??!
2 photos
Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared

Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared

1.6 from 26 reviews

Reviews

1.6

26 reviews
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(17)
Previous
Next
Justin

JustinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Stopped working, outside of warranty nothing Oricom will do

published

Had the unit 2-3 years, and have used about 50 times in that period and up until this point served us well. Always stored in its cover and well looked after. Now we are getting an error message (message says "high".. and its the middle of winter) Unfortunately Oricom customer support have suggested 'sounds like the sensors are malfunctioning' and as i'm outside warranty there's nothing they can do. Whilst warranty guarantee you for the 1st 12 months, I would not have paid a premium price tag if I thought this device would be disposable after a year or two (this was an investment). Perhaps stick with the old school $5 dollar job would have been better option.

Purchased in July 2018 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$99.00.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
KD1981

KD1981Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Inaccurate

published

Shows very inaccurate temperature. Had to come back to traditional one. Big difference in temperature. 1 or 1.5 degrees makes a big difference to body when goes above 37. NO

Purchased in August 2018 for A$58.49.

3 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
KD1981
KD1981

Unit is definitely being used according to instructions. But unfortunately not accurate.

Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi KD, we would like to discuss with you. Please give us a call on 1300 889 785 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Inaccurate constantly

published

We bought this in NZ about 5years ago.i always felt readings were inaccurate we could click and scan within seconds and get different readings which differed alot.my son just had a bad fever high temps I got different readings 34's,35's,36's,37 after giving him pamol we went to doc where he was 38. I went and bought a new thermometer today gutted as we paid over $100 originally based on quality and performance thinking it would last for years.

Purchased in March 2013 for A$100.00.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Ree, thanks for the message. We would love to discuss the above with you, so please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 1300 889 785 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Thermometers

Find out how Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brettles

BrettlesSydney, NSW

Erroneous at best.

published

Had this product for 3 years and for the last year I have questioned its accuracy. Replaced batteries, and no change. I would get a reading of 36.5 behind the ear and second reading in the same place would be 37.5. My child was very hot to touch so I went old school mercury mouth thermometer and Lo and behold, 39.5. At least I knew then to administer paracetamol to reduce the fever. Lucky I had a back up device otherwise an unchecked fever could have been dire. For a ‘Medical’ device as it is advertised, I am utterly dissatisfied with how this product behaves.

Purchased in January 2016 for A$75.00.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Cinara

CinaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible thermometer

published

The thermometer is not reading my baby ferver, I can feel she is with high ferver but the thermometer keep saying 36 C, after try more than 10 times the thermometer show 37.8 C, it kept on playing up and brings up ERR (error) message. The doctor just arrived to my home, his thermometer show 38.2 C and mine keep saying 36 or sometimes 37 C, the doctor told I can put this thermometer in the rubish. I used twice and I can’t trust it. I am single mother, I can’t loose my money.

Purchased in January 2018 at Baby Bunting for A$59.99.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

NLM

NLMSydney

Worthless waste of time

published

Easy to use, as long as you don’t actually need an accurate measurement. I tested it on myself and others numerous times prior to our baby arriving, and no measurements ever exceeded more than 36.1’C. This was around a full degree below what other thermometers were reading. The thermometer also kept coming up with errors when we’d stored it in a cupboard where it must have been outside it’s operating range (I think it’s <15’C) so couldn’t use it straight away. Very disappointing considering the hefty price.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
goulash

goulashSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

perfect and accurate

published

Fantastic simple to use, we have this for over 4 years now and still has not missed a beat...people need to read manual and learn how to use this concering all the inaccurate readings.
Small and light weight and the option to check water temp or beam it through objects is a plus.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience with the FS300 and wish you all the best with you future use. Many thanks, Oricom Baby Care.

Extremely Inaccurate

published

This thermometer did not read our babies high fever. Thank God for good motherly instincts that had me I'm the doctors office with my baby anyway. This thermometer was reading 36.5 degrees compared to both the doctor and nurses that read 39 and 39.4. Poor baby! In our situation this thermometers inaccuracy proved so misleading it was dangerous for our new born. $145 of wasted money. Angry.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
pandamike81

pandamike81Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very useful

published

Non invasive temperature reading.
Needs to be 2-3 cm away from the surface to get a good reading.
I read many reviews on inaccurate reading - this can be circumvented by taking at least 2 readings behind the ears and averaging it.
You can change the setting such that it measures the temperature of objects too.

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. We are glad to hear of you experience with the FS300 and wish you all the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Thermometers

Find out how Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
siusin206

siusin206Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Horrible product! Unreliable and constant ERROR messages!

published

Same experience as FKK, worked for the first month then it kept on playing up. Constantly brings up ERR (error) message or would randomly bring up really HI temperatures of 41, 42. There is no "reset" button and instruction manual is useless. When it runs the ERR or HI message, constantly need to take out the batteries to "restart" it. I went to buy the Medescan thermometer to replace....

1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
FKK

FKKSydney

  • 3 reviews

Worked for the first month, since that displays "Hi" every time, con product do not buy!

published

We had a Medescan contactless thermometer for years and worked accurately (we took it to the doctor and compared the readings to an in-ear one, readings within 0.1~0.2 range). When it finally broke we replaced it with the Oricom, thinking it as a better if not the same.

Stopped reading properly after a few months - readings always show "Hi" or temps around 39-40 degrees C.

It constantly provides false reading, and relying on this product is dangerous. It should be recalled and never allowed to be sold by Australian governing authorities.

Shame on Oricom for selling such an unreliable and non-market ready product.

2 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
FKK
FKK

Thank you for offering assistance on the product. I was able to obtain a full refund from Baby Bunting.

