??!
1 photo
JBL Horizon

JBL Horizon

MPN: JBHORIZONBLK
2.7 from 55 reviews

Reviews

2.7

55 reviews
5
(10)
4
(10)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(17)
Previous
Next

Defective power cords class action

published

My coworkers and I purchased 4 of these less than 2 years ago - all of the power cords failed within one year. JBL replaced them as under warranty and they all failed again. Now JBL claims that the warranty expired and we are out of luck. I am going to commence a class action since this is a known defect that they are concealing - if interested in participating please respond here

Purchased in May 2018 at B&H Photo.

FM Alarm volume not adjustable :(

published

Nice looking clock with good sound but if you want to use the FM station to wake up to it escalates to an uncomfortable high volume after maybe 30 seconds and there is no way to turn it down when in alarm mode. I have tried to find a way to adjust the FM alarm level only to find on the reviews many have the same complaint with no answers. What is the point of having a nice sounding JBL system if you have to turn it off right away and can't listen to the news or music for awhile before getting up. Pretty much blasts you out of bed and will wake up the entire house., this is the first radio alarm I have owned that you can't set the wake up volume to your choice. Disappointing for a JBL product.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$137.00.

Display illumination too DIM.

published

I will be returning this product. The display is not bright enough to see at night. The worst user manual I have ever seen. I contacted JBL customer service 3 times and NO REPLY. Harmon Kardon should make a better product in this JBL line of Alarm clocks. I am very disappointed,

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for A$180.00.

Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rhombus2455

Rhombus2455Hobart, TAS

Fabulous Functionality

published

Bluetooth works great and speakers are immensely clear. Multiple alarm functionality also useful. Would definitely buy again if needed. When the speaker became faulty the JBL customer service agent was able to get the product replaced for free under warranty which was super helpful. Great Job JBL

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$122.00.

Mark

MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

This Clock radio is the balls

published

This is the best clock radio I have ever owned I would recommend it to anyone, easy to use and has a built-in light. It’s totally worth the price I paid

Purchased in December 2018.

GMF

GMFMurray Region, NSW

Overpriced

published

Impossible to see the time - bought this as a desk clock (the salesperson suggested this model) and it is useless. The back light stays on for a few seconds and then you need a torch to be able to see the time. Spent hours googling this issue to find others have the same problem. Taking it back tomorrow.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee.

firezone1au

firezone1auSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

A Frustrating start to Everyday!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

The display is what sold me

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
kat

katAustralia

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible Alarm Clock

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Some frustrations

published

The night light on the back is far too bright and needs a dimmer or settings option. The buttons would be easier to use if they were slightly raised so one can feel them and press them without putting a bedside light on. Sometimes the volume button plays up and just turns into setting the date.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Andrew .B

Andrew .BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stylish and sounds great

published

Just arrived and couldn’t be happier. Stylish alarm clock with great speakers. Bonus is I can now unplug my phone charger and charge the phone through the clock. Time will tell how long it will last but for now it’s great. FM radio is extremely clear . Would highly recommend for those who like to listen to music with great sound while laying in bed. Love the Bluetooth option.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Kris W

Kris WSydney

Excellent Alarm clock and speaker

published

Most people who complain about the product haven't bothered to read the instructions. It is simple to use and a fantastic product. Volume is adjustable, bluetooth works, and I like waking up the the soft acoustic sound that starts gently - makes a much less aggressive way to wake up.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
  • Verified purchase

Radio reception terrible

published

I bought two JBL Clock Radios after using one in hotel I thought it to be really good. I used Bluetooth and that worked well. But when I got unit's home I found the reception was so poor I could only get a couple of stations and they are not the stations that I listen to. I'm not just disappointed I'm really upset about it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Can't turn the alarm off

published

My husband bought this for me for Xmas. It looked amazing and the Bluetooth feature was very enticing. However, I realised once I went back to work that there were issues. Once the alarm goes off you need to press 2 buttons to turn the bloody thing off, neither of which can be sensed by touch! This means you have to turn the damn light on to see what the hell you are doing. Bad design. Very expensive and now can't return it as no longer have the box or docket!

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Christmas present

published

My husband bought me a JBL Horizon Bluetooth ambient light alarm clock for Christmas! I was so excited! It worked great for about 3 weeks. Now I can barely hear anything. Have no idea how to go about getting it replaced because I don’t have a receipt or packaging! $100 alarm clock should last longer than 3 weeks!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
george

george

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

don't believe all the neg reports.

published

I think the product tells the time and sound's just fine. Don't believe all the bunk about the clock. Sound and usability is very good I think it is good value for money and would recommend it as a suitable clock radio we had been looking for a product for some time.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Elise

EliseMelbourne

Great Bluetooth speaker and alarm clock that I love using. Clear display.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
PT1

PT1Sydney

  • 2 reviews

Does everything well except the one critical thing a clock needs to do.

published

A large display (very rare) and very solid, quality look and feel which far surpassed all other similar products. Excellent selection of tone alarm options (alternative to music) one of which is a gently strummed guitar, which starts off very soft and increases to your chosen volume. By all accounts looks like a great product. Unfortunately the review by Lochanora is accurate. If anything the problem with display brightness is understated. Ironically this product's positive features are so good that they serve to make it all the more disappointing; it simply fails in the one task that is essential. A clock which doesn't tell the time doesn't deserve even one star but you can't pick zero.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Lochanora

LochanoraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

If you don't want to know the time - this clock is what you want

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Justin

JustinHo chi minh city

busted

published

I dont know what happened to my alarm clock... it worked perfectly for almost a year then 1 day the bluetooth stopped working. then next the alarm wont turn on. now i have already called customer support, reset the device, and asked them to replace it without any luck because I bought it from a store that I cant go back too.. . Im cant recommend this brand anymore unfortunately after this experience. Spending over $100 on an alarm clock for it to work less than 1 year is not acceptable... I guess I have to find another brand that will take care of its customers a little better.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Martha

Marthaasked

Sound is not working, neither alarm or radio. What can be the problem? Thank you

No answers
ASC

ASCasked

How do I reset a preset station?

No answers
Susan

Susanasked

I can't figure out how to set the date from the Quick Start Guide. Can anybody assist? Thanks and regards, Sue

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.