??!
12 photos
Land Rover Range Rover Sport

Land Rover Range Rover Sport

L320, L494
3.4 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (6)
  • Braking
    3.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (5)
  • Suspension
    2.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    2.2 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (5)
  • Features
    2.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Don't buy one.

published

These vehicles are not safe dispute what the sales guy and your girlfriends at school drop off tell you. The way Land Rover have dealt with diesel emission on Range Rover sport is by the vehicle slowing to 20km per hour once there black box needs cleaning. You get no warning it's going to happen, nothing you just slow. It has happened to my wife several times on the freeway then the car has to be towed to the dealership in port Melbourne then you get charged $650 for the pleasure. Land Rovers response from the manager "you purchased the wrong vehicle"
After owning 8 range rovers this is our last.

Purchased in April 2017 for $149,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mark

MarkThe Mallee, VIC

Driving a lemon

published

Purchased my car at the port Melbourne dealership in August 2016 and loved it ever since it started breaking down(now for a 7th time) 2 years ago with the diesel exhaust filter red light comes straight on when I’ve been told countless times it should be amber first. Range Rover are putting it down to my driving style which hasn’t changed since I brought the car as where I live so makes no sense at all, I use it for business and pleasure 7 days a week. Roadside assistance are great but the Range Rover customer care team are just a waste of time, answers and solutions. My also gets regular services. All I get is the car is out of warranty so they wipe their hands clean from this mess passing it over to one another. It’s a lemon of a car guys!

Purchased in August 2016 at Land Rover Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Greg2250

Greg2250Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent drive, faultless

published

Ex land rover display car, bought with 16k km , now with 40k km, has not missed a beat. Mainly some short commutes and longer weekend drives. Excellent tow car; had a 2t caravan that it towed as if the van wasn't there. Brilliant drive whatever the surface.

Purchased in September 2017 at Land Rover Dealers for $99,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Range Rover Sport compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave J

Dave JSydney, NSW

2018 Sport. It died in my driveway, haven't seen it for over 2 months now and no phone calls.

published

Commuting on the freeway and visiting clients. I bought it because it should be safe
Twice a week. Never socially and seldom at weekends
Serviced to manufacturers requirements as per the handbook

Purchased in April 2018 at Land Rover Dealers for $120,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Dave J
Dave J
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a mistake a Range Rover was

published

I brought the top of the range Range Rover sport autobiography and I had nothing but trouble with the car from day one, screeching metal on metal sound so loud it hurt my ears when driving slow, it was a total embarrassment.
I took it in for the complaint 3 times to be told there was no problem, as soon as the warranty ran out the whole front drivers side suspension destroyed itself, I had to fight to have it covered u der warranty a week after it ran out.
Service team are rude and useless and make a complaint to head office you get a sorry better luck next time.

Purchased in June 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

WHY I WOULD NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER RANGE ROVER SPORT.

published

Purchased in September 2016 at Land Rover Dealers for $150,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst car and woeful service

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Hunter Land Rover.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Adam

Adam

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Range Rover Built for Royalty...

published

Great car fit for Royalty literally lol very comfortable and very well built customer service is impeccable they could not do enough for us i would not buy one with big klm's or out of warranty for obvious reasons if something goes wrong its going to be expensive it is an expensive car.I would highly recommend a RRSport as a family car and yes every car/suv has problems that's life deal with it.

BadgeSDV6 HSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Range Rover Sport is a lemon

published
BadgeTDV6 SE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Range Rover Sport compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
krystal888

krystal888WA, 6024

  • 25 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great car - you pay for what you get I suppose

published
BadgeTDV6 Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Bill 65

Bill 65Darwin

Great vehicle pity Land Rover Australia doesn’t perform as well

published

Have a 2010 tdv6 and for the main we love it. Have had the transmission sump replaced to allow servicing, fitted a water watch, bull bar, roof rack and replaced the front lower control arms. Biggest beefs are the lack of map upgrades and JLR Australia call centre and their total lack of product knowledge. Also buy my parts from uk as they are about 2/3 cheaper than oz even with freight. Why should we be paying premium prices for a bunch of suites in a flash head quarters. also use British off road north of brisbane they know their product and reasonable with prices.

