12 photos
LG WV5 Series
3.3 from 25 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Front Loading Washing Machines in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by LG

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (20)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Stopped working after 6 weeks

published

Power button stopped working suddenly after 6 weeks. Tried 'reset' as advised via several google articles but no luck. Its under warranty but this shouldn't happen to a new machine.

Purchased in July 2021.

Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG
Angela
AngelaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great Front Loader

published

Just bought this LG front loader from Harvey Norman. Great washing machine. Clothes come out nice and clean. Very quiet. I have to check to see if it's working. Great

Purchased in July 2021 at Harvey Norman Online for $894.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
LG
LG A.LG
ChrisW
ChrisWSouthwest, VIC
  • 13 reviews

Best Machine I’ve ever owned.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Betta Home Living for $698.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
LG
LG A.LG
Sophie
SophieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Everything about this machine is perfect!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $900.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
LG
LG A.LG
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WV5 Series compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbie Gers
Robbie GersSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Big capacity in a small machine

published

Just bought a new LG 10kg washing machine. It has the same size body as my old 8kg machine but with a 10kg drum. This is brilliant as it fits in the same space in the laundry. It has an excellent water and energy rating and has a steam clean function. Highly recommended!

Purchased in July 2021 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
LG
LG A.LG
Michael
MichaelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely terrific machine

published

Purchased in January 2021 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
LG
LG A.LG
Kath
KathGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Shakes on spin but good washer

published

First time user of a front loader and could not believe how much this thing shakes the house.

30 min quick wash is good, and the end cycle timer makes like so much easier. Quiet wash setting lives up to its name (outside of the spin cycle)

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for $850.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
LG
LG A.LG

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Would be negative stars.

published

Had this machine 2 1/2 weeks and it's died already. We had an LG before and it only lasted 2 years I should have known better. I will be requesting a refund as I know this will just happen again at a later date. Poor quality items and no customer service that wants to know about it.

Purchased in May 2021 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
LG
LG A.LG
Soraya
Soraya
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Will be requesting a refund on this machine

published

Purchased in March 2021 for $830.00.

Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WV5 Series compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Orietta
OriettaPerth, WA

VERY DISAPPOINTED

published

the cycle TIME should be clearly shown in the handbook so one can make an informed decision as to whether this machine is the right one for you. There is not a program for only RINSE.

Purchased in March 2021 for $689.00.

Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG
Aileen
AileenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Was a great little machine until now

published

Purchased in April 2020 for about $700.
We've owned LG washing machines since the 90s, so I felt confident in my buy.
It was a great little machine. Although a little bit noisy, it washed well and looks very stylish. I also liked that it works with my google home.
However, today, it has decided to suddenly stop working in the middle of a cycle, and won't turn back on at all. So now I have a washing machine full of water, and can't do anything until tomorrow morning. Not even a year old, and already having a major issue.
Very disappointing

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
LG
LG A.LG
Yecerlu
YecerluMelbourne, VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't buy LG - Terrible Customer Service

published

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $785.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Yecerlu
Yecerlu
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how LG WV5 Series compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bronwyn
BronwynSydney, NSW

Disappointed & confused

published

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $595.00.

Incentivised Review No
LG
LG A.LG
Michelle
Michelle Perth, WA

Disappointed

published

For the price I’m a bit disappointed. We get a bit of dog hair on our clothes and the washing machine seems to just move it around over all the clothes in the wash instead of washing it away.. Everything comes out covered in hair.
It’s also very loud, when the water is spraying in it sounds like a rocket taking off!! Maybe mine is faulty?
Also even on the lowest spin cycle my clothes come out in one big twisted bundle.. It does a good job of washing the clothes but overall I’m a bit disappointed given the price I paid.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $995.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
LG
LG A.LG
nessie lou
nessie louBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent washer - with one fatal flaw

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
LG
LG A.LG

Questions & Answers

Boots
Bootsasked
WV5-1408W (8kg)

Thinking of buying this machine. Disappointed that the manual doesn’t show the time it takes for each programme. Can anyone help with providing time for each programme?

1 answer
Sarah T.
Sarah T.

It varies depending on weight of load. I use cotton programme for everything except delicates and woolens and time varies between about 90 minutes to over three hours

Marie
Marieasked
WV5-1408W (8kg)

I have only had this machine for a couple of weeks and struggling to figure out best cycle for towels. They are coming out scratchy rather than soft. I have used the cotton setting with an extra rinse - the cycle is long, 1:38 for current load today. Any suggestions on best wash cycle to use or how I can modify? I was used to a top loader with 30-40min cycle and would love to use the Quick 30 but according to the manual this is only for 2kg of washing, so not sure adequate for the towels.

No answers
Charlie Bear
Charlie Bearasked
WV5-1408W (8kg)

We have just purchased the LG WV5-1408W at Harvey Norman. Our first wash was on the Cotton program - wash time 3h 40m! our previous machine was LG was 7.5kg which we had for 10 years. It also weighed the wash before starting and we never had a wash cycle which took that long. When i placed this question in the LG support chat window they replied with. . . Our unit has no specific timeframe of washing. Washing has a load sensing functionality. It detects on how long the washing cycle would take. It depends on the type of material, amount of loads, set temperature, washing mode use, volume of water, amount of detergent soap, and the temperature of outside environment. The user guide with the machine give little information as to load limits for each of the wash cycles. How can i choose was wash program, average load, average clothes which will not take half a day!

3 answers
ChrisW
ChrisW

I find that by using the download function which connects to your mobile device (LG ThinQ) you can pretty much create your own cycle. I did similar with a spin cycle. Sometimes I found I just wanted to spin something I had hand washed but there was no preset cycle just for spinning. The download function is great if you can do it.

Angela
Angela

I have only used the quick cycle which takes 30 mins and Easy Care cycle which took 1 1/2 hours. Quite happy with both. Maybe try the Download function if your comfortable as ChrisW has suggested.

Charlie Bear
Charlie Bear

Thanks for both replies - i have the LG ThinQ connected and using the rinse and spin on the Download function. Also the quick cycle and delicates are working well for us.

See all LG WV5 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

LG WV5 Series

Details

Compare all 4 LG WV5 Series
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $1,079.00$839.00$959.00
Capacity9 kg7.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing, Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof), Reload/Add Wash and Steam FunctionAuto Balancing, Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Steam Function
Energy Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Water Rating4.5 star(s)4 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 605 mm850 x 600 x 535 mm850 x 600 x 605 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,200 rpm1,400 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds656
Number of Wash Cycles61111
Temperature Settings 666
Weight70 kg64 kg70 kg
StackableNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Compare all 4 LG WV5 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.