??!
2 photos
Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156

Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 (2014-2019)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 2018 and Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 2020. GLA 220 d (2016-2019), GLA 180 (2015-2019), GLA 250 4MATIC (2014-2019), GLA 45 4MATIC (2014-2019) and GLA 200 (2014-2016)
4.1 from 19 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Noisy excessive road noise

GLA250 2016. It’s not a bad car but not at MBs expected quality or standard .
Mechanicals and cabin are fine road noise is not. Run flat tyres are very noisy on anything other than a very smooth road service . At 110km on the Calder freeway which is a course chip surface the sound system is drowned out by road noise . It ok at 60/80 kmh in the metro area but that’s not where I drive.
We test drove the car in the Metro area . Next time we’ll make sure it’s on our roads. Big mistake.

Purchased in August 2018 at Mercedes Berwick for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

It's pretty good. But....

Overall, this is a good car. But, for the money, it should be.
The engine is fabulous. Handling is excellent. Build quality good.
Crazy exhaust sounds good (at least, I like it).
The dual clutch gearbox is OK. I guess. Would have preferred a manual.
The electronics however are a bit flaky.
False positives are quite common. Flat tire alert. Go for a coffee alert. You are about to crash alert. And so on.
One wonders how all this electronic gear is going to work after a few years.
Servicing in not cheap (I knew that).
Warranty is short. 3 years. But do not forget your rights under Australian Consumer Law.

Purchased in April 2016 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers for $93,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Excellent Vlaue

handles well. good economy. every extra one could hope for.
The urban Edition is the best value. sunroof. larger wheels 4wd
The qa of the fit out is great. Perhaps the warranty could run to 5 years?

Purchased in May 2019 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019

Awesome little car

My GLA220d is amazing. I use it to take my dragon boating stuff around NSW and ACT and it has never missed a beat. I do a lot of driving to and from university and it has never let me down. It is quite fuel efficient, getting about 750-900km out of a small fuel tank. I bought this car second hand from a Mercedes-Benz dealer in perfect condition. The service was quick and they gave me a loan car for the day. There is a slight lag when you start accelerating, but you do get used to it after a while.

Purchased in June 2018 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great little car.

We bought this car replacing the ML350 which was a bucket of crap.
This car has all the features we expect along with the safety which is one of the main reasons I have stuck with the brand. Love the apple car play and the car is nippy, well appointed and fairly frugal on fuel.

BadgeGLA250
Date PurchasedJun 2017

A touch of class

This is my first Mercedes-Benz and I must say it won’t be my last. The sleek, smooth driving with a touch of class SUV definitely ticked many boxes for me.

The panoramic sunroof, leather seats, memory seats, command sound system, 19 inch wheels is simply the best car I’ve ever owned.

I was never a Mercedes-Benz fan but after owning this I can confirm why.

BadgeGLA250
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Dream car Mercedes GL 180

Quiet great drive looks amazing white 2018 GL 180 leather and Swede inside stripe seats in love with my new car white in colour. With bom stripes on the bonett of car and roof. Best ever car to drive great service from brad at shepparton ken muston dealers great follow up after sale brad

BadgeC180
Line0
BodyCoupe
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
BadgeGLA180

Luxury and fuel efficient car - GLA 220d

Contemporary exterior, fuel efficient (fill a tank once every 3-4 weeks), there’s plenty of tech on offer as standard, things like cruise control, all-round parking sensors, and even parking assist that can help you get into tight parking spaces. Overall very happy with this car and will keep it for at least 5 years!

BadgeGLA220
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

High quality compact car

The interior design is very good! Simple and practical, easy to use. You can press the button directly to radio, gps, car settings. And when you make a call you can direct press number button like you call from your phone.
And it’s easy to drive, sensor combined with several cameras. Most important is the safety, it has 9 airbags and sensor will remind you when you drive, blind spot sensors are also helpful.
The price is reasonable and the main drawback is the space, it’s not big. But it’s ok for me. the car is not big so it’s much flexible to drive in busy streets

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Fun car with a bit of luxury

We just added a GLA180 to the stable, and its so much fun the whole family is loving it. We thought the diesel drove smoother and quieter, but we opted for the small petrol engine with view to less problems down the track. The small engine cruises the highway very well indeed whilst quite miserly on petrol. It pretty much parks itself, which is amazing. The park brake is fully automatic which we love. It allows you to tailor many of its functions and warnings which is great, for example setting the clock to 24H or 12H. Very comfortable ride indeed, awesome sound system. We have heard some complaints about the Navigation but it seems to work very well indeed. The panoramic roof gives a nice open feel when driving too. Luggage space is a little restricted but hey its a small SUV. There no nil rattles or noises when driving, and everything is very easy to use. The lane warnings and front/rear sensors are comforting . Kids love that there is a thousand places to plug in. Our alternative was a new Mazda CX-5 which you cannot even get with a self-closing rear door? We are very happy we must say.

