??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-9

Mazda CX-9

TB, TC
4.1 from 124 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (15)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (17)
  • Braking
    4.1 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (18)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (18)
  • Handling
    4.6 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (18)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (18)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (18)
  • Features
    4.7 (17)
Previous
Next
Biben

Biben

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Safety failure

published

I bought a brand new my CX9 Azami in Feb 2018. I did not have much issues initially until I did. The Smart City Brake failed although I was within speed limits and my car crashed. My family and I feel LUCKY TO BE ALIVE. Neither the retailer nor Mazda Australia want to know anything about it. They boast about their safety features in the marketing specs, however, does not deliver what was promised. This car was a huge and EXPENSIVE MISTAKE !

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers

My Japanese Cadillac.

published

Just purchased my CX-9 GT AWD in December 2020. While I’m learning to love how it looks, the interior is stunning. Comfortable, great sound system and driving throughout country NSW, it is responsive, handles extremely well for such a large vehicle and has as much “tech” as I need. Since, I purchased it new, I”ll be interested in how it holds up over the coming months and years. Happy to keep you posted but so far, so good. Very happy.

Purchased in December 2020 for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Apple

AppleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

An Awesome Car!

published

This car is a great pleasure to drive. The interior is high end and luxurious! Been an excellent car, no problems, great value. response from the 2.5 turbo engine, definitely drives like a sports car.

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kss

Kss

  • 2 reviews

Worst car we have ever had

published

We purchased our mazda in Nov 2017. For the first 15 months the car was great after that we had to take the car in and out of our local dealership 12 times in 12 months for numerous issues, egr valve replacement, I-eloop malfunction, smart city break malfunction, driver attention alert malfunction both mirrors have been replaced from being stuck and not folding in and out, reverse camera has been replaced from not working properly, lcd screen has had multiple issues and needed replacing, the gear box when shifting from park to reverse or drive is stiff and intermittently needs to be pulled to change gears.
Terrible make or just a faulty batch but mazda Australia terrible and claimed its normal for cars to need to be presented with faults.

Purchased in November 2017 for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Rommjan M.

Rommjan M.South Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Family car

published

This is an excellent family car. If you're looking into a high end design and big space SUV, this is the car for you. The interior of this car is amazing! we love it!

I highly recommended Mazda CX-9. You can guys can get a good deal at Australian Motors Mazda - let them know about your budget.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Donald

DonaldPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Luxury

published

I use the car for both personal and work. Love the lux features and safety technology pack. I like the feel of driving this large suv. Even though the dimensions are huge, this doesnt affect my driving at all. I dont feel like driving bigger than the mesium
Suv that I was driving for many years!

One thing they should have improved-there should be an alarm when the door is left open and you are already driving!

Purchased in January 2020 at Mazda Dealers for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Paul Tannous

Paul Tannous

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Unsafe vehicle

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $59,800.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
Glenn

GlennMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very disappointed with 2011 CX-9 brake and head gasket failures

published

We purchased a one owner second hand 2011 CX-9 top of the range Grand Touring as a family wagon in 2017, after shopping around for a good teenager sized 7-seat option in the $25,000 range. The CX-9 is nice to drive for such a big car, tows good and well appointed, so the family loves it. However in 2019 it suffered the common Brake Booster / Brake Master Cylinder failure (noting the recall notice in USA, not in Australia) around $1,800 to fix, then now in 2020 a head gasket failure around $5,000 to fix (and months long wait for parts). I do not think it is acceptable for an 8-9 year old car with only 135,000kms to have failed with parts so expensive and hard to get in Australia !!!

Incentivised ReviewNo
King

KingNorthern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good car and looks awesome.

published

Bought it in March 2017. Used as a daily drive to work and interstate drives.
9.2l/100km fuel consumption.

Passenger seatbelt alarm kept going off and was fixed under warranty. The speaker cover on driver’s side was bulging, kind of half fixed now by Mazda.

Seats leather quality and design questionable. Rust proofing suspect. Steering wheel leather scratches easily. Great all round car though.

Service done as per recommendation, 6 months/10,000km.

Purchased in March 2017 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
@SHiK

@SHiKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • CX-9
  • Verified purchase

A great family car

published

Overall an excellent car, very smooth, easy to drive, great safety feature, great customer service, plenty of space, really happy with Mazda, fuel consumption is bit bad, 12.2 L/1000 KM!

