??!
3 photos
Marley Smile Jamaica

Marley Smile Jamaica

MPNs: EM-JE083-CP, MAR00036, MAR00038 and MAR00039
3.5 from 20 reviews

Reviews

(4)
(7)
(5)
(3)
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Sound Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Bass
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
Stuart

StuartSydney, NSW

Quality at is best.

published

I've had my Marley in ear headphones for nearly 4 years. Before that I would go though a pair every few months. I use them every day at work on my daily commute. I listen to all types of music and I have to say even the sound is better then other brands I have tried. There definitely the best for quality and sound.

Purchased in March 2015 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $36.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers
CallMeKonker

CallMeKonkerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Pay Attention to Model Numbers - It Makes a World of Difference!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
HRM74

HRM74Tasmania, 7051

  • 13 reviews

Just what i needed at a great price

published

All I needed was a set of headphones for my daily commute, something to block out humanity and give me 40 minutes of music, or an audiobook. I've purchased Marley over ear headphones before, and have a bluetooth speaker from them as well. I was not disappointed in these in-ear headphones - fantastic sound, picks up things that I didn't realise I was missing on my old set. The cable doesn't get too tangled, but there is still a little bit of unraveling to do. They come with two options for the rubber ear pieces, so if you have small ears like me you can switch to the small ones and they fit snugly.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Wired Headphones

Find out how Marley Smile Jamaica compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Okay sound quality, bad everything else

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Jon S.

Jon S.Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Bulky Bluetooth Headphones

published

House of Marley's Smile Jamaica Wireless earphones offer balanced sound at a great price, but are let down by the bulky and heavy fit and poor battery life. Bluetooth Wireless Connectivity offers 8-hour play time (no way to see what the current battery level is at) and wireless 3-button controls (that hardly work correctly). The headphones are not suited for the gym or active lifestyle as they easily shift around and off of your neck.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jeremy

JeremyBendigo

  • 4 reviews

Wouldn't buy anything else until...

published

These are the greatest earphones I have ever heard for the price. The sound is clean and the bass punches so nicely. I wouldn't have bought anything else until they released the second generation or these earphones. The second gen are not to my knowledge labelled differently from the first but you can tell by the packaging, and then by the sound. The sound has completely changed, and not for the better. It is terrible. If you're lucky, you can still pick a pair of first gens up in the store but most on-shelf stock is now the newer models. If you're looking for some ebay is your best chance.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Sam Mooney

Sam MooneyGold Coast

  • 4 reviews

Great earphones (apart from breaking)

published

Really good earphones, unfortunately it is a known fact that the smile ones have a problem were the left ear speaker stops working after 4-5 months. Warranty is I think one year so if you are happy to take them back every 4-5 months then go ahead. Bass is very good and cord is sturdy for a budget earphone, overall great sound, not so great reliability

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Jo C

Jo Csydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does not fit very well

published

I liked the woven tangle-free cable but other than that, it's pretty average earphones. It does not quite fit in my ears so it sticks out, surprised it did not fall out. In terms of the sound, it is just ok but not so effective in blocking out external noise. I don't think I'll buy it again.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Kai Nguyen

Kai NguyenMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great budget earphones

published

Pretty good value for money. These earphones come with two sizes of earbuds, so they will fit most ears. They are noise cancelling, so great to listen while on your daily commute. The earphones spound nice, but they aren’t perfect. Not enough bass I reckon. Personally, I love the material that they use to cover the wires, as it is really durable and doesn’t wear off like silicon ones. 8/10 would recommend to a friend

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Wired Headphones

Find out how Marley Smile Jamaica compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
anonymous

anonymousAdelaide

  • 9 reviews

Awesome bass

published

By far the best earphones I have owned for such a reasonable price. I got the one with the white wire though the only downside is that it gets dirty easily as there is an almost clothlike fabric wrapped around the wire. However, the quality of the sound that the earphones produce overlooks this issue. It has some noise cancelling and the bass is fantastic. I highly recommend.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sophie

SophieMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Work well, but nothing mind-blowing.

published

I'm now on my second pair of these, after my first suddenly stopped working in one ear. Sound quality is fine, they're comfy to wear, but do sometimes fall out. That's not a dealbreaker for me, they might be more expensive than the cheap ones I used to get, but they last far longer, and come in a range of colours. They've lasted through a crammed university laptop bag and several nosebleeds, so I'm fine with the durability too. Would recommend.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Tom

TomHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good value

published

Despite having to get a second pair after my first ones didn't work after purchase, the ones I have now have lasted a long time. The quality of sound is pretty good for its price and is more than enough for long bus trips. The design of wood texture and Jamaican style colour schemes are quite aesthetically pleasing for me.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Laura

LauraAU

  • 4 reviews

Nice headphones

published

I dont ask a lot from my headphones and these have been good so far. The sound quality is nice enough and the headphones are quite comfortable. They sometimes fall out of my ears during exercise and when I run but that can be excused. My whole family has them and is quite satisfied.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Franklin W.

Franklin W.Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value, reliable earphones.

published

These earphones have good sound quality, and are great value for the $18 I paid at JB Hi-Fi on special. The braided cord is relatively easy to untangle, and I'm hoping that the right-angled audio jack will allow for greater longevity.

The sound can get a little scratchy if you're walking around and the cord is rubbing on your clothes, but I can't complain given the price I paid.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Aaron

AaronGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Decent sound, but terrible cord

published

They have a decent sound for the price, music is pleasant with solid bass and ok high frequencies, but the cord is simply terrible. It's covered in braided fabric and picks up constant vibrations from your shirt, basically making the headphones unusable, don't think of these as headphones, but as a cheap stethoscope. Avoid buying them.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Wired Headphones

Find out how Marley Smile Jamaica compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Welshy

WelshyBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great sound especially for the price

published

Good range of sound, with clear highs and mids and deep punchy bass. Compares better than more expensive ($100+) in-ear headphones I've had before. Comfortable in the ear. No sound leakage, even when loud. Picks up a bit of vibration from the fabric cord when it brushes against your body - but that's the only criticism.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Big Man

Big ManMElbourne

  • 3 reviews

Good Value

published

Very nice aesthetically, sounds good with nice passive noise cancelling and heavy bass. 2 year warranty so can just return when they break. Cord is easy to detangle, and headphone jack is secure since its parallel to the bottom of the phone. Fits snug in ear, have taken them on multiple runs and have had no issues with them falling out.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Heathro

HeathroSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice Build/Look - Zero Bass Content

published

Bought this for my daughter based on the frequency specs given by the cashier - a bottom end of 40hz or something similar. In practice they are lucky to even imitate 100hz. I have been performing audio recording & engineering for over 25 years, so I have a fair idea of what to expect, and I wasn't expecting much!

In all, a very two dimensional, thin sound. Not inline with the expected Marley quality. I have had cheap generic items that sounded better but the look of the Smile is okay. I submitted some of this review to the national retailer and they chose not to publish it, so clearly their reviews are pretty worthless as you will only read the good stuff.

These items are best avoided in my opinion.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Jeannette Thuler

Jeannette ThulerSurry Hills

  • 10 reviews

Wonderful in the beginjng

published

These earphones had really good quality sound. .awesome base. The actual cord was different to your regular plastic type..The cord was wrapped in fabric..The only problem was that I wear my mp3 player in my pants pocket and the cord bent alittle and stopped putting out sound in that socket.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Bm

BmMELBOURNE

Good sound but temporamental.

published

These are good for cheap earphones. They don't do that ridiculous "break up the sound" type thing that other earphones frequently try to pull, which can be a nightmare since you can't test earphones in store. However, they tend to drop out causing your iPod to pause when you're moving around a bit, sometimes with no explanation. Also the chord is quite noisey when it rubs up against fabric making for an unpleasant exercise or dance experience.
inexpensive, good sound quality
Tends to drop out, noisey chord

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and Marley representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.