??!
1 photo
NAB Low Rate

NAB Low Rate

3.1 from 16 reviews

See the Best Low Rate & Zero Interest Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Details

NAB Low Rate
CategoryLow Rate & Zero Interest Credit Cards and Balance Transfer Credit Cards
Card TypeVisa
BenefitsIntroductory Interest Rate
Minimum Credit Limit$500
Additional Cardholders 1
Additional Cardholder Fee $0 p.a.
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Fitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate13.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2%
Late Payment Fee$15
Annual Fee$59 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal Fee$1
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate21.74% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Introductory Rate 0% p.a. on purchases for 6 months
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 6 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 2%
Release dateAug 2006

Visit official website

Reliable & easy

I have been enjoying using this card for about four now. It is a reliable service and the app provides simplest form of selections to activate the card for overseas use. I have transferred money from the credit card to my account in less than a minute.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel and Special Purchases

Been with the card since 4 years and really scared to use it.

I once accidentally transferred the money from my credit card account to the saving account (less then 5mints) and i was instantly charged interest for it. The due dates in the online account are misleading and if we forget its a big money spinner for them. So, now I am very careful with the due date and use it seldom.

Percentage rate on purchases are better than it was with my other card

When I first got this NAB credit card it was $19.99% on purchases and $39 a year to have it, little did I know that I could get different NAB credit card that is $13.99% on purchases but $59 a year to have, its been good in an emergency and I have never missed a payment, the NAB app is great, I do all my online banking via my iphone because it's so quick and easy, but I find if I login on my laptop to do my banking, it's a bit hard navigating through the site, just me ?? it might be but the banking app is so much quicker, and I can't fault NAB customer service team they are amazing, super friendly and helpful every time I ring.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases

Good credit card

I have been used this visa credit card for 4 years, good service and app is very useful online banking easy transactions. I would recommend the NAB this visa credit card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses

Excellent card with 55 days interest free. No customer service though

This card is good. Fees and charges are clear. I pay in full most months and clearly know my month end date is the 5th of every month so shop accordingly to avoid interest. If I get a cash advance and repay a couple of days later cash advance amount is taken off first to reduce interest. Though I will have already paid a fee.
Happy with the card, but if you need to go into a branch, regardless of which branch, service is terrible. I always am made to feel like a nuisance. Staff are abrupt and unhelpful and I usually end up having to ring and get better service from a call centre than face to face. Sad.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2006
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases

Excellent Service and Reliable Payments.

Since about 2 years I use this Visa Credit Card. Whenever I had any questions about the transactions I had professional and friendly service by the National Australia Bank. The app is very useful as well. I only can recommend the NAB accounts and this Visa Credit Card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases

Ask Questions and Read the Small Print

I didn't do a balance transfer, nor have i used my card overseas - though someone else tried to. Thanks to that experience, (and others) I'm very happy with the humans at NAB (which surprised me, i wasn't expecting them to be either nice or understanding). My card was cloned and used in the US to buy thousands of dollars in air tickets - NAB noticed, stopped the charges, stopped the card, issued a new card within a week (and i still had online or branch access to the new account). Then they gave me 3 months (i told them that was what i needed) to get back in the black WITH NO INTEREST FEES, as i'd been unable to make credit card payments for that week (i needed my cash to buy food, as i couldn't use my card), so my tiny budget was blown.

I've also managed to get extra time to pay (with no interest - yes, they will do this, ask and you might receive!) when i was going to miss a Due Date payment by a day or so. This implies (1) you need to manage your budget and KNOW you're not going to make payments, (2) to have made them regularly in the past, and (3) you ring BEFORE you get out of control. Even without (2) it's worth a call.

Things you need to know: If you use a 'balance transfer' deal, most have in the small print that you get no interest-free period on new purchases at all until you clear the balance transfer. Also, using it like i do, as a way to do the shopping before my income arrives - if you don't pay back the full amount noted on your statement then again, the interest-free period won't apply on new purchases. If you do get interest, it's lower than most cards at 13.99% - and the $59 a year fee is reasonable.

