru design fail

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

dior2009

dior2009Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

Best car I've ever owned

published

Bought a new Outback 3.6R a month ago, seriously this is the nicest car I've owned. Super quiet and silky smooth, built well, very refined and has all the technology for a safe drive. Especially love the Harman Kardon sound system. Looking forward to good times in this car. Thanks Subaru

Purchased in June 2019 for $46,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

batchee

batcheeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews

Safety & practicality. There's not much the Outback won't do.

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Quality, usability, funtional and great value.

published

2015 Subaru Outback premium this is a great car for the family. Funtional and roomy inside with cup holders, rear folding seats, USB ports, sunroof and leather seats. Big roomy rear wagon with quick release handle to fold seats. Ecomonical engine with good smooth power and transmission. Funtional roof rack option which fits neatly into the top plastic roof tracks. Love this car. Great japanese build and quaility. Best valued family wagon on the market.

Purchased in May 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $28,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lancia

LanciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The Subaru Outback is the perfect car for many reasons! I love the way you can get in the seat a fantastic level!

published

Transportation is fantastic with pods, back seats come down and towing a trailer or caravan! It’s loves the small commutes to large driving trips around Australia. Tech worthy dash and console!

Purchased in November 2011 at Garry Crick subaru.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Iggy Pop

Iggy PopCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Subaru

published

Just purchased a new Subaru Outback and initial view is not great. The car appears to be good quality finish, but first drive on the highway, I found the front to be wandering requiring continuous corrections with the steering. Tyre pressures did need adjusting which gave a slight improvement. A bit disappointed with this. After a couple of attempts, the steering issue has been sorted. Seems the wheel alignment was the issue

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pitpat

PitpatHobart, TAS

  • 54 reviews
  • 26 likes

3.5 stars. More room than the Forester but has a few to many minor annoyances

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

TJL

TJL

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

2018 Subaru Outback Hobart- average car and average service

published

Purchased in February 2018 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tech advice

Tech adviceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

More pros than cons of this car

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Twiggy

TwiggyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful car but pathetic local service from the Subaru dealer.

published

We recently had a minor accident, denting in the driver's side of the rear bumper bar of our 2017 model Subaru Outback. We had the bumper bar replaced and repainted, however the sensor which detects a vehicle approaching and about to pass was not functioning. The local Subaru dealer has now had the car for three days and is unable, so far to resolve the problem.
What is even of more concern is the lack of communication from the dealer.
As stated before a wonderful and safe car being let down by amateurish and irresponsible service.

Purchased in August 2017 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

2018 Subaru Outback- Too many electrics.

published

I've had the 2018 Subaru Outback for 7 months. I think they've jammed to many things into this car and parts are failing. Since owning mine the infotainment system failed. That unit controls radio, GPS, camera, phone, and needs to come from the Overseas. Google Head Unit fail. Furthermore the fuel level indicator is not calibrated properly in the 2018 model with the machine arriving in Australia mid 2019. This means if it's indicating you've got half a tank you actually have a quarter and if it's indicating a quarter you'll be walking. I also had problems with internal rattle noises. Subaru Australia and the dealer are not helpful.

Purchased in July 2018 at Ballina Quayside Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Liron nehmadi

Liron nehmadiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not as reliable as I would expect

published

We purchased a Subaru Outback MY18 10 months ago. Since then we travelled 17K with the car.
The Good:
Handle more like a car than an SUV
Spaces, practical and very nice inside
Active security systems are best in class

The bad:
This car has a lot of electronics in it. With so much tech come the issues. Our multimedia screen died and it will take nearly THREE MONTHS to replace
The battery died after the car has been parked for a week

I guess brands like Kia will be more reliable today than Subaru...

Purchased in March 2018 for $43,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Muzza

MuzzaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Allrounder

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
DriveAWD

Austaurean

AustaureanJerrabomberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

2015 Subaru Outback 2.5 Premium

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD

GreenVomit8

GreenVomit8Sydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Really happy with the car even though I'm not a fan of 4WD vehicles and this was as close to a family station wagon that I could get. Doesn't sit that high off the ground as other 4WDs do.
If there was a Liberty wagon at the time of purchase I would have went for a Liberty wagon but they stopped making them. I also would have went a Camry wagon but they stopped making those as well.
Build quality is excellent. Feels like it will go on forever.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

GKB

GKBSydney

Complete failure of Infotainment system - beware

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

keith l.

keith l.asked

My friend purchased a 2003 Subaru Outback that has been in New Mexico at 5240 ft. altitude the entire time. Now ,when he attempts to drive it to a higher 8424 ft. altitude it stalls out. Once I come to clear the engine codes it runs until he drives back to the higher altitude. The codes read rich and lean fuel in three cylinders, misfires , and high temperatures. Is there a high altitude program that I can download to his car that will help this problem ?

No answers

keith l.

keith l.asked

My friend purchased a Subaru Outback that has been in New Mexico the entire time at 5240 ft altitude. Whenever he travels to a higher altitude ( 8424 ft. ) the engine stalls and wont run until I clear the engine codes. The codes listed misfires with lean and rich on 3- 4 fuel cylinders at different attempts to go from lower to higher altitudes along with high temperature codes. Any clues as to which senors are causing this? Is there a high altitude program available that I can download to his car? Any help would be appreciated. Thank you R. J. S.

2 answers
Lancia
Lancia

I suggest trying YouTube to get answers regarding that!

keith l.
keith l.

Thank you Lancia. I hadn't thought of that.


AJ B

AJ Basked

Am considering buying a 2000 Outback. Only problem is it can turn over but not run. A mechanic confirmed that the issue is either a fuel pressure/delivery problem, or a management of fuel injection problem. Does this sound familiar to anyone and do you know what to expect in order to have it fixed? Cheers.

1 answer
Mohan
Mohan

I had a 2000 Outback. I discovered there is a design flaw in the engine. Blew a head gasket after 100,000 km, when on highway. Had to keep going to find a safe spot to pull over. Car was a write off. Never touched Subaru again. Brought a Hyundai I 30 CW not very fancy or comfortable but running for seven years withouth a problem.


Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.