??!
1 photo
Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

1.6 from 83 reviews

Reviews

1.6

83 reviews
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(64)
Previous
Next
Tanmay

TanmaySydney, NSW

The worst product I have ever bought.

published

This is the worst product I have ever bought from priceline. Just in 2 washes my whole face became so dry, flacky, red and the area around my mouth was really dry and painful. This product should ideally be banned in Australia. My skin is looking pathetic and full face is hurting. Please do not buy this product at all as I don’t want anyone to go through this pain.
Pathetic product.

Purchased in September 2020 at Priceline for A$10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Nishu

NishuSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

How can this product be legal?

published

I got this product from Chemist Warehouse because I trust Neutrogena brand. After 2-3 washes I started getting irritation on my face. When I woke up next morning I got painful rashes on my face. Skin is swollen and it turned so dry that it is continuously wearing out. Vaseline or Aloevera gel would make no difference to dryness and it’s still painful after 2 days. Looks like I have to visit doctor. I am regretting to not read reviews before buying this product. This product should be banned.

Purchased in August 2020 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for A$7.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Burning lips

published

This wash was okay at first, but by the next morning after using it the night before my lips were so painful and red. The corners of my mouth have scabs and are also very irritated and painful. It basically feels like intense dry lips that wont go away no matter what. I've used lip balm so many times while using this product and the painful red lips wont heal. Luckily the rest of my face hasn't experienced any redness/ other issues like the other reviewers here, but I cannot deal with the pain on my lips. It's a real shame because my mom was already starting to notice my skin clearing after just 2 days of using it.

Purchased in July 2020 at Safeway for A$10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James F

James FGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Was Fine At First

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Amazon for A$8.00.

Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Jamie

JamieSydney, NSW

Absolutely terrible!

published

Bought this to try and help my face and ended up way way worse. The first day I used it I was fine, the second day I woke up the next morning with swollen eyes, red patchy bumpy skin around my mouth, nose and chin. I don’t know how to fix it! It feels horrible!

Purchased in July 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for A$10.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Never again! Do not buy

published

Worse product I have ever come across one usage and I’ve woke up with my face on fire the itching feeling is so intense I wish I had read reviews now before buying face is swollen red and bumpy and the pain is unbelievable

Purchased at eBay.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
Mel

MelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never thought this would happen to me!

published

I can’t believe I have also reacted to badly to this product. I have been using all different types of makeup for over 20 years and I have NEVER had a reaction like this.
My cheeks first puffed up all red with tiny bumps all over them which then spear to my entire neck. My neck and chin were so itchy with red patches all over them. I ended up seeing a doctor who couldn’t work out what was going on. I was going to ask for a referral to a specialist but 2 days after not using this product anymore I have completely cleared up.
I am completely shocked by this product and all the other reviews.

Purchased in June 2020 at Priceline for A$9.00.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Brielle K.

Brielle K.South East Queensland, QLD

Awful - itchy, bumps and dry flakey skin

published

Like almost all of the reviews below I’ve experienced a very similar reaction. My skin is oily/combination and not normally sensitive. After just two washes of this crap my skin is bumpy, itchy, irritated and sore. Just awful.

Purchased in June 2020 at Coles for A$10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
FRUSTRATED!

FRUSTRATED!Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible ! This product should be banned

published

face burns and itch, my eyes are swollen after 2 washes ! Nothing seems working to reverse the reaction on my skin ! Do not you ever buy it, something definitely wrong

Purchased in June 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for A$9.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bilie

bilieNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never ever again!!!

published

Eyes are swollen, and it feels like a layer of skin has been ripped from my face.It’s constantly burning. I’m on day three after using,it appears to be getting worst! Never ever ever will use this again! Straight to the bin.

Purchased in June 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers
Alana

AlanaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

BURNED AND SEVERELY DRIED OUT MY FACE! DO NOT BUY

published

After 4-5 uses of this product I developed a rash on my face, terrible breakouts and my face was so so dried out that it was peeling and flaking off. My face was BURNING, ITCHING and STINGING for 3 days straight and I had to go and get prescribed eczema moisturiser. DO NOT EVER BUY. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.

