??!
2 photos
LG WTG8520

LG WTG8520

MPN: WTG8520
4.4 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

4.4

59 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (30)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (29)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (29)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (28)
Previous
Next

Terrible service and machine

published

It ripped clothes and didn’t clean them. Support was rude and sent expired review link after they closed the ticket without consent. Never going to buy any LG product again

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Lucy Van P

Lucy Van PFrenchs Forest

  • 37 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Beware of lg "Washer" don’t throw away hard-earned money on a nightmare that sings

published

Purchased in November 2017 for A$678.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
georgenexus

georgenexusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect. Wonder

published

The machine can do very small loads right up to 8.5 kg. More if you need to. Agitator means that clothes are washed gently and efficiently. Timer function up to 18 hours. Perfect....

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$605.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 3.5kg AD39
See all answers
2 comments
LG
LG A.LG
georgenexus
georgenexus
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8520 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
carfan84

carfan84

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good machine- good value

published

Very good machine, service is great, they came and fixed it under warranty. Nice chime once complete- it’s takes about one hour per load but washes a lot at once.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
LG
LG A.LG
Nerdy

NerdyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great washing machine

published

Great washing machine as its easy to use and does a great job also its not noisy and its great that l can do my washing in cold water so l totally recommend this washing machine

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ryan O

Ryan OSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good machine

published

Got the machine without doing any background check but got lucky. Its doing a great job cleaning the clothes and have not had a single issue it just works. I have a large family and it easily handles everything.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bianca S.

Bianca S.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Still going strong 5 years down the track

published

We have had our LG machine for over 5 years and washed all sorts of things from dog beds to oily clothing and we have never had any issues with it. I love how you can change how long you want the cycle to go for and I love that it has never destroyed any clothing unlike previous machines.

Purchased in January 2015 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Satinderjit singh

Satinderjit singhGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Very gud

published

Hi i brought Lg 8kg front loader washing machine in November 2018 . It is Very nice and noiseless and saving water and electricity.i will recommend to all buy Lg you will not go wring

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Dane m

Dane mWanganui

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing washing machine

published

This machine has been astounding with 7 people in the household its going all day every day and it has only ever given trouble once and lg stood behind their product and put it right without question. Would reccomend their products to anyone its quiet and does what it is supposed to over and over. This is without question the best washing machine we have ever owned.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8520 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Samantha D.

Samantha D.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Gets the job done just superb

published

The cycle times very fast and efficient and the power bill a lot less not to mention the water very efficient and cost effective, washes the clothes wonderfully and have had no problems so all round happy with it

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeLG TD-C801H
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Marcel B.

Marcel B.Peel, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wife absolutely loves it

published

We tend to wash absolutely everything in it. It gets used probably everyday if it is sunny. The air dry function is a cool idea however does not work well. Love that it is a top loader as often I forget to throw a item of clothing in so I can quickly toss it in. Great product

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$598.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kale

Kale

  • 3 reviews

Bloody excellent the best washing machine I've ever had

published

This machine cleans my clothes the best I have ever experience such a nice looking state of the art machine cleans my clothes so well they look almost brand-new I would recommend this machine to Amy one who want quality for there money

Purchased in January 2019 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV5552 / EDV6552
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lisette

LisetteSt Andrews South Canterbury

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

LG's rigid settings.

published

Disappointed at its rigid settings. Wool washes cannot be changed from warm - I always use cold for woollies. Also I have washing on the line that is wet from the rain - I can't put it in the washing and just spin it. It has to either dry on the line or go through the washing cycle again.

Purchased in September 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
redly

redlyCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Family Washer

published

For the family and ease of use for clean clothes with no fuss! I could never regret purchasing this machine for my family as it gets almost daily use and has yet to give any sign of trouble..gee that spin cycle is turbo fast !

