1 photo
Kumho Road Venture AT51

Kumho Road Venture AT51

2.4 from 14 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best 4WD Tyres in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kumho? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (7)
  • Off-Roading Frequency
  • Wet Weather Handling
    2.4 (7)
  • Durability
    2.7 (7)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    3.4 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

kumho warr very bad customer help

published

i bought the tires about 15 mouth ago and now i have problem with them so i went where i bought them they emailed kumho warr and told them about them and they will not cover them so i have 4 tires that are no good payed 920 for them now got to buy new ones so do not buy any kumho tires they will not cover them under warr very bad customer help from them will not buy any of them ever again

Purchased in June 2020 for $920.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
markybear2003
markybear2003Sydney, NSW

Never again kumho

published

Not even a year old or 20,000 ks
Less than 3mm left terrible tyres don't waste your money on they were ok in wet performed well just don't last long

Purchased in September 2020 at Bob Jane T-Marts for $900.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Other 4WD Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
T Gnav
T Gnav Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

KHUMO AT51

published

Only had these tyres for 5 month and wears out too fast half way already.
Slippery during wet. Can’t hack an off road gravel track. I had 2 puncture tyres. Never again.

Purchased in October 2020 for $880.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Bruce
BruceGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very scary tyre. Do not buy.

published

Fitted new with full car alignment, regular rotation and balance.
1. On wet tared road, absolutely dangerous. Lockup without warning. (Previous tyres never did this),
2. Clear uneven last two outer edge ware, that has jaggered tread separation noticed by me and my mechanic as dangerous tread separation on ALL 4 tyres both edges.
3. Road noise significant. Compared to previous tyres, distinctively loud.

Kumho are renowned for tread separation world wide. These AT51's certainly exhibit clear dangers of this very issue here in Australia!
Its hard to see in pictures, but outer edge ware not only at different level but also pealing and separating as if rubber is different quality or area wrongly layered.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Tyrepower for $800.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
4WD Tyres

Find out how Kumho Road Venture AT51 compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Scooter
ScooterSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

No grip in the and in Mud

published

Purchased a full set of Kumho 305/170 tires from Kmart 3 years age, great tire in the dry, in the wet and in muddy terrain there poor, wear wise, I've done 50k and should get another 30k before needing replacement.
Would I buy them again, yes I would but not from Kmart due to there poor after sales service as they couldn't do wheel lineament correctly if they tried.

Purchased in February 2017 at Mycar (Kmart Tyre & Auto Service) for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Justin
JustinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst tyres in the wet - dangerous

published

I have had these tyres for over a year. The noise level is good compared to others I have owned. The tread lasts but these are extremely dangerous in the wet. They slide, fishtail and offer little to no grip.

I would never purchase these again.

Value for Money
1/5
Noise Level
3/5
gypsymaggie
gypsymaggieVictoria
  • 24 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified

Great Tyres Good grip

published

Bought these Kumho AT51 Road Venture Tyres recently for my 4WD Set of 4 & I really like them, they have a good grip, feel safe on the road even in the pouring rain, Also quiet on the road, that was the tyre that was on the car when purchased so I thought I'd stick with them. Would recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Whittlesea Tyrepower for $795.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Thommo
ThommoSouth East Queensland, QLD

KUMHO Road ventur AT51 - pathetic in the WET

published

Not bad in the dry, but any moisture around and they become slippery. The tyres are unremarkable as far as providing any benefit as far as performance goes. Wear is not to bad but as I said dangerous in the wet. I certainly will not be using these tyres again.

Car2011 Nissan Pathfinder

Other 4WD Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Bad choice of tyre

published

3 of the 4 tyres purchased de-laminated and became unusable. 2 within 2 years and one at four years of age Very limited life and poor performance. kumho offer little in after sales service. Low noise reasonable grip in dry but poor grip in the wet. overall would not consider Kumho again.

Carholden rodeo
4WD Tyres

Find out how Kumho Road Venture AT51 compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex G
Alex GMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good not great

published

Have 4, 31x10,5x15 on Ford Ranger for 2 years:
Good front wheel stability,low hwy noise-5 stars
Bad traction on wet-2 stars,
Just as bad in the mud-2 stars, as soon as groves fill up with mud,traction gone,
Delicate side wall,
After 20K hit a pot hole at high speed,split the side wall on front(got heavy bull bar and winch)
Verdict:OK tyres but you have to go easy on them...

Car2008 Ranger
Shad
ShadCairns
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value

published

Cheapest price found at k mart
Good value. Quiet tyres and great grip in the wet or dry. After my last set of noisy muddies it's great now at any speed to still be able to have a conversation. Had to buy a whole set and would recommend these as seplacement again if necessary.

CarPatrol

Other 4WD Tyres

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Steve
SteveCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Good value for money

published

I bought 6 of these tyres in April this year 285x75x16 for my patrol I have done 14,000km since the purchase they are very quiet and grip the road surface well and are good in the wet. Their good on gravel roads but they do tend to hold stones in the tread because the gap is smaller than my previous set of Kumho KL78. I would recommend these as a good all round tyre.

Car1993 Ford Maverick/Patrol
4WD Tyres

Find out how Kumho Road Venture AT51 compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keithk
KeithkBrisbane
  • 4 reviews

Value for the money

published

Got them from tyre power for the company vehicle. This is to replace 4 Dueler and less road noise. Not sure if i get the cheapest price but seems reasonable when doing some mild off road and camping. Cannot judge too much on the off road performance as i have only done once. bitumen wise is good and comfort. not sure about the life span of these tyres too as i just replaced them 1 month ago.

Car2015 Mitsubishi Triton
Silly Boy
Silly Boy
  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified

Happy So Far

published

Have had these for just on 12 months (size 265?75R16) 50% on dirt roads like Gibb River etc. Towing a 2 ton K/van. the other 50% on the black. Have done 20,000 Ks. one wheel align and tyres crossed at 19000 Ks. tyre tread new was 12mm, now approx. 8.5mm. working on that premise should get a good 60,000k,s . they are reasonably quiet. and handle well. The drivers are conservative.

Car100 Series Lancruiser.

Questions & Answers

Diversion
Diversionasked

What pressures Kumho AT 51 225 R17 should run at on Bitumen, Gravel Mud and Sand

2 answers
gypsymaggie
gypsymaggie

Bitumen, gravel 32 psi, mud, sand 20 psi,

Thommo
Thommo

first off I would never touch a kumho tyre again . They are rubish. You are better of with a decent brand.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.