?
? !
1 photo
JBL Horizon

JBL Horizon

MPN: JBHORIZONBLK
2.7 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Great Clock Radio but doesn't last 2 years

published

Purchased two of the Horizon clock radios. They are easy to use, set alarms, time etc. The display dims at night but is bright enough to see. The light on the back is great for when the alarm goes off and when trying to find things in the dark without waking your partner. The bluetooth speaker is great quality and easy to connect to. The only downside to these, are that parts of the number will stop displaying after about 18 months - after the 12 month warranty has expired! Cheap electronics used for a clock that is $180? This has happened to both of the ones we purchased, although one did last a few months more than the other.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $180.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
acarthur

acarthur

  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes
  • Verified

Expensive and Very Disappointing

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $155.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mrwolfe

mrwolfeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst user interface EVER

published

The user interface is extremely convoluted. The buttons have multiple functions, which means that one wrong move when attempting to turn the alarm off puts the thing into a different mode and leads the user into a battle to silence the radio, which is now blaring at full volume. Sure, it wakes you up, but leaves you cranky.

Multiple function buttons may work well when the user is awake and alert, but is a disaster for anyone who is still half asleep. Good sound, nice styling, but it will probably go into the pool one morning. It has already come close a couple of times.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Defective power cords class action

published

My coworkers and I purchased 4 of these less than 2 years ago - all of the power cords failed within one year. JBL replaced them as under warranty and they all failed again. Now JBL claims that the warranty expired and we are out of luck. I am going to commence a class action since this is a known defect that they are concealing - if interested in participating please respond here

Purchased in May 2018 at B&H Photo.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

FM Alarm volume not adjustable :(

published

Nice looking clock with good sound but if you want to use the FM station to wake up to it escalates to an uncomfortable high volume after maybe 30 seconds and there is no way to turn it down when in alarm mode. I have tried to find a way to adjust the FM alarm level only to find on the reviews many have the same complaint with no answers. What is the point of having a nice sounding JBL system if you have to turn it off right away and can't listen to the news or music for awhile before getting up. Pretty much blasts you out of bed and will wake up the entire house., this is the first radio alarm I have owned that you can't set the wake up volume to your choice. Disappointing for a JBL product.

Purchased in December 2019 for $137.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Display illumination too DIM.

published

I will be returning this product. The display is not bright enough to see at night. The worst user manual I have ever seen. I contacted JBL customer service 3 times and NO REPLY. Harmon Kardon should make a better product in this JBL line of Alarm clocks. I am very disappointed,

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for $180.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rhombus2455

Rhombus2455Hobart, TAS

Fabulous Functionality

published

Bluetooth works great and speakers are immensely clear. Multiple alarm functionality also useful. Would definitely buy again if needed. When the speaker became faulty the JBL customer service agent was able to get the product replaced for free under warranty which was super helpful. Great Job JBL

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for $122.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark

MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

This Clock radio is the balls

published

This is the best clock radio I have ever owned I would recommend it to anyone, easy to use and has a built-in light. It’s totally worth the price I paid

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GMF

GMFMurray Region, NSW

Overpriced

published

Impossible to see the time - bought this as a desk clock (the salesperson suggested this model) and it is useless. The back light stays on for a few seconds and then you need a torch to be able to see the time. Spent hours googling this issue to find others have the same problem. Taking it back tomorrow.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
firezone1au

firezone1auSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

A Frustrating start to Everyday!

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified

The display is what sold me

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kat

katAustralia

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible Alarm Clock

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Some frustrations

published

The night light on the back is far too bright and needs a dimmer or settings option. The buttons would be easier to use if they were slightly raised so one can feel them and press them without putting a bedside light on. Sometimes the volume button plays up and just turns into setting the date.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew .B

Andrew .BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 21 likes

Stylish and sounds great

published

Just arrived and couldn’t be happier. Stylish alarm clock with great speakers. Bonus is I can now unplug my phone charger and charge the phone through the clock. Time will tell how long it will last but for now it’s great. FM radio is extremely clear . Would highly recommend for those who like to listen to music with great sound while laying in bed. Love the Bluetooth option.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kris W

Kris WSydney

Excellent Alarm clock and speaker

published

Most people who complain about the product haven't bothered to read the instructions. It is simple to use and a fantastic product. Volume is adjustable, bluetooth works, and I like waking up the the soft acoustic sound that starts gently - makes a much less aggressive way to wake up.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Speakers

Find out how JBL Horizon compares to other Speakers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Radio reception terrible

published

I bought two JBL Clock Radios after using one in hotel I thought it to be really good. I used Bluetooth and that worked well. But when I got unit's home I found the reception was so poor I could only get a couple of stations and they are not the stations that I listen to. I'm not just disappointed I'm really upset about it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Can't turn the alarm off

published

My husband bought this for me for Xmas. It looked amazing and the Bluetooth feature was very enticing. However, I realised once I went back to work that there were issues. Once the alarm goes off you need to press 2 buttons to turn the bloody thing off, neither of which can be sensed by touch! This means you have to turn the damn light on to see what the hell you are doing. Bad design. Very expensive and now can't return it as no longer have the box or docket!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Christmas present

published

My husband bought me a JBL Horizon Bluetooth ambient light alarm clock for Christmas! I was so excited! It worked great for about 3 weeks. Now I can barely hear anything. Have no idea how to go about getting it replaced because I don’t have a receipt or packaging! $100 alarm clock should last longer than 3 weeks!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
george

george

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

don't believe all the neg reports.

published

I think the product tells the time and sound's just fine. Don't believe all the bunk about the clock. Sound and usability is very good I think it is good value for money and would recommend it as a suitable clock radio we had been looking for a product for some time.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elise

EliseMelbourne

Great Bluetooth speaker and alarm clock that I love using. Clear display.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Tracey F.

Tracey F.asked

How do you set the alarm on a Horizon2 alarm clock please.

No answers
Marta P.

Marta P.asked

How to set the snooze in the horizon 2?please

No answers
Douglas

Douglasasked

How do you switch of the beeping alarm notifying you of a power failure?

No answers
See all JBL Horizon questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySpeakers
Price (RRP) $169.95
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 0500363231610, 6925281901331 and 6925281901393
  • GTIN14: 06925281901331
  • GTIN12: 500363231474
  • MPN: JBHORIZONBLK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.