??!
2 photos
Nissan Navara D22

Nissan Navara D22 (1997-2014)

3.7 from 75 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.7

75 reviews
5
(32)
4
(19)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.0 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    3.7 (7)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (7)
  • Features
    3.4 (5)
  • Braking
    4.0 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    3.7 (7)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (7)
  • Features
    3.4 (5)
Previous
Next

Good soild ute

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Chris B.

Chris B.South East Queensland, QLD

Built for purpose

published

Use it 4 times per week as a run-around-ute. It is not designed to be a luxury vehicle but a genuine no-nonsense do anything, go anywhere, reliable, blokes ute. Big tip, after 150k , get it serviced every 5k, mine now has 250k still going strong. Took it around Oz 6 months ago, no worries. Fuel consumption can get a bit much (12.5l / 100k in back blocks). Had a catch-can fitted recently, has dropped av fuel consumption back to 10.5l/100k. Have bullbar, snorkel, rear camera, buckets, alloy tray with slide-on camper. Have looked at trading in but will keep for a bit longer and give to a grandchild. Too good to trade and most newies are too technical.

Purchased for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Old school reliability

published

Purchased in February 2010 at Cricks Noosa for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dissapointed

DissapointedNorthern Region, NSW

Not happy with d22

published

Not real happy with navs its my own fault really bought n 03 bent chassis ...bought an 09 chassis cracked front to back ...wont be buying a 3rd so sad

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jack

JackMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a god buy thought it was

published

Bought a Nissan navara of a dealer had it 8 mths the radiator blew I was driving along stopped it cooked the motor now Im up for a 7,000 motor I pd 10,000 for car unbeilable I had it service like they said I very dissapointed I was on a low income saved the money thats what I get for my trouble I thought I was getting a good car but no now I have to scrap it or pay loads of money

Purchased in May 2019.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mike K.

Mike K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Good o'l faithful

published

I have 03 Navara cab chassis turbo diesel 3ltr 4WD. Bought this 3rd hand late 2017.
I do courier work 200km every day.
Done some off roading last year in 2018 in the outback during a 8000km trip over 3 weeks. Never missed a beat.
Service twice a year.
Never had any problems.
This car has never failed me. Great off road and a great work horse during the week. Motor starts first time every time and still pulls hard.
Replaced the clutch soon after purchase and replaced battery early 2019.
Other than that i keep oil fresh and coolant levels up and the beast just keeps on going.
One of the last of the original Japanese made Navaras. Love my nifty Nav.

Purchased in October 2017 at Private for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers

Very reliable ute ...

published

Own my 2004 D22 For 10 years now ,done 400.000 km ,and never missed a beat.Not most comfortable ,but keeps going ,tows the boat ,take me to work ,always long hot miles . service it myself every 10km,with good 15-50 semi or fully synthetic oil. Change diff /gear box & transfer case .
Nothing done to it other than tear &wear(brake pads/tyres ) .Cheap to run. only fault engine light comes on when push engine past 3000rpm ,but Nissan can t find fault ,neither can independent mechanic. bit small for space ,but had an unbelievable run .made in Spain ,has the Legendary 3.0l Renault motor.
Mike. NZ.

Purchased in March 2009 at private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
Diynamik

DiynamikPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable 3.2 diesel

published

Bought very cheap with the seller spending $3000 on the suspension springs . I was hesitant to buy one for so many years . The 3.2 is not as slow as what has been said , has a good amount of pick up but what can you expect? I see lots of people push these to a turbo but i will leave it stock .
The only problem is the instrument cluster , temp gauge works and rev counter at certain rpm abover 1300 . This is because of a resistor behind the panel , fixing this very soon . Turning circle is very good for a truck this size , heater / aircon perfect , no rust except for a small amount of surface in the rear tub . Not yet been off road but soon , im not a hard core offroader so this will just take me to the back beach ect.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John

JohnSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

She’s a beauty with a long life!

