??!
2 photos
Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

3.8 from 87 reviews

See the Best Garden Shredders in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(42)
(19)
(5)
(7)
(14)
  • Blade Durability
    3.8 (5)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (12)
  • Portability
    3.7 (11)


Michael B.

Michael B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best avoided

published

Be exceptionally careful when loading this. If it jam's it can't be opened and unjammed without an unbuyable tool. Works well up to that point, but take it VERY easy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers

Simply keeps performing.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Kas47

Kas47South East Queensland, QLD

does the job

published

Agree with comments: 'If you want DRY vegetation turned into wood chips, then this model will do that job". Had to clear chute as you go to prevent clogging- wear a mask as dusty

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
See all answers
Unhappy Phil

Unhappy PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Jammed on third branch

published

The Ozito schredder jams and you can't get into where the cutter is to clear it.
I bought this Ozito shredder at Bunnings and assembled it, following the instructions carefully including setting the cutter gap. Turned it on and shredded the first branch which was about 12 mm diameter. I did a great job. Tried the second branch at 20 mm diameter. It did a great job again. Tried a third branch at 305mm diameter and it started to shred but then jammed. So I followed what the instructions said and switched the motor to reverse to try to get the branch back out. The motor didn't move. Tried pulling the branch out - it wouldn't come. Then rang Ozito, who helpfully said that all it could do was return to Bunnings, which I did do.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
See all answers

Ian N.

Ian N.Southern and Hills, SA

Dies as soon as warranty expires

published

This shredder worked a treat until about a month after warranty expired and then (it appears) the switch has died. So now I have to order a new switch. Hopefully that will solve problem, but not happy that I have to go to this much trouble. Ive got other things i prefer to do. I should have bought more expensive shredder in first place


Absolutely fantastic

published

Bought the Ozito 2400W shredder model RSH-2435 for $225. Wow what a machine. Not really silent but it sure shreds fast and gives you very fine shavings for the garden. Shreds anything - green and dry up to 40mm or what anything that fits down th slot - all at a fast rate. Had to modify the collector bag though as has only 2 handles and when getting full alowed overflow. Thourougly recommend!!

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $225.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
See all answers

Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great for palm fronds

published

Had it for about five years now. Been faultless and never had to replace any parts
If you have palm trees in your yard its indispensable
You can shred the fronds so they can fit into the bin quickly and easily.

Purchased in July 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers

Peoples Advocate

Peoples AdvocatePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

all of our ozito electric tool burn out within a year and unable to locate the receipt

published

I agree only lasted less then a year but unable to find the receipt choked felt cheated we did not do anything unusual you only get what you pay for

Purchased for $150.00.

Portability
Andrew Y.

Andrew Y.Darling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Good but not as good as Bunnings made out on purchase.

published

The way they explained, it ran and spun like a proper wood chipper. It slowly rolls and will only mulch dead solid sticks. Not worth nearly $400... Bunnings should stop taking our business for granted.

Purchased in February 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for $369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Avro

Avro

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is a case of bad engineering

published

The blades lose their sharpness in a very short time, I have had mine a year and am on the third set. And now they’re out of stock. This machinery is useless, don’t buy one.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $165.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers

Jimbo

JimboPerth, WA

  • 46 reviews
  • 1 like

Self feeding wonder

published

I have had this for nearly 8 years now and it still goes great. It makes a nice coarse mulch that does not blow away in the wind. It can bog down on juts wet leaves, so feed in slowly and it's OK.

Purchased in May 2011 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers

Barry

BarryCanberra, ACT, 2611

  • 10 reviews

This is a chipper, not a shredder.

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
See all answers
1 comment
Barry
Barry

Willie

WilliePeregian Beach

Both original and replacement jammed irretrievably

published

Handy sized tool which claims to shred palm fronds. Disappointed when mine jammed on green, leafy sticks and failed to respond to trouble-shooting routine. Replaced cheerfully but new machine failed in exactly the same way within minutes. My money was refunded without a fuss. I'd like to have been more positive!

Date PurchasedJan 2019

David Swann

David SwannSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Useless on freshly cut leafy branches- only good on DRY branches or sticks with no leaves

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
thomas

thomas

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

wasted money

published

if you are even THINKING of buying one of these DON'T WAST YOUR MONEY OR YOUR TIME LOOKING AT IT. it does not perform as shown in videos. if I could return mine I would do so right now. for $309 it is a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY. the money would have been BETTER spent on a new motor for my ROVER mulcher

Date PurchasedOct 2018
grl8862

grl8862NSW, 2263

  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

Marketing Dept makes it unclear what these machines do

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Keith

KeithPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Recommended if you need a shredder.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Keith

KeithHunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Excellent product for the price

published

We purchased this with a few hesitations but were assured it is up to the task for general mulching around the backyard.
What a surprise, it is actually quite for a mulcher and can be used for hours without annoying surrounding neighbours.
This can handle 20-25mm branches with ease, the only item that can block it are long tough grass style plants/leaves.
As with any mulcher just let the machine do the work and do not force it or over load it and you wont have a problem.
We have had this for nearly a year now and has handled everything we have put through it without an issue.
Highly recommended for the price.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

rubbish

published

Jammed within 10 minutes of purchase on a 30 mm green branch.Then the reverse function didn't work. Unable to remove the branch. The machine was unusable and was returned to the point of sale.
This machine is a poor copy of my old german mulcher machine which lasted 10 years.
Don't waste your time

Date PurchasedSep 2018

chylld1

chylld1Sydney, NSW

  • 28 reviews
  • 16 likes

Amazingly effective

published

We have a lot of fallen branches and overgrown bamboo to shred, and this shredder pulverises them into a fraction of the apