??!
1 photo
Makita MLT100

Makita MLT100

2.2 from 24 reviews

See the Best Table Saws in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
7
1 star
10

Marital definitely needs to lift their game.

published

Straight out of the box the fence wouldn't lock down. Poor manufacturing. The guard system allows no other cuts than ripping of small stock, is flimsy and eventually broke. Bad. Next the fence got wildly inaccurate (out of table square) the blade grabbed and I was lucky to not get injured. Bad. The solution to this was the two grub screws on its base that allowed adjustment. Good. Then the fence and the blade were not parallel and again it grabbed and chipped out. Bad. After inverting the saw I finally found an adjustment at the top where the carriage swivels. Two 10mm bolts that can be eased and the blade made parallel.
Really didn't expect so many problems from a Makita oh oh, made in China.
Junk, dont buy.
Australia

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings for $595.00.


Madlam

MadlamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great saw

published

Quieter than other saws iv had nice guide system and extendable table. Runs smooth. Easy to.clean out than other saws . Good power cuts thru anything. Rate highly for diy use

Purchased in October 2019 for $600.00.

Happier than I expected

published

Reading reviews for this saw had me worried but after using it my only complaint would be the fit of the mitre fence runner in the saw table slot. Sloppy!

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Richard Mittra

Richard MittraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Disappointed.

published

I have always been a staunch Makita owner and on Sunday sold my 2400B Miter Saw as I had replaced it with a new AEG saw/stand system. This was one of the most reliable of your previous products that were always represented by the signature blue. The MLT100 is quite a disappointment as the runners on the miter assembly are flimsy/slack and the fence is equally so. I noticed too, that it was produced in China....the home of products of the lowest/cheapest quality and am shocked to note that the Japs would farm their work to someone notorious for crappy workmanship and jeopardise their well-earned reputation to save a YEN!

Purchased in May 2019 for $649.00.


ThornyBob

ThornyBobMelbourne

  • 25 reviews

It's done me no wrong.... :)

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Bunnings Warehouse for $518.00.


Angata

AngataMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good up to a point

published

I'm a tradesman. I've used Makita for most of my tools for over forty years. This is pretty much junk. The fence is shoddy and will not stay in place because only one end fixing which is flimsy. Everything all the other reviews say about this is true. It kicked back today because the fence was wobbly and now there is a massive noise in the motor/bearings somewhere that makes it scary to use. I bought a much cheaper Ryobi to assist on a job and it is so much better. Stay away from this machine. If Makita have dropped their quality so much I'll move to another brand. Can't trust Makita any more!

Purchased in July 2017 for $600.00.


LuckySam

LuckySamBRISBANE

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Makita MLT100 Piece of Junk !

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

MLT100 by Makita. Great for the Builder or Handyman

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Downhill Madman

Downhill MadmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

I upgraded from a Ryobi 10"

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
twodear

twodearAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Adequate but poorly designed and manufactured

published
Date PurchasedJun 2005

Not up to makita standards

published

Makita need to take a good look at this saw as it is well below their normal high standard of wood working tools
42 years working with timber and every power tool I own is Makita I assumed this saw would be another great asset much to my shock it is poorly built and designed
The fence does not clamp on tight enough and moves when ripping timber and the sliding cross cut fence is too tight and won't slide unless you use excess force
A very disappointing power tool and would not recommend buy it as there are others on the market slightly cheaper and better built
Makita go back to building your tools in Japan instead of China as it was not cheap and customers deserve better

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Gary

Gary

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Brilliant for a compact unit, highly recommend.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017

G Mount

G MountMELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

no two cuts the same

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Couldn't be better

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

unless cheap rubbish

published

bought this friday ,opened the box and straight away see theres a gap at the bottom edge of the sliding table at 2mm and the top was 8mm , rust on the arms that pull out and the guide fence is over at the top by 5mm ,sent it back for a replacement and the one thats come today is worse ,haven't even removed it from the box, as the table has so much wobble in it ,and out at 6mm, piece of crap ,and to be fair i have always been a makita fan,but looks like they are not even going through quality control,time to move on to festool .stay away from this saw cheaply made .

