??!
4 photos
Mazda CX-3 DK Akari

Mazda CX-3 DK Akari (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Mazda CX-3 DK Akari 2019 and Mazda CX-3 DK Akari 2021. AWD, 2.0L Petrol, Automatic, FWD, 2.0L Petrol, Automatic, FWD, 2.0L Petrol, Manual, AWD, 1.8L Diesel, Automatic
3.9 from 17 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(6)
(7)
(1)
(2)
(1)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)

maryfrancis3

maryfrancis3Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed

published

Bought this car three years ago. Already the aircon does not work any longer. Worked fine last Summer and before that. I feel a 'clunking' now and again when turning the steering wheel more than 45degrees, like the bearings or the CV joint is giving out. I am an older person - over 50 and it's not like I have been mistreating the car or anything. Very, very disappointed in the car. Oh and really jerky at times when it changes gears.

Purchased in May 2016 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kellee

KelleeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Cutest car in town

published

Drive my car daily. Upgraded from a CX7. Love the size, ease of parking and fuel economy. Beautiful leather interior makes this a luxurious car to drive. Great safety features, but no retracting wing mirrors which is a shame.

Purchased in March 2017 at Zoopers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Love the car but wish the fuel tank wasn't tiny.

published

I have been driving the petrol Akari AWD for a couple of months now.
I mainly use it for my commute and it's not very often I have passengers so the interior dimensions are perfect. The driving seat is comfortable and easy to adjust. The leather trim is good quality. The car is good to drive and I like the way it looks.
Two things I'm not too happy about:
The fuel tank is miniscule, I think 35 litres. It's obviously something I should've checked but it never occurred to me.
The satellite navigation is rubbish. Even after installing the latest update it doesn't recognise places that have existed for years. It's a shame because the display is in a good position and very clear.

Purchased in December 2018 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David

DavidGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Air-Conditioning fault and appalling service

published
BadgeAkari
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Zoe

ZoeBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

I love my car!

published

I use my car for daily commutes to and from work and gym and whatever I get up too on a weekend.
The only issue I have is that the backseat leg room is basically non-existent. If I do a school run for family friends, the kids dirty school shoes are touching my front seats. Not ideal. I am a tall gal, so I need space. My adult sized friends don't exactly fit too comfortably if there are more then 2 people in the back. Will need to upgrade when I have kids of my own, or more regular passengers.

Wish I had shopped around a little more, otherwise, a great car. Love the sound system, my first car was a 2005 Holden which had a bad sound system in comparison.

BadgeAkari
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017

unhappy

unhappyadelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

really happy with this purchase

published

upgraded to a cx3. fuel efficient, comfortable and great safety features. I drive long distances on country roads to work and it handles the conditions beautifully. As a shift worker I often work long hours and I appreciate the additional features such as TSR. I agree with another comment that the navigation doesn't always pick the best route, but it works well and has got me out of a lot of problems. No regrets with the purchase.

BadgeAkari
DriveAWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Grace

Grace

  • 5 reviews

Mazda CX-3 Akari

published

Perfect car for P-platers. Easy to turn corners and manoeuvre. Quiet, streamline and smooth to drive. Beautiful leather interior. A tad squishy for 5 adults to sit in, but a good mini SUV. The i-stop feature, I feel, is clever and efficient. Love the mini display screen, as it helps keep track of the speed limit.

BadgeAkari
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jodagal

JodagalGosford

  • 6 reviews

Perfect downsize

published

I've had 2 years and love all of the added extras. My ruby red color is always complemented and interior is easy to clean. Comfortable ride. Rarely have while family in car but back ok for tall boys for short rides. I wouldn't do a long trip with them though. Back seats fold easily and 2 layer boot is handy. Especially love all the warning systems and control options on gps/ sound system. Great Bluetooth and voice control. Service and warranty has been good wth a couple of basic warranty issues fixed recently such as sticking back seat belt.
Drives and handles well. Economical too.

BadgeAkari
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Guy D

Guy DAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle

published

My first purchased car and I’m absolutely in love. One of the most reliable things in my life. It’s amazingly fuel efficient, extremely comfortable, and is so easy to drive. The only down side to the Mazda CX-3 would be it’s lack of power, but everything else easily makes up for that.

BadgeAkari
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nadia

NadiaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Good car

published

Good car, I have the Akari (top of the range) so it has leather and a sunroof. Paid around 33k brand new and haven’t had any issues with it at all. Drives smoothly and very happy with the safety features, especially auto headlights and auto sensing wiper blades for us lazy people.

BadgeAkari
DriveFWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Noisy no power

published

Purchased last year for my girl freind interior for top of the range akera so basic not even electric handbreak or dual climate control no power at all cheap quality interior and we had to many issues with sky active and i stop we found out later that there is much better cars around witn more technology's
We swap 2 mounths ago with new jeep renegade we more happy and compfort and more technology's for limited model that we paid even $3000 less

BadgeAkari
DriveAWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Born to shop

Born to shopSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mazda Akari Manual (2016)

published
BadgeAkari
DriveFWD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Moooe_g

Moooe_gAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

great

published

driving experience-wise is pretty good, handling well, but still got quite a lot of noises .. nice and simply interior, very classic. plenty of leg room and really reliable. one tank of petrol can run pretty much 600km, which is more than enough for me for one wk. the boot is a bit small though, as well as the back seat. Great for young couples, not so great for families.

BadgeAkari
DriveAWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Chrissy

ChrissySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Wouldn't buy another Mazda

published
BadgeAkari
DriveAWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Luna

LunaMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Beautiful, Sporty and luxurious

published
BadgeAkari
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jill

JillAvondale Heights. Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

My dream car

published

So glad I Chose my zoom zoom CX3 as it is a fabulous small car that is so so comfortable, easy to drive with
bells and whistles. Love the blind spot mirroring, reverse camera. Interior very stylish. What isn't perfect is the height adjustment of driver seat, however I added sheepskin covers and couldn't fault it now. The Mazda CX3 is a little dearer to run than my old echo but I expected that and for comfortable all wheel drive with plenty of boot space it's a dream.

BadgeAkari
DriveAWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Al W.

Al W.Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great little SUV - ZOOM ZOOM.

published
BadgeAkari
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

See all Mazda CX-3 DK reviews

Questions & Answers

Rod

Rodasked

My steering wheel is showing signs of extreme wear.Car always garaged out of the sun. Same problem on my daughters out of warranty Mazda3: Poor quality.

No answers

Kellee

Kelleeasked

My istop is intermittently working, it flashes orange with warning sign. At the same time my aircon seems to be making a different sound and the flow is not as strong as it is normally. Sometimes if you turn the aircon off the istop works. Can you enlighten me as to what you think the issue is and is it an expensive fix.

1 answer
Brad
Brad

istop problem is the battery failing... aircon could be condenser, compressor or pressure valves....all which we have had fail! $$$$$


Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.