??!
1 photo
Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash

1.6 from 68 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(1)
(4)
(5)
(51)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (9)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (12) · No (0)
  • Ease of Application
    1.2 (5)
  • Smell
    1.0 (5)
  • Skin Type
    • Combination Skin (8)
    • Normal Skin (2)
    • Oily Skin (1)
    • Sensitive Skin (1)
  • Acne Severity
    • Mild (8)
    • Moderate (3)

Don’t use!!

published

Caused my skin to dry out so bad, had a reaction that made my skin so itchy . Woke up in the morning with a swollen face and scaly skin. Do not buy!!

Purchased in March 2020 at Coles for $19.00.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Brittany Grace

Brittany GraceGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Caused a huge eczema reaction on my face.

published

After using this for two days my skin was inflamed, itchy, stingy and very dry.
Very painful and extremely irritated from this cleanser. I only switched this in my routine, so it can be the only cause of this.
Do not buy, terrible dangerous product.

Purchased in March 2020 at Priceline for $20.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Horrible, it should be banned from the stores!

published

It irritated my face straight after the first use. My face is full of blisters, itchy and irritated. I can’t believe this product is still sold after so many people had this severe side effects even after the first use.

Purchased in February 2020 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Chemical burns and blisters after two uses!!!!

published

Do NOT use this product!! After just two uses my face looks and feels like the worst sunburn ever! It is so red and now beginning to blister so painful. This stuff should not be on the shelves so many ppl have had chemical burns from this stuff!

Purchased in February 2020.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin

DON’T USE THIS

published

The day after using it I woke up with heaps of tiny bumps around my mouth and jawline. I didn’t connect it to this product, so used it again the next day. When I woke up the next morning my whole face had a rash!!!! My skin felt like it was burning!!!! And soooooo itchy!!!!! I then did some googling and came across this post. OMG!!!! Please DO NOT USE!!!!!!

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Bonnie S

Bonnie S

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish Product.

published

Bought this in place of my Biore Charchoal wash, and it has destroyed my skin! I feel as though I have a severe sunburn all over my face and nothing i have tried has done anything to replenish my skin.
Off to the doctors tomorrow to see if they can give me anything to help.
Do not waste your money on this crap!

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles for $7.50.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

chemical burn

published

ligit left my skin red inflamed and damaged my skin barrier to the point that washing it with water was too harsh i would give it 0 stars if possible

Purchased in September 2019 for $13.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers
Marianna A.

Marianna A.Darwin, NT

Face swollen and stinging

published

this Product gave me q severe skin allergy after the first use. My face and neck red, stinging, and peeling. I’m completely disappointed and worried, I not even went to work today.

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for $11.00.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Do not use this!!! Caused me a terrible rash on my whole face and neck!

published

Used the orange oil free face wash 1 time and broke out into small bumps around my mouth. Day 2 more bumps day 3 face and neck are totally covered in small little bumps like a rash! I'm not normally allergic to anything so for this to mess me up it must be awful! Day 4 and I'm all itchy and flaking now. I was just about to jump in the shower and grabbed the bottle and something told me to research this product and I found all these people with the same problem I've had. Now I'm taking benadryl and using anti- itch cream, and trying everything to heal but my skin feels so awful. My texture used to be smooth and now I feel like alligator skin. Take Neutrogena skin products off the shelves!!

Purchased in August 2019 for $5.00.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Time to withdraw this product

published

I wish I had read some reviews before I used this product. I used it once and my skin has burnt badly. It is still burning 3 days later. I look as though I aged 25 yrs overnight. Red dehydrated wrinkly skin. DO NOT USE!

