??!

4th Jeep and still extremely happy

I know a lot of people knock the Jeep Range but I upgraded to a 2018 Grand Cherokee Limited in September 2018 and still could not be happier. No issues, fuel is efficient and very comfortable. Think the main thing is, if you like the "Jeep" way, you are set. The only thing a bit disappointing is not contact or gift from FCA Australia but still happt.

Purchased for $75,000.00.

Build Quality
Excellent
Value for Money
Excellent
Cleaning & Maintenance
Excellent
Noise Level
Very quiet
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Good
Handling
Excellent
Braking
Excellent
Suspension
Excellent
Gear Shifting
Excellent
Fuel Efficiency
Good
Design
Interior Design
Excellent
Boot Size
Excellent
Features
Excellent
Comfort
Excellent

Brilliant Vehicle

2014 model owned since new. Despite all the alleged stories about these vehicles, I have had no problems in over 4.5 years. The vehicle is very well equipped against its competitors, drives smoothly, very comfortable and absolutely legendary fuel economy. I will be upgrading this year to a new one.

BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Drive4WD

Best 4x4 I have driven.

Purchased for 20k at 3 years old ex lease. From 60k odd original price. I’ve owned since 2006. In 12 years and endless family holidays deep into the bush through water up to 700-800mm steep rock crawls, with diff hits, sill touches and now big tyres, long range tank, raised suspension, under body protection upgrades, diff reduction lockers, all work is done in the driveway at home, I’m no mechanic but YouTube is my friend. Cheap parts, heaps of after market parts and options, cheap proper scan tools etc made this car the best 4wd I’ve ever had. I’ve had Toyota land cruisers and hilux Nissan patrol and navara and Mitsubishi I’ve driven The best part is the ride is like a car but ability is like a patrol. and reliability, I have only had one problem that was not just ware and tare (or my own fault) running a fuel pump dry while using gas. Whoops and that was caused by a botched job by the first and last mechanic I used to do upgrades. but the ease of repair using YouTube back up on EVERYTHING. Worst part is politely listening to all the warnings and jeep horror stories about a friend of a friend.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2006
DriveFWD

Not happy xxxx

We purchase this 3lt diesel for the purpose of towing our new caravan because it was rated to tow 3.5 ton A tos up between this and a land cruiser decided on the Jeep cause it was a little smaller and my wife could drive it around the Gold Coast where we live. We were promised that a new update for the gps navagation system would be upgraded in 6 mths and would be installed when arrived and no cost to me The car is 3 years and ONE WEEK old Every time we take it in for service or warranty we ask if it’s arrived and they tell us they will phone us when it does. Now it arrived 2 mths ago and they want to CHARGE $$$$ 300 We are so disappointed in there service The Jeep has only done 36,000 kms and has had its problems but tows it great but we need to use the phone to navigate I am speaking to other Jeep owners this trip and will be seeking further action I would not buy another Jeep on principle My wife and I buy new cars every 4 years And the replacement for this will be another land cruiser.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Amazing car

Awesome quality build
I own almost 4 years with our any major issues
Pretty reliable fun to drive with all new technologies that requires for safety and comfort
We actually own Chrysler 300c whole family love this 2 cars
We bought grand Cherokee beacuse of off road and tow our big boat
My opinion is the best car for value in the market
Still come from hand made factory in Detroit

