??!
7 photos
Land Rover Discovery

Land Rover Discovery

3, 2, 4, 5
3.9 from 135 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (14)
  • Braking
    3.9 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (13)
  • Handling
    4.0 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (13)
  • Features
    3.6 (12)
Previous
Next
Khurram

KhurramSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Expensive Lemon!

published

I bought Disco 5 in 2017,brand new with 3 years manufacturer and 2 years extended warranty.
The problems started within few months and the car was sent for suspension issues and reversing camera fault 5 times!!!!. Been to fair trading and that was a waste. Now the roof has started to leak and i booked for a service check and was informed that i may have to leave the car for few days and " all the loan cars were sold " so no loan car,just UBER vouchers.
What a joke.
Like P T Barnum said "There's a sucker born every minute"
Im the sucker and i hope no one else falls for this scam. Is there no legal action against Landrover?

Purchased in August 2017 for A$125,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Never buy

published

Can't believe how Land Rover Australia can sell a car with a known engine failure. I have had two major failures after buying within 13000Km. Full air suspension failure and engine balance shaft replacement. I only came to know recently the balance shaft issue is a known issue with some LR diesel engines and that starts with a whining noise and can stop the car while driving. Many cars are not get fixed by the shaft replacement alone eventually required engine replacement.
It's a comfortable car when it's problem free. But can stop your trip anytime.
Search LR Balance shaft on internet for more info.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
mich

michThe Mallee, VIC

Turbochargers

published

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deedub

DeedubMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best car I've ever owned.

published

I've owned 6 other 4WDs (Pajero, X-Trail, Triton (2), Hi-lux, & D-Max) and the Discovery 5 is in a class above. Unfortunately, so is the price compared to the others - but it is worth it! We tow a 3200kg caravan and this is the best tow vehicle we've ever had. The 4WD capability is awesome with all the electronics and rear diff lock. Only downside is the need to add AdBlue - it's a pain, and it needs heaps when towing. If you don't tow, don't worry.

Purchased in July 2019 at Land Rover Dealers for A$100,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Lemon

published

Purchased for A$110,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Eric

EricHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Car to Buy

published

My 2014 Discovery rotary gear selector locked itself in Drive. Fortunately another owner posted a fix which I did and now it's all good.

Apart from this issue the car has been faultless and is by far the best car I've owned for comfort, safety, flexibility on and off road and power and performance. Value for money second hand is really good with more features than a Toyota for half the price!

The 8 speed auto is really good and makes towing a breeze.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tom Maruschko

Tom MaruschkoSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Wouldn't risk taking it off road

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Land Rover Dealers for A$88,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Wisam

WisamSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Car has lots of problems after warranty expires

published

I purchased a new 2015 LR last year after warranty expired car had major oil leak. Took to dealer they fixed leak under warranty then few months later had oil leak again. Took to dealer they advised transfer box was leaking they fixed it cost $1400 LR refused to pay for it. Now I have new oil leak and dismal leak. Donot buy this car.. it falls apart after warranty.

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers
fred

fred

  • 2 reviews

excellent...so far

published

comfortable and quiet. yet to be tested off-road. very annoying is the list of options which be expensive.
I am stepping up from TD5 which has had its issues, which once sorted has be very good. I hope this one has had the bugs removed by now

Purchased in July 2019 for A$102,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
fred

fred

  • 2 reviews

very enjoyable, albeit a few hiccups

published

purchased as a demo mid 2000 with 2000km. TD% 7seat with ACE and rear a/c, locking centre diff. haven't wanted to change it as yet because it is so nice to drive, could not see any advantage in getting a d3 or d4. currently 190K km.
few problems: head gasket(difficult to diagnose), oil pump fell off and blew up turbo, fuel pump suddenly ceased to work. regular services that are not too expensive. sad to see it go

Purchased in June 2000 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2000
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

the best car ever

published

i use my land rover as a work car and weekend warrior and the best of road car i have ever had better the my 200 series land cruiser and better than me mates y62 Nissan patrol i use it very day it is a beast it has done 73000 and not problems at all

the cool thing is it is very luxury and a very good of roadier that is some think the 200 series and patrol can not match it for plus the airbags make it a better off roadier and give it better ground cleanse so the car goes up and down and the terrain select system is wicked

just by one

FYI
i have put 28 inch A/T on it
me mate patrol has 30 inch A/T on it
my old 200 have 28 inch A/T as well

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Incredible

published

I drove my Disco 5 SE Sd4 over 16,000+ kms on some of the roughest tracks/roads (including the Streczlecki Track, the Oodnadatta track, the Gary Highway and some really terrible PAR’s as well as the Mt McCall track in Tasmania) that the country has to offer - mostly towing my Patriot camper-trailer. Other than destroying the factory tyres, as expected, the car handled the corrugations, deep sand, rocks and gibber, rock hopping, bull-dust, pot holes and a dust storm and tropical rain showers with no problem. A post trip inspection revealed that a suspension bellows became loose.
That’s it.
Comfort and toughness.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeSd4 twin turbo 2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Chris B.

