??!
5 photos
Jeep Compass
3.1 from 42 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
5
1 star
13

Browne

BrownePerth, WA

Buyer beware

published

2 months into having car it’s shut off twice due to low oil have been only now told by dealership 2018 Compass were recalled due to faulty engine.
Have had 4 lt oil places and compression test done been told to bring back at another 1000km if issue continues then engine to be replaced.
My concern is if this has already been a problem how can keep and the fta continue to sell them.
When the engine cut out I lost vehicle control crossing busy road with 2 young children in car - where does the accountability stop - this vehicle is unsafe to drive and nobody is taking this seriously. If this continues I will request a case manager and take further.
Buyer beware

Purchased in February 2019 at Jeep Dealers for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Perfect Family Car

published

Needed a bigger car for the family as my Suzuki Swift just couldnt handle it anymore. I was sold on the Jeep from the first test drive. It somehow manages to be spacious and comfortable as an SUV without looking like a tank on the road. The drive is so smooth and I struggle to find a single flaw with the car.

BadgeLongitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveFWD
Matt R

Matt RAU

  • 20 reviews
  • 19 likes

Those horror stories about Jeep are still true

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Drive4WD
ads78

ads78AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice SUV

published

The Jeep Compass is a nice SUV, For long traveling , this the SUV.
Really good on the NZ roads , the got lot of function.
For city run , high of the fuel ,but for long distance , really great.
Try this and you all will love it.
Good Luck..

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Alicia

AliciaBalwyn

  • 7 reviews

Best purchase

published

I use my car for commuting and family transport
The back seats are wide enough to have two car seats and a person in the middle, I love the recline feature as well! The only thing I would like is air conditions vents in the rear as it can get a bit warm.

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

staceychum

staceychumGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Okay had issues

published

Good car however I have had issues with the Jeep. Gear box went a week after I brought it brand new. Has it fixed and no issues since. I would buy a Jeep again maybe not a compass but defs a cherokkie. Been a great car and a good little zip around car

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015

JEEPSTER

JEEPSTERBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jeeps are better than critics say

published
BadgeNorth
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedApr 2014

I liked the car when I bought it. After one year of driving, one night one the busy freeway the car

published

Love the car, the Color is perfect, the exterior of the car is comfortable. The leg room at the back little bit tight. Running cost is more than I expected apart from the problem with safety than I don’t know how can be resolved if the service people don’t know what is wrong with the car. The car stops on the middle of the road with no warning losing the power. After may you 20 seconds starts again as nothing happened. Too dangerous to drive on the road especially on the freeway.

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Funny Bunny

Funny BunnyGold Coast

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb Car

published

Just purchased 2013 Jeep Compass absolutely superb car, Performs and handles well nice and quite, has plenty of leg and head room and lots of gadgets i.e. sat nav, reversing camera, dash cam front and back, even has boom box speakers in the tailgate, it's reliable and very fuel efficient. Couldn't ask for a better driving experience cant wait to hit the open road.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sharon C

Sharon CBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very happy with this car.

published

For $10000 less then all the other SUV's we can't really fault this car. Bought as demo in 2013 it has been very reliable. Comfortable and still stylish looking. Cons- boot is small and it can be sluggish and thirsty on fuel however being that I am not a race car driver and I don't travel far it suits me fine. Had all the mod cons and easy to drive and park.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Ananth

AnanthSYDNEY

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Car! Excellent comfort! High Fuel Consumption!

published

Great powerful car, good torque and easy to drive. Decent interior, dash does look inferior but complete with required gadgets as needed, excellent NAV system, sufficient mp3s storage of 20GB inbuilt hard disk, ample of interior space with great legroom. Voice recognition for phone calls does have some drawbacks but isn't an issue if speak slowly. Great for long drives, trips and picnics. ample of room in the boot for camping, sporting or for just a weekend away. Love the purchased on a whole and the one thing I had to compromise with will be the high fuel consumption on Ron95 or Ron98! Otherwise it has been my best buy!

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

min40fc

min40fcPerth, WA

  • 53 reviews
  • 27 likes

Worst first new car I have ever bought

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2013
1 comment
min40fc
min40fc

niblick

niblickSpotswood

Grandparent friendly

published

Good visibility and easy to drive. Two car seats to accommodate the grandchildren and still rom for all my golf gear. Who could ask for more? Well, good fuel economy and excellent navigation system make city driving a breeze. Comfortable seats add to a great driving experience on country roads

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Excellent purchase

published

Been driving a 2014 compass(limited) for over two and half years now and no issues at all.
Good handling on both 2WD and 4WD, have done quite a few long trips and always felt confidant with the drive.
Decent interior, good legroom for the size of the car, dash could have been better, but mind you its a JEEP so I'm fine for it to have the somewhat old school Jeep interior which lacks the fluidity in modern cars.

A negative though is the service costs from an authorized dealer which is in the $500 range, almost double than other brand of cars.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic

Decent

published

So far so good. A simple, solid, decent car for around town. Drive is quiet and the car has enough power for city driving. It is not as refined as some vehicles in the same price range but has all the features needed. Much better than some reviews might suggest

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic

Don't buy a small Jeep, the big Overland was a dream though.

published
BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic

Pav

PavSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Disappointed comparing to my previous Jeep

published

I was a Jeep person. Due to a family reason I need to temporarily downgrade the size of my vehicle so naturally I went again for a Jeep. Unfortunately, this one is not good at all. To name some issues delivered with the new vehicle: steering wobble at certain speed, tire pressure control false alarms, consumption much higher than advertised, wind noise, one heated seat not working, self initiated false alarms in the middle of the night waking up all neighbors, remote opening failure etc. I am no longer a Jeep person.

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic

brad

bradBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 16 likes

Warning about Jeep Australia

published

I bought a Jeep compass, worst mistake I ever made. It turned out to be a lemon and they didn't care. They breached the contract of sale as I had items on there that were required prior to delivery. Not all were completed.

Car would stall and would lose all power while driving. The service department manager said it was because it was a cheap car and the gear box is a cheap one that doesn't really work well. After explaining the issue many times and providing video they finally saw the real problem, never fixed it, kept dodging my calls. Then when it came time for a refund they ran....

In the end they had the car (I was paying for) for 6 months trying to fix it and it was never fixed. Now I am left with no car and a debt.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic

Not As Bad As Made Out

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic

Really like my 2010 Jeep Compass

published

have had a couple little things, like the ball bearings in the one back tire, that cost 190$, Grogan Chrysler jeep reimbursed me since the noice started about the time the warranty expired. Right now front ball joint on one front tire is being replaced, cost around 270$. Luckily I am in for 24,000 mile checkup. Otherwise......I am satisfied.

1 comment

2015 no problems. Still love my Compass.


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Johnny F.

Johnny F.asked

Does the Jeep Compass limited 2018 4cyl 2.4L Petrol take regular unleaded petrol or premium unleaded petrol

No answers

Ian

Ianasked

Had for over a year yet no new navigation updates released why is this so bad???

No answers

Donna K

Donna Kasked

I want the 2014 compass bit have been warned not too due to the expense of parts and the motor is this true as now I'm worried?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Jeep representatives

Details

Jeep Compass M6 Limited 2.4L AWD

Jeep Compass M6 Limited 2.4L AWD (2017-2019)

3.0
(2)
Jeep Compass M6 Limited 2L 4WD

Jeep Compass M6 Limited 2L 4WD (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Compass M6 Longitude

Jeep Compass M6 Longitude (2017-2019)

5.0
(1)
Jeep Compass M6 Sport Manual

Jeep Compass M6 Sport Manual (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Compass M6 Sport Auto

Jeep Compass M6 Sport Auto (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Compass M6 Trailhawk

Jeep Compass M6 Trailhawk (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Compass MK
  • Discontinued

Jeep Compass MK (2007-2017)

3.0
(33)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $42,950$42,950$34,950$28,950$31,950$43,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555555
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km5.7 L/100km7.9 L/100km8.6 L/100km7.9 L/100km5.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power129kW @ 6400rpm125kW @ 3750rpm129kW @ 6400rpm129kW @ 6400rpm129kW @ 6400rpm125kW @ 3750rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm229Nm @ 3900rpm229Nm @ 3900rpm229Nm @ 3900rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndiaIndiaIndiaIndia
Safety Features
  • Traction Control
  • Traction Control
  • Traction Control
  • Reversing Camera
  • Reversing Camera
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2007
Discontinuation dateDec 2017

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.