??!
12 photos
Jeep Grand Cherokee

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
123
4 star
62
3 star
26
2 star
23
1 star
57

Tim Sunshine Coast

Tim Sunshine CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

FCA Customer Support Pathetic

published

Purchase Dec 2017. From the first week had electronic's problems. Dealer would nor believe my complaint even though it was evident in their workshop. Took 6 weeks to get a new uConnect, after 4 visits to the workshop, 6 months in total. Still have not fixed rain sensor for wipers. have only had manual control for 2 years. FCA advised the dealer in Sept 2019 cannot replace the rain sensor, as it is part of $3000 windscreen, and will not respond to the dealer on a replacement. Very poor customer service, FCA not interested. Great car in many respects, but zero support. After owning 2 my next will not be an FCA brand.

Purchased in December 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017

Stan K.

Stan K.South East Queensland, QLD

Blown Engine

published

Broke a crank and bigend bearing cap with less than 100,000k on the clock and 2 months out of warranty.
Jeep saying my share of the $52k repair bill is $9,800

Purchased in June 2016 at Westpoint Autos for $74,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kamal S.

Kamal S.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Jeep... title is enough...

published

Spacious inside. Nice interiors. More powerful engine. Quite cockpit. My wife loves driving it. Good ground clearance. Use Jeep everyday. No issues at all. Customer service is very professional. Very comfy for long drives.

Purchased in September 2017 at Jeep Dealers for $42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Legend

LegendFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Blown engine

published

Bought my GC limited Diesel from Irelands in Cairns in Jan.16 All went downhill very quickly with sump oil leaks followed by a timing cover oil leak that had to be returned 3 times to rectify.1 month from the warranty expiring the brake booster pump failed.New unit fitted only to have a failure within a fortnight, was filled with silicone.
At 56000 km and 2 months out of warranty the engine seized solid. Big hearted Jeep did replace the engine as a GOODWILL gesture, took 7 weeks and no loan vehicle.I asked what warranty I get with the new engine and was to NIL and if it goes bang again it will be at my expense.New engine costs approx. $25000.00.
The engines are failing world wide, be careful and consider your options.

Purchased in January 2016.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Rod Howard

Rod HowardFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

An almost great car let down by the trimmings and Jeep After Care

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Ireland's for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Marshall

MarshallGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 36 reviews
  • 47 likes

It's worked for me ...

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mcfamily

McfamilyCentral West, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for three years then a disaster.

published

Done 88,000kms in less than 5 years. Family car used only on sealed roads, highway and town. Car serviced by dealer all services attended. Consumer identified problems have been: Moonroof seal noise(told can’t fix must replace at $3400). Cup holder metal lifted scratches hand($1000 fix). Turbo blown cost to replace is $17500 plus labour.

Purchased in January 2015.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers

Best value for money you can buy today

published

The features and comfort of this car are amazing. Heated steering wheel and heated /cooling seats.
I use it daily, towing a trailer. The rear view camera and air suspension, means I can connect the trailer from inside the car!
Lots of room, heaps of power and a real head turner on the road.
Go for it!!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
See all answers
Curious1

Curious1Queensland, Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love mine

published

Best car I’ve ever owned. So very happy with it. Used for daily driver, family trips and day trips to the beach or bush. Great for towing! Not had a single mechanical issue. This is my 2nd Jeep and best decision I ever made about cars!

Purchased in February 2019 for $68,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ray T.

Ray T.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a smooth drive and discover a new feature every day and could never go back...

published

Daily driver. Picked it because I love the style/looks. Love the grunt and the power yet always smooth to drive. Excellent turning circle and handling. No dramas here! Would never go back to anything but a Jeep now.

Purchased in January 2019 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Matthew9929

Matthew9929Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 40 likes

Great car, loving it

published

Fantastic car, drives smoothly, uses 8-12ltrs /100
Living the interior and sound system.
Fast responsive nav system.
Excellent finish. Looks great and day off the line.
Great 4x4 went everywhere I wanted it too.
So happy I bought a Jeep and didn't listen to reviews from people who never owned one.

Purchased in June 2019 for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers

unhappy customer

unhappy customer

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Jeep Roadside Assistance - Fee scammers

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

think positive

think positiveSydney, NSW

needs improvement

published

got the car end of 2015 great car all round but has the worst cruise control iv ever had. very slow to react resulting in going way over speed limit set. were talking so far 18kmh over the limmit

Purchased in November 2015 at suttons waitara for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Daz R.

Daz R.Perth, WA

Extremely good value for money.

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Compuwizard s.

Compuwizard s.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family car

published

I use this car for everyday use.
I am using my car everyday.
Every 6 months i am getting services done. I m using this car for last 4 yrs but there is nothing wrong so far.

Purchased in April 2014 at Jeep Dealers for $58,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mick

MickGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lemon aid

published

Loved my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Diesel until high pressure pump failed at 58,000 km pumping metal shavings destroying entire fuel system including injectors total amount quoted by FCA Caroline Springs $34,000 to fix it not happy

Purchased in June 2012.

Build Quality
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

GregoryR

GregoryRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Very happy with our Jeep

published

We purchased our new Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD Limited in Jul 2013.
Extremely happy with our purchase, it tows our 21’ Van with ease, and give good fuel economy ( 12.5 L per 100 towing and 6.9 L average).
After 5 yrs of continuous use, we have had no major problems, ( some minor warranty ones) The Diesel engine and transmission are well matched, interior layout is good and functional.
Would we buy another... a definite Yes...

