??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-9

Mazda CX-9

TB, TC
4.1 from 119 reviews

Reviews

4.1

119 reviews
5
(64)
4
(32)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (14)
  • Handling
    4.6 (14)
  • Braking
    4.2 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (14)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (14)
  • Features
    4.8 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (14)
Previous
Next
Donald

DonaldPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Luxury

published

I use the car for both personal and work. Love the lux features and safety technology pack. I like the feel of driving this large suv. Even though the dimensions are huge, this doesnt affect my driving at all. I dont feel like driving bigger than the mesium
Suv that I was driving for many years!

One thing they should have improved-there should be an alarm when the door is left open and you are already driving!

Purchased in January 2020 at Mazda Dealers for A$69,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Paul Tannous

Paul Tannous

  • 4 reviews

Unsafe vehicle

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Mazda Dealers for A$59,800.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Glenn

GlennMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very disappointed with 2011 CX-9 brake and head gasket failures

published

We purchased a one owner second hand 2011 CX-9 top of the range Grand Touring as a family wagon in 2017, after shopping around for a good teenager sized 7-seat option in the $25,000 range. The CX-9 is nice to drive for such a big car, tows good and well appointed, so the family loves it. However in 2019 it suffered the common Brake Booster / Brake Master Cylinder failure (noting the recall notice in USA, not in Australia) around $1,800 to fix, then now in 2020 a head gasket failure around $5,000 to fix (and months long wait for parts). I do not think it is acceptable for an 8-9 year old car with only 135,000kms to have failed with parts so expensive and hard to get in Australia !!!

Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
King

KingNorthern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Very good car and looks awesome.

published

Bought it in March 2017. Used as a daily drive to work and interstate drives.
9.2l/100km fuel consumption.

Passenger seatbelt alarm kept going off and was fixed under warranty. The speaker cover on driver’s side was bulging, kind of half fixed now by Mazda.

Seats leather quality and design questionable. Rust proofing suspect. Steering wheel leather scratches easily. Great all round car though.

Service done as per recommendation, 6 months/10,000km.

Purchased in March 2017 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
@SHiK

@SHiKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • CX-9
  • Verified purchase

A great family car

published

Overall an excellent car, very smooth, easy to drive, great safety feature, great customer service, plenty of space, really happy with Mazda, fuel consumption is bit bad, 12.2 L/1000 KM!

Purchased in January 2020 at Mazda Dealers for A$64,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Disappointing

published

I bought mazda cx9 azami in May 2019. After 7000kms i-eloop and i-stop got malfunctioned. I called mazda to rectify this problem. I have to wait 4 weeks to get a date to fix this. In the meantime my car had an accident, hit a kangaroo and damaged front parts. I have been waiting for one month to fix this problem. How come these can go wrong for brand new $68k car? Mazda,you have to be bit faster for the parts delivery.
I used Mazda 3 before and never had any issues. I recommended Mazda to my friends. But this time I won't recommend Mazda to anyone.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
tariq

tariqMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

over all happy but few annoyances

published

Overall great spacious car. Comfy drive, less noise, fuel consumption is impressive. We drove from Adl to Melb largely on cruise with full tank ans still 60 km fuel left. We are happy for the choice we made.Nice interior as compared other suv in this category.
Few problems:
Gps system is a wreck despite updates chooses longest and unpractical route, keep google as back up.
I felt the car third row area less illuminated when boot is opened automatically.
Infotainment system is very basic , but love bose sound system.
I am curious to know if anyone has driven both Awd and Fwd to share difference.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$57,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Shan

ShanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Great car, lovely to drive

published

Amazing car and I love it, no issues what so ever. I purchased the luxury pack with bose audio, sunroof and leather. It does use a fair bit of fuel, but it needs to be considered that the car is 11 years old, its a large family 7 seater SUV. I'm averaging 12.3-12.7l to 100km and can get it down to about 8.9L/100km on the freeway. In comparison, I downsized from a 2013 Kluger and it actually has slightly better fuel consumption than that.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nomes

NomesAU

  • 6 reviews

I love this car

published

My second Cx-9. Wouldn’t buy any other brand of car. So happy with Mazda quality and service. This car is packed with all the safety features as well as the luxury items at reasonable price.