One thing i do HATE? That the 'pay by' date shifts every month, and they won't tell you what it's going to be. But that's not a problem exclusive to this card. You can get a rough idea, as it's usually 25 days after the statement date (which can shift a day or so either way but is nearly always on a set date), and it's never on a weekend. So if your statement arrives on the 15th, and it's a month of 30 days, your due date will be probably be the 10th, if that's not a weekend. If it is, add a day or two until you hit Monday. I'd add - this is a ROUGH guide - it works for me. No credit card is perfect (though it's close to free money if you use it properly) - this one works for me.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases

No problem card

I have used this card both within Australia and overseas. I don't have any troubles with it at all. I do however keep my own funds in there so usually just draw from those and don't use the bank's credit so to speak. If I do, I pay the funds in as soon as I possibly can after my transaction. I did recently find something annoying and that is I was going on a trip to Myanmar and wanted to reduce my limit down from $11,000 to $500 in case the card got stolen. I wanted it reduced just for the trip. I then wanted it re-instated back up to $11,000 upon my return. They wouldn't do it as once down it stays down and one needs to reapply to have the limit increased including providing all references and financial details to the bank again. Hence I went overseas for this trip and left my visa card safe at home.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases

Product itself is very good but big " ? " on CS

I was approved similar product last year with 6 months interest free on purchases , application process was really smooth and quick , interest free period really helped me improve my cash flow however whenever things go wrong such fraudulent transaction or customer misled by online merchants in these type of situations NAB is always on merchant side and never seems to be helpful for its own customer.

Charged BT when Cust rep promised they wont

Signed up for the Nab premium online at one of those compare cards website for a BT as they were offering a 21mth no interest and no BT fee. But they put me down for the NAB low rate cc instead - they called to inform me this, said it is an automatic calculation by the computer. Said that BT is reduced to 16mths. Then i asked id there will be no BT fee too, as i said that the ONLY reason why i even signed up with NAB was because they were offering no BT fee. The cust rep put me on hold for a couple of min to check and then came back to tell me that yap, no BT fee. Asked to send email to confirm this. Said they cant do it. And well..

Well guess who got charged a BT fee when the balance transfer came through.


Terrible Don't Get

Basic low rate card but don't expect any customer service, fraud protection or great processes and systems that you will find elsewhere.

My card was scammed with hundreds of fraudulent transactions for $000's made overseas which NAB allowed to go through in a 24 hour period before terminating the card. Although picked up by NAB they have been disgraceful at resolving and fraud claim process will take up to 6 weeks while they wait for refunds from merchants where other banks will resolve obvious fraud like this in 2 days. After speaking to numerous customer service representatives I eventually received a fraud protection form. However NAB asked me to manually go through statements and write up the hundreds of fraudulent transactions on a form instead of identifying them on my behalf.

With a wedding and honeymoon to pay for this week I now have no credit - thanks NAB.


OK

always do your own research in to products to find out what is best for you. i now only desl with the bank through email so if they do happen to 'fudge' the truth they will be held accountable to it.
the lower interest rate is great, expecially when you are going to be taking you time to pay ot off. the annual fee is reasonable too.
customer service with nab is a major problem. when i was looking at getting this card i had representitives telling me the rate was lower then what it was and there was no annual fee. i went away and did my own research and found the facts.


Terrible

Needless to say that I'm looking for another bank after ten years wasted with the NAB.

Incredibly smug lot that have no interest in cutomer service whatsoever. When I told them I was considering leaving and taking mortgage, savings, credit cards elsewhere they couldn't care less. Say's a lot.
A low rate
Absolutely disgraceful customer service ...

I ordered a replacement card as mine was getting old but still working, and they lost it in the internal mail!! The goose in customer service said he would cancel the one THEY lost and reorder another one. Went to use my card that night (a Friday night) and it declined - the fool had cancelled my current one!! All access to my savings and Visa gone until a new card is issued, and on a weekend! When I contacted them, their solution was that I go and withdraw at a branch, ON A SATURDAY!!

The worst part is throughout the whole thing their attitude is "that's your problem", "you'll have to find a branch if you want money or wait until we send the send the next card" never accepted any blame and would not lift a finger to rectify it.


Terrible

Worst banking experience ever..
I have banked with CBA and GE and they come up smelling like roses compared to NAB!!
Cheap no frills interest rate
Terrible, terrible customer service, banks are known for average service, yet the NAB are in a class of their own when it comes to bad service!! NAB successfully identified me over the phone, then refused point blank to tell me my current owing balance. Telling me to go to a local branch or wait for my next statement.Leaving me too anxious to spend on it for fear of going over limit. Who has time to goes to a branch in 2009??? Talk about backwards banking.

OK

not a bad card. higher annual fee than some other nab cards. interest is lower on purchases as a result. no rewards system - cannot be attached to flybuys. additional card is free. if you bring your balance over from another institution you can get 0% interest for six months on this balance. however this does not apply to other nab cards. would like to see them rewards long term nab customers in a similar way
lower rate interest for purchases. interest free days
high interest rate on cash advances. although it has a lower rate on purchases i can still get cheaper interest by doing a balance transfer onto other cards

Good

A card I would recommend to someone who can budget well and payout monthly balance.
Lower interest rate. No annual fees for me. No frills.

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.