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionDCT
Date PurchasedNov 2017

I love my new MB GLA250

My new car has heaps of power, lots of extras with the usual German engineering and quality. A very safe little unit. I purchased it from Mercedes Benz Berwick (Victoria). It's a little heavy on the juice but I expect this will settle once the car has done a few k's.

BadgeGLA250
Date PurchasedOct 2017

the best car i ever had

bought this awesome piece of work last year and in love with it, bought it from the first owner and he looked after it really well, the shape the auto brake system, i love it when i go in the tunnel where i have to goin 80km and i just can relax, the lights gets on, the brakes gets controlled, good choice if you wantto buy a big car

BadgeGLA250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

My First Smaller Car and I Love it

I have previously driven larger 4wd drive wagons, this is my first smaller car and I must say I Love it! Great style sports car, yet fits a family of four in relative comfort.There is sufficient legroom, but for anyone on the taller size, it is only a small car, so may not be the perfect fit. Have the 250 with all the AMG accessories. It is very fuel efficient and a smooth ride, however sometimes slightly rigid.

BadgeGLA250
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Good luck with your car.

You need a patrol every week. This car is very slow. It seems like her body is not responding what you want her to do. It is not communicating with the driver.. You should watch review video before you buy. There is less space in the car than other same level car.

BadgeGLA180
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Affordable and Advanced for Small Family

You do not need to purchase extra options like what you may need on counterparts like Evoque and Q3, even QX30. Safety features like blind spot indicator and belt retentioner are standard. It is a good bargain if you bought it in October last year when it was on special. New model gets a face lift and that is all. For a family of three the back seats are satisfied and it is alright for a short travel of five. This model used to outplay and outweigh X1, Q3 and other luxury brand counterparts but this year the new Bimmer X1 stands out among them.

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Love this car!

Performance 0-100 4.3secs, handling-sports car, fits a family of four in relative comfort.
Legroom for my tall man is questionable but sports cars tend to compromise on that. Have the blackout kit on the AMG and it is a hot car. I love it and love driving it and my friends love driving it too!

BadgeAMG GLA45
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

$2,900 for radio button replacement AND no help from Mercedes Benz Australia

$2,900 for radio button replacement AND no help from Mercedes Benz Australia ?

My dad took his GLA200 to Mercedes Benz Australia for service and found out that there is no part to replace the radio panel numeric buttons, which has the black coating come off. See photo.

He was told by the parts and service department that to replace it, the whole panel in the dash box needs to be replaced. The total cost is approximately $2,900 AUD.

What surprises him, is that everything in the panel is fully functional including the radio, navigation system and the telephone system, but he was told that he have to replace the whole panel on the dash box for $2,900 AUD.
The car is still well within warranty and my dad is part of the Corporate Program.
Mercedes Benz Sydney customer service did NOT help at all.
What a Joke ? Come on Mercedes Benz, it’s just radio numeric buttons, not $2,900 AUD rip off

BadgeGLA200 d
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Mercedes Best or Nothing ?? It is absolutely Nothing!!

Bought a brand new GLA early this year(February) and paid extra to get this SEAT COMFORT PACKAGE. I am expecting a top interior quality to come with this expensive SUV. To my DISAPPOINTMENT, the front artificial leather seat started to crack and tear only 8 MONTHS of sitting on it. I am 72kg and not obese!! Brought the matter to Mercedes dealer and been told that they can't claim this under warranty. I am absolutely on my own. Well done Mercedes for providing such a wonderful after sale care. It is absolutely best or NOTHING!! Beware !!

BadgeGLA180
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Car with good features.