Purchased in July 2019 at Countdown New Zealand for $8.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Saf.S

Saf.SPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad very bad

published

I only use it once and I totally regret, I apply at night and when I woke up my whole face was burnt and red bumps and very very dry , my skin felt like fish skin it was horrible it took me whole month to recover my face . Please don’t buy this it’s to strong chemicals

Purchased in June 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Needs to be banned immediately

published

Severe burnt and swollen face.
Blisters after 2 days.
Needed steroids and antibiotics for severe infection ,only used twice.have used neutrogena for years but will never use again.5 days later skin is still raw and rough.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeSensitive Skin
Acne SeverityMild
caitlin

caitlinbrisbane

Are you kidding me?!?!

published

HOW is this being sold!! just used it for two days straight and noticed red itchy bumps on my jawline and chin and i started thinking is was from the pool or something! i’m on my 3rd day without using it AND THE RASHES ARE CLIMBING UO MY FACE GETTIG WORSE! my skin is bumpy and i’m so mad. want to do real damage to your skin then use this ABSOLUTE CRAP. i’m so mad. thanks to the other reviews helped me to realise this was the real reason. have my school photos in a few days which is just great !

lulu

luluAU

  • 2 reviews

Horrid

published

This product is horrible. Both my mum and I used it two nights in a row. My poor mum, her face swelled up, its extremely sore, red and chemically burnt. Her doctor has had to prescribe her cortisone to help with the burn and pain. As for myself (I do not have sensitive skin) and I was completely tight and itchy in the face and now my face /skin has began to flake.

jenp

jenpGladstone

Awful!!

published

I've had really horrible skin for ages, and its really oily so I thought i would give Neutrogena a try.. such a huge mistake!
The first day was fine, second day my skin felt a bit tight, i thought it was just my skin getting used to a new cleanser. Third day (yesterday) my skin was red and itchy and this morning I've woken uo and my face is sore and swollen.
This cleanser should NOT be sold to the public!

Acne Treatments

Find out how Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tash

TashBrisbane

Horrible!!!!!!my poor face!!!

published

Hey gifls did your face got better???? I got some wrinkles under my eyes, red and sore face, sandpaper feeling... horrriiibllllee!!!!
This product should not be sold to the public.

Broke out all over and it even burns!

published

Local supermarket was selling this product at half price so of course I bought it. I washed my face with this product for the fist time last night and notice some bumps in the morning but did not think too much about it then today at work I noticed even more bumps and my face was red and warm to the touch I thought that maybe it was because of the heat so when I got home I decided to use the product again and boy did it burn... my face is even more inflamed at the moment! Do not use this product!

Edit: I just realized that this is Salicylic Acid burns and I shouldn't have used it again when my skin was irritated... I think the skin on my face will peel off!

Shocking!!! Never use this unless you want burned skin

published

Wish I could score this product a minus 10 star rating. Can't believe this is on the shelves for people to buy. Burnt my skin, my skin feels rough like sandpaper and it's been days and still no improvement. I won't support Neutrogena ever again as I've lost my trust in their products completely.

TERRIBLE!

published

I tried it as a dermatologist recommended on Youtube, I guess it might work for some people but for me it was a disaster! I have combination skin and hormonal acne. First time I used it it dried my skin HORRIBLY and it broke me out (both things at the same time!). As I was trying other products, I gave it a second go this week (just that product) and it did it again! Lots of breakouts on my chin and nose! I noticed that even my eyelids and mouth got dry and I did not even use it on my eye and mouth area of course! HORRIBLE! It will take me about a month to recover :( Never again!

My Skin Is Ruined

published
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Amy W.

Amy W.asked

Why would this product cause your lips to swell and appear burned and whst should we do? It started on Wed and still this way today. And nothing is helping

No answers
Mara

Maraasked

Need advise on how to get rid of the burning sensation, sand like bumps and inflammation on my face ASAP! Please can someone help?

1 answer
Bonnie S
Bonnie S

Moisturise, moisturise, moisturise! Even some coconut oil would be great.
I did aloe Vera and then a thick fragrance free moisturiser!

Mne Z.

Mne Z.asked

I thought I’d try this in hopes of clearing my face up. BIG MISTAKE. At first it made my skin feel pretty nice, but it just got progressively more and more itchy but I passed it off as my skin healing (you know how wounds itch when they heal) I realised that something was off when I used it last night and my bridge piercing swelled and went RED (it’s years old and has never done this) and low and behold I wake up this morning and my eyes are so puffy it looks like I’ve been punched in the face.
I don’t even have sensitive skin and no allergies that I’m aware of.
I’d probably be better of if I washed my face in acetone. Only use this is you want to completely waste your money or you’re a masochist or something.
Minus 20 out of 10.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Neutrogena representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.