7 photos
Land Rover Discovery

Land Rover Discovery

3, 2, 4, 5
3.9 from 138 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Land Rover? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
  • Braking
    4.0 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (15)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (15)
  • Handling
    4.1 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (15)
  • Features
    3.6 (14)
Previous
Next
Ostsee
OstseeSydney, NSW
  • 23 reviews
  • 8 likes

Legend Discovery 4

published

People always said LR had lots of issues or problems, but my experiences with LR4 is quite good. I purchased my LR4 brand new from Purnell Land Rover back in 2015. Served my family for almost 6 years, and never had any issues. Super comfort. And thge TDV6 engine is well tuned and bullet proof if you well maintained.

Purchased in October 2015 at Land Rover Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve
SteveSydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

These cars are absolute lemons , you have been warned , if you buy one you are doomed

published

Land Rover are rubbish if you buy one you must be stupid, Land Rover Australia are the lowest form of scum on the planet , I’ve never witnessed such incompetence in manufacturing and sales

Purchased in January 2019 for $120,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul S
Paul SGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great cars but need TLC

published

Purchased in March 2013 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Khurram
KhurramSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Expensive Lemon!

published

I bought Disco 5 in 2017,brand new with 3 years manufacturer and 2 years extended warranty.
The problems started within few months and the car was sent for suspension issues and reversing camera fault 5 times!!!!. Been to fair trading and that was a waste. Now the roof has started to leak and i booked for a service check and was informed that i may have to leave the car for few days and " all the loan cars were sold " so no loan car,just UBER vouchers.
What a joke.
Like P T Barnum said "There's a sucker born every minute"
Im the sucker and i hope no one else falls for this scam. Is there no legal action against Landrover?

Purchased in August 2017 for $125,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Never buy

published

Can't believe how Land Rover Australia can sell a car with a known engine failure. I have had two major failures after buying within 13000Km. Full air suspension failure and engine balance shaft replacement. I only came to know recently the balance shaft issue is a known issue with some LR diesel engines and that starts with a whining noise and can stop the car while driving. Many cars are not get fixed by the shaft replacement alone eventually required engine replacement.
It's a comfortable car when it's problem free. But can stop your trip anytime.
Search LR Balance shaft on internet for more info.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
mich
michThe Mallee, VIC

Turbochargers

published

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Deedub
DeedubMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best car I've ever owned.

published

I've owned 6 other 4WDs (Pajero, X-Trail, Triton (2), Hi-lux, & D-Max) and the Discovery 5 is in a class above. Unfortunately, so is the price compared to the others - but it is worth it! We tow a 3200kg caravan and this is the best tow vehicle we've ever had. The 4WD capability is awesome with all the electronics and rear diff lock. Only downside is the need to add AdBlue - it's a pain, and it needs heaps when towing. If you don't tow, don't worry.

Purchased in July 2019 at Land Rover Dealers for $100,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Lemon

published

Purchased for $110,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Eric
EricHobart, TAS
  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best Car to Buy

published

My 2014 Discovery rotary gear selector locked itself in Drive. Fortunately another owner posted a fix which I did and now it's all good.

Apart from this issue the car has been faultless and is by far the best car I've owned for comfort, safety, flexibility on and off road and power and performance. Value for money second hand is really good with more features than a Toyota for half the price!

The 8 speed auto is really good and makes towing a breeze.

Purchased in October 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom Maruschko
Tom MaruschkoSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wouldn't risk taking it off road

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Land Rover Dealers for $88,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wisam
WisamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Car has lots of problems after warranty expires

published

I purchased a new 2015 LR last year after warranty expired car had major oil leak. Took to dealer they fixed leak under warranty then few months later had oil leak again. Took to dealer they advised transfer box was leaking they fixed it cost $1400 LR refused to pay for it. Now I have new oil leak and dismal leak. Donot buy this car.. it falls apart after warranty.

