??!
3 photos
LG WD1408NPW

LG WD1408NPW

MPN: 36436460
3.9 from 41 reviews

See the Best Front Loading Washing Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(20)
(10)
(4)
(1)
(6)


Ruby Ling

Ruby LingPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Got a faulty one on delivery and fight to get replacement

published

We bought this last year as we left the old one behind in the place we rented. When we first got the unit it didn't seem to be hot washing. Called LG which wanted to charge a $150 call out just to look at the new machine so I called Harvey Normans and had to argue it was faulty. Finally someone came out and agreed the heating element was not working inside so they swapped it for a new one. The new one has been work fine since the first one and seems to wash ok but still not happy Still dose not seem to be close to the set temps

Date PurchasedAug 2017

I can handwash better!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
S and A

S and ASydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great options

published

Bought this washer not long ago, very stylish design. Cleans my clothes well and gets rid of most stains without pre soaking. Cycles are quite long and gentle so it doesn't wear out my clothes. I love how it how many different options and settings on how you would like your clothes washed, also has custom settings to really customize your wash.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Pat Meyers

Pat MeyersDon

  • 5 reviews

Great Buy - quiet, efficient washing machine with great capacity

published

Bough my first LG product ever with this washing machine so impressed I bought the matching Drier and a microwave. Previously had Miele. These machines are innovative, quiet and do what they are supposed to without any fuss or bother. With my laundry door closed I can't hear them both running as I did previously.
Well done LG (also love my microwave)

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Vicky

VickyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Second lg frond loader

published

I’m once again really happy with my LG washer. The last one I had for more than 10 years and was still going strong only upgraded when I built a new home. It washes really well and is not rough on my clothes. Everything comes out clean and it’s easy to use. LG washers are great!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

grg

grg

  • 4 reviews

Great Product

published

its been about more than a year, working great, no drama so far unlike my previous one. simple and easy to use, less noise, can't complain, does the job. it is good for a small family or couple. definitely, recommend to other buyers cannot expect more than this for the price.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Crystal

CrystalCanberra

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

It’s great quality

published

A good washing machine for one person or small family. I normally use the mix function which wash clothes for 90 minutes. But it has speed function which only take 14 min, but doesn’t rinse and dry really well. Front load consumes less water compared to the top loaded washing machines. It is relevantly quiet but sometimes it does move around when spin the clothes. It also has 10 years warranty.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Beware Get extended warranty.

published

Had it for 2 years. Had rubber inside door changed after 12 months. Rubber tearing again. Luckily purchased extended warranty. Sometimes machine dances and walks a little. Friend says the bearings are probably done. He got rid of his as bearings faulted after two years. His FP TL.. I like better...

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Lg does not cover warranty on 9 month old washing machine

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sunil kumar  Tiwari

Sunil kumar TiwariHomebush

  • 6 reviews

A perfect washing machine for small family

published

A perfect washing machine for small family. It cleans clothes very well and rinse the clothes properly. It doesn’t wear-out your clothes.It consumes less water compared to the top loaded washing machines. It is quiet. I like the cleaning quality in less water consumption. Energy rating of this machine is high.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Andy

AndyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good but noisy

published

Cleans and rinses well, a word of warning if your pipes suffer from water hammer I would not recommend this model. When it dispenses water it does it in short bursts which would be very annoying. The spin feature also tends to make the machine skip abit. Lots of features in terms of washing but I only use the one really.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Brian

BrianNewcastle

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed

published

It was only after buying the machine and reading the warranty that we learnt that we could not place it on a pedestal (no warranty), nowhere was this mentioned on LG's web site. Now after ready the washing instructions we learn that it cannot handle larger than single bed bedding. This machine is supposed to be a family washer, what are we supposed to do with queen size bedding. Apart from these problems it does a good job.

May 5th 2018 Update: I wish I had bought some else

There is very little clearance between the drum and the outer casing which may cause the problem someone else mentioned. I have to admit it washes and rinses well but what am I to do with my doona which I am told is too big for the family size machine?

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Brian
Brian

We have a large size water hammer arrestor fitted and it still bangs the water pipes to an extent that I am expecting a burst pipe. Have never had this problem before.


Vicki J

Vicki JAU

  • 4 reviews

All about size!

published

Perfect for family sized wash loads. Washes wonderfully - even cloth nappies come out perfect every time. Good range of wash cycles which are able to be customised. Quiet to run.
Door opens even during a wash cycle without problems which is great if you have forgotten to put something in!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Ell

EllSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

So far it's perfect

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Matty

MattyGordon

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great washing machine for the family

published

After years of my old washing machine it decided to finally die. After researching for what seemed forever we settled on this 8KG washing machine as we have a growing family. It hasn't let us down since we purchased it and plays a nice little tune once its finished. Love it

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Christopher

ChristopherSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

No issues

published

Cleans clothes well, not loud. Easy functionality, many different wash types and does all that I require of it. Can't fault it at all. Clothes come out clean and whites whiter, love the mix setting don't need to separate items just load it altogether. Also has separate bag for delicates.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Lg customer service not worth the issues

published

The machine itself when working is fantastic. But 8 months later and mine now doesn’t drain water. Lg customer service is pathetic. 2 weeks I’ve been waiting to hear from their repairers and every time I contacted them I get the same answer “someone will contact you in 24-48 hours to make an appointment to repair it”
2 weeks later and nothing. Single mum working full time.. I can’t afford this!

Boycott LG products! Don’t waste your time or money on them! Better companies out there that actually care for their customers!!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Margie 51

Margie 51Victoria

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great machine

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Shannon

ShannonGisborne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great Product

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Review collected in partnership with LG


Bebz

BebzCairns

  • Verified purchase

Caused pilling/fabric pulling on my clothes and put holes in them.

published

Quite washing machine and nice finished sound. Only had the washing machine for 6weeks and clothes came out looking worn and old. New items were distroyed and came out looking years old with the fabric pilling. Was putting holes in my clothes. worst customer care. Washes took way too long. Buy Bosch. So much better!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sonia Khare

Sonia Khareasked

Can I use stand for safety purpose?

1 answer
Brian
Brian

No warranty if placed on a pedestal.


Stephanie

Stephanieasked

Do I understand correctly that it won't select both hot and cold water for under 40'??

1 answer
Brian
Brian

That is correct, it will draw cold water and heat it up in the machine.


Cathy

Cathyasked

What do I do when red key on machine keeps flashing and door won't open

1 answer
snoozles
snoozles

red key won't stop flashing if there is water still in the machine; try putting on the spin cycle . If there is no water in the machine and it still won't open turn it off at the power or if you have one press the reset button. Hope this helps.


Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.