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD

Don't knock it till you try it

The WJ/WG Grand Cherokee is probably the most versatile family 4x4 on the market, ever. Seriously.
Before I tell you why let me make one thing clear....
If you maintain them properly, they will last a lifetime.
99% of the Jeep haters have never owned one, or owned one with a checkered past/didn't maintain them correctly.
Jeeps are horribly expensive if you only go to the dealer for maintenance and repairs, but are probably the cheapest car to live with if you do it yourself.
Parts are ridiculously cheap online, even genuine from the USA (freight can be a killer for heavy items like whole engines etc)
Full set of front hub bearings.... $70 delivered. Go ask Toyota how much a prado set of hub bearings are...
As for the WJ/WG:
The off road ability of these, even in stock standard form is remarkable. Suspension travel is far better than anything else (except for maybe the Wrangler). With solid axles front and rear, coils all round and a single point rear upper control arm assembly, the articulation keeps the tyres on the dirt and traction at max.
With anything from a mild 1 inch lift to a 12 inch long arm lift kit available, you can make it as tame or as wild as you like. (Once again for the Jeep haters... a cheap spring spacer kit from eBay probably will give you death wobbles. Every lift kit needs to be done CORRECTLY for safety sake. Including offset bushes, springs AND shocks, wheel alignments etc)
This suspension design coupled with the Quadra Trac 2 or Quadra drive 4x4 system makes it feel like a worked Cruiser or Patrol with lockers..... well that's what I usually met at the top of the tracks we frequented.
The drive system was well beyond it's years with what is essentially a similar system to the top end skylines.
The vehicle runs in rear wheel drive normally, and only when it detects wheel spin does it engage the front axle. It does this flawlessly. No chatter, no fuss. Try and spin the tyres on a dirt road it feels exactly like taking off on bitumen. For the tougher stuff, engage low range and all four wheels are permanently locked in 4 wheel drive. Even hill descent in low range, and an auto are surprisingly slow and controlled. This was also the first production car in the world to come standard with a 6 speed auto (Google it).
The 4.7 engine is the pick of the bunch. It is lighter than the straight 6, has much more power and low down torque and is one of the smoothest driving engines going. The engine actually won many awards for design, ingenuity and performance. In 1999-2000 Holden was still running a 5L v8 making 195kw after years of tweaking and improvements. This was brand new making similar power, better economy, 100kg+ lighter and euro smooth operation.
All the important bits (alternator, air con compressor etc) are mounted high up on the front of the engine to stay out of the water. Sensor failures only cause an engine light but not kill the engine if the computer can use a different sensor as a back up (eg. If the crank angle sensor fails, it won't leave you stranded. It will run off the cam angle sensors and throw up an engine light.)
The whole package really was designed to be as reliable and bush friendly as possible with only the worst of failures leaving you stuck. Not even Nissan or Toyota can claim this level of back up in their vehicle systems, not even today.
Interior: such a comfortable and quite place. Super comfy american (fat) butt seats, everything is in reach, cabin noise was shockingly quiet.
Has all the bells and whistles most people would need like cruise, electric windows, mirrors, seats, air con, trip computer, tyre pressure monitors and climate control were options on the lower spec vehicles, standard on the higher ones (this is in the late 90's and early 2000's too remember)
Round town it is smooth as a Euro(Handling was tuned by Porsche by the way... once again, Google it), easy to park due to the extremely good turning circle, great visibility and good on fuel (for petrol V8)
Off road it will surprise anyone who hasn't owned a Jeep.
For their age now, it is becoming buyer beware to find a good non-mistreated example as mentioned before, missed services, lack of maintenance will destroy your fun very quickly.
Get a full inspection done before purchase (inc compression testing) for peace of mind.
For the price nowadays, you get far more bang for your buck than any other vehicle on the road.
You may have seen the slogan stuck on other Jeeps that reads "It's a Jeep thing, you wouldn't understand".
Believe me, I didn't understand either until I bought one.
110% would recommend

BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Blackhawk!

We use our Jeep most days to commute to and from work. the car gets serviced every 6 months and we haven't had any major issues - a few recalls but they have been really great about these. Would love the fuel economy to be better. Love the space and the ability to literally transport anything.

BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

2017 Laredo 4x4 & 4x2

We have two Jeep Grand Cherokees, one 4WD and one 2WD, both excellent cars and amazing value for what you get. Lots of goodies, both with sat nav & leather due to offers at the time. Paid $51k for the 4x4 and $34k for the 4x2 (ex demo with a few thousand km on the clock).
We are part of a group online and it’s clear that Jeep sell the occasional lemon (which happens with all manufacturers) and has a bad history. But I feel that they’ve got it right with the Jeep GC now and it’s one of the best value SUVs in Australia. I suspect there are some trade agreements in place because in the UK the same models are much more expensive.

So in 12 months and a combined 35,000km on the clock with some long interstate drives and everyday use they have been running perfectly. The 5 year warranty they now offer probably reflects the improved reliability.