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
fred
fred
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent...so far

published

comfortable and quiet. yet to be tested off-road. very annoying is the list of options which be expensive.
I am stepping up from TD5 which has had its issues, which once sorted has be very good. I hope this one has had the bugs removed by now

Purchased in July 2019 for $102,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
fred
fred
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

very enjoyable, albeit a few hiccups

published

purchased as a demo mid 2000 with 2000km. TD% 7seat with ACE and rear a/c, locking centre diff. haven't wanted to change it as yet because it is so nice to drive, could not see any advantage in getting a d3 or d4. currently 190K km.
few problems: head gasket(difficult to diagnose), oil pump fell off and blew up turbo, fuel pump suddenly ceased to work. regular services that are not too expensive. sad to see it go

Purchased in June 2000 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

the best car ever

published

i use my land rover as a work car and weekend warrior and the best of road car i have ever had better the my 200 series land cruiser and better than me mates y62 Nissan patrol i use it very day it is a beast it has done 73000 and not problems at all

the cool thing is it is very luxury and a very good of roadier that is some think the 200 series and patrol can not match it for plus the airbags make it a better off roadier and give it better ground cleanse so the car goes up and down and the terrain select system is wicked

just by one

FYI
i have put 28 inch A/T on it
me mate patrol has 30 inch A/T on it
my old 200 have 28 inch A/T as well

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Incredible

published

I drove my Disco 5 SE Sd4 over 16,000+ kms on some of the roughest tracks/roads (including the Streczlecki Track, the Oodnadatta track, the Gary Highway and some really terrible PAR’s as well as the Mt McCall track in Tasmania) that the country has to offer - mostly towing my Patriot camper-trailer. Other than destroying the factory tyres, as expected, the car handled the corrugations, deep sand, rocks and gibber, rock hopping, bull-dust, pot holes and a dust storm and tropical rain showers with no problem. A post trip inspection revealed that a suspension bellows became loose.
That’s it.
Comfort and toughness.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeSd4 twin turbo 2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Syn
Synasked
Discovery 4 (2009-2016)

Hi we are looking at purchasing a 2011 Discovery 4 SDV6 HSE. Should we be concerned with the 211000 kms on the clock? It test drove really well. Any assistance / advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance

1 answer
Khurram
Khurram

These cars are highly unreliable. Mine has been back many times and it was 2017 with 0 km.

Stephen S.
Stephen S.asked
Discovery

2009 discovery 4 error messages. ie Gearbox fault , park brake fault, stabilisation fault etc.all coming up on screen one after another.Usually clears if vehicle turned off for about 10 minutes. have had air bag pump replaced as suggested by dealership then brake light switch twice.ok for months then starts fault mode again. Vehicle does not loose power but does lower suspension. Any Ideas.

1 answer
Khurram
Khurram

Im sori but i dont know the answer .
Mine is 2017 disco and its been back many a times. Last time the roof leaked!

Gary H
Gary Hasked
Discovery 4 (2009-2016)

Hi 2010 Discovery 4 sat nav screen frozen on Land Rover and will not turn of this drains the battery radio also doesn’t work I have to take fuse out so battery doesn’t go flat any ideas please

4 answers
Stu Hearn
Stu Hearn

take off the battery leads, hold them together 10 secs, this resets the ecu, worth a try

Gary H
Gary H

Hi Stu can’t thank you enough I tried almost everything with no joy . Took your advice and it worked thank you . Happy New year

Stu Hearn
Stu Hearn

so happy for you Gary

See all Land Rover Discovery questions

Get an answer from our members

Land Rover Discovery

Details

Compare all 25 Land Rover Discovery
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $72,250$84,528$78,750$66,450
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.2 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 77 L85 L85 L77 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power177kW @ 4000rpm225kW @ 3750rpm190kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 1400rpm700Nm @ 1500-1750rpm600Nm @ 1750-2250rpm430Nm @ 1500rpm
Country of ManufacturePre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: Slovakia
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance850 mm850 mm900 mm900 mm
Release dateDec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016
Compare all 25 Land Rover Discovery
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.