??!
2 photos
Oppo AX5

Oppo AX5

4.0 from 32 reviews

See the Best Mobile Phones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
9
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
2

Mohamad

MohamadGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good with reasonable price

published

I bought this phone from Telstra but the function is very good. Easy to carry and good quality for taking the picture.

Highly recomended for younger age and simple to operate

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 119 reviews
  • 35 likes

Brilliant phone at a great price

published

Very happy with this phone, it is fast and very reliable. The specifications are fantastic. The system is similar to Samsung Galaxy without the price tag. The Camera on this phone is clear and takes great photos. Overall i am completely happy with this phone and would definitely recommend.

Purchased in June 2019 at Target Australia for $199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Cindy

CindySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Nice affordable phone

published

Good for its price range. quite happy for its feature. Comes with the case and screen protector so quite convenience that I do not have to get it somewhere else. The downside is, no earphone included

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $300.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Software

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Consumer_user

Consumer_userVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Ok phone, outranks other brands in its price range

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart for $259.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

nikki_lish

nikki_lishSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Just ok

published

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $389.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Vossy

VossyMid North Coast, NSW

Great all round performance

published

Great camera. Great colours. My second Oppo. Did my research. Long lasting battery. Can't fault it as a lower price phone. Being used with many apps. Australian assistance contact. My friends are impressed.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $320.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Megs

MegsCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Suits my needs fine

published

I'm middle aged so not a "high end" mobile user. The phone was a great price from JB and it does everything I need. 13mp camera is great for me and the battery life is terrific. The only problem I have is that it is hard to read the screen while wearing sunglasses, but I'm guessing that's not unique to this phone! Face recognition makes for easy opening and it looks good and came with silicone cover and screen protector already fitted. I would recommend if you are not after a top of the line phone.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $280.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Not worth the price!!!

published

Next to useless!!! Can make and receive phone calls, make and send text messages - that's about all!!! Purchased from telstra shop - no owners instruction in the box - no owner's manual currently available online either. Only owned and used apple iphone before this, so that doesn't help at all!!!

Purchased in August 2019 at Telstra .

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Pat J.

Pat J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great back up phone

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Your choice, not what you select.

published

Had 6months. Good specs huge battery, cheaper value. *Autobrightness, even when toggled off. Developer options also revert, a constant flashing warning they're on. Will not get future Oppo, as ColorOS constantly second guesses and no updates available.
Oppo support are next to useless, "reset your phone"

Purchased in May 2019 at Telstra for $300.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Tracy

TracyGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 7 reviews

Exceptional quality over price

published

1. Very happy with the camera which takes really good photos (I'm not an expert on this area though) - have a look at the picture I took with my phone
2. Display looks durable but it's not as bright as the Huawei phones that I had before
3. I use it for my daily life including emails and organisers etc
4. Apps are running smoothly no drama

This phone has such a good quality over price. Definitely have better phones in the market but this price probably one of the best within the price range of $180-280.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Luke

LukeMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

It will do.

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

zac w.

zac w.Farrer 2607, ACT

Quality phone

published

The pros far outweigh the cons, the phone works well and screen is good size and colour. its fast as well. Cons are the camera is meh its not terrible but nothing great had far better cameras on phones before, and sound isn't the best it can be hard to hear it in a crowded or louder area when on a call with someone or playing any other type of audio. Overall one of the best phones i have had for a reasonable price. Also still running fine up to 9 months later

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Jessica P

Jessica PPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant,Reliable and Stylish Oppo Ax5s

published

Having had a previous model of an oppo phone I decided to upgrade to the ax5s from ax77 this phone is brilliant. Fast, easy to use ,reliable and I have never had any issues. Mine came with a glossy red back and from memory they come in other colours unlike some other models. Well priced for decent phone. Quality cameras and quality features. Top purchase

Purchased in May 2019 at Officeworks for $275.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Steph

StephSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great product for great price !

published

Given the price of this ohone, I want expecting much but have been surprised. Has alot of great quality like screen picture quality and easy to use.

Negative - camera is dissapointing, if you record sound it has a loud crackle sound overtaking what's recorded. Lags alot in games if connected to the oppo game system.

But as said, for the price it's a nice phone

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $269.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Zelda

ZeldaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

No substitution for a iphone

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $270.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Kelly ball

Kelly ballMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Oppo forever

published

I was an iPhone person then got sick of the lag then went to samsung! Didn't like the prices and was told about oppo, I love this phone, amazing features at a more suitable price.

Purchased in December 2018 at Office works for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

leeanne

leeannePerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Good Phone

published

Camera is very good, clear pictures, good brightness and good display, apps download good, occasional net surfing, use the calculator, using apps. Bright flashlight, i also use the facial lock. Excellent battery.

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

snackpack

snackpackSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent battery, no lag. Five star in the budget category

published

I have had the AX5 for 3 months, It's a great budget phone, excellent battery,.large screen, no lag. Rather sturdy as it fell a few times and the screen did not break. Limitations are: the camera (not too bad but not high end) and a few anoying things with the Oppo sofware, for instance I have tried but not found out how to use Google Chrome as my default browser (for links, searches etc.). I still give it give stars as I rely can't complain it's serving me really well, I like it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks Physical store for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Harry S.

Harry S.Palmerston, NT

  • 3 reviews

Great value for money.

published

Had this phone for 4 months now and can honestly say it is a great phone, the camera quality is great, it allows me to run multiple apps at the same time without slowing down. The resolution for the is not quite as good as other phones I have had, it is great for games the large screen offers larger view.

Purchased in December 2018 at Vodafone for $370.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

David P

David Pasked

How can I have the pictures I take with my Ax5s be at the top of gallery and most recent instead of scrolling all the way to the bottom?

No answers

Matt H.

Matt H.asked

When i am getting incoming calls it says hidden number how can I make it so it shows there number Oppo ax5s ??

3 answers
Vossy
Vossy

As far as I know you cant. I work for a Government Dept... whenever they ring me it shows hidden number. I'm guessing either because of the number of extensions or they don't want their number out there!

Matt H.
Matt H.

But like my mother is calling me and I have her in my contact and it won't even show her name

Valerie G.
Valerie G.

I have the exact same problem. I've tried everything but nothing seems to be working! It's so annoying, thinking if just taking the phone back


Daryl L.

Daryl L.asked

Screen rotation activation

1 answer
Vossy
Vossy

Yes mine rotates..
if that was the question


Get an answer from our members and Oppo representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $299
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage
Charging Port Micro-USB
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density271 ppi
Screen Size 6.2"
Screen Resolution720 x 1520 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCD
Camera
Max Video Resolution 1080p (Full HD)
Front Camera(s)8MP Standard
Rear Camera(s)13MP Standard, 2MP Standard
Hardware
ProcessorQuad-core 1.8 GHz
Internal Storage64 GB
Battery Size4,230 mAh
Memory (RAM)4 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Diamond Blue, Diamond Pink
Dimensions 156.2 x 75.6 x 8.2 mm
Weight168 g

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.