Purchased in July 2013 at Cricks Noosa.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bok-Lim K.

Bok-Lim K.Sydney, NSW

Bang for the buck! Cannot bog it down off road. Comfortable, handles well on road with more than adequate performance.

published

Purchased in February 2016 at Heartland Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

4th Jeep and still extremely happy

published

I know a lot of people knock the Jeep Range but I upgraded to a 2018 Grand Cherokee Limited in September 2018 and still could not be happier. No issues, fuel is efficient and very comfortable. Think the main thing is, if you like the "Jeep" way, you are set. The only thing a bit disappointing is not contact or gift from FCA Australia but still happt.

Purchased in September 2018 for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Andy PP

Andy PPSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Brilliant Vehicle

published

2014 model owned since new. Despite all the alleged stories about these vehicles, I have had no problems in over 4.5 years. The vehicle is very well equipped against its competitors, drives smoothly, very comfortable and absolutely legendary fuel economy. I will be upgrading this year to a new one.

BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Drive4WD

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Gary A.

Gary A.asked

wpold you recommend a 2014 Grand Cherokee petrol

2 answers
Stan K.
Stan K.

Given my recent experience with Jeep i.e. totally blown motor on a 2016 Grand Cherokee diesel, I'd be hesitant to recommend any of their products. Especially seeing 2012 through 2014 was considered to be a problematic time for their products. The dealer networks seem good, but you can only put some much lipstick on a pig

I owned a 2011 for 5 years that was why I bought a 2017. You need a 2014 to be throughly checked by a motoring club before you buy. Do not expect support from FCA, they put it all back to their dealers, and really do not care.


Newt

Newtasked

Grand Cherokee WG/WJ

I need to buy a recon engine for my v8 ,2003 WG jeep.Auto..1 is available in QLD.Does anyone know if it would suit my Overland jeep?Supplier said "should fit".Any advice would be appreciated.

2 answers
Legend
Legend

All v8 are the same

RB
RB

https://parts.moparonlineparts.com/oem-parts/mopar-short-block-5102736ab/?c=Zz1lbmdpbmUmcz1lbmdpbmUmaT1UMDQyMDQwNCZyPSZhPWplZXAmbz1ncmFuZC1jaGVyb2tlZSZ5PTIwMDMmdD1sYXJlZG8mZT00LTdsLXY4LWdhcw%3D%3D


lakeyre

lakeyreasked

Grand Cherokee WG/WJ

Alternator is overcharging on 2000 WG Jeep. I tried to fit external regulator but without success. Alternator is Bosch. Any advice on how to fix the problem would be appreciated.
Rob

1 answer
Legend
Legend

Sorry mate, cant help you with that. Best of luck.


Get an answer from our members and Jeep representatives

Details

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo RWD Petrol

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo RWD Petrol (2010-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo 4WD Petrol

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo 4WD Petrol (2010-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo 4WD Diesel

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Laredo 4WD Diesel (2010-2019)

4.0
(4)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Limited Petrol

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Limited Petrol (2010-2019)

4.3
(6)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Limited Diesel

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Limited Diesel (2010-2019)

3.3
(4)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Overland

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Overland (2010-2019)

3.7
(29)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK SRT

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK SRT (2010-2019)

3.7
(3)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Trackhawk

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Trackhawk (2017-2019)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Trailhawk

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Trailhawk (2012-2019)

4.0
(5)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WG/WJ
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WG/WJ (1994-2004)

3.5
(27)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Blackhawk Diesel
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Blackhawk Diesel (2014-2018)

3.0
(1)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Blackhawk Petrol
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Blackhawk Petrol (2014-2018)

0.0
(0)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK SRT-8
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK SRT-8 (2012-2013)

3.5
(6)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Summit
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK Summit (2013-2016)

3.0
(1)
Jeep Grand Cherokee WH
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

3.7
(23)
Jeep Grand Cherokee ZG
  • Discontinued

Jeep Grand Cherokee ZG (1993-1998)

5.0
(2)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $47,950$54,450$60,450$69,662$74,982$86,162$100,007$146,282$81,372$61,500$56,500
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselPetrolDieselDieselPetrolPetrolDieselDieselPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555555555555
Seats5555555555555
Fuel Consumption9.9 L/100km10 L/100km7.5 L/100km10 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.5 L/100km14 L/100km16.8 L/100km7.5 L/100km7.5 L/100km10 L/100km14.1 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 93 L93 L93 L93 L93 L93 L91 L91 L93 L93 L93 L91 L93 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 6.4L8 Cylinder 6.2L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L8 Cylinder 6.4L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power213kW @ 6400rpm213kW @ 6400rpm184kW @ 4000rpm213kW @ 6400rpm184kW @ 4000rpm184kW @ 4000rpm344kW @ 6250rpm522kW @ 6000rpm184kW @ 4000rpm213kW @ 6400rpm213kW @ 6400rpm344kW @ 6250rpm184kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque347Nm @ 4000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm624Nm @ 4100rpm868Nm @ 4800rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm347Nm @ 4000rpm624Nm @ 4100rpm570Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSAUSA
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Keyless Entry
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Keyless Entry
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Keyless Entry
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Sunroof
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm508 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,812 kg2,812 kg2,812 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,949 kg2,949 kg3,500 kg2,812 kg2,812 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2010Jan 2017Jan 2012Jan 1994Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2012Jan 2013Jan 2005Jan 1993
Discontinuation dateDec 2004Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2013Dec 2016Dec 2010Dec 1998

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.