??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-9

Mazda CX-9

TB, TC
4.1 from 114 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
61
4 star
32
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
12

Disappointing

published

I bought mazda cx9 azami in May 2019. After 7000kms i-eloop and i-stop got malfunctioned. I called mazda to rectify this problem. I have to wait 4 weeks to get a date to fix this. In the meantime my car had an accident, hit a kangaroo and damaged front parts. I have been waiting for one month to fix this problem. How come these can go wrong for brand new $68k car? Mazda,you have to be bit faster for the parts delivery.
I used Mazda 3 before and never had any issues. I recommended Mazda to my friends. But this time I won't recommend Mazda to anyone.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

tariq

tariqMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

over all happy but few annoyances

published

Overall great spacious car. Comfy drive, less noise, fuel consumption is impressive. We drove from Adl to Melb largely on cruise with full tank ans still 60 km fuel left. We are happy for the choice we made.Nice interior as compared other suv in this category.
Few problems:
Gps system is a wreck despite updates chooses longest and unpractical route, keep google as back up.
I felt the car third row area less illuminated when boot is opened automatically.
Infotainment system is very basic , but love bose sound system.
I am curious to know if anyone has driven both Awd and Fwd to share difference.

Purchased in February 2018 for $57,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Shan

ShanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, lovely to drive

published

Amazing car and I love it, no issues what so ever. I purchased the luxury pack with bose audio, sunroof and leather. It does use a fair bit of fuel, but it needs to be considered that the car is 11 years old, its a large family 7 seater SUV. I'm averaging 12.3-12.7l to 100km and can get it down to about 8.9L/100km on the freeway. In comparison, I downsized from a 2013 Kluger and it actually has slightly better fuel consumption than that.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nomes

NomesAU

  • 6 reviews

I love this car

published

My second Cx-9. Wouldn’t buy any other brand of car. So happy with Mazda quality and service. This car is packed with all the safety features as well as the luxury items at reasonable price.

Purchased in June 2019 at Grand Prix Mazda for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kim

KimGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Family SUV

published

This is our 2nd Mazda CX9 and still loving it for our family of 5. Perfect for school/ sports runs and fabulous for road trips along the coast. Smooth, light ride and great turning circle. Stylish with all of the extra luxury features as standard. Great value and very comparable with high end European cars that come double the price tag.

Purchased in August 2016 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Princy P.

Princy P.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car cx9

published

I love mazda cx9 am using if from last 6 months . It s reliable and it got more advanced features. Am getting 10l/ 100km. Good customer service and good value for tge money

Purchased in November 2018 at Maitland mazda for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Con L

Con L

  • 4 reviews

Happy with it

published

We've owned this car for over 2 years and it's been a great car considering it was a completely new model from Mazda. It goes great and has plenty of torque for a petrol engine thanks to the turbo charger. Apart from replacing one tailgate strut under warranty, we've done nothing but service it. It has so much room for a seven seater which is what we needed. Highly recommended.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Quality-Check

Quality-CheckGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 31 likes

More bang for the buck than a stick of dynamite

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Public safety concerns

published

Be aware, there is a factory recall on the brake booster. Mazda is not informing all its customers because it costs too much and the local dealers would not pay out of their pocket to replace them. Instead, they will fix it on the need to repair basis. My brakes completely failed at 63K even though there was plenty of life left on the brake pads. Bottom line, Mazda could care less about your safety. Please call your local dealer and verify this information

Purchased in May 2017 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dom20

Dom20Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

great family car

published

we purchased this car last month as our Commodore no longer suites our growing family and it has been good. Very comfortable to drive and has heaps of safety features such as lane depart and a feature to slow you down if you are coming too close.
it looks really lovely too, with the sunroof and leather interior and maps are very clear.
fuel economy isn't fantastic as a downside (about 13 l/100) and boot size is tiny with the 7 seats up (which is why we bought it) but overall I am happy

Purchased in February 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mick

MickAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is what it is

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD

Suman Prasad

Suman PrasadSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our 7 seater

published

I bought this car in May 2018 and can say this is the best car in the market. Use this car everyday for dropping kids to school and commute to work. Car body looks great, it's very comfy , has lots of leg space, big boot, classy interior and excellent for long drive. Love the sun roof feature.good fuel economy for this size of car and cheap service compare to others.

BadgeAzami
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

benny

bennyRYDE

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great engine and gearbox, internal storage a let down

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveAWD

KNDM

KNDMAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing car!

published

Spacious car for a growing family! Drives well, looks great and has plenty of power! The mod cons are spot on and make driving, parking and reversing a breeze! Annual service costs are fixed and afford able. All rear seats have anchor points as well!! I absolutely love this car!!

BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveFWD
Matthew9929

Matthew9929Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 40 likes

Good but not great- Struggling to enjoy and like the car

published
BadgeAzami LE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
TarsB

TarsBNewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Big car but great...

published

When I first got this car I had to adapt to driving a car which was much bigger than any prior car that I would have driven before. However now that I am driving it for a year, I am extremely happy with having gone up a car size or two. The boot space is amazing and perfect for a trip away, or just to fit in my child's pram and the shopping. I love the rear camera as it obviously helps with parking. This is our family car and we drive it daily. Would have liked it if it had a navigation system however...

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Scott

ScottBrisbane

CX 9 Lemona

published

Brakes make a crunching and grinding noise, it has continuously been back to Mt Gravatt Mazda for over 18 months. Still not fixed, plenty of excuses and and hyperbole about this and that. This car has been back to the dealership on over 30 occasions, with plenty of other issues. I am tempted to spray paint a big lemon on the back of it and park it out the front. Stay away

BadgeClassic
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Jim S

Jim SGoulburn

  • 5 reviews

Great car

published

This is our daily drive. We do more than a 1000km a month. The CX9 is a very comfortable car with great safety features. The 7 seat option is the best around. Comfy even for adults in the third row, and easy to get in and out.
Stack of room in the boot.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Okay - stay away from Melville Mazda

published
BadgeGrand Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Viv

VivSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Worst Bluetooth system

published
BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Thil

Thilasked

Are there brake booster problems with 2019 Mazda CX-9 ?

No answers

JD Paul

JD Paulasked

Hi, Anybody have creaking noises coming for the center console (parts surrounding the gear shifter)??

No answers

Jessie E.

Jessie E.asked

How much would this be through finance

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.