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

You need good nerves.

published

I bought this saw in December 2015 after deciding to downsize my workshop. My problem from the outset has been the full speed start. You need good nerves to stand the bang that shakes the saw. I have spoken to Makita and, apparently, the soft start was taken out some time ago and they are unable to offer any solution to the problem. Has anyone come up with a solution for this please. I have not used this machine very much as this bang makes me nervous and I feel that this could be a health and safety issue for anybody buying this machine as you dont need to be of a fragile nature!!!

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Wish I read these reviews first.

published

All the problems everyone else has already detailed. Started tripping out and the electronic break failed after the second small job. Ordered new brushes for the motor which didn't make any difference tried to use it again and it burnt out the motor completely. Lost my receipt so no warranty and I wouldn't want this same saw back again anyway, even if the motor wasn't junk it would still be hideously inaccurate and borderline dangerous. I'd stick it on council cleanup but I'd be worried someone else might use it and sue me.

Totally put me off anything Makita makes if they are OK with sticking this piece of junk on sell.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Don't go near this saw

published

I bought this table saw approx 2yrs ago. Decided to upgrade my Triton that I got around 1995 as I Owner Building my house at the time. Well, I have had Makita tools back in the 70's. What a disappointment, the guide is SO inaccurate, I also checked reviews before I made my decision. I want to get rid of the thing, but I can't pass this heap of crap on to anyone else.

Date PurchasedApr 2014

Do not go near this saw

published

As per above, I have one of these. What can I say this saw is very badly made: it falls apart and is very dangerous.

I will never buy Makita again: The fence is only supported on one side and is prone to move about. The little grubber screws securing the plate around the saw blade work loose ( dangerous). All the adjustable parts are not secured properly and simply fall off. Do not go near this saw.


Buy something else...

published

Bought mine 18months ago and use it mainly for ripping stock down now, mainly hardwood which it handles well power wise. Tried making a few cabinets with it but the extension wing doesn't line up properly so the fence is way out of square. You can see where I'm going with this... There doesn't seem to be anyway to align it so you can get square cuts out of it.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Clem Wooding

Clem Woodingasked

I purchased a MLT100 09 July 2019 from Mitre Ten Ferrymead Branch in Christchurch New Zealand.

I own quite a few Makita Tools.

Then the saw stopped working. Phoned Mitre Ten advised me to bring it in and of to the service center should be back in a week or so.

Explained this is my work noone can not have a tool for over one week.

Made a check and thought may have been the cord so shorted it to no avail. Big mistake they properly going to tell me the warranty not valid anymore.

Finally took direct to service center as Mitre Ten told me they turn tools around in 24 hours.

Service center says not so , may be fixed this week but not sure.

Meantime I cant do any work.

Any advise for me ?

1 answer
Madlam
Madlam

I had the same problem but with metabo. I make furniture for a living and I was without my saw for over a month only to get it back not fixed properly the blade was 3mm out . So I took it back and told them I wasnt leaving until it was fixed and I stood in the repair centre and they fixed it within half hour .


don

donasked

how to adjust saw alinement

2 answers
Julian C
Julian C

Loosen two hex drive screws and parallel fence to blade by measuring at front of blade to fence and back of blade to fence. If these measurements are the same, you're in business. You can also try lining up fence with mitre track but blade parralleness is more important

don
don

loosen two hex drive screws. where are they located


Richard Mittra

Richard Mittraasked

I was about to purchase one of these this morning until I accidentally read the reviews. I was very disappointed as 95% were brutal. This was a surprise considering I own quite a few Makita products as a home-handyman, and have been quite happy with the quality. However this collection of negative, but painfully honest reviews has me confused. It certainly isn't a cheap saw and I wonder if the name "Makita" isn't being falsely traded on. I will happily agree that Chinese and Taiwanese produced products are generally junk.....unless it is food!

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Makita representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.