??!
19 photos
Nissan Pathfinder

Nissan Pathfinder

R51, WX, R52
3.5 from 164 reviews

Reviews

3.5

164 reviews
5
(55)
4
(48)
3
(19)
2
(16)
1
(26)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (10)
  • Handling
    4.1 (10)
  • Braking
    3.9 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (10)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (10)
  • Features
    3.6 (10)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (10)
Previous
Next
PAX62

PAX62Sydney, NSW

Solid reliable family car

published

Purchased in October 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

So far this is the best 7 seater family car

published

If you are a daddy or mom of a growing family, this is the best car so far under $50k.
Tilt and slide is the best part that I love in this car. It makes 3rd row access super easy while a child booster seat is still fitted on the 2nd row.
Performance wise its 3500cc engine is very powerful, it tows Jayco camper trailer like a breeze. Steering reaction is also very impressive part for me.
Very smooth riding while quiet and compy.
Some people complains about the CVT mission but I didn't experience any issue with this car including CVT since I own this car in 2016.

Purchased in April 2016 at Nissan Dealers for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harpreet S.

Harpreet S.

  • 2 reviews

Perfect car for people looking for spacious car

published

7 adult seats.
Sensors are great.
360 degree view camera is a great advantage for parking
Smart cruze helps to manage car speed as per front car.
Smart braking system is also great

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
FCT

FCTSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

CVT transmission is crap - STAY AWAY

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Nissan Dealers for A$54,000.00.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Ham

HamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome car for large families

published

Great vehicle for large families. What we love about this car is easy access to the large boot area. 1 flock of a lever and the rear seats are flat opening up a large boot! We chose the 4Wd option for better handling and mild off road. Handles like a dream and better than the previous model. Fuel economy is on par with all SUV’s. The only negative is boot is not auto and hangs a little low.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
dishpan hands

dishpan handsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

The only thing I don’t like is the cheap paint and cost of Sat Nav map update.

published

Purchased in August 2014 at Berwick Motor Group for A$73,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Goodie

GoodieHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Poor build quality, rubbish engine

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$7,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Very Poor

published

Purchased in December 2013 for A$44,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cmac

Cmac

  • 2 reviews

Nice car, if only Nissan crawled from under their rock though

published

I have a 2018 run out N Sport, it's a nice car with plenty of room. Ample power for a front wheeled drive car but it also uses plenty of fuel to support it.

But... Nissan, why the hell do you make a car with no digital speedo when the law thinks I'm a mass murderer for doing 3ks over the speed limit?? And why do I get a beautiful sounding 13 speaker Bose stereo and then the controls/ Facia to support it are rubbish? Android and Apple car play are not that hard! Such a let down.

I'm not a fan of CVT at all, and this one is no exception.

But I do love being able to pile the family in and travel in comfort and the access to the rear is great!

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic family car

published

I am driving pathfinder for almost 3 years since 2016, had no issue at all, it's a fantastic suv for family. As it is a big suv, over 5m length, cabin is super roomy. Easy access to the 3rd row while boosters are attached on the 2nd rows is one of the best thing that I like on this car. (the booster needs to be attached with isofix) It has tow mode which helps towing a heavy van. (max 2700kg) Driving, especially steering is also excellent. (I feel it's even nicer than my sedan)
Wish to have its interior up to date fashion, looks like a bit old design, but that doesn't really matter for the purpose of family suv. So I give 5 stars.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
DriveFWD

The car is great but the amenities don't function well.

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Drive4WD
enerpac69

enerpac69AU

  • 2 reviews

Nice car shame about the tailgate

published

Purchased in November 2015.

Year2015
awigg

awigg

  • 2 reviews

So happy I upgraded

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Teflon

TeflonManjimup

Still going the distance

published

I've had my 2005 since new, now close to 300,000km only problem was replace injectors at 140,000km due to poor fuel on Mitchell Plateau and a clutch at 200,000km , but then I tow 2.2tonne off road trailer. It's been everywhere around and across Australia with no other issues. Fitted 2" lift kit and Polyair bags in rear coils and heavy duty sump guards underneath. Motor still as sweet as new. Towing 17L/100 (remember 2.2 Tonne towing) and 9L/100km not towing. Only fault is it is starting to rust around rear door

BadgeST
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2005
Anthony

AnthonyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish they still made these..

published

Best car I've owned so far. Long trips, short trips and towing are nothing for this car. Bought new in 2010 the ST A/T. Now with almost 200,000kms on the clock, we have struggled to find any car as robust as this, at a reasonable price. We've really had a good experience with this 4x4 compared, to three others we've owned.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best car I’ve ever owned!

published

There is nothing I don’t love about this car. It is quiet, roomy and plenty of boot space (including under floor storage) even with 3rd row seating in place. Drivers seat feels like you’re sitting in a lounge chair. Lot’s of extra features included. Does cost a bit to fill with petrol (unless it’s diesel) but gets so many Km’s on open road.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Kay

KaySydney

  • 4 reviews

Good car

published

We upgraded from a hatchback to this super spacious SUV. Though it doesn't have the power or stability of a BMW which we owned earlier this is a decent SUV with all the features you dont get on a top tier SUV like rovers. The interiors are super luxurious and the tech is great with the dual screen on the back seats, very good to keep toddlers/young kids happy.

BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

A mixed review

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Mic

Mic

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Very reliable

published

Driving experience is amazing with heaps of clearance off the road when going 4x4. Can handle a heap of weight, great for towing, lots of leg room for 5 adults. Although fuel economy isnt the best it makes up with a comfortable driving experience. Has great stereo system, lots of storage space in the boot.
Good car

Badge0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2001
Rob

RobSydney

  • 5 reviews

Nissan Pathfinder R52 Series 2 - Brilliant

published
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Craig S.

Craig S.asked

Pathfinder

Just bought a 2008 TI and it has the old 6 stacker CD system in the dash. Has anyone managed to put a new r52 head unit in their older Pathfinder or could recommend an off market unit ?

No answers
Craig S.

Craig S.asked

Pathfinder

Just bought a 2008 TI but has the old 6 stacker in it. Has anybody tried to put a r52 sat nav head unit in the r51?

No answers
Grant F.

Grant F.asked

Pathfinder

I have a 2017 R52 Pathfinder. Can I put on an after market sports exhaust system and not effect the engine.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.