??!
3 photos
Mamia Gold

Mamia Gold

1, 2 and 3
4.4 from 239 reviews

Best for my baby

I tried many formulas for my baby but Mamia gold seems to be the best for my baby. My baby easily digest and he didn't have constipation. Easily available and Cheaper as compared to other baby formulas.

Purchased in May 2019 at ALDI.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No

Best decision I made

I was on the Aptimil Profutura 1 which is nearly $30 a tin depending where you go. Talking to the Maternal Health Nurse, I expressed my concern about being unable to get it due to the huge buy up that is being sent to China. I was advised to get the Aldi brand as it had won some awards and was virtually the same formula. I was hesitant but it breaks down easier in the water. I can get 2 tins for the price of 1 and my baby absolutely loves it. She has been gaining weight as she should be and there were no changes in her nappy apart from a little constipation due to changing formula. It all settled down now though.

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $12.99.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No

Perfect !

When my baby was refusing to feed from me I tried giving him this formula and he loved it from day one! Still using this formula and have had no bad reactions!

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No

Never Again!

I wish I was one of the hundreds of mum's giving this product a 5 star review - alas, I am not.
Pros - easy to prepare, larger scoop meaning less scoops, cheap and affordable, ingredients are in comparison or better than some of the other reputable brands.
Cons - PROJECTILE VOMITING, baby doesn't like the taste, unsettled, crying.
I gave my him two feeds and that's enough for us. He only drank half the bottles (never happens) and within half an hour was vomiting everything back up.
Just doesn't sit right with him unfortunately. Back to NAN Comfort for us.

Purchased in March 2019 for $12.99.

Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes

Easy on the tummy

My son has been drinking this since day 2, loves it! for $13 a tin whats the point of paying extra if he likes it and gets all the vitamins and nutrients he needs?

Purchased in February 2019 at ALDI for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No

Seems ok but ...

Seems like good value formula and was fine for baby however, worth noting a few things about the consistency and production. The consistency is a bit thicker than some of the other we tried, it takes a while to dilute even with intense shaking and some powder almost always gets stuck inside the bottle. The label states that it’s ‘packed in Australia from at least 68% Australian ingredients’. I’m not sure about that. Where is the other 32% packed ? I’ve asked ALDI but have not received a response yet.

Purchased in February 2019 at ALDI for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Caused Unease / Sickness No

great product at an amazing price!

I used Nan when baby came home from the hospital as thats what they were using but it ran out of stock at three of my closest supermarkets and so I decided to try the Mamia. I was paying $29.95 for the Nan and the Mamia costs $12.99. My baby was super constipated on the Nan but was having normal BM's within three days on the Mamia. I am really really happy with the formula and wow, at $13 a can, you simply cant go wrong.


Affordable, baby takes it well and cause no constipation

My baby goes really well with this formula. He likes the taste, cause no constipation, easy to make and very affordable! What i like from this it contains more whey comparing to the casein. What parents might also need to know is that this formula doesn’t contain probiotics in the ingredients

Very Bad for us

I’m writing this review purely as a warning to other parents.
We decided to do a slow ween from BF prior to returning to work in May so I bought some mamia gold to try. It didn’t occur to me to test some out on my bub before giving a full feed because it’s for babies, so I have my son 240ml and he guzzled it. Around an hour later he had developed a full body red welty itchy rash which hung around for 8 hours before it resolved. I looked on the can and the formula contains milk (no allergic), soy and fish (both not introduced). I should have read the can and the onus of that is on me but I was really surprised that a formula for babies would contain allergens.

We've got twins and both babies love it.

We tried quite a few baby formulas before settling on Aldi. The main reason that we changed was because our babies were getting stomach cramps at times when using the other formulas. We were amazed when we tried the Aldi formula because it just worked and also stopped the need for any burping too. We've used stage 1, 2 and just about to start now on stage 3. We also buy nappies and other baby stuff there as well.


Never look back

My bub has been on this formula for a couple of months now, previously we were on karicare and since changing her to Mamia Gold she is now not gassy at all, has regular poos and loves the taste. We can’t be happier. We went from goats milk formula that was $36 to Karicare which was around $20 to now $12 for Mamia gold and it’s the best formula she has been on!