Purchased in March 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BadBlock

BadBlockAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good machine, lint filters tricky to clean

published

Washes good, quiet and big. The lint filters have to be washed with a brush under a tap, otherwise they're hard to clean. Found the auto program underweighing a bit, have to manually increase the water level, which seems to be only possible when the auto weighing has been completed. Having had this machine for 1.5 years now, no faults so far.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$754.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV6552 (6.5kg)
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WTG8520 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cheryl

CherylCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect and just press the button

published

For the past year l have been very happy with my LG washing machine.
I picked the larger model for convenience of doing less loads a week.
In Always it does a great job, buttons real easy to read. And best of all it has two filters no more fluff on my clothes.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Colleen S.

Colleen S.South-East, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Whilst being an "intelligent" washing machine..I still had doubts

published

Cycle times are great even heavily soiled clothes washed well
Delicate lingerie didn't become tangled which is rare for any washing machine.Overall this machine is good but not the best I've used.

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Maryann

MaryannPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love LG!

published

My family have had this machine for over five years and it’s still going great! I can even wash my king size doonas in it! Will definitely stay with LG!

Purchased in January 2015 at Harvey Norman for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Naisarg Pujara

Naisarg PujaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Washing machine with best energy efficiency

published

Wash all type of clothes. No stains remains after washing. Easy to clean and perfect for family of 6 to 8 people. Love to use it in day to day life. Very advanced features and best in its category when compared with other washing machines. Very much satisfied with this machine. Highly recommended

Purchased in March 2018 at Appliances Online for A$612.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kelly

KellyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Love this machine

published

Cycle times are great, the soak cycle for example works brilliant and bring everything out, we are very happy with the machine love it, it has also help my sister with her disabilities.

Purchased in June 2019 at Begents devonport for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Steve R

Steve Rasked

Why is spin speed lower than other brand washers? Does it take longer to wash and aalso spin dry with the lowerr speed?

No answers
Vee

Veeasked

My LG 8.5kg top loader is showing OE on the display. It doesn’t spin the water out. My husband has checked all drainage areas and cleaned them. It’s still doing it. I even tried the 5 second reset, it worked for 1 spin and subsequent load is still in there filled with water. What else can I do?

3 answers
Vee
Vee

Now it’s displaying FF, what does that mean?

carfan84
carfan84

Try LG’s troubleshooting guide:

https://www.lg.com/us/support/help-library/error-codes-washing-machine-CT10000010-20150140270078

Vee
Vee

Thanks.
I’ve tried it, no help. I’ve just downloaded the Smart Diagnosis App. I’ll let you know how it goes.

John P

John Pasked

John. We have had this about 18 mths. Goes OK but clothes sometimes end up with dirty grime marks on them - obviously from washing detergent build-up in unaccessable areas behind the bowl.
We empty the lint filters every wash, and have done hot bowl washes with the proper WM cleaner product etc. Still does it.
Very frustrating on white shirts, sheets etc.

1 answer
Ann S
Ann S

I have exactly the same problem. Contacted LG Customer service/support chat online got sent a couple of emails about scrud and lint. Still same problems so contacted LG by phone and a technician came out. HIs report stated no fault with washine machine must be operational fault. I followed the manual quide for detergent and softner usuage and frequent tub clean. They would not suggest a specific product to use for washing so I have now not used detergent or softner in my washing for over 3months and am still having the same dirty marks on my clothes. They still refuse to accept that it is a machine fault. Technicain require me to pay for call out as the warranty is now null and void. I have never had a washing machine that requires a tub clean after 10-12 washes. Or that cannot tolerate a tablespoon of liquid washing detergent diluted in a cup of water. Would never recommend an LG product ever again. Currently making complaint with department of fair trading and getting in tough with a current affairs. Customer service is disgraceful. :-( :-(.

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) A$849.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Dimensions 1020 x 635 x 690 mm
Motor Type
Max Spin Speed 700 rpm
Weight51 kg
MechanismImpeller
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Replaced byLG WTG8521

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8801031635481
  • MPN: WTG8520

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.