Sarah H75

Sarah H75Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

If your house gets cold in winter, apparently this won't work

published

I was mostly getting an error message with occasional success . Now reading back through the thread I am guessing the problem is that it was a cold day... and yes, I live in a badly designed old Australian house, like lots of Australians. Rather than inefficiently heat every room we use electric blankets. So this is not useful in Australia in winter. Which is flu season.

Don't waste your money!

published

Rubbish! You would think by nearly spending $100 on this thermonitor you would be getting a good one... Nope not this one, worked for a few months and then started to give inaccurate readings - way out.. So disappointed with this product. Oricom... It's not always people not following the instructions properly.. Mine faulty.. Prove me wrong, I'll happily send it your way.

Terribly inaccurate and inconsistent

published

Terrible product. Very unreliable! Like most I bought this product for the convenience of not having to wake my child to check her temperature. Recently she was burning up and I checked her temperature at her temple it was 40.0 on one side and 36.2 on the other. As I was confused I decided to check my own at the same time (I was not unwell) and it said 38.9 on one side and 38.2 on the other! I decided to go back to using the axilla thermometer which gave much more consistent results between left and right armpits and also when checking my own to compare.
Extremely disappointing and I will be actively not recommending this product to anyone. What a waste of $99.

Vesna

Vesna

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont buy this product!

published
Baby Thermometers

Find out how Oricom FS300 Non-Contact Infrared compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Midnight54

Midnight54Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent paperweight - too bad about the thermometer

published

This thermometer has badly let us down every time we needed it. As others have noted, the accuracy is terrible and even taking a reading in the exact same spot can vary by over 2 degrees! That can be the difference between no temperature at all and a high fever. After being frustrated at near random readings from this thermometer, we replaced it with a Braun in ear unit which is quicker to read and more importantly consistent and accurate. Had we relied on the readings from this Oricom unit, our child's fever would have been dismissed and we wouldn't have made the very necessary trip to hospital. I'd give it zero stars if i could as in our experience it has been a complete failure at it's only function.

Joan

Joan

  • 2 reviews

Not a reliable product

published

I wanted a good thermometer to rely on when my kids are sick therefore I'm willing to pay for a higher price. Unfortunately, this product does not last long. Same issue with others, my kid had a very high temperature and the reading is just normal, very normal. At the end of the day, we have to rush to the hospital. Not recommended at all!

Sylvia N

Sylvia NMildura

Inconsistant

published

I bought Oricom FS300 IR thermometer about 2 years ago. I liked the idea of how quick and easy it is to take a temperature of my bub. Even when he was asleep i did not have to wake him up. However i found the readings very inconsistent. I usually took temperature 3 times one after another and very precisely at the same place and distance from the forehead. Last night my child was sick and burning . I took the thermometer and it keep showing a reading of 36.2C. I have another thermometer very basic one and i placed it under his arm, my son had 39C. I don't understand how Oricom can justify the price of such a useless product, it is actually dangerous relaying on it. Very disappointed...

1 comment
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom

Incorrect reading

published

Hi,

I had to take my daughter to the hospital at 2am in the morning. She had a temperature of 38.9 degrees but my oricom fs300 was reading 36.3. I can't believe how wrong the reading was. I would never recommend this product. I paid so much money for it and it didn't deliver.

Betty

1 comment
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom
Max

MaxSydney

Worked well for a few times then gave wrong temps

published

Purchased this less than a year ago.
Used it less than 10 times, only when our bub had temperature.
Tried to use it last night as our son was sick and the device kept saying 'hi' or 'low' ... I ended up driving to the chemist to buy an old fashion thermometer that works without failure.
Tried today again, still not working ...

1 comment
Oricom
Tech SupportOricom
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Joseph K.

Joseph K.asked

Hi, My device is not providing me readings in C & F. the results only read Hi And Lo. Why?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Joseph, as per the User Guide:

3-1. Setting the measurement unit
Press the Mode button and MeM button simultaneously for at least 3 to 4 seconds.
> The device switches to the other measurement unit.
> Possible measurement units : Celsius c and Fahrenheit F

As per User Guide, page 14 shows error messages as below:

Hi - The temperature of the measuring point is above the measurement range.
Lo - The temperature of the measuring point is below the measurement range.

Measurement range for body temperature 34C to 42.5C (93F to 108.5F)
Measurement range for object temperature : 15C to 60C (59F to 140F)

If you would like to discuss, please give us a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Matthew P.

Matthew P.asked

Can i buy this on line?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Matthew, thanks for the message. We are currently out of stock, as I am sure you can appreciate. Huge demand for these at the moment and we are doing everything we can to be restocked as soon as possible. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Mmy

Mmyasked

I bought the product from 2 years ago. And now it show me LO message every time whatever the body temperature despite it was on body temperature mode. Any ideas?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. Sorry to hear of your experience using the FS300 Infrared thermometer. It is possible that in this instance, the thermometer has flat batteries which should be replaced (the user guide provides instruction on how to replace). Alternatively, If the thermometer is in the correct mode and the batteries are not the problem, then it is important to note that environmental variables such as a cold room can have an effect on the reading, because the temperature is measured through air. It is important when using this device, that temperatures are taken in accordance with the instructions in the user guide, notably that temperature should always be taken in ordinary ambient temperature conditions. If you continue to have an issue with the model, the best thing to do is call our dedicated Customer Support Team on 1300 889 785, and they will help troubleshoot the issue over the phone and work towards solving this issue with you. Please note that the FS300 only carries a 12 month warranty period. Thanks, and all the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.