12 photos
Jeep Grand Cherokee

Jeep Grand Cherokee

WK, WG/WJ, WH, ZG
3.6 from 324 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (60)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (60)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (56)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (57)
  • Braking
    4.5 (54)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (54)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (53)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (56)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (56)
  • Handling
    4.5 (55)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (56)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (56)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (55)
  • Features
    4.4 (55)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Rickydick
RickydickSydney

Great car when it's going!

published

Purchased in October 2012 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
KBiza
KBizaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Buy It At Your Own Peril

published

Purchased in November 2012 at Jeep Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Beryl
BerylPerth, WA

2010 WH Limited CRD

published

I bought a 2010 Limited CRD in 2017 with 68K on the clock. It now has 134K. For an 11 year old v6 turbo diesel the torque this thing puts out is unbelievable. I had the GDE tune done and for a 4wd the acceleration is comically fast. I had the old man emu lift kit fitted which improved handling and off road capabilities significantly. A couple of minor (common) issues over the years I’ve had it. Glow plugs - cheap and easy fix. Injector seal leaked. Also a fairly cheap fix ($300) if you notice it early. This has been a great car. I love driving it. My only real complaint would be rpm at 110km/hr is a touch too high thanks to gearing. I believe this is shared across petrol and diesel platforms.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tito
TitoNorthern Territory

Problem with no solution

published

Over a period of just over 12 months, my Grand Cherokee 2014 engine completely shutting down whilst driving. No dashboard message. Last one whilst doing 80k/h in NT with my daughter in the car. Its was very scary. I managed to steer it to the nearest carpark - surprisingly with some power steering.
Dealership had no idea why this is occuring. They had the car on two separate occasions trying to replicate the problem but they failed.

Has not been great experience in the last 12 months.
Tito

Purchased in June 2014.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Kim B.
Kim B.South East Queensland, QLD

Great car but after sales support really lets it down

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

I have this one longer than any other

published

Had my WH 3L Diesel for 6 years now - purchased 2nd hand for $26k - still only 112k on the clock but I do go bush with it towing a offload Camper. I bought it with towing in mind and being a Gold Prospector at heart need a good 4x4 to get to where I want to go. This thing will pull down a block of Flats - I'm not interested in Houdini antics off road. I'm a Mopar man at heart and even though this is not a true Mopar I will always stick with the Chrysler product - the WH with the Mercedes 3L diesel and running gear is brilliant !

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jag
JagGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

One of best in its class

published

Grand cherokee is amazing

1.great quality interior
2.superhot on outside
3.the buit quality is superb

we use this as family car for log routes, it is super quite and one of most comfy cars

ZF 8 speed is best transmission

Purchased in November 2016 at Jeep Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Graham M
Graham MCentral West, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best 4WD I've had.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ron
RonSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Lost still

published

Living on the far south coast of NSW, Bega, we regularly have to head to Canberra for stuff (eg medical etc) now Canberra is usually a 3 hour drive - but not using the Jeep nav system its a 9 hour drive as it wants to send us via Sydney - this is a regular issue with the nav system and not just for this trip - recently had a contractor turn up to my place in a nice new Jeep 1 hour late, he had to ring me to get directions as the Jeep was taking he all over the place (sorry but my wife and found very amusing) - I now have a holder setup to hold a small Samsung tablet that we use with google maps and a offline system (for when there is no service) - but it does play music so thats good

Purchased in April 2015 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ronan G
Ronan GSydney, NSW

Jeep don’t care once car leaves the lot

published

Purchased a new Jeep. Car was not checked prior to delivery and would not start soon after. Jeep rectified some issues on return but once again not thoroughly. Pathetic service

Purchased in October 2020 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Annie4323
Annie4323AU
  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very pleased with most aspects. Great economy & for towing 3500kg

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Big Jolly Fellow
Big Jolly FellowSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

V8 Hemi

published

Purchased in May 2014 for $61,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andy PP
Andy PPSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 34 likes

Brilliant vehicle, don’t listen to the negativity and reliability nonsense

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2019 at Tynan Motors for $71,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Graeme R
Graeme RGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Outstanding car

published

Purchased in June 2013 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Snifer
SniferVIC, 3059
  • 16 reviews
  • 16 likes

Please DO NOT buy a Jeep

published

Since I bought my Jeep the error code P0673 (00) coming. Cause for the error is Glow plug, Cylinder 3 - circuit malfunction but I have replaced it 3 times. After around 2 weeks from the replacement it's coming again. I have all paid invoices and receipts of the issue. Also the issue only coming from COLD start and when the Engine run for 5 min and then turn-off and ON. Issue not coming.

All Jeep dealers I took the vehicle , informed me that they are unable to diagnostic the issue without Jeep and it was not successful. I also left my vehicle with the Jeep dealer for 3 days and still they couldn't fix the issue.

Please be aware of lacking of knowledge for issues with Jeep. Please don't do the same mistake I have done by buying a Jeep.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

tony s
tony sasked
Grand Cherokee WK (2010-2021)

does the 2012 wk2 diesel have a transmission cooler

No answers
Si D
Si Dasked
Grand Cherokee

What is the best fuel to use in grand cherokee overland 2013 my13 3.6l

1 answer
Jag
Jag

Hi
I always use 95 , it gives great mileage and good pickup to car. Unless you car is recommended for 98.

Malcolm M.
Malcolm M.asked
Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

Hey probably a dumb question but I have just recently brought a 2008 grand Cherokee Laredo WH and I’m trying to find parts for it what’s the difference between the WH and the WK and why can’t I find anything when I search for the WH

1 answer
Steve
Steve

Try WK1,thats what the yanks call it

See all Jeep Grand Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Grand Cherokee

Details

Compare all 16 Jeep Grand Cherokee
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $47,950$54,450$60,450$69,662
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.9 L/100km10 L/100km7.5 L/100km10 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 93 L93 L93 L93 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power213kW @ 6400rpm213kW @ 6400rpm184kW @ 4000rpm213kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque347Nm @ 4000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,812 kg2,812 kg2,812 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010
Compare all 16 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.