Purchased in January 2020 at Mazda Dealers for $64,000.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Disappointing

published

I bought mazda cx9 azami in May 2019. After 7000kms i-eloop and i-stop got malfunctioned. I called mazda to rectify this problem. I have to wait 4 weeks to get a date to fix this. In the meantime my car had an accident, hit a kangaroo and damaged front parts. I have been waiting for one month to fix this problem. How come these can go wrong for brand new $68k car? Mazda,you have to be bit faster for the parts delivery.
I used Mazda 3 before and never had any issues. I recommended Mazda to my friends. But this time I won't recommend Mazda to anyone.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
tariq

tariqMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

over all happy but few annoyances

published

Overall great spacious car. Comfy drive, less noise, fuel consumption is impressive. We drove from Adl to Melb largely on cruise with full tank ans still 60 km fuel left. We are happy for the choice we made.Nice interior as compared other suv in this category.
Few problems:
Gps system is a wreck despite updates chooses longest and unpractical route, keep google as back up.
I felt the car third row area less illuminated when boot is opened automatically.
Infotainment system is very basic , but love bose sound system.
I am curious to know if anyone has driven both Awd and Fwd to share difference.

Purchased in February 2018 for $57,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Shan

ShanPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car, lovely to drive

published

Amazing car and I love it, no issues what so ever. I purchased the luxury pack with bose audio, sunroof and leather. It does use a fair bit of fuel, but it needs to be considered that the car is 11 years old, its a large family 7 seater SUV. I'm averaging 12.3-12.7l to 100km and can get it down to about 8.9L/100km on the freeway. In comparison, I downsized from a 2013 Kluger and it actually has slightly better fuel consumption than that.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nomes

NomesAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love this car

published

My second Cx-9. Wouldn’t buy any other brand of car. So happy with Mazda quality and service. This car is packed with all the safety features as well as the luxury items at reasonable price.

Purchased in June 2019 at Grand Prix Mazda for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Family SUV

published

This is our 2nd Mazda CX9 and still loving it for our family of 5. Perfect for school/ sports runs and fabulous for road trips along the coast. Smooth, light ride and great turning circle. Stylish with all of the extra luxury features as standard. Great value and very comparable with high end European cars that come double the price tag.

Purchased in August 2016 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-9 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Princy P.

Princy P.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car cx9

published

I love mazda cx9 am using if from last 6 months . It s reliable and it got more advanced features. Am getting 10l/ 100km. Good customer service and good value for tge money

Purchased in November 2018 at Maitland mazda for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Con L

Con L

  • 4 reviews

Happy with it

published

We've owned this car for over 2 years and it's been a great car considering it was a completely new model from Mazda. It goes great and has plenty of torque for a petrol engine thanks to the turbo charger. Apart from replacing one tailgate strut under warranty, we've done nothing but service it. It has so much room for a seven seater which is what we needed. Highly recommended.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Quality-Check

Quality-CheckGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 32 likes

More bang for the buck than a stick of dynamite

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Public safety concerns

published

Be aware, there is a factory recall on the brake booster. Mazda is not informing all its customers because it costs too much and the local dealers would not pay out of their pocket to replace them. Instead, they will fix it on the need to repair basis. My brakes completely failed at 63K even though there was plenty of life left on the brake pads. Bottom line, Mazda could care less about your safety. Please call your local dealer and verify this information

Purchased in May 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dom20

Dom20Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes

great family car

published

we purchased this car last month as our Commodore no longer suites our growing family and it has been good. Very comfortable to drive and has heaps of safety features such as lane depart and a feature to slow you down if you are coming too close.
it looks really lovely too, with the sunroof and leather interior and maps are very clear.
fuel economy isn't fantastic as a downside (about 13 l/100) and boot size is tiny with the 7 seats up (which is why we bought it) but overall I am happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Glen G.

Glen G.asked

CX-9 TC GT (2016-2021)

Does the 2016 Mazda CX-9 GT have auto folding mirrors?

No answers
Randy D.

Randy D.asked

CX-9

hi my cx9 my wheel scratching underneath when i"m turning left and right in a loop way,have any idea to know the problem?

No answers
Randy D.

Randy D.asked

CX-9

hi,does cx9 tb series 2008 is awd or 4wd? what are the difference between awd and 4wd?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 12 Mazda CX-9
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $66,390$62,390$50,990$46,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km8.8 L/100km8.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 74 L72 L74 L72 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm170kW @ 5000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm420Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance222 mm222 mm222 mm222 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 12 Mazda CX-9

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.