5 photos
Jeep Compass

Jeep Compass

MK, M6
3.1 from 46 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next

I have mixed feeling

published
Incentivised Review No
John
JohnSydney Surrounds, NSW

Does what it says on the tin

published

This is our day to day, carry the grandkids, put the bikes on the roof, go to the tip with the trailer on, car. The economy is outstanding, av 7 ltr/100km all the time. Faults - none. The interior is plush enough and the performance and handling is well in the range of its class. I really like driving it and my wife prefers it to my Mercedes SLK to drive. I didn't say she was perfect!
Service is fixed price for 5 years, and pricing is reasonable.
The 9 speed German ZF auto gearbox is worth the price of admission.

Purchased in June 2018 for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dildar Sidhu
Dildar SidhuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst car with poor technical and customer service

published

Bought in 2017, since then had issues with connecting bluetooth, audio, camera, heating and cooling. The whole unit of car is already been replaced 3 times in 2 years and still not working well. I have been advised that they will install another 4th unit, as if im employed by Jeep to often visit their service centre. I have no other job.

Purchased in April 2018 at Northern Motor Group for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Jeep Compass compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harro
HarroSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my Jeep

published

I have the Jeep Compass MK 2015 in black automatic. It fits my son his friends and the family dog. We've taken long family trips in this car and it always performs well. Never had an issue with it the whole 5 years.

Purchased in August 2015 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Browne
BrownePerth, WA

Buyer beware

published

2 months into having car it’s shut off twice due to low oil have been only now told by dealership 2018 Compass were recalled due to faulty engine.
Have had 4 lt oil places and compression test done been told to bring back at another 1000km if issue continues then engine to be replaced.
My concern is if this has already been a problem how can keep and the fta continue to sell them.
When the engine cut out I lost vehicle control crossing busy road with 2 young children in car - where does the accountability stop - this vehicle is unsafe to drive and nobody is taking this seriously. If this continues I will request a case manager and take further.
Buyer beware

Purchased in February 2019 at Jeep Dealers for $29,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Perfect Family Car

published

Needed a bigger car for the family as my Suzuki Swift just couldnt handle it anymore. I was sold on the Jeep from the first test drive. It somehow manages to be spacious and comfortable as an SUV without looking like a tank on the road. The drive is so smooth and I struggle to find a single flaw with the car.

BadgeLongitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveFWD
Matt R
Matt RAU
  • 23 reviews
  • 23 likes

Those horror stories about Jeep are still true

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Drive4WD
ads78
ads78AU
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice SUV

published

The Jeep Compass is a nice SUV, For long traveling , this the SUV.
Really good on the NZ roads , the got lot of function.
For city run , high of the fuel ,but for long distance , really great.
Try this and you all will love it.
Good Luck..

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Alicia
AliciaBalwyn
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best purchase

published

I use my car for commuting and family transport
The back seats are wide enough to have two car seats and a person in the middle, I love the recline feature as well! The only thing I would like is air conditions vents in the rear as it can get a bit warm.

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Jeep Compass compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
staceychum
staceychumGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Okay had issues

published

Good car however I have had issues with the Jeep. Gear box went a week after I brought it brand new. Has it fixed and no issues since. I would buy a Jeep again maybe not a compass but defs a cherokkie. Been a great car and a good little zip around car

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
JEEPSTER
JEEPSTERBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jeeps are better than critics say

published
BadgeNorth
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedApr 2014

I liked the car when I bought it. After one year of driving, one night one the busy freeway the car

published

Love the car, the Color is perfect, the exterior of the car is comfortable. The leg room at the back little bit tight. Running cost is more than I expected apart from the problem with safety than I don’t know how can be resolved if the service people don’t know what is wrong with the car. The car stops on the middle of the road with no warning losing the power. After may you 20 seconds starts again as nothing happened. Too dangerous to drive on the road especially on the freeway.

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Funny Bunny
Funny BunnyGold Coast
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Superb Car

published

Just purchased 2013 Jeep Compass absolutely superb car, Performs and handles well nice and quite, has plenty of leg and head room and lots of gadgets i.e. sat nav, reversing camera, dash cam front and back, even has boom box speakers in the tailgate, it's reliable and very fuel efficient. Couldn't ask for a better driving experience cant wait to hit the open road.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sharon C
Sharon CBrisbane
  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very happy with this car.

published

For $10000 less then all the other SUV's we can't really fault this car. Bought as demo in 2013 it has been very reliable. Comfortable and still stylish looking. Cons- boot is small and it can be sluggish and thirsty on fuel however being that I am not a race car driver and I don't travel far it suits me fine. Had all the mod cons and easy to drive and park.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Ananth
AnanthSYDNEY
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Car! Excellent comfort! High Fuel Consumption!

published

Great powerful car, good torque and easy to drive. Decent interior, dash does look inferior but complete with required gadgets as needed, excellent NAV system, sufficient mp3s storage of 20GB inbuilt hard disk, ample of interior space with great legroom. Voice recognition for phone calls does have some drawbacks but isn't an issue if speak slowly. Great for long drives, trips and picnics. ample of room in the boot for camping, sporting or for just a weekend away. Love the purchased on a whole and the one thing I had to compromise with will be the high fuel consumption on Ron95 or Ron98! Otherwise it has been my best buy!

BadgeNorth
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Jeep Compass compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Man
Manasked
Compass M6 (2017-2021)

Is M6 in MP category?

1 answer
John
John

I don't know what MP stands for

Kaz
Kazasked
Compass MK (2007-2017)

I am having problems with my Jeep 2013 North gears. They seem to keep sticking in park. I have to pump brake and spend time trying to get it out if park? Anyone else had this happen.

2 answers
Harro
Harro

Hi Kaz,
My Jeep is an automatic and I haven’t had this issue, however mine is a different year.

John
John

Put the handbrake on before putting into Park on a hill so that the handbrake rather than transmission holds the car; like it says in the owners manual.

JEEPSTER
JEEPSTERasked
Compass M6 (2017-2021)

How many klms will my Jeep Compass North 2ltr cvt get

1 answer
John
John

The M6 2ltr Jeep is not a CVT it is a 9 speed ZF auto you should get over 700kms per tank

See all Jeep Compass questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Compass

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Compass
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $42,950$42,950$34,950$28,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticManual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.7 L/100km5.7 L/100km7.9 L/100km8.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power129kW @ 6400rpm125kW @ 3750rpm129kW @ 6400rpm129kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm229Nm @ 3900rpm229Nm @ 3900rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndiaIndia
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 7 Jeep Compass
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.