I bought the CDI 200 in 2015, it is 3 years old now. The Diesel engine is good for city driving. The start-stop is a bit annoying when driving through stop lights in short distances. There is a slight delay for the car to start and to move when accelerated using the start-stop function. There is an option to switch this off if needed, which is handy sometimes.
The standard features are excellent, the safety features are good. Driver & front passenger front airbags, Front side pelvis airbags, Window airbags, Rear side airbags, Driver knee airbag, Front seatbelt guides, Front seatbelt pre-tensioners with force limiters, Pre-Safe accident anticipatory system, Active Bonnet, Attention Assist, Blind Spot Assist, Collision Prevention Assist, Manual childproofing on rear doors, Crash responsive emergency lighting. There are loads of features as standard equipment when compared to other European cars in this range.
I had upgraded the car with comfort package, command package, and sunroof. The sound system and the GPS on the command package is good value. Auto park assist and reverse camera functions are excellent. The interior looks good and compact and high end. There is also an air conditioner vent for rear passengers, which is handy. The daytime running lights are standard and Bi-Xenon headlights are good.
The electric auto folding side mirrors when the car is locked is a handy feature adding value.
The drive is good, zippy for city driving. The turbocharged engine is good for long drives as well. The steering is well-balanced, the car has good control and not much of body roll with good road handling manners. The gear changes are not modulated quickly by the sensors and can sometimes stay on higher gear for a while when driving on hilly roads. This may have been tuned to get better fuel economy by the company. Excellent mileage, on a full tank (50 litre) I normally get about 720 km, mostly city driving. The adaptive break with hold function is a good feature. Helps to manage speed off the ramps in shopping centers.
Have not done any off-road driving on it.
Service interval is every 25000 km, which is awesome. I have done my 3 yr service just recently. The car is still performing well. There have been a few recalls but it gets addressed promptly during the service if this is not a major recall. The services cost is estimated between $700 - $1000 approximately depending on the type of service. I have not paid for the first 3 yrs of service as this was part of my package when I bought the car.

The negatives I felt worth a mention are,
There is no spare wheel as it has a run to fail tyres. I was expecting at least a repair kit. I could not find a jack to repair. Called the dealer and found out that this does not come with anything. The tyres are a bit expensive that your standard ones as these are run flats. But you can shop around and find good ones.
The boot is OK size.
The gap between the side mirror frame and mirror is wider than other cars. Potential dirt build up.
There is a slight gap between the boot door and the rear bumper, dirt tends to settle there easily.
The front interactive screen from the dash looks like it was an afterthought. But blends in with the ambiance.
The air-condition is not effective because the engine shuts down in stop-start / Eco mode. But cools the cabin quicker when driving on highways. The rear vents are not very effective compared to the ones on the front dash.
The engine is a bit noisy, high road noise and tyre noise. When the windows are down wind noise is also high.

Although the negatives do not impede the performance of the car, overall, this is a good car to drive. Very good value with the standard features. Keyless entry and start.
Fantastic mileage, good engine, very good suspension. Loaded with features as standard and good safety features. We have enjoyed the car for the last 3 years.

BadgeGLA200 CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Questions & Answers

Any engine wise problems? Thinking to buy it
1 answer
The petrol 250 has not missed a beat, loads of power and still pretty fuel efficient. I believe the newest diesel had a recall and is higher on costs for service.

hi just wondering what common problems the Mercedes-benz GLA 250 have (2016 model) , and how much they roughly cost to repair.
1 answer
Personally we have not had any real issues with our GLA 250 and we had servicing included in our deal from Mercedes. our vehicle has done roughly 67,000 now and so far very happy and very reliable.

Cost price?
2 answers
Here is the manufacturers on-line calculator for Australia - just choose the model and enter your post code, good luck. https://www.driveaway.mercedes-benz.com.au/I paid the list price ..just go onto their website.

Details

Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 180 (2015-2019)Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 220 d (2016-2019)Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 250 4MATIC (2014-2019)Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 45 4MATIC (2014-2019)Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 200 d (2015-2016)Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156 GLA 200 CDI (2014-2015)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $50,010$57,624$67,967$99,664
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
Doors555555
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km4.5 L/100km7 L/100km7.5 L/100km4.6 L/100km4.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L56 L56 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.1L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.1L4 Cylinder 2.1L
Max Power90kW @ 5000rpm130kW @ 4000rpm155kW @ 5500rpm280kW @ 6000rpm100kW @ 4000rpm100kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 1250-4000rpm350Nm @ 1400-3400rpm350Nm @ 1200-4000rpm475Nm @ 2250-5000rpm300Nm @ 1400-3000rpm300Nm @ 1400-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,200 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2016Apr 2014Apr 2014Jan 2015Apr 2014
Discontinuation dateDec 2016Dec 2015

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.