19 photos
Subaru Outback

Subaru Outback

3GEN, 4GEN, 2GEN, 5GEN
4.0 from 172 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (36)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (35)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (31)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (35)
  • Braking
    4.4 (35)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (35)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (34)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (36)
  • Handling
    4.3 (36)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (35)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (36)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (35)
  • Features
    4.1 (35)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Len
LenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

MY09 Luxury Tourer/Dual Range Manual 2.5L SUV

published

Purchased in January 2014 for $15,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SezG
SezGNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Torque Converter Issues

published

Subaru Australia's refusal to acknowledge the build issue with the torque converter 2010-2012 Outback is in breach of Australian Consumer Law and Consumer Guarantees. An expensive fix to watch out for.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2017 at JMC Burnie for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
SezG
SezG
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

We appreciate your response SezG. Your Subaru Case Manager will be in contact with to resolve your case as soon as they can.
Thank you The Subaru Team

Lili B
Lili BMurray Region, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Silent, competent, head turning, safe.

published

Purchased in May 2021 at Baker Motors Albury.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lea
LeaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the look but not the Sales manager

published

We are happy with our Outback sport, love the look but just a little disappointed by the removal of some of the memory features. Having the facial recognition on the car, it says hello to me but it doesn't have the ability to move my seat and mirrors to my settings. Cheeky move by Subaru. Other than that the two tone seats with the green stitching are nice, the blacked out features and the dark wheels give the car a mean look. Thanx to our salesman at Eblen Subaru, he got us a great deal but not impressed with the new car sales manager's behaviour.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2021 at Eblen Subaru for $45,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Lea
Lea

Thankyou we have since heard from the dealership, the dealer principal was able to resolve all issues as we wanted to purchase a new Forester sport. We did so with no complaints.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Thank you for your feedback Lea. We are happy that this was resolved and your Forester Sport was purchased without any complaints.
Regards The Subaru Team

FerrisBueller
FerrisBuellerPerth
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

110,000km of excellence

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
tinkertoy
tinkertoyNSW, 2000
  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect family car

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 18 likes

Best car the wife has driven

published

purchased car brand new in November 2019 . Wife has done 9012km she said it is comfortable and quiet to drive. Car averages out at 6.85km per 100kms. So cheap to run

Purchased in November 2019 at Subaru Dealers for $45,898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
M M
M MPerth
  • 3 reviews
  • 18 likes

Purchased brand new and a lemon! Atrocious lack of support from Subaru Australia!!!

published
Incentivised Review No
BoughtNew
Year2016
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Please feel free to send us a direct message to our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

M M
M M
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, It is unfortunate that you feel that way. We wish you well with your further interactions with the dealer. You are welcome to contact us at your discretion be it via our Customer Relations Team or our Facebook page. The Subaru Team.

Linda Maree
Linda MareeMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Outback 2019 3.6

published

I agonised over what car to buy, can’t believe how much I love this car. The smooth power and great steering the comfort of the drivers seat to the enormous space of the back seat.
The little things like a light coming on under my door stepping out into a dark garage, so cool it’s awesome!

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car, can't beat the performance safety and reliability and overall value of the 3.6r outback.

published

Brilliant car, love the thick torque through rev range, Much quicker than the 2.5l litre liberty 10.5sec 0-100 , 3.6r 7.5 sec 0-100. Fuel consumption great on highway and average around town if you're enjoying the engines instant strong power. Adaptive cruise control eyesight is very nice and I feel good knowing my wife and family are in one of the safest cars around.
It's not a race car but has very good real world performance.

Purchased in May 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Ramjet59
Ramjet59Canberra
  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

The most uninspiring Subaru Ive ever bought.

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Ramjet59
Ramjet59

If you can provide a roofrack that is actually able to take something tied onto it, that would be a miracle. Those roofrails and bars are nothing but cosmetic failures.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Thanks for your feedback @ Ramjet59 which we will be sure to pass on. The Subaru Team.

Relivable car

published

The outback diesel CVT is our daily drive it has been to places like the Painted Desert ,Oodnadatta ,Burke and Wills Dig Tree and Cameron’s Corner mostly towing a 1200 kg van with out any problems. I took over servicing the vehicle after the warrant finished our dealer is good, l use genuine parts, the only issue is front outer cv joints around 100 000 ks which you can get replaced use genuine parts ,you could say general wear and tear. I have added a skid plates. The subaru so far is reliable easy to service and cheap to run.

Purchased in August 2013 for $46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Alan
AlanPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Well designed car. Local dealer not so good.

published

Had the vehicle 2 years now and very happy with the product. Subaru have done a good job in the design and engineering. The eyesight system and adaptive cruise control is reliable.
I tested the 2.5 before and it was nice to drive but the 3.6 is relaxed power and there is no revving with the CVT it's incredible smooth.
It's a lot of car for the money. Well done Subaru.
Negatives: the only issue the car has is with the multifunction unit. It has stopped working twice and keeps getting poor radio reception (not related to location)
The dealer has not been so good: Melville Subaru. They messed up the factory 5 year warranty then tried to give me an insurance plan. On one service they forgot to tighten the oil drain plug back up.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Warren
WarrenCentral West, NSW

Shattered

published

I purchased an new outback in 2014. Unfortunately this week the CVT completely failed, and the initial costing from the dealership is around the $10,000 mark! Doing some basic research this is not in a unique problem for 2014 Subaru’s in general. I was hoping to even trade in the vehicle on a new outback if financially viable.

