??!
6 photos
Neato Botvac D Series

Neato Botvac D Series

D80/D85, DC00
3.4 from 50 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(19)
(11)
(2)
(7)
(11)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (7)
  • Product is used:
    • Daily (6)
    • Weekly (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (7)
  • Pet OwnerYes (6) · No (1)
  • System Errors Every time (3) · Occasionally (3) · Often (1)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    3.6 (7)
  • Battery Life
    2.3 (7)


Michael

MichaelCanberra Central 2602, ACT

Great vacuum, terrible quality

published

Bought the Botvac D in Sept 2016. It required fixing and 2 new batteries before the entire unit was replaced in Feb 2018 because the navigation system died. Replaced another battery that year and now the wheel drive has died on the replacement unit. Neato robotics (Dean in Dublin) thinks 3 years is a reasonable build quality for a $1000 machine and refuses to replace it.

Purchased in September 2016 at Myer for $959.20.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Often
See all answers

gudipudi

gudipudiSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

best robotic vacuum cleaner and we have been using it for 2 years

published

Been using this for 2+ years

Pros
It can be controlled by app( manually as well)
It cleans hard floor & carpet
It maps the floor and starts cleaning tile by tile.

Cons
It sometimes doesnt go back to dock to charge if we lift and shift the position of the vacuum cleaner while its operational.

Purchased in April 2016 for $1,448.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
Jason

JasonMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Broken after 6 months

published

I wish I saw the comments about the Robot vacuum cleaner earlier. I bought the latest Neato D7 from the US, the products been great and doing a fantastic job until it broke 5 months old. Support told me that becaue I bought it from Amazon its not their main suppliers in Australia so they cannot help me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Neato bots designed to break- 2 BROKEN - do not buy

published

Cleans great until it failed. First robot failed just inside warranty. They couldn't replace as they didn't have it anymore. Had to pay a little extra for a different one. Second one has failed just outside of warranty. Company is of no use to help. Pricey and designed to break.

Purchased in July 2017 at Myer for $879.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Musch from the Bush

Musch from the BushPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Only Buy This If You've Got Money To Throw Away

published

I had the neato replaced after only 8 months and now the replacement has lasted 9 months. Neato are telling me the replacement isn't covered under manufacturer warranty, so they don't even expect it to last a year. When it did work it constantly got stuck or couldn't get out of a corner. So after having it scheduled to vacuum while I was at work I'd still come home to have to manually vacuum. I feel so ripped off. Never ever will I buy another piece of American junk.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Ricolo

RicoloSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Bad quality, poor service

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers

Chelse X

Chelse XPeel, WA

Terrible. Been through 2 vaccs in 20 months

published

Trouble with this vacc from 3 months old. Not charging, not completing vacuum of the house. Replaced under Myer warranty. New vacc is now not charging too. So the headache begins again. My mum had the same issues and got a full refund after having it firstly replaced and then same issues with the new one. So 4/4 vacuums not even making it to two years. I dont know how they have the nerve to keep manufacturing these unreliable products. I will NEVER buy neato again. Do not buy!!!

Purchased in August 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
System Errors Every time
See all answers

Holly

Holly

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

My new favourite appliance

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Ben

BenAU

OK to start with then has issues

published

Pros: It cleans well on wood and tiled floors, great for dog hair.

Cons: After a year the battery dies and will need a new battery every year after that!! $100 for a replacement battery. then after 2 1/2 years the spinning brush stopped working, looked up to but a replacement but too hard to replace and you have to completely dismantle the unit to do it. now sitting and collecting dust in the corner!!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Claire

ClaireMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

What a piece of junk!!

published

After 5 months the robot stopped working.It kept saying it was switched off when it wasn't and would not go at all. Attempted to have the issues rectified with Neato. After multiple calls and emails where I would constantly be asked to provide the same details I already had provided multiple time they still failed to do anything about and I went over a month with no vacuum. Kindly appliances online gave me a full refund for this faulty product, I will not be purchasing another Neato. Absolutely terrible customer service!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Third time lucky

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

KNR

KNRPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Keep your house clean with the neat-o Neato!

published

Neato (say it with an Aussie accent, it is not Ne-ya-tow!) is our family best friend, cleaning the house while we're at work, and keeping the cats amused, so we come home to a clean home and content kitties! We've used Neato in a 100sqm apartment and now house, and it takes about 45 mins for a thorough clean in one battery hit, and makes its way back to the base station. After a few months we had a problem where it wouldn't charge, and the company was fantastic dealing with the problem, sending out a new battery which resolved the problem. We love coming home and seeing the carpets freshly vacuumed and the floors free from cat hair. Thanks Neato! I've been recommending it to all my friends.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Anordin