Chris B.Litchfield, NT

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Magnificent car

published

The best car I have ever owned, by miles. The auto transmission is smooth as silk and the fact that it locks into top gear (8th) and stays there, makes it beautiful for touring, unlike the Toyota 4wd’s that chop and change gears.
The 600nm of torque make towing a breeze, and the fuel economy is amazing.
On top of that, the interior noise is almost non existent.

A superb car.

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive4WD
Roh

RohHealesville

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fault with EPB

published

The EPB or electronic Park Brake is not a serviceable part but after 4 years the motor or actuator that controls the hand brake seized making the vehicle immobile and the part needed to be replaced at a cost of $1590 plus minimum 4 hours labour so over $2000 to repair a park brake

BadgeS
Engine Size2.7L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Dave R

Dave RCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vehicle I have ever owned

published

Our 2018 Disco 5 Is the best vehicle we have ever owned. My wife drives It every day and loves the auto suspension as she has crook knees .Tows our 3 Tonne caravan effortlessly and the electronic towing aids work perfectly . 4000 kms so far and only had software updates at first service . Rockhampton Land Rover has been exemplary in its service and we will not do business any where else.

BadgeSE
Engine Size3.0L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Discovery compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard

RichardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Discovery 4

published

I bought a 2011 Discovery 4 in 2015 with 55000klm on it . It now has 150000klm now and has proven to be a great 4wd. It’s towed a caravan around most of OZ easily and is a very comfortable economical everyday car. People we speak to with Discovery 3or 4s all are also very happy with them. Ours has the 2.7 ford diesel I changed all the trans and diff oils at 100000 The disco is a very good vehicle.

Badge2.7
Engine Size2.7L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Ashleigh L

Ashleigh LAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

It you love it, it loves you back

published

We bought this car for off-reading adventures. Very good and comfortable for this. Great at pulling a trailer too. Slower on the quick uptake because it’s so heavy. Not good if you’re looking for a zippy 4wd but awesome for big trips. Pretty average on fuel depending. We have the diesel automatic.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeTd5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sean

SeanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Fuel Gauge never worked since new and Land Rover won’t fix it

published

Fuel gauge never worked from new, when parked on mild slope! Say they will fix it every service and haven’t. Now say it’s normal to not work if parked on a mild slope!!! Avoid Land Rover!!!!! If you have a problem, they will not fix it even though it’s a $70000 car.

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SCV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Lemon, electronic fault, no parts exist apparently. Coming up 6 weeks in workshop no end in sight.

published

Only travelled 600 Klms. Car kept locking us out and wouldn’t start. We were traveling to cairns for family celebration. Made it to Gracemere. With only a few calls to road assist. Then car wouldn’t start again and couldn’t reprogram, smart key issue. Towed to Rockhampton where it is still today nearly 6 weeks later.
Land Rover can’t find a part to fix it. Nothing here in Australia or the UK. So what now Land Rover??

BadgeSE
Engine SizeV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
ljwilson

ljwilson

  • 18 reviews
  • 18 likes

My Land Rover Discovery 2016

published
BadgeSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Drive4WD
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

David M

David Masked

Discovery 2 (1999-2004)

From David M, Perth: V8, auto transmission. Why is it, that from time time, upon turning the ignition key, the engine sounds as rough as guts and firing on less than all cylinders. And, as I reverse out of the garage, the brakes are super soft. But within just a few moments the engine runs smoothly and as it should. If I then take it to an auto repairer, nothing can be found. I’ve had the HT leads replaced (twice) but this situation still occurs from time to time. Otherwise I still love my Disco. Only done 150k.

No answers
sampath c

sampath casked

Discovery 5 (2016-2020)

i have a peculier issue in infortainment system. there are intermittent interruptions to sound susytem. all updates done. no faulty found. but this problem persists...can some one help with a recommended solution?

No answers
Katreace

Katreaceasked

Discovery 4 (2009-2016)

I have just fallen in love with the idea of Disco 4 after never really considering it as a 4x4 option due to its price as a new/demo vehicle, but now I have found a few in my price range BUT they have 80-95000ks on them, we were looking more into newish Pajero's.
Our biggest concern is cost of maintenance when things breaks! I have read mixed reviews about the reliability of Disco's. Does anyone have any experience in this?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 25 Land Rover Discovery
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$72,250A$84,528A$78,750A$66,450
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.2 L/100km6.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 77 L85 L85 L77 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power177kW @ 4000rpm225kW @ 3750rpm190kW @ 4000rpm132kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 1400rpm700Nm @ 1500-1750rpm600Nm @ 1750-2250rpm430Nm @ 1500rpm
Country of ManufacturePre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: SlovakiaPre-2019: UK, 2019-onwards: Slovakia
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance850 mm850 mm900 mm900 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016Dec 2016
Compare all 25 Land Rover Discovery

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.