??!
20 photos
Subaru Outback

Subaru Outback

3GEN, 4GEN, 2GEN, 5GEN
4.0 from 167 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.0

167 reviews
5
(88)
4
(38)
3
(13)
2
(15)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (31)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (30)
  • Braking
    4.5 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (30)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (29)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (31)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (31)
  • Handling
    4.3 (31)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (30)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (31)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (30)
  • Features
    4.1 (30)
Previous
Next
tinkertoy

tinkertoyNSW, 2000

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect family car

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
MansfieldJohno

MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Best car the wife has driven

published

purchased car brand new in November 2019 . Wife has done 9012km she said it is comfortable and quiet to drive. Car averages out at 6.85km per 100kms. So cheap to run

Purchased in November 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$45,898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
M M

M MPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

Purchased brand new and a lemon! Atrocious lack of support from Subaru Australia!!!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2016
7 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Please feel free to send us a direct message to our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

M M
M M
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, It is unfortunate that you feel that way. We wish you well with your further interactions with the dealer. You are welcome to contact us at your discretion be it via our Customer Relations Team or our Facebook page. The Subaru Team.

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda Maree

Linda MareeMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Outback 2019 3.6

published

I agonised over what car to buy, can’t believe how much I love this car. The smooth power and great steering the comfort of the drivers seat to the enormous space of the back seat.
The little things like a light coming on under my door stepping out into a dark garage, so cool it’s awesome!

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Great car, can't beat the performance safety and reliability and overall value of the 3.6r outback.

published

Brilliant car, love the thick torque through rev range, Much quicker than the 2.5l litre liberty 10.5sec 0-100 , 3.6r 7.5 sec 0-100. Fuel consumption great on highway and average around town if you're enjoying the engines instant strong power. Adaptive cruise control eyesight is very nice and I feel good knowing my wife and family are in one of the safest cars around.
It's not a race car but has very good real world performance.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Ramjet59

Ramjet59Canberra

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

The most uninspiring Subaru Ive ever bought.

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
3 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Ramjet59
Ramjet59

If you can provide a roofrack that is actually able to take something tied onto it, that would be a miracle. Those roofrails and bars are nothing but cosmetic failures.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Thanks for your feedback @ Ramjet59 which we will be sure to pass on. The Subaru Team.

Relivable car

published

The outback diesel CVT is our daily drive it has been to places like the Painted Desert ,Oodnadatta ,Burke and Wills Dig Tree and Cameron’s Corner mostly towing a 1200 kg van with out any problems. I took over servicing the vehicle after the warrant finished our dealer is good, l use genuine parts, the only issue is front outer cv joints around 100 000 ks which you can get replaced use genuine parts ,you could say general wear and tear. I have added a skid plates. The subaru so far is reliable easy to service and cheap to run.

Purchased in August 2013 for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Alan

AlanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Well designed car. Local dealer not so good.

published

Had the vehicle 2 years now and very happy with the product. Subaru have done a good job in the design and engineering. The eyesight system and adaptive cruise control is reliable.
I tested the 2.5 before and it was nice to drive but the 3.6 is relaxed power and there is no revving with the CVT it's incredible smooth.
It's a lot of car for the money. Well done Subaru.
Negatives: the only issue the car has is with the multifunction unit. It has stopped working twice and keeps getting poor radio reception (not related to location)
The dealer has not been so good: Melville Subaru. They messed up the factory 5 year warranty then tried to give me an insurance plan. On one service they forgot to tighten the oil drain plug back up.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Warren

WarrenCentral West, NSW

Shattered

published

I purchased an new outback in 2014. Unfortunately this week the CVT completely failed, and the initial costing from the dealership is around the $10,000 mark! Doing some basic research this is not in a unique problem for 2014 Subaru’s in general. I was hoping to even trade in the vehicle on a new outback if financially viable.

Purchased in May 2014 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Warren, We're sorry to hear of your concern with your Outback. If you would like to discuss this further with us, please feel free to contact our Customer Relations Team on 1800 22 66 43 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wisernow

wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Engine can go terribly wrong

published

Brought an outback new in 2000. reasonably ok most of the time but plastics frayed easily, parts were expensive and the engine blew a head gasket while travelling on the highway between Geelong and Melbourne. Had about 98000 ks on the odo. Never touched another Subaru again. Discovered it was a design fault in the engine. Mechanic said Outback engines are not tough as they are meant to be.

