??!
1 photo
Masport Contractor ST S21 3'n1 SP K

Masport Contractor ST S21 3'n1 SP K

MPN: 564953
2.5 from 11 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

2.5

11 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (4)
  • Safety
    3.3 (4)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
Previous
Next

Best Value for me

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Michael V.

Michael V.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Rubbish.

published

Purchased for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tony

TonyHunter Region, NSW

BIGGEST MISTAKE YOU CAN DO IS MASSPORT

published

Massport contractor tottally rubbish by far, front wheels will snap off bad welding job, gear box will stop working, motor cuts out every time on a bit longer grass, they look good but are cheaply made and over priced

Purchased in October 2019 at Fantastic Furniture NSW, Newcastle for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Contractor ST S21 3'n1 SP K compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Buyer beware

published

I have been a contractor for 30 years, so have a bit of an idea on what's to be expected from a mower, I bought two Contractor Mowers and they are rubbish- beware !

Purchased in April 2019 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Thegaygardener

ThegaygardenerGold Coast

Expensive mistake! Back to Honda.

published

This mower is not fit for commercial use, the gearbox is CONTINUALLY blocked, forever clearing it & its 6 months old, the front wheels are a very poor design, weekly made and overall I think the best description of this product would be Fragile, back to Honda

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Dru

DruSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome mower just a little heavy

published

The Masport contractor is an awesome mower a little on the heavy side but has a perfect cut quality. Get the one with the Briggs engine as the Kawasaki is under powered and not as good as the Briggs engine the mower is a very good mower has a perfect cut quality

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Mikes

MikesPerth, WA

Too many breakdowns

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Not for commercial use

published

I own a gardening service in Canberra and decided to spend the money on a good quality machine that could cope with the demands of my business.
Big mistake, I took it back today after half a dozen attempts at basic lawn mowing.
It cannot get through the tough long grasses, and even a regular lawn pulls it up, it seems that the motor isn't strong enough to power it?
It really struggled to cut anything and at the first sight of a bit of long grass it folded and conked out.
I buy everything from my local Stihl shop and this is the only thing I have ever taken back to get a refund.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
  • Verified purchase

Not a contractors mower to much down time

published

My new Masport Contractors ST S21 mower spends more time in the repair shop than out working. Faulty gear cable, Rear right hand tyre keep coming off rim. Front axle has snapped twice. Big grass catcher but clogs up when grass is wet. Blades last half as long as previous Honda mowers. Major grass build up in and around gear box behind screw on plate hence build up causes problems with gear cable. Plus with a metal base the mower is to heavy. Cost $1400 use only as a spare mower now as have gone back to Honda's.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Masport Contractor ST S21 3'n1 SP K compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jasper Justus

Jasper JustusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Mower for Domestic Use.

published

After all my research on Mowers I landed with Masport Contractor (Briggs Engine) It's an Excellent Mower for Domestic use as it's easy to maintain and for spare parts and I have used this mower for 8 times now and I admit its not that great on wet grass but it starts quickly and being self propelled it makes my mowing job easy and has a huge Catcher. If your looking more heavy duty go with the Masport Contractor Kawasaki Engine. But its great and cant complain and much less in price $$$ than the Honda HRU.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Needs more hands on testing and less engineering.

published

I had been getting 2 years work from the Honda hru's but the last 2 went 14 months before major repairs.
My local shop talked me into this masport in January. Solid looking machine and the motor starts 2nd pull most times.
Worse at picking up damp grass and clogging than the Honda. Which is saying something.
New blades needed after 3 weeks instead of 2 months.
At 3 weeks a weld failed on the front axle. Had to be re welded.
At 10 weeks, last Tuesday, the rear drive axle snapped at the drive cog on the right hand side. Can cut in perfect clockwise circle unless I wrestle it straight. New axle and gearbox still in transit apparently.
Would I buy another one?
You can only fool me once.

2 comments
redlandsmowerman
redlandsmowerman

It only took 13 days but I'm up and running again(sarc).
Will see how long it lasts.
They had to take a gearbox and axle out of a new floor stock mower.
I have ordered a new axle and box for the Honda. Just in case.

redlandsmowerman
redlandsmowerman

Questions & Answers

moz

mozasked

Governor doesn't seem to work, engine just loads up, looses revs & chokes on grass. & have blades sharp too. Thanks.

1 answer
Dru
Dru

Hey mate what engine you got?

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$1,499.00
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesSelf-Propelled
Catcher Type Collapsible
Catcher Capacity80 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width540 mm
Height of Cut13 mm to 60 mm
Number of Blades4
Weight59.6 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameKawasaki FJ 180V IC 179cc OHV
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandKawasaki
Engine Displacement179 cc

Visit official website
  • MPN: 564953

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.