Purchased in June 2019 at Grand Prix Mazda for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Family SUV

published

This is our 2nd Mazda CX9 and still loving it for our family of 5. Perfect for school/ sports runs and fabulous for road trips along the coast. Smooth, light ride and great turning circle. Stylish with all of the extra luxury features as standard. Great value and very comparable with high end European cars that come double the price tag.

Purchased in August 2016 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Princy P.

Princy P.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car cx9

published

I love mazda cx9 am using if from last 6 months . It s reliable and it got more advanced features. Am getting 10l/ 100km. Good customer service and good value for tge money

Purchased in November 2018 at Maitland mazda for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Con L

Con L

  • 4 reviews

Happy with it

published

We've owned this car for over 2 years and it's been a great car considering it was a completely new model from Mazda. It goes great and has plenty of torque for a petrol engine thanks to the turbo charger. Apart from replacing one tailgate strut under warranty, we've done nothing but service it. It has so much room for a seven seater which is what we needed. Highly recommended.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Quality-Check

Quality-CheckGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 33 reviews

More bang for the buck than a stick of dynamite

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Public safety concerns

published

Be aware, there is a factory recall on the brake booster. Mazda is not informing all its customers because it costs too much and the local dealers would not pay out of their pocket to replace them. Instead, they will fix it on the need to repair basis. My brakes completely failed at 63K even though there was plenty of life left on the brake pads. Bottom line, Mazda could care less about your safety. Please call your local dealer and verify this information

Purchased in May 2017 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dom20

Dom20Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 13 reviews

great family car

published

we purchased this car last month as our Commodore no longer suites our growing family and it has been good. Very comfortable to drive and has heaps of safety features such as lane depart and a feature to slow you down if you are coming too close.
it looks really lovely too, with the sunroof and leather interior and maps are very clear.
fuel economy isn't fantastic as a downside (about 13 l/100) and boot size is tiny with the 7 seats up (which is why we bought it) but overall I am happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for A$66,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick

MickAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is what it is

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
Suman Prasad

Suman PrasadSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our 7 seater

published

I bought this car in May 2018 and can say this is the best car in the market. Use this car everyday for dropping kids to school and commute to work. Car body looks great, it's very comfy , has lots of leg space, big boot, classy interior and excellent for long drive. Love the sun roof feature.good fuel economy for this size of car and cheap service compare to others.

BadgeAzami
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
benny

bennyRYDE

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great engine and gearbox, internal storage a let down

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveAWD
KNDM

KNDMSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Amazing car!

published

Spacious car for a growing family! Drives well, looks great and has plenty of power! The mod cons are spot on and make driving, parking and reversing a breeze! Annual service costs are fixed and afford able. All rear seats have anchor points as well!! I absolutely love this car!!

BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveFWD
Matthew9929

Matthew9929Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Good but not great- Struggling to enjoy and like the car

published
BadgeAzami LE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Tran

Tranasked

CX-9 TC (2016-2020)

Does the air cond work good? I have a friend, he bought Mazda CX9 Azami LE 2018. He told me that the air cond was not cold enough if your car park outside with the temperature over 35. I looking forward to hear ideas from all the people who have driven this car. Thanks a lot

No answers
Tracey A.

Tracey A.asked

CX-9

My Mazda CX-9 has 4WD mode flashing how do I turn it off?

1 answer
Shan
Shan

Usually it goes off after breaking traction on the front wheels. It goes off after approx 10 seconds. If it doesn’t you have a fault. But sounds like a sensor issue

Thil

Thilasked

CX-9

Are there brake booster problems with 2019 Mazda CX-9 ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.