Purchased in May 2020 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Conankez

ConankezGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

DO NOT BUY

published

Burns my face after 2 uses. Icthy red swollen face. This is the first time a product reacts like this on my skin, and i use many drugstore products. The cream cleanser one doesn’t cause the same reaction. DO NOT BUY

Purchased in May 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for A$15.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Amber

AmberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible!!!! Do not use this product ever!!!!

published

This facewash is the worst facewash I have ever used. It has made my skin feel dry and burnt.
I have used it 2-3 times and my face is red, itchy and has little red bumps everywhere!!
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. I cannot believe this product is being sold.
Should be illegal!!! God knows what is in this product if it can do this much damage with 2-3 washes. Terrible terrible terrible. Cannot rate anything worse than this face wash.

Purchased in May 2020 at Priceline for A$14.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeSensitive Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

This should be banned!!!

published

Horrible product. After first use the next my fave broke out a burning red rash along with itchiness and flaky skin. I then started getting pus spots. It was horrible. Worse feeling ever. Had to go to the doctors and go on antibiotics for this to go away. The people do not even care when u email them. So many bad reviews about this product I see now! It should be banned from selling.

Purchased in April 2020 at CountDown Deals for A$16.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
See all answers
Chris

ChrisNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews

has good claims, works fine

published

this cleanser is okay, didn't broke me out and it comes readily-available. One thing I noticed is that this gave dry patches on some parts of my skin. Acne is gone but my skin is noticeably dry. Therefore, a moisturizer is needed.

Purchased in January 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers
Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don’t use!!

published

Caused my skin to dry out so bad, had a reaction that made my skin so itchy . Woke up in the morning with a swollen face and scaly skin. Do not buy!!

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles for A$19.00.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Brittany Grace

Brittany GraceGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Caused a huge eczema reaction on my face.

published

After using this for two days my skin was inflamed, itchy, stingy and very dry.
Very painful and extremely irritated from this cleanser. I only switched this in my routine, so it can be the only cause of this.
Do not buy, terrible dangerous product.

Purchased in March 2020 at Priceline for A$20.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Horrible, it should be banned from the stores!

published

It irritated my face straight after the first use. My face is full of blisters, itchy and irritated. I can’t believe this product is still sold after so many people had this severe side effects even after the first use.

Purchased in February 2020 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Chemical burns and blisters after two uses!!!!

published

Do NOT use this product!! After just two uses my face looks and feels like the worst sunburn ever! It is so red and now beginning to blister so painful. This stuff should not be on the shelves so many ppl have had chemical burns from this stuff!

Purchased in February 2020.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin

DON’T USE THIS

published

The day after using it I woke up with heaps of tiny bumps around my mouth and jawline. I didn’t connect it to this product, so used it again the next day. When I woke up the next morning my whole face had a rash!!!! My skin felt like it was burning!!!! And soooooo itchy!!!!! I then did some googling and came across this post. OMG!!!! Please DO NOT USE!!!!!!

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Amy W.

Amy W.asked

Why would this product cause your lips to swell and appear burned and whst should we do? It started on Wed and still this way today. And nothing is helping

No answers
Mara

Maraasked

Need advise on how to get rid of the burning sensation, sand like bumps and inflammation on my face ASAP! Please can someone help?

1 answer
Bonnie S
Bonnie S

Moisturise, moisturise, moisturise! Even some coconut oil would be great.
I did aloe Vera and then a thick fragrance free moisturiser!

Mne Z.

Mne Z.asked

I thought I’d try this in hopes of clearing my face up. BIG MISTAKE. At first it made my skin feel pretty nice, but it just got progressively more and more itchy but I passed it off as my skin healing (you know how wounds itch when they heal) I realised that something was off when I used it last night and my bridge piercing swelled and went RED (it’s years old and has never done this) and low and behold I wake up this morning and my eyes are so puffy it looks like I’ve been punched in the face.
I don’t even have sensitive skin and no allergies that I’m aware of.
I’d probably be better of if I washed my face in acetone. Only use this is you want to completely waste your money or you’re a masochist or something.
Minus 20 out of 10.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.