Not for my baby but good

Many of my friends were using this formula and thought it was wonderful so I thought I'd give it a go. As I was transitioning from my old formula to this one it seemed to go OK but when I was using just Aldi on its own it cause a lot of reflux with my baby and it upset tummy which he never had before. Disappointed because I know a lot of people love it and it's half the price of the one that I've had to be buying. I'll give it a go with my next child


Used since the start, highly recommend

I have been mixed feeding and this has been my formula from the start. Easy to prepare, easy to purchase or always available, great value for money at $12.99 which is helpful to our single income, and no complaints from lil bubba. At this price, I have no issue purchasing a full back up tin for storage so I am not worried if we "suddenly" run out.


Constipated my baby badly for 6 days

I previously posted a review on the first day we used this formula. I continued to use this formula for 3-4 days and then i had to cease using this formula as it had constipated my baby. It took seven days of exclusive breast feeding, bicycle legs, water and a trip to the family doctor not to mention the 24/7 worrying and concern about my baby being constipated, upset, grizzly and straining and straining to poo unsuccessfully until one entire week later. From reading many product reviews... it may be that baby to baby, formulas react and are processed differently by each child.

God sent

After trying 4 different formulas from $17-$30 this was the only one that didn’t constipate my son, or left him unsatisfied.
We now finally have regular bowl movements and a good sleep from 4-5hr between feeds which is now increasing as he’s intake has increased aswell!
Plus $12 saving so much $$$$ this has been a god sent!

Perfect

Great formula! We compared ingredients on the back with leading brands and its the same stuff but better. It kept my baby full throughout the night and he enjoyed drinking it more comoared to others. We experienced no side effects or reaction from changing to this formula. Its easy to prepare and so much cheaper! Love love love and highly recommend people give this a try


Flared up reflux and caused constipation

We put our baby onto this formula at around 2 weeks old. He was often straining hard to poo but one particular day he was screaming for two hours and was so constipated so we had to move him off this formula.
Our baby also has reflux and since moving off this formula it has dramatically improved.
He did manage to have long stretches of sleep on this formula at night however, that was the one plus side.


Great transition from 1

From birth i used Mamia gold 1 and once i started her on solids around 4 months, i switched to this. She made the transition with no issues, maybe a little more constipation but i can't say it is from this. I just make sure she is having water as well. Bub loves it and it is prepared the same as the others. At 5 months we are having 180ml(3 sccops) and the tin lasts about 1.5wks


Too much protein in the milk

Recently, I have bought Mamia New born formula for my daughter. The formula is Ok until we have consulted with the community nurse where she told us that the formula has got more protein contain in it, compare to the other reputed brand. When I compare the ingredients I have seen that difference. She told us that is a major cause of obesity in children and is not suitable for children. Due to high protein contain the price is cheaper than other brand. Think twice when you buy the formula for kids. consult the right person re the rand of the formula.


made bubs very restless at sleep time

Bubs really didn't like this one. The 6 or 7 feeds of this I gave her all resulted in a lot of gas, wind and sleeplessness nights. Wont risk again.
It was easy enough to prepair and really cost effective but it's not worth being exhausted over. Sorry Aldi, its a no from me


Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Can anyone tell me the percentage of whey?
No answers

My son is currently on aptmil stage 2 was wondering is aldi stage 2 is a similar formula and the ingredients?? Is it worth trying him on this formula as I do my aldi and jave to travel to get his formula and nappies
1 answer
Hi, I’m not qualified to recommend :) but I just researched the different brands, reviews and compared ingredients by looking at the back and made a call on which one felt right. We also tried one, than changed and really happy with alternative. I think all of them are very similar ingredients wise but differ in where they are produced, using organic ingredients, consistency etc

This is halal product or not?
No answers

Details

Gold 1Gold 2Gold 3
Price (RRP) $11.99
AgeInfant (0-6 months)Follow-On (6-12 Months)Toddler (1+ year)
Stage123
Release dateOct 2012Oct 2012Oct 2012

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.