??!
2 photos
Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

3.7 from 96 reviews

Reviews

3.7

96 reviews
5
(45)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (19)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (20)
  • Portability
    3.6 (17)
  • Blade Durability
    3.4 (12)
Previous
Next
Nadine

NadineMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great little unit

published

This shredder is great and does what it says and even more surprising it is actually fairly quiet. Definitely recommend. Easy to use and set up is very simple. Glad we purchased it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Doug - Bacchus Marsh

Doug - Bacchus MarshCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Old model was better

published

Broke the plate on my old Silent Shredder. Couldn't get it apart to repair it. The holes in the top were jammed with debris and I could only get the first two screws out. First thing I did with the new one was to tape over those screw holes.

I was looking for improvements to the faults with the old shredder but the new one is worse. Continual blockages, new outlet chute is narrower and much harder to clear out.

Softer material has a tendency to wrap back around the teeth and back into the shredder.

Not impressed.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Parko

ParkoIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Last model better than the new one!

published

After having purchased one of these many years ago and finding it an invaluable tool in the garden. It suffered many years of abuse and gave up the ghost eventually cracking the internals (my fault jamming pieces way to big in it). i decided to get another only to find it clogging up within minutes? discovered they have made an "improvement" to the machine in that they have put a narrow plastic extension to the exit chute (obviously to stop any morons that would otherwise try to stick there hand up the chute whilst the machine is on). Whilst i cant reccomend it, i removed the plastic chute using a very long philips head screwdriver and hey presto i had my old shredder back!

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DKT

DKT

  • 18 reviews

Great unit for the money

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Lawrie

LawriePerth

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

Just crushes does nut shred. constantly blocking hard to clear . Bought to save time so waste could go in bin instead dump trip . Back to dump trips now ! Dump is best place for oxisols shredder!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Don K.

Don K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best garden buy I ever made

published

Had this for quite a few years (at least 10) and though occasionally clogs up, is easy to clear. Neighbours also use it and always remark how well it works. Brilliant with palm fronds, which I get heaps of.

Purchased in December 2008 at Bunnings for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Jim4949

Jim4949Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

all show no go

published

This would have to be the worst piece of garden appliance I have ever puchased
constantly clogging up and having to clean out shute which looks too narrow to me. Does not shred like it should. I have seen cheaper brands do much better job Dissapointed. Dont buy it

Purchased in January 2020 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Avro

Avro

  • 3 reviews

Had this 2 years and getting rid of

published

The real problem with this shredder is that the blades have to be sharpened every time I use it. I think they are made of mild steel. I tried to get new ones but the delivery time was two to three months. If anyone wants one they can have mine for free.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$165.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Blade Durability
See all answers
Don

DonSouthwest, VIC

A disappointment

published

1. Branches jamming sometimes very difficult to dislodge as limited access.
2. Chute clogging constantly needing to tip shredder on its back to unclog.
3. Partial shredding of green branches has difficulty with bark.

Purchased in February 2020.

Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

DO NOT BUY THIS

published

I cannot begin to talk about what a waste of money this was. I understand products that are produced for a price point and that these cheaper models are not going to perform like more expensive models but its got to do a little bit. This product is like buying a cheap drill that doesn't spin or a vacume cleaner that doesnt suck. Id have been better off with my kids safety scissors. Im putting it out on the sidework with a sign that says 'free to and sucker who wants to cart me home'. Better yet I'll tape it to the roof of my car and drive around Bunnings Cannon Hill and use my PA to testify to what a piece of useless crap the Ozito 'Shredder' is!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Michael B.

Michael B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best avoided

published

Be exceptionally careful when loading this. If it jam's it can't be opened and unjammed without an unbuyable tool. Works well up to that point, but take it VERY easy.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers

Simply keeps performing.

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Kas47

Kas47South East Queensland, QLD

does the job

published

Agree with comments: 'If you want DRY vegetation turned into wood chips, then this model will do that job". Had to clear chute as you go to prevent clogging- wear a mask as dusty

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$290.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
Unhappy Phil

Unhappy PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Jammed on third branch

published

The Ozito schredder jams and you can't get into where the cutter is to clear it.
I bought this Ozito shredder at Bunnings and assembled it, following the instructions carefully including setting the cutter gap. Turned it on and shredded the first branch which was about 12 mm diameter. I did a great job. Tried the second branch at 20 mm diameter. It did a great job again. Tried a third branch at 305mm diameter and it started to shred but then jammed. So I followed what the instructions said and switched the motor to reverse to try to get the branch back out. The motor didn't move. Tried pulling the branch out - it wouldn't come. Then rang Ozito, who helpfully said that all it could do was return to Bunnings, which I did do.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
See all answers
Ian N.

Ian N.Southern and Hills, SA

Dies as soon as warranty expires

published

This shredder worked a treat until about a month after warranty expired and then (it appears) the switch has died. So now I have to order a new switch. Hopefully that will solve problem, but not happy that I have to go to this much trouble. Ive got other things i prefer to do. I should have bought more expensive shredder in first place

Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolutely fantastic

published

Bought the Ozito 2400W shredder model RSH-2435 for $225. Wow what a machine. Not really silent but it sure shreds fast and gives you very fine shavings for the garden. Shreds anything - green and dry up to 40mm or what anything that fits down th slot - all at a fast rate. Had to modify the collector bag though as has only 2 handles and when getting full alowed overflow. Thourougly recommend!!

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$225.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
See all answers
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great for palm fronds

published

Had it for about five years now. Been faultless and never had to replace any parts
If you have palm trees in your yard its indispensable
You can shred the fronds so they can fit into the bin quickly and easily.

Purchased in July 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Peoples Advocate

Peoples AdvocatePerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

all of our ozito electric tool burn out within a year and unable to locate the receipt

published

I agree only lasted less then a year but unable to find the receipt choked felt cheated we did not do anything unusual you only get what you pay for

Purchased for A$150.00.

Portability
Andrew Y.

Andrew Y.Darling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Good but not as good as Bunnings made out on purchase.

published

The way they explained, it ran and spun like a proper wood chipper. It slowly rolls and will only mulch dead solid sticks. Not worth nearly $400... Bunnings should stop taking our business for granted.

Purchased in February 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Jimbo

JimboPerth, WA

  • 49 reviews
  • 1 like

Self feeding wonder

published

I have had this for nearly 8 years now and it still goes great. It makes a nice coarse mulch that does not blow away in the wind. It can bog down on juts wet leaves, so feed in slowly and it's OK.

Purchased in May 2011 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Kora K.

Kora K.asked

Why is smoke coming out from my shredder

No answers
Kora K.

Kora K.asked

Why is smoke coming out from my shredder

No answers
john H

john Hasked

material keeps blocking the exit chute so have to remove that manually every few minutes, twigs seem to wind around mulcher. Help.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.