AnordinCarlton

  • 2 reviews

Second one we have bought

published

We bought our first one in 2016 and just got a second one for our son, he loves it after having a Xiaomi that kept getting suck and really didn't clean that well. I would highly recommend a Neato vacuum if you want good clean floors and carpet and have pets.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

pasini

pasiniMelboure

Works Well

published

This is a very good robot vacuum cleaner, It seems to work the best without clutter, has great suction, I'm impressed with how much it picks up as we run it every day now as robotic vacuums don't have the power of convention units they need to be run more often.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
LLL000

LLL000Melbourne

Not worth

published

the machine is fine until it breakdown, i contacted official service centre and tried all the ways told so, still not working, then they told me have to get machine fixed by authorized company, it costed nearly A$90 for checking fee and after nearly 2 month they told me it need to replace mother board, total cost $520. then i bought xiao mi S50, $503 from Ebay, works much better than this Neato, and also can mop the floor. so from my point view, xiao mi S50 does better job and cost less.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
  • Verified purchase

DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM - they will die within the first year - NO warranty support from Neato.

published

I have had two Neato Botvac Connected robots - both failed after a short time. They get into some state whereby they leave the dock and loop through power-up and power-down cycles, then "Please press Ok to continue". Once this starts, they will never run a cleaning cycle again. Both failed well within warranty period. The first one failed in time that I could return it through Amazon. I got no help from Neato. And no warranty support.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Only built to last one year

published

Just within warranty it has broken with the please clean my dustbin warning. They sent replacement battery to no avail. Poor customer service and the unit remains sitting broken in our garage. It basically cost us $100 a month to clean, and we used it a lot, so I guess it has been ok but expect to get 2 years minimum out of a unit

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Only buy it if you are a lucky person for the rest of us my advice is "don't"

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Ricolo
Ricolo

Craig

CraigSydney

Ok

published

Purchased in May broken down in late July due to blocked fan. Warranty advise this is not good and will need replacement unit. But whilst operating Neato was great amazing how much dust gathers over one day. Time will tell how warranty goes regarding replacement unit and life of replacement unit.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

LGS

LGSHobart

  • 2 reviews

It’s great until it breaks!

published

Used the vacuum 2 - 3 times a week. Made sure nothing big was left on the ground. Changed filter every 4-6 weeks (these aren’t cheap!). Had it just under one year and it broke. After a lot of discussion with the company, which has to be through email, they finally sent a ‘new’ one. It’s been less than 6 months and this one is broken too. Have been told that I am no longer under warranty as it lasts one year since purchasing. It doesn’t matter that machine is only 6 months old. Not worth the $1200 spent! I would find a better company with better customer service that’s accessible in Australia!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

gemmababe29

gemmababe29asked

Hi there, not happy jan, I read your review. Ive had several neatos too that were terrible, can you recommend a roomba that is good.
I have a 2 bedroom unit, light colored tiles, no carpet, no pets. no kids, doesnt get very dirty.
Needing something that actually vacuums with suction, not just the type that skim over the floors.
with virtual wall or similar to contain it to certain areas.
that returns to dock when it need to without going flat on the way or having issues attaching itself to the dock
with no charging or battery issues
That doesnt get lost, and can navigate to clean all areas efficiently eg: some machines keep going over one area repeatedly while missing other areas or take ages in their navigation to do an area due to their poor mapping
Not wanting anything that gets stuck, climbs walls, gives error codes when nothing is wrong
Not needing anything wireless or with an app as I dont use technology or have a smartphone ect.

Hoping you can help
Deb

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Sure. It works.


CREZ

CREZasked

Is it supposed to shout off if the bin gets full? The one time my got full it did not shut off.

3 answers
Lisa
Lisa

Mine does, beeps a lot to let you know.

CREZ
CREZ

Thank you Lisa, maybe mine beeped and I wasn't in the area. I know it didn't shut off but I really can't say it didn't beep. That is good to know.

Selda Uykun
Selda Uykun

It should beep


Diane

Dianeasked

I have a shag rug & wondering if it can handle that ?

3 answers
bcc
bcc

Not very well. It's not really powerful enough to deal with this & the wheels will struggle to drive it around. You can place the magnetic strips under the edges of the rug to keep it off if you'd like, I suppose.

Lauren
Lauren

I've got a super high pile rug and after trying it a few times it now just avoids it. Normal low pile rugs it handles no problem.

Elkay
Elkay

Use the orange brush that comes with it


Get an answer from our members and Neato representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.