12LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

LG Top Mount GT-442 Series

 Verified🏆 2024 Award
12LG Top Mount GT-442 Series
4.1

97 reviews

PositivevsNegative
82% · 8014 · 14%

Build Quality
3.9
Value for Money
4.0
Ease of Use
4.3
Cleaning & Maintenance
4.3
Noise Level
4.3
Internal Layout
4.4
Impressive 4-star energy rating
Quiet operation
'Smart diagnosis' feature

Reviews

97 reviews
Noel T.
Noel T.Central Queensland, QLD4 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442SDC

Amazing

I recently bought an LG fridge, and I'm absolutely loving it! The cooling efficiency is top-notch, keeping all my food fresh and perfectly chilled. Plus, the spacious interior design is a game-changer, allowing me to store large pots and pans easily. The sleek exterior also adds a touch of modern elegance to my kitchen. I'm genuinely impressed with its performance and would highly recommend it to anyone in need of a reliable and stylish fridge. Show details
alex.mooncat1973a
alex.mooncat1973aCanberra 2600, ACT9 posts
  GT-442 Series
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Eddy Andrews
Eddy AndrewsSouth East Queensland, QLD3 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Has exceeded my expectations!

Didn't think this fridge would fit my weekly shopping and was surprised at how deep it was. I am also really happy with how fresh my produce is kept now lasting a couple more days than in my previous fridge. Would definitely recommend it. Show details
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Khuong V.
Khuong V.Belconnen 2617, ACT4 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442SDC
LG
LG   DM   
More
Gazza
GazzaBrooms Head14 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442WDC

Great Fridge

Love this fridge,it is spacious, bright lighting inside. Strong shelves and runs very quitely.The doors are easy to open and close and the fridge beeps if you have accidently left a door open. Great fridge, great price. Show details ·  1
Jan
JanSouth-Eastern Region, NSW4 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442SDC

Very, very disappointed

I wrote a very positive review on this product about 9 months ago but feel it necessary to write another review now. Love the fridge BUT the door of the fridge have small 'dents' that seem to appear over night. We are in our 70s with no pets, no children and very clean and house-proud but so disappointed that this fridge dents so easily. Hate to see what it's going to look like in 5 years time. Would never have bought this knowing this problem. Also I totally agree with other reviews about the vegetable crisper down the bottom - the fridge door prevents you from opening the crisper wide enough to get anything in it properly - you literally have to remove the crisper just to get your vegies in and out. Total design fail.  Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
LG
LG   DM   
More
Orlando L.
Orlando L.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA2 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

Wish I never bought this fridge

Bought on 27/09/17, plastic fan in freezer compartment broke on august 2019, now after getting it fixed it’s broken again December 2020, have to wait 2 weeks for tech to look at it so I’m going to throw it out and never buy an LG fridge ever again nor will I recommend anyone to buy one, 3 years old and needs a 3rd fan, not to mention the inconvenience of not having a fridge for days on end because of waiting for technicians,  Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
LG
LG   DM   
More
Darrel C.
Darrel C.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  Fair Incentive 441L Top Mount GT-442SDC

Love it! Spacious and strong shelves

Like the design, colour etc and very easy to open and close the fridge. It beeps if it is left open for little bit longer. So spacious and keeps good temperature control. Show details ·  1
Ric L.
Ric L.South East Queensland, QLD3 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442WDC

Paper THIN DENTS easy! Thin PLASTIC cracks !

Paper THIN DENTS easy! i have treated this with kid gloves since owning to avoid this very thing and without trying dents appear never seen anything like it.. so cheaply made :( Thin PLASTIC inside cracks but even Worse the vegetable drawer barely opens enough it doesnt hold enough for 2 people but as i said it doesnt open enough to fit a lettuce in there even. you have to dis engage the drawer to get that in there.. they were out to lunch on this new inverter design and quality.. never again LG... Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
LG
LG   DM   
More
Liz
LizSydney, NSW3 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPLE

Love the fridge but make sure the door is on the right side as it cant be swapped

Maintains constant temperature. Doors are easy to open so great for older people. Easy to keep clean. Price wise it was a bargain for what you actually get. Would thoroughly recommend this fridge. Show details ·  1
Internal Layout
expattr
expattrSydney Surrounds, NSW9 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPL

LG FRIDGE IS NOT RELIABLE

I bought this fridge around August 2017. 2 months ago its door shelf is cracked although we used it gently. 1 month ago its leg support is cracked. I do not have enough time to buy a new fridge, and I do not want to use this fridge as a cracked door shelf preventing the door to close. LG provides a two-year warranty, and I need to pay around 100 dollars for replacing these parts. I do not recommend any LG product to people because of this experience.
Ease of Use
Jafrin S.
Jafrin S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC9 posts
  442L Top Mount GT-442BPLE

Very good service

Very good fridge for our family of five. Easy to adjust the temperature. Ample space in the fridge and fridge. Very good in very reasonable price. I definitely recommend this product. Show details ·  1
Sanach
SanachGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC5 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442SDC

Very good fridge at this Price

Purchased this fridge from the good guys for $890 including the delivery. Very good fridge, considering the size and capacity of the fridge. Been working good until now. Compared with the samsung fridge, this fridge has space for bottles at the bottom of the door. Show details
Noise Level
Libbyt
LibbytPerth, WA2 posts
  441L Top Mount GT-442SDC

Terrible. Wish I never bought it

Terrible. Freezer full of ice and frost in the first week I had it, and cycles between +12 and -23 degrees Celsius. Fridge won’t go below 6 degrees Celsius. LG service has been frustrating and uncooperative. Total waste of money and food. Show details
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Alex
AlexSydney, NSW18 posts
  Verified GT-442 Series
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Questions & Answers

Malcolm S.
Malcolm S. · 441L Top Mount GT-442WDC (White)

what is physical size of this fridge

lindsay rogers
lindsay rogers · 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)

is there a fan in the bottom section or does air all come from the top freezer section the fridge section is around 14 deg c and top -23deg c

Orlando L.
Orlando L.  

The fan is in the top section in the freezer

Christine L.
Christine L. · Top Mount GT-442 Series

We have 2 year old LG 441 Top Mount. compressor is very noisy with vibration, started shortly after purchasing and then stopped noise. Has started again now. Technician came out and said rubber mount isn't dampening vibration. He suggested putting cardboard under the wheel (doesn't stop it). He said maybe could get another rubber mount but might be part of whole compressor. Anyone else have this problem and how can it be fixed?

Details

Features:

  • Series of 2 fridges, one is a durable stainless steel, and the other has a white finish
  • These fridges don’t contain a huge amount of space, but they contain enough storage space to suit a household of around 3 to 4 people
  • Features strategically placed air vents, including vents at the back and within the fridge door. According to the website, items stored in the door cool up to 35% faster than LG fridges without this door-cooling featuring.
  • 4-star energy rating: A high rating compared to other types of fridges, which typically have much lower energy-ratings.
  • Although these are not smart fridges, both LG fridges offer a ‘smart diagnosis’ feature activated by pairing the fridge with a smartphone. If there are issues, this feature allows the fridge to figure out what the problem is.

Points of praise:

  • Reviewers were pleased that the fridge ran quietly and didn’t cause a disturbance. Some even forgot that their fridge was switched on.
  • Although both fridges weren’t difficult to clean, the stainless steel was especially easy. All it took was a quick wipe down to get the fridge sparkling again.

Points to consider:

  • Some reviewers wished there were more shelf space, but considering this type of fridge is typically thinner than others, it makes sense that this fridge wouldn't have the most amount of space
Compare all LG Top Mount GT-442 Series listings
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)
  • 🏆 2024 Award
  • Discontinued
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BPL (Platinum Silver)4.2 
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BWL (White)
  • 🏆 2024 Award
  • Discontinued
LG 442L Top Mount GT-442BWL (White)4.3 
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,259$1,139
Dimensions 1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm1690 x 700 x 730 mm
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDoor AlarmDoor Alarm
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves4444
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Weight70 kg70 kg69 kg69 kg
Door Hinge RightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainlessWhitePlatinum SilverWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 441 L441 L442 L442 L
Fridge Capacity 305 L305 L306 L306 L
Freezer Capacity 136 L136 L136 L136 L
Awards 2018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 20242018, 2020, 2023 and 2024

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.