?
? !
5 photos
Netgear AC1200 WiFi VDSL/ADSL D6220

Netgear AC1200 WiFi VDSL/ADSL D6220

MPNs: D6220 and D6220-100AUS
2.7 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (5)
  • Number of Connected Devices 5.4 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    2.0 (5)
  • Reliability
    1.4 (5)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Justin S.

Justin S.South East Queensland, QLD

The most unreliable piece of rubbish i've ever owned

published

Takes FOREVER to boot, and connect back to the internet...
IF the connection is interrupted it will not connect automatically, you must power cycle the router...
No option to remember last VDSL sync speed, so you have to wait about 10 mins once booted until it has gone through every sync speed.

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Juzzy

JuzzySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't bother...

published

If power goes out, it takes FOREVER to boot back up and connect to the internet
You can't set a manual sync rate, so it has to negotiate all the way from 100mbps down to 30 mbps, which takes a long time.
if is drop the connection to the internet, it won't autoreconnect, you have to power cycle the modem...
firmware updates never download from within the modem.... you have to download them manually and it has always said that new firmware is available even if you have the latest!

Purchased in December 2016 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
paulm65

paulm65Illawarra, NSW

  • Verified

Terrible warranty service

published

Purchased in August 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $167.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear AC1200 WiFi VDSL/ADSL D6220 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael E.

Michael E.Perth, WA

Works at face value but...

published

At first glance the router seems to work well with reasonable throughout (we are only three people). However, without fail it will cause my VPN (for work) to stop working within 5-10 minutes. I know it is the router part (wifi and gigabit port) of the equipment and not the modem because when I connect a separate router, I have no connection issues at all (although speed it slow but not sure whether that is due to the modem or VPN). It also struggles to connect my phone or computer to my Sonos at times (connected via gigabit port). Again this must be the wifi router part because when using a dedicated wifi router for my phone, it works.

Would not recommend.

Purchased in April 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Quick Delivery and Advise on Product choice.

published

Worked a Treat. Connected with Aussie Broadband and The Netgear Setup wizard worked first time. (Note: Aussie Broadband isn't Listed - Choose Other) Wifi Signal Strength was stronger than I expected.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Netgear

bidol

bidolGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 44 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great when it works!

published

When I first brought this it worked well but after a month I kept having to reset it which drove me mad. It wasn’t easy to setup either. I ended up buying another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

DID NOT FUNCTION AT ALL!

published

I bought the Netgear D6220 wifi modem router on 23rd Sept 2018. Unfortunately though the lights all lit up, it did not communicate with my Ipad next to it nor the Smart Samsung TV in the next room or the Sony smart tv in my bedroom which is only 25 meters away. JB HIFI gave me a refund straight away. .... Maddy

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lydia

LydiaMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Quality product

published

Bought this router on 16 April 2018 as an upgrade to my old netcomm router. It’s been working perfectly so far, good wifi coverage, no drop outs like the old netcomm router. however,there’s been an issue with downloading the latest firmware, I keep getting an error when trying to download it from the router IP address. Hopefully Netgear will get this fixed soon!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Foggers

FoggersPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good light little unit suitable for medium houses

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear AC1200 WiFi VDSL/ADSL D6220 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Raider

RaiderSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Technical performance great, parental controls disappointing

published

Technically the unit performs well. The performance is good and set up is straight forward except for parental controls. It has enough settings to satisfy semi-expert users, again, except for parental controls. There is no way to restrict Internet access for time periods per device. Unlike what some reviews are saying, setting up parental controls is not easy and what can be set is limited. The need to install Netgenie on each client to tailor Internet access restrictions is not ideal. If parental controls are what you're looking for, this is not the unit for you. For the price, very disappointed with this unit's parental controls or lack of. If not for this, the unit is fine.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Me me me

Me me meLaunceston

  • 2 reviews

Just as expected

published

Bought this one few months ago when we changed our service provider. It delivers us a stable connection and speed. Have not gone faulty or experience any disconnection so far. The price on sale is worth of the performance. Hopefully it is durable too. Will definitely recommend to a friend.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
stop the goats

stop the goatsperth

  • 39 reviews
  • 18 likes

Good product

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

GJJ

GJJasked

Is this modem ok with fixed wireless nbn

1 answer
Foggers
Foggers

Yes it is, but you can't plug a phone into it. It seems none of the netgear modems can take on a phone. The red port in the rear of the modem is what you would use for nbn. I have just had the runaround with an ISP on what it can and can't do. Please also keep in mind if you are planning on using the modem in a majority wireless scenario, it might actually act as a bottleneck for the bandwidth of data that is provided via nbn. ie the modem is capable of 900Mbps on wireless, where as a higher specc'd router might offer 1300Mbps but that would be total bandwidth and not per channel. So if you are using a heap of devices, you may experience sub par performance if you are doing things like streaming on multiple devices. The max speeds would also be indicative of access to stuff on a hard drive and not streaming. So ideally if you go a modem spec higher than your nbn plan speed you would probably do something towards future proofing or getting additional wifi devices in the house causing a slow down in wifi signal.

Macdo

Macdoasked

I replaced my 6200 with a new 6220. Unfortunately the coverage is nowhere near the home coverage of the old unit. This is a serious problem for us and wonder if others have had the same problem and if there is a solution?

1 answer
Foggers
Foggers

Define serious problem! If there is something like life threatening involved I would always consider the hard wiring of stuff. All things aside, I have found both to work well although I had a 6200 that worked well although it died after less than 12 months. Things to ask would be is there merit in running a wifi range extender or a ethernet over power arrangement and hardwiring connections if it is a legitimate serious problem. If streaming is the issue, consider installing a phone/dsl port nearer to your media devices and running ethernet cable. It will always be quicker than wifi and the other issue may be on your ISP end. Call in with them and if they are worth what you are paying for them, they may point you in the right direction.

Tony Small

Tony Smallasked

Is it wall mountable?

No answers
See all Netgear AC1200 WiFi VDSL/ADSL D6220 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $272.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed900 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL and VDSL
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 41 X 240 x 182 mm
Weight0.34 kg
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 606449112207 and 906449112207
  • MPN: D6220 and D6220-100AUS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.