The only comment is the paintwork doesn’t seem amazing, it easily chips and you can see overspray when you look for it. Perhaps the ceramic coating would have been a good option for us.

BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Drive4WD

Trail Hawk

Sales folks were good (Canberra) and Jeep assist very good following breakdown due to a sensor failure. Was very happy with vehicle until year 4 when alternator failed, master cylinder leak, new glow plugs, electrical loom for fuel system failed. Repair costs were building. As far as services go early Jeep service rep was unpleasant and my wife refused to deal with them. A new crew has turned that around following work needed following a kangaroo strike.
All up, I really like the vehicle when it is working. The repair bills are mounting as more stuff breaks. Added to poor customer relations for a period, the Jeep experience is only okay. I am over stuff breaking, it is never cheap to fix.

BadgeTrailhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2013

Reversing The Trailer

Hi, newbie pom from the UK, I've been a caravanner for many years, The Grand will be my third tow car, I had an ML270. and an 02 cherokee grand 2.7. All Diesel. Here's the thing. The NEW overland is an expensive SUV. I use it for my work and leisure, and tow a twin axle Superstorm Caravan. It was a REAL shock when for the first time having hitched up and arrived at the venue to discover that reversing this lady was not going to be simple. Its rare to get a drive in space, and so the majority of set downs happen after multipoint maneuvers into your parking bay. Normally I would achieve that selecting low range, and reverse on just about tickover or the gentlest of throttle.
This new Grand is a whole NEW ball game, it is completely different experience, and, in my opinion can be dangerous. The throttle is fly by wire, Im not sure is this is contributory, but the issue is that the power train take up to wheel movement requires continuous blipping of the throttle to get transition from reves to movement,but, the revs keep climbing and so it off throttle and brake to prevent te take up too quick. It's not that clever reversing the car into a tight spot either, even worse if you have a gradianet or up kerb.
Dealers have looked, and agree but FCA state its characteristic. Trouble is, this is a car competing with BMW, Audi and Range Rover. Its certainly got a terrific launch from the lights, but you don't drive backwards in quite the same way it drives forwards. The transition from revs to torque is somehow wrong. What Else, if that's not enough, some joker has sealed up the rear window. It used to open, what a bonus that was, now the electric boot wants either to be open or shut. Roof rails, my roof ger no long fits and there are no rail slots for ties. Running lights, how come there is no option for running lights of along with tail lights on?. Puddle lights , great idea but, unless they are on the underside of the door, when you open the door the mirror mounted light suddenly vanishes out 90 degrees away from the puddle area. LAST road tax, when purchase the tax was £280, now its £500 due to the emissions reveal. This is not progress peeps, its lost a portion of its utilitarian use. and now due to the FCA finance pack I'm stuck with it for another 3 years. If Id wanted a car that just went well and did no utility stuff I would have opted for the BMW X. Jimbo

BadgeOverland
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Loved it

Great car. Beautiful to drive and gorgeous to look at. Plenty of space and power. Fuel consumption of my 5.7L V8 was as expected ( it's thirsty- no two ways about it - average of 11L/100km on the highway at 110km/h. Around town expect closer to 20l/100km ). ECO mode is useless. The stereo system is awesome.
Had no issues with it other than parts being ridiculously expensive. For major service items like the transmission service, buy local aftermarket parts or from the USA - Jeep genuine parts prices are nuts.

BadgeOverland
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Blackhawk

Bought the grand charakee Blackhawk in July 2014 and haven’t looked back since bought it from jeep Mentone. For 53,000 new it’s done 78,000 to date 23/9/18 had no issue with servicing no dramas with the engine. Only thing was the sensor that was put in by a aftermarket company in Oakleigh were it’s a little too sensitive. Took it back. Still a little sensitive but better more then less I guess. Sports mode is VERRRY NNIICCCCEEEE. Good way to feel like you bought a SRT wile keeping your licence for those family day cruzes. Happy customer

BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Cannot live without!

