??!
7 photos
Land Rover Discovery

Land Rover Discovery

3, 2, 4, 5
4.0 from 131 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
71
4 star
26
3 star
9
2 star
13
1 star
12

Lemon

published

Purchased for $110,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Eric

EricHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

Landrover Ignores Safety Issue

published

My 2014 Discovery rotary gear selector locked itself in Drive resulting in an embarrassing tilt tray ride to the dealer who estimated 2000 dollars to investigate ($357) and replace the module (880).

A quick internet search reveals this is a common fault both here and overseas and may have caused crush injuries in the US.

I wrote to LR UK and LR Aus but was fobbed off saying they could not respond to mine ir other 3rd party diagnosis!

Beware...don't take your car with a rotary controller anywhere dangerous eg on a beach at low tide cause it may well lock up in D or P afterwhich you are stuffed!

LR is worse than dealing with Centrelink!!

Purchased in October 2019 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tom Maruschko

Tom MaruschkoSydney, NSW

Wouldn't risk taking it off road

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Land Rover Dealers for $88,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wisam

WisamSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Car has lots of problems after warranty expires

published

I purchased a new 2015 LR last year after warranty expired car had major oil leak. Took to dealer they fixed leak under warranty then few months later had oil leak again. Took to dealer they advised transfer box was leaking they fixed it cost $1400 LR refused to pay for it. Now I have new oil leak and dismal leak. Donot buy this car.. it falls apart after warranty.

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Gear Shifting
See all answers

fred

fred

  • 2 reviews

excellent...so far

published

comfortable and quiet. yet to be tested off-road. very annoying is the list of options which be expensive.
I am stepping up from TD5 which has had its issues, which once sorted has be very good. I hope this one has had the bugs removed by now

Purchased in July 2019 for $102,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

fred

fred

  • 2 reviews

very enjoyable, albeit a few hiccups

published

purchased as a demo mid 2000 with 2000km. TD% 7seat with ACE and rear a/c, locking centre diff. haven't wanted to change it as yet because it is so nice to drive, could not see any advantage in getting a d3 or d4. currently 190K km.
few problems: head gasket(difficult to diagnose), oil pump fell off and blew up turbo, fuel pump suddenly ceased to work. regular services that are not too expensive. sad to see it go

Purchased in June 2000 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

the best car ever

published

i use my land rover as a work car and weekend warrior and the best of road car i have ever had better the my 200 series land cruiser and better than me mates y62 Nissan patrol i use it very day it is a beast it has done 73000 and not problems at all

the cool thing is it is very luxury and a very good of roadier that is some think the 200 series and patrol can not match it for plus the airbags make it a better off roadier and give it better ground cleanse so the car goes up and down and the terrain select system is wicked

just by one

FYI
i have put 28 inch A/T on it
me mate patrol has 30 inch A/T on it
my old 200 have 28 inch A/T as well

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Incredible

published

I drove my Disco 5 SE Sd4 over 16,000+ kms on some of the roughest tracks/roads (including the Streczlecki Track, the Oodnadatta track, the Gary Highway and some really terrible PAR’s as well as the Mt McCall track in Tasmania) that the country has to offer - mostly towing my Patriot camper-trailer. Other than destroying the factory tyres, as expected, the car handled the corrugations, deep sand, rocks and gibber, rock hopping, bull-dust, pot holes and a dust storm and tropical rain showers with no problem. A post trip inspection revealed that a suspension bellows became loose.
That’s it.
Comfort and toughness.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeSd4 twin turbo 2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Chris B.

Chris B.Litchfield, NT

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Magnificent car

published

The best car I have ever owned, by miles. The auto transmission is smooth as silk and the fact that it locks into top gear (8th) and stays there, makes it beautiful for touring, unlike the Toyota 4wd’s that chop and change gears.
The 600nm of torque make towing a breeze, and the fuel economy is amazing.
On top of that, the interior noise is almost non existent.

A superb car.

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive4WD
Roh

RohHealesville

  • 3 reviews

Fault with EPB

published

The EPB or electronic Park Brake is not a serviceable part but after 4 years the motor or actuator that controls the hand brake seized making the vehicle immobile and the part needed to be replaced at a cost of $1590 plus minimum 4 hours labour so over $2000 to repair a park brake

BadgeS
Engine Size2.7L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Dave R

Dave RCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best vehicle I have ever owned

published

Our 2018 Disco 5 Is the best vehicle we have ever owned. My wife drives It every day and loves the auto suspension as she has crook knees .Tows our 3 Tonne caravan effortlessly and the electronic towing aids work perfectly . 4000 kms so far and only had software updates at first service . Rockhampton Land Rover has been exemplary in its service and we will not do business any where else.

BadgeSE
Engine Size3.0L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Richard

RichardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Discovery 4

published

I bought a 2011 Discovery 4 in 2015 with 55000klm on it . It now has 150000klm now and has proven to be a great 4wd. It’s towed a caravan around most of OZ easily and is a very comfortable economical everyday car. People we speak to with Discovery 3or 4s all are also very happy with them. Ours has the 2.7 ford diesel I changed all the trans and diff oils at 100000 The disco is a very good vehicle.

Badge2.7
Engine Size2.7L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Ashleigh L

Ashleigh LAU

  • 5 reviews

It you love it, it loves you back

published

We bought this car for off-reading adventures. Very good and comfortable for this. Great at pulling a trailer too. Slower on the quick uptake because it’s so heavy. Not good if you’re looking for a zippy 4wd but awesome for big trips. Pretty average on fuel depending. We have the diesel automatic.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeTd5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Sean

SeanMONA VALE

  • 2 reviews

Fuel Gauge never worked since new and Land Rover won’t fix it

published

Fuel gauge never worked from new, when parked on mild slope! Say they will fix it every service and haven’t. Now say it’s normal to not work if parked on a mild slope!!! Avoid Land Rover!!!!! If you have a problem, they will not fix it even though it’s a $70000 car.

BadgeHSE
Engine Size3.0L SCV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Lemon, electronic fault, no parts exist apparently. Coming up 6 weeks in workshop no end in sight.

published

Only travelled 600 Klms. Car kept locking us out and wouldn’t start. We were traveling to cairns for family celebration. Made it to Gracemere. With only a few calls to road assist. Then car wouldn’t start again and couldn’t reprogram, smart key issue. Towed to Rockhampton where it is still today nearly 6 weeks later.
Land Rover can’t find a part to fix it. Nothing here in Australia or the UK. So what now Land Rover??

BadgeSE
Engine SizeV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
ljwilson

ljwilson

  • 16 reviews

My Land Rover Discovery 2016

published
BadgeSE
Engine Size3.0L SDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Drive4WD

jackedoff

jackedoffPerth, WA

  • 28 reviews
  • 140 likes

Best Vehicle i have ever owned The 2006 Landrover Discovery HSE 4.4Lt

published

I could never afford a new vehicle, but this is then best one i have ever owned. Super smooth gear changes, powerful and very comfortable. Every possible luxury you could have, but no Bluetooth or reversing camera, only gives it a 4 star rating. LR want some $500.00 to supply an updated CD for maps for the GPS, really? I just bought a $70- GPS that updates from Google! Apart from that, it's regularly serviced, cared for and it doesn't cost me buckets of money to keep repairing like they are notorious for.
The fuel consumption is as good as how heavy your right foot is. In my case, i love the power so my consumption is high. If i wanted fuel economy, i would have bought a Prius!


Most versatile vehicle on the market. Air suspension makes sure of it.

published
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.7L TDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012

5th time the car has broken down

published

2017 car and its the 5th time its was sent back. First it was the reversing camera and now suspension fault. I had to get it towed. What a terrible experience.
I do have extended warranty on it but its just so unreliable. Once one problem is fixed another one pops up. I wish i never bought this car and land rover should take responsibility for this lemon that they have created.

BadgeSE
Engine SizeTD4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Sia A

Sia AAU

  • 5 reviews

Amazing

published

The discovery is a perfect car. Full of luxury it is an amazing car to drive. With its amazing new technology and high quality sound speakers. Highly capable off-road, yet very smooth and comfortable on road
High-quality interior
Good powertrain options
Bold exterior Love it so much worth the money

BadgeS
Engine Size4.0L V8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Lisa

Lisaasked

Has anyone had their Balance Shaft replaced in the Discovery 5? My car is 8 months old, has done about 5000 kms, and is currently booked in for both a leaking windscreen and replacement of the balance shaft. Unbelievable in a new car!

1 answer
Len S.
Len S.

hi lisa i think my sport might have the same problem have a viabration through the steering wheel and drivers seat.
leny


paul

paulasked

Hi all,
Has anyone racked up some high klms as yet? And is it fair to say that most of the issue's are electronics / infotainment system etc

No answers

Wil S.

Wil S.asked

I have a 2005 disco 3 tdv6 and wondered if possible to change the ac so I can use it from a button rather than it being automatic?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Land Rover representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.