BadgeTDV6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Steve

SteveSydney

Worst car i have ever purchased

published
BadgeTDV6 Luxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Davo

DavoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Exelent, but...

published
BadgeTDV8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

It goes wrong after warranty expires

published

The 2014 SE Diesel is a great car although I'm disappointed with a few things - The Range Rover name has tarnished on the bonnet. The airbag warning light remains on and according to Landrover needs a new harness at $900! How does a harness fail? It's never been off road yet it has a suspension fault that requires another $2,600 to be spent! Seems as though the electronic suspension is frail. All happened just after warranty with 75,000kms on the clock. No help from Landrover. It is galling that a $130k vehicle that is less than 4 years old is already failing. Perhaps the Range Rover reliability is not fixed on the new model. Never had a problem on the old Pajero!

BadgeSDV6 SE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
MD88

MD88Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car, Fantastic Drive

published

Perfection - the car drive is fantastic and the car is faultless. Although the base price is quite basic, we upgraded a number of items. Having come from a Mercedes C Class, there were a number of items i found missing or upgrades, however overall we are extremely happy with this vehicle and we will be sure to look in again for our next car also

BadgeSDV6 SE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Land Rover Range Rover Sport compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mick

mickBuderim

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ok but a few things

published

Previously had the supercharged Sport. Nice to drive but the music system is so bad, its tinny and the whole car shakes, the seat movement button is down the left hand side so cannot be reached when driving and the door needs to be open to move the seat.. The music system definitely lets this car down that's for sure.

BadgeSDV6 SE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Timhcollins

TimhcollinsPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

3rd one and still excellent - 4th on way

published
BadgeV8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Coco Black

Coco BlackSydney Surrounds, NSW

Worst experience - don't be fooled by the facade

published
BadgeSDV6 HSE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

The good and bad

published
BadgeTDV8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2008
don36

don36Hobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published

Brilliant to drive and very economical fuel consumption. I have TV6 SE but the level of standard equipment are down side.. unless you get SV6 HSE. But it is very nice car. quiet engine, love it so far.. no problem to date. it has done 16,000kms and we love it..

BadgeTDV6 SE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Libby E.

Libby E.asked

Range Rover Sport L320 (2005-2013)

Hi brains trust

Looking at buying a 2011 v6 diesel, 230000km, one owner full service history, this will be a second car for towing a caravan. What do you think?

1 answer
Dave
Dave

Hi Libby make sure you get the vehicle really well checked out. Engine wise they are a dog and blow extremes amount of smoke from about 60,000km. We had two of these from new and both exactly the same. Good luck.

dean.felton.50

dean.felton.50asked

Range Rover Sport

How much is an extended warranty for a 2016 model

No answers
Ben.C

Ben.Casked

Range Rover Sport L320 (2005-2013)

Hi I have a 2008 RRS L320 4.2 S/C V8 and the auto feels like its flaring in 3rd gear it doesnt feel right Ive serviced the trans a couple of weeks ago and done the adaptive clear and relearn but now its flaring badly from first to second not sure whats going on or going to happen next as its my first rangerover?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Land Rover Range Rover Sport
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $95,100$96,728$107,400$116,900
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km9.4 L/100km7.8 L/100km7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 74 L104 L86 L86 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power177kW @ 4000rpm221kW @ 5500rpm183kW @ 4250rpm225kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 1500-2500rpm400Nm @ 1500-4000rpm600Nm @ 1500-2500rpm700Nm @ 1500-1750rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited KingdomUnited KingdomUnited KingdomUnited Kingdom
Safety Features
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,000 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2018Jan 2019Jan 2015
Compare all 21 Land Rover Range Rover Sport

Visit official website

Other Large / 7 Seater SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.