3 photos
Mitsubishi Challenger PC

Mitsubishi Challenger PC (2013-2015)

3.8 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Mitsubishi

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
  • Features
    4.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Hutch
HutchSouth Australia
  • 2 reviews

Good car but some improvements

published

Use the challenger as family commuter and some off road. The car gets used on a daily basis. The issues i have found is the car still uses a timing belt and the fact it has to replaced every 90,000kms. Car gets serviced every 6-12 months

Purchased in August 2017 for $27,560.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Deb
DebGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car but beware faulty balance shaft!

published

Purchased in November 2014 for $47,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian M.
Brian M.
  • 4 reviews

2014 Challenger PC

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Motorama Springwood Qld.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jack
JackMelville

Don’t buy if you enjoy a safe drive

published

Wow, possibly the worst car I’ve ever owned. Sounded like a tractor, and handled like one. But I can live with that, it got me off road a bit. What is unforgivable is that when a car hit me at approx 60kph, hard enough to roll the challenger over its roof and on to the other side, NOT A SINGLE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. The car was under three years old. Having recovered from the surgery I needed, I now drive a Lexus - 450h and love it!!

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PC compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nell
Nellbrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hi Power Engine Overheat Mitsubishi Challenger

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2010 Challenger

published

we purchase new manual in 2010. Find economy good. We get 9l/100 travelling at 95 to 105. Sometimes better, sometimes worse depending on hills. With the camper it's12 to 14. We've done 173k travelling lots of tracks (Oodnadatta, Tanami, Birdsville etc etc) It's never missed a beat .
Now I would like an auto and with just a tad more power as our new camper is 1.5 T loaded. So reliable. Best value 4wd for the bucks. Any suggestions for a replacement with say 10% more power?

BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

W

published

Want more gunt up hills has anyone done drink and change chip or in imported chip or change turbo as it's a sluggish on long 4xr tracks
I want fun not slugs need more power want to get up sand h I'll ls and big Rock's with the family a d fun

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

a few mods

published

Excellent all round , absolutely no complaints, however,I made a fitting and tested engine oil temp while towing van 1.5 ton , oil is too hot , all engine oil should be under 100 deg c doing 90 k oil is 105c flat road , going up 4k long hill , oil can reach 120c ,this will cause bottom end wear and also this 15000k oil change bit is redicoulous ,5-7 th when towing, fitted oil cooler , only gets to 95 c even working hard, if you doubt what i've said , call the major oil companys, i did. Best diesel oil gulf western 15 -40 top dog indestructable. Also fitted auto lock up kit to stop torque converter slip when towing up big hills which keeps auto temps down also block egr and a catch can.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave
DaveChristchurch
  • 3 reviews

Great Truck - happy for what we paid.

published

We traded in our 1996 Toyota Prado with 360,000 Km on the clock for the Challenger with 4,000 km. To date its been reliable, comfortable and a big step up technology wise from the Prado. My only complaint is it's a bit slower on the pick up around town, but the comfort outweighs the inconvenience.
The third seating row is useful with four kids, but the big improvement is the aircon with controls that flows all over the middle and rear seats. This makes the longer trips much better for all concerned.
I'd say running costs are about 10 lt per 100 km, which may seem high, but its better than the Prado it replaced!

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Dave
Dave
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PC compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Solid 4wd

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TerryJ
TerryJBrisbane

Solid and reliable 4wd

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cam
Cam
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

My favourite car

published

2015 car. 15k on now, really happy. It old school, noisy grungy fella but unstoppable off road. Rear lock diff superb. 9.2 fuel economy running from Brisbane to Rainbow Beach(3hours). drives like a car, great space for family of four. Smashes the beach driving. I love it . 5 STAR

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Challenger PC compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ando8
Ando8Yeppoon
  • 2 reviews

Good vehicle for price

published

Purchased new in july 2015. $33815 but up to $40,000 with all accessories. Still miles in front of opposition. Good ride and love the bluetooth and reversing camera. Turbo lag is a bit of a bummer and fuel is a bit higher than expected. Tows a camper trailer ok. Fitted poly air bags to level ride out. Done 18,000 km now and no problems,

BadgeLS
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill
BillTownsville
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good vehicle let down by fuel economy

published
BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Harvey Wilson
Harvey WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 101 reviews
  • 84 likes

Great vehicle but Link system needs work

published
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Mitsubishi Challenger reviews

Questions & Answers

Leeroy
Leeroyasked
Challenger PC (2013-2015)

I purchased my 2015 model car in 2018 with the balance of new car warranty on it. It is now just out of warranty and requires a new head gasket or possibly head. I have just found out that the dealer put a reconditioned motor into the car prior to me purchasing the vehicle. Meaning the first motor crap itself when only 3 years old. Is this a common issue or have I bought a lemon? The dealer won’t help me out at all, so I have to pay for the repairs

1 answer
Nell
Nell

these cars mine was 2014 model and the same happened, go to consumer affairs as the engine despite being out of warranty the engine should have lasted longer than it did.
they know there was an issue with these model cars and have replaced many engines that have head gaskets blow.
i sold mine off in 2019 with a brand new engine. Contact the Fair trading office regarding the new engine as it should have lasted longer than it did being replaced.

wossuup
wossuupasked
Challenger PC (2013-2015)

i just purchased the 2015 challenger and im having trouble finding a company that does a bullbar for it. arb, tjm and ironman are the ones ive contacted so far and all say they dont do one for this model. anyone have any sugestions. south australia if possible, cheers

4 answers
Brian M.
Brian M.

Call Mitsubishi for the bull bar.
Check the Australian Pajero Forum as there is good information there.
The Mitsubishi bull bar isn't as strong as an ARB bar but give maximum cooling to the engine.

wossuup
wossuup

Nice, cheers for the reply

morse334
morse334

Xrox bullbar

Mick M
Mick Masked
Challenger PC (2013-2015)

Hi Rob Patroney,

I just read your review and found it really interesting. So it was an engine oil radiator you put on not a transmission oil radiator?
Also what is the kit for the torque converter? And Where do you get it from?

Thanks heaps
Mick

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Challenger PC (2013-2015) questions

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Mitsubishi Challenger PC (2013-2015)

Details

Compare all 3 Mitsubishi Challenger
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateJuly 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2015
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero Sport QE
Compare all 3 Mitsubishi Challenger

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.