This is my business vehicle.
It's used everyday to tow a single axel trailer FILLED with appliances! (Coffee machine, generator, 3x fridges and an oven)
Recently needed a factory recall but didn't pay a cent, and I've only ever had it in the shop to get services!
My Jeep is my love. (Blackhawk - 2015)

BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Reliable, capable, comfortable.

Bulletproof engine, very capable 4x4 system, seats with epic comfort, and as many gadgets as you'd find in a 90s Bentley if you have a limited model. 7 years of ownership and my biggest regret is selling it.

Far from being fast or economical, it came into its element off road where low-mid range torque of a 4.0 engine propelled the comparatively light body through just about anything the chassis would clear. On that note, there is no chassis, rather a unibody design. This allowed a lighter design, but was actually stronger than most body on frame trucks at the time.

Compared to the more popular XJ Cherokee brother, this one has more interior room and a better ride, along with a technical advantage in coil suspension all-round. However, it was heavier and slower than the XJ, and had a transmission that generally did not last as long as the unit in the Cherokee.

At this age the orginal Grand Cherokee is still going strong. One can expect a number of minor electrical fixes as there is a lot wiring going to all the features and warning systems etc. But certainly no more than later models, and after replacing a $20 part that is the crank position sensor, this 4.0 will be very reliable and capable transport indeed.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010

Amazing Bit Of Kit!

I started with a compass a few years back and then moved into a Grand Cherokee Limited as the Compass didn’t have the grunt I was looking for.
I have had zero issues with both vehicles and just about to buy my 3rd Jeep Grand Cherokee:
It’s so smooth on road but handles off road without any hassles at all!
Bang for buck, this is hands down the best option going around!
I’m sure I don’t need to go into what you get, just do yourself a favor and take one for a test drive and I’m sure it won’t disappoint!

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Trailhawk love this car

We have now traveled 3000 km in new Jeep, towed out 2.6 ton caravan with ease, has 3.0 lt Diesel engine heaps of power, using about 16 L/ per 100 and about 7.5 when not towing. Information system is awesome can display so much, heated and cooled seats are great. Love adaptive cruise control slows and breaks down hills and follows speed of car in front. Seats are best I have ever had very comfortable and electric lumbar with up and down as well. Auto wipers and dimming headlights work very well.
Sound system is really good, phone calls are very clear as well. Select 4wd setting are great, have had a beach drive and off road track, you have 3 different ride hights for air suspension as well as low entry exit settings. Car will brake if an accident is imminent, warns you if car is approaching as you reverse out of parking spot. Keyless start and entry is very handy and electric tailgate as well.

BadgeTrailhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Seized engine

I have a MY 2015 Grand Cherokee diesel and the engine has seized up. I have enjoyed the car but this has been a pain. It has been frustrating getting action on this one from customer service. However, after months we have resolution and the engine will be replaced. . .

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Best can I have driven and I had over 30

Had GC Laredo 3.0 diesel for 6 years it has done 215 000km not missing a beat. Has replaced the waterpump recently but maybe because I pushed it too hard after 6 years. Test drive the Prado yesterday what a donkey!! You just can't compare the power the comfort and the styling.

BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Overland 2015 DIesel

Had this car since new and with no problems at all. Love the way it handles and tows my caravan. Plenty of power to overtake and do the day to day groceries. Great fuel economy as well for a heavy car and defiantly would recommend this car for someone that is after a 6 cylinder diesel.

BadgeOverland
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

I got a Jeep!!!!!

Oh my gosh, this grand Jeep Cherokee is so so so AMAZING. Front Seat warmers, steering wheel warmer, back seat warmers, can it get any better. Oh yes it can ! ! ! !
The music surround sound, AMAZING ! Best feeling hopping into a heated seat car in the winter.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

I just had the 120k service and drove about 5 to 10 kms and the alternator on my 2014 diesel Laredo has failed and taken out the battery. Is this a common failure?
No answers

is 2015 grand Cherokee overland has Electronic stability control
1 answer
Not sure. Check redbook

i have the option to by a 2005 diesel with 217000 km on the clock for 7000 dollars. any comments please
1 answer
That can be high miles for the diesel. I know the earlier ones had a few issues.

Similar listings