Sammy

SammyMulgrave

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

One of the worst quality car in the market with worst support

published

Purchased in May 2012 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Honest & dependable

published

Bought her new in 2013. She is my retirement vehicle. Something of a special as she has leather and satnav but not the sun roof. Have done >80,000 kms and she has not missed a beat. Still on original tyres! Done a few long trips MEL-NOOSA, MEL-ADEL, MEL-Wodonga. Fuel consumption rarely exceeds 8L per 100kms. She does a trip from Mornington to Footscray about 3 times a month which is a total of 600kms a month on freeway. Uses no oil, I have always used synthetic. My son has a Liberty wagon and my other son has a Forester all trouble free. Great lock on the steering (aka as turning circle) All round a great family wagon.

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Canberra Guy

Canberra GuyCanberra Central 2601, ACT

Quite dissapointed

published

Purchased in November 2011 at Subaru Dealers for A$42,600.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
xavibear

xavibearSYDNEY

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great family car

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Thank you so much for your excellent review, xavibear! Hearing from our Subaru family makes us so happy. We would love if you could post this on Google Reviews as well. Thank you again, and may you have many more years of great trips in your Outback!

ELK

ELKSydney, NSW

Designed for city driving

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
fdsaj

fdsajAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 23 likes

Not good enough

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jimbo

JimboCentral Queensland, QLD

All 4 the Driver is SO TRUE

published

Second hand purchase from SA and return drive to Mackay Queensland was a dream drive. Used daily great for trips to Cairns, Emerald and Gladstone. The eyesight is a great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Quality vehicle with a Subaru design fail

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
dior2009

dior2009Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Best car I've ever owned

published

Bought a new Outback 3.6R a month ago, seriously this is the nicest car I've owned. Super quiet and silky smooth, built well, very refined and has all the technology for a safe drive. Especially love the Harman Kardon sound system. Looking forward to good times in this car. Thanks Subaru

Purchased in June 2019 for A$46,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
batchee

batcheeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Safety & practicality. There's not much the Outback won't do.

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Melanie S.

Melanie S.asked

Outback

Does the new model come with a 7 seat option?

2 answers
tinkertoy
tinkertoy

No, not this one. I don’t think Subaru has a seven seat option, at least in Australia.

MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

No

Jolene Cathrine M.

Jolene Cathrine M.asked

Outback 3GEN (2003-2009)

Im looking at buying a 2007 Outback D/Range MY07 with 165k on the odometer. Will mostly be driven around town, with an occasional bush road drive to go camping, gold detecting, fosicking. Will have my mechanic inspect before I buy, but is there anything I need to watch for? Thank you.

3 answers
Linda Maree
Linda Maree

I’m sorry I’m unable to answer this question

M M
M M

Hi Jolene

We had an older Outback (2001/2002 from memory?) and prior to this an even older Subaru 'wagon' (didn't have a model name) so not too sure about the 2007. A couple friends of mine had the 2007/8 though and they, like us, kept driving theirs until the cars' old age.

We loved our old one so much. So solidly built and we felt safe in it. We do most of our driving around town - inner city and suburbs. The bush road drives were nice and we never felt like it would let us down (unlike the new electronic ones). It had an amazing (Irving?) bullbar fitted on the front and was a dream to drive away and for long distances.

The only thing for us is as it aged and did higher Ks on the clock, the value decreased so much and when it came to a major service and inevitable replacement of some operational engine parts (can't remember which one/s) but it became too cost-exhaustive, around the same amount as the whole car was worth. So that was the only thing that got us to buy a whole new car. Prior to that, not much went wrong or cost too much mechanically.

Best of luck.

Thank you.

Alan

Alanasked

Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2020)

The power and torque figures of 129kW and 235Nm under details are incorrect for the 3.6

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$41,345A$48,052A$54,877A$44,023
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power191kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 3600rpm129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4400rpm350Nm @ 1600-2800rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance213 mm213 mm213 mm213 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.