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rick

Rick

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car

published

Great car, purchased new, I knew from the test drive back seat was cramped and power was low, but 6 years later, drives like the day I bought it, I think it will last another 10 years, only changed, oil, filters and tyres... Easy to service and work on, low tech, just the way I like it. Well built solid workhorse and weekend warrior.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Dazza

DazzaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Cheap and nasty

published

Over the last 20 years I’ve had 3 Navaras and 5 Hilux’s as my work utes so I have a bit of background
The D22 was my first Navana and by far the worse and also the cheapest
It look good with the alloy wheels and colour match bars , but it rides very rough the seating position is terrible and the cabin noise is high
I did 100k in the car and had no problems! So it it’s reliable and got the job done , but I would buy another !
Power is low, but fuel economy is good
At the time I got a great deal from Nissan as it was the old model , but my resale was just as poor .
If money is tight then this car could work for you

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2010
Drive4WD

Nissan Navara is the best vehicle to buy. But the passenger area is less spacious

published

I have a Nissan Navara D22 2006, ST-R 3L. I bought it in Melbourne & drove to Cairns. Then I drove it to Brisbane. From Brisbane, I came to Esperance in WA. Each time I had a trailer with it. I bought it in 2016 and it is now 2018. In between, I have driven almost 30000kms. I regularly service the car by myself. change oil in every 5000kms. always use Penrite oil. Have change diesel filter a few times. This is the best vehicle to buy.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
Garren Pitt

Garren PittQLD, 4551

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing 4wd !!!

published

I have taken this to the cape and all over the beach side. The only thing I have had to upgrade is my suspension and tyres. Honestly love this car. Brings joy to my family plenty of space for work and fun on the weekends!!!
Great fuel economy as well!! 9litres to 100k's.

BadgeST-R
CabSingle Cab
Engine Size3.0L V6 Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Drive4WD
brittb

brittbsydney

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Very nice car to drive, interior could be a bit nicer but overall nice, good price to run but have a lot of problems with the paint chipping and the clutch playing up, very good sized tub looks great with ladder rack and after market bull bar over all would really recommended

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

Bad car on the tow

published

I've had 2 navaras in 18 years one was a 2000 model 3.3 Litre petrol had that for 15 years and was a great vehicle on and off the tow! Then I bought a 2014 2.4 Litre turbo and iv done 2 clutches and gearbox at 75000kms! It is by far what you would say a girls car with no grunt! Terrible at the tow! What you would say all shoe and no go! I wish I had my old car again! I think a hilux for a towing worker is the go and I will be buying Toyota hilux!

BadgeST-R Special Edition
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
walker

walkerQueanbeyan

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good, but had a crap turning circle!

published

Overall happy with the ute. Very spacious inside and good tray space. My only complaint is that its turning circle is ridiculous. Where other vehicles could do a three point turn, I would have to do at least a 5 point turn. So its a pain to park and get into tight spaces.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2011
jay

jay

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

worst piece of crap ive ever owned

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2001
Justin Jong

Justin JongGordon

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cheap and broken

published

Driving performance that I have is that the sheering wheels broke when it went on the clear roads. Door had bad edges after I just opened the back door and the boot. Lasted for a week and can't find someone that I bought it from to return it back to that people.

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Janabelle

Janabelle

  • 29 reviews
  • 16 likes

We needed a ute that was easy to drive

published

We had been looking for a ute that would be our second car, easy to drive and also be our work-horse for ferrying large items around. This is a nice looking ute, has a dual cab so the shopping can sit on the back seat securely and be in air conditioning, if needed. The gearbox on this ute is probably the best of any car we have owned. The only downside, and would be the same with any utility vehicle, is bad visibility when reversing. We had the option of fitting a rear camera, which we may do at a later date.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size4 cyl diesel turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
DriveFWD
Byrno

ByrnoHighfields

  • 28 reviews
  • 16 likes

Good all rounder

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Page 1 of 4
See all Nissan Navara reviews

Questions & Answers

Ann T.

Ann T.asked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

Does a 1998 bullbar for nissan navara fit a 2006 model d22 nissan navara

No answers
Josh L.

Josh L.asked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

Hey everyone. I have a 05 Nissan Navara d22 3.0d. I was wondering if I can put parts, such as another bonnet, from the newer model d22 Navara on my own.

No answers
Nigel

Nigelasked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

Will 03 diff centre fit 06

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 12 Nissan Navara
CategoryUtes
Starting Price A$33,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L
Max Power98kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque304Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateApr 1997
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Replaced byNissan Navara NP300 / D23
Compare all 12 Nissan Navara

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.