Purchased in May 2014 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Warren, We're sorry to hear of your concern with your Outback. If you would like to discuss this further with us, please feel free to contact our Customer Relations Team on 1800 22 66 43 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

wisernow
wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Engine can go terribly wrong

published

Brought an outback new in 2000. reasonably ok most of the time but plastics frayed easily, parts were expensive and the engine blew a head gasket while travelling on the highway between Geelong and Melbourne. Had about 98000 ks on the odo. Never touched another Subaru again. Discovered it was a design fault in the engine. Mechanic said Outback engines are not tough as they are meant to be.

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

graeme
graemeasked
Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

I am a very happy Subaru owner during the last 12years and during the last 5 years a 2015 3.6 R premium outback. This car is outstanding and easily the best car i have owned in approximately 50 years of driving various makes and models. The Outback has a great power to weight ratio, superb driving / handling characteristics, comfortable, able to handle reasonably serious off road conditions, has a great Harmon Kardon stereo and lots of nice tech ( do yourself a favor and check out the spec,s on this vehicle )
Another great attribute with this Outback 3.6 R is it runs on ordinary 91Ron unleaded petrol. the best economy I have achieved is 7.6 litres per 100kl,s. It is not to difficult to achieve around 8.4 to 9.5 average with sensible driving.
I have recently considered upgrading my Subaru Outback to the newest model, a bit more refined, more power maybe ,upgraded tech, suspension and so on. Not a big ask for Subaru. Wrong ! ! ! Very wrong.
Trying to get real information about the new 2021 Subaru Outback is akin to pulling teeth, however I believe the new model only has a 2,5 litre engine and ( your kidding us ) no turbo available. The crazy part is they have increased the tow value from 1800 KG,s to 2000 KGs. REALLY.
Subaru, you may have known what you were doing, but what were you thinking. you have made a major blunder ( in my opinion) by robing your customers of owning a Subaru with decent, safe power.
It appears that to own a 3.6 Outback now the 2020 model is the last available. Very sad. So, get onto the car sales websites, have your money handy and buy one . you won,t regret it.
Graes

2 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Graeme, Thank you so much for your review. We know that there is a great appreciation for the 3.6R model in the Outback. While it may not be an available option in the new Outback, we're constantly working with the factory in Japan about future possibilities for us. We recently released specs and pricing on the 2021 Outback which you can check out here but there will be more to come as we get closer to its release in March. The Subaru Team.

graeme
graeme

Thanks Subaru Australia for your reply. I look forward to Subaru Japan having a light bulb moment and re-introducing the 3.6 engine or similar in 2022 . We should not be limited to underpowered smaller engines that do not cut the mustard, especially when towing/overtaking. People will pay a premium price for a premium vehicle / engine combination.
I hope we get the goods in 2022.
Graes.

Melanie S.
Melanie S.asked
Outback

Does the new model come with a 7 seat option?

2 answers
tinkertoy
tinkertoy

No, not this one. I don’t think Subaru has a seven seat option, at least in Australia.

MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

No

Jolene Cathrine M.
Jolene Cathrine M.asked
Outback 3GEN (2003-2009)

Im looking at buying a 2007 Outback D/Range MY07 with 165k on the odometer. Will mostly be driven around town, with an occasional bush road drive to go camping, gold detecting, fosicking. Will have my mechanic inspect before I buy, but is there anything I need to watch for? Thank you.

4 answers
Linda Maree
Linda Maree

I’m sorry I’m unable to answer this question

M M
M M

Hi Jolene

We had an older Outback (2001/2002 from memory?) and prior to this an even older Subaru 'wagon' (didn't have a model name) so not too sure about the 2007. A couple friends of mine had the 2007/8 though and they, like us, kept driving theirs until the cars' old age.

We loved our old one so much. So solidly built and we felt safe in it. We do most of our driving around town - inner city and suburbs. The bush road drives were nice and we never felt like it would let us down (unlike the new electronic ones). It had an amazing (Irving?) bullbar fitted on the front and was a dream to drive away and for long distances.

The only thing for us is as it aged and did higher Ks on the clock, the value decreased so much and when it came to a major service and inevitable replacement of some operational engine parts (can't remember which one/s) but it became too cost-exhaustive, around the same amount as the whole car was worth. So that was the only thing that got us to buy a whole new car. Prior to that, not much went wrong or cost too much mechanically.

Best of luck.

Jolene Cathrine M.
Jolene Cathrine M.

Thank you.

See all Subaru Outback questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Outback

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $41,345$48,052$54,877$44,023
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power191kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 3600rpm129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4400rpm350Nm @ 1600-2800rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance213 mm213 mm213 mm213 mm
Release dateDec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.