2 photos
Nissan Navara D22

Nissan Navara D22 (1997-2014)

3.7 from 75 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Nissan

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (8)
  • Braking
    4.0 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (8)
  • Handling
    3.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (8)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (8)
  • Features
    3.2 (6)
Previous
Next

When life gives you a lemon….sell it.

published

I had a secondhand 2008 D22 as my daily driver. The first 20k km it ran ok. Then with 180k on the clock…2x turbos,gearbox,diff,top end rebuild before 200k. Total lemon.

Purchased in April 2015 for $13,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good soild ute

published
Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris B.
Chris B.South East Queensland, QLD

Built for purpose

published

Use it 4 times per week as a run-around-ute. It is not designed to be a luxury vehicle but a genuine no-nonsense do anything, go anywhere, reliable, blokes ute. Big tip, after 150k , get it serviced every 5k, mine now has 250k still going strong. Took it around Oz 6 months ago, no worries. Fuel consumption can get a bit much (12.5l / 100k in back blocks). Had a catch-can fitted recently, has dropped av fuel consumption back to 10.5l/100k. Have bullbar, snorkel, rear camera, buckets, alloy tray with slide-on camper. Have looked at trading in but will keep for a bit longer and give to a grandchild. Too good to trade and most newies are too technical.

Purchased for $25,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daniel
DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Old school reliability

published

Purchased in February 2010 at Cricks Noosa for $36,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dissapointed
DissapointedNorthern Region, NSW

Not happy with d22

published

Not real happy with navs its my own fault really bought n 03 bent chassis ...bought an 09 chassis cracked front to back ...wont be buying a 3rd so sad

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jack
JackMid North Coast, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a god buy thought it was

published

Bought a Nissan navara of a dealer had it 8 mths the radiator blew I was driving along stopped it cooked the motor now Im up for a 7,000 motor I pd 10,000 for car unbeilable I had it service like they said I very dissapointed I was on a low income saved the money thats what I get for my trouble I thought I was getting a good car but no now I have to scrap it or pay loads of money

Purchased in May 2019.

Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike K.
Mike K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good o'l faithful

published

I have 03 Navara cab chassis turbo diesel 3ltr 4WD. Bought this 3rd hand late 2017.
I do courier work 200km every day.
Done some off roading last year in 2018 in the outback during a 8000km trip over 3 weeks. Never missed a beat.
Service twice a year.
Never had any problems.
This car has never failed me. Great off road and a great work horse during the week. Motor starts first time every time and still pulls hard.
Replaced the clutch soon after purchase and replaced battery early 2019.
Other than that i keep oil fresh and coolant levels up and the beast just keeps on going.
One of the last of the original Japanese made Navaras. Love my nifty Nav.

Purchased in October 2017 at Private for $7,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Very reliable ute ...

published

Own my 2004 D22 For 10 years now ,done 400.000 km ,and never missed a beat.Not most comfortable ,but keeps going ,tows the boat ,take me to work ,always long hot miles . service it myself every 10km,with good 15-50 semi or fully synthetic oil. Change diff /gear box & transfer case .
Nothing done to it other than tear &wear(brake pads/tyres ) .Cheap to run. only fault engine light comes on when push engine past 3000rpm ,but Nissan can t find fault ,neither can independent mechanic. bit small for space ,but had an unbelievable run .made in Spain ,has the Legendary 3.0l Renault motor.
Mike. NZ.

Purchased in March 2009 at private.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Diynamik
DiynamikPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable 3.2 diesel

published

Bought very cheap with the seller spending $3000 on the suspension springs . I was hesitant to buy one for so many years . The 3.2 is not as slow as what has been said , has a good amount of pick up but what can you expect? I see lots of people push these to a turbo but i will leave it stock .
The only problem is the instrument cluster , temp gauge works and rev counter at certain rpm abover 1300 . This is because of a resistor behind the panel , fixing this very soon . Turning circle is very good for a truck this size , heater / aircon perfect , no rust except for a small amount of surface in the rear tub . Not yet been off road but soon , im not a hard core offroader so this will just take me to the back beach ect.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

She’s a beauty with a long life!

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rick
Rick
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car

published

Great car, purchased new, I knew from the test drive back seat was cramped and power was low, but 6 years later, drives like the day I bought it, I think it will last another 10 years, only changed, oil, filters and tyres... Easy to service and work on, low tech, just the way I like it. Well built solid workhorse and weekend warrior.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dazza
DazzaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Cheap and nasty

published

Over the last 20 years I’ve had 3 Navaras and 5 Hilux’s as my work utes so I have a bit of background
The D22 was my first Navana and by far the worse and also the cheapest
It look good with the alloy wheels and colour match bars , but it rides very rough the seating position is terrible and the cabin noise is high
I did 100k in the car and had no problems! So it it’s reliable and got the job done , but I would buy another !
Power is low, but fuel economy is good
At the time I got a great deal from Nissan as it was the old model , but my resale was just as poor .
If money is tight then this car could work for you

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2010
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nissan Navara is the best vehicle to buy. But the passenger area is less spacious

published

I have a Nissan Navara D22 2006, ST-R 3L. I bought it in Melbourne & drove to Cairns. Then I drove it to Brisbane. From Brisbane, I came to Esperance in WA. Each time I had a trailer with it. I bought it in 2016 and it is now 2018. In between, I have driven almost 30000kms. I regularly service the car by myself. change oil in every 5000kms. always use Penrite oil. Have change diesel filter a few times. This is the best vehicle to buy.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Garren Pitt
Garren PittQLD, 4551
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Amazing 4wd !!!

published

I have taken this to the cape and all over the beach side. The only thing I have had to upgrade is my suspension and tyres. Honestly love this car. Brings joy to my family plenty of space for work and fun on the weekends!!!
Great fuel economy as well!! 9litres to 100k's.

BadgeST-R
CabSingle Cab
Engine Size3.0L V6 Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
brittb
brittbsydney
  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Very nice car to drive, interior could be a bit nicer but overall nice, good price to run but have a lot of problems with the paint chipping and the clutch playing up, very good sized tub looks great with ladder rack and after market bull bar over all would really recommended

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

belal a.
belal a.asked

Hi guys would a 2001 nissan navara d22 bullbar of a single cab 4x4 to a dualcab fit on a 2012 model nissan navara d22

No answers
Hans L
Hans Lasked

my navara feels like its missing jerky when cold and some times when warm i was told it could be the pollution gear being clagged up

No answers
Mehmet Y.
Mehmet Y.asked

I have d22 3lt nissan navara 2006 , I've noticed a nocking sound on driver side ! sum believe it's the injectors and but then goes way it's more when on load !! Then after driving it for around 10min then stop at traffic lights the revs jump up engine light comes on a lot of smoke out the exhaust then back to normal sometimes the engine light stays on !!! When turning it off then back on the lights gone then it's the same all over again !! Can any what's happening

No answers
See all Nissan Navara D22 (1997-2014) questions

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

Details

CategoryUtes
Starting Price $33,990.00
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L
Max Power98kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque304Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateApr 1997
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Replaced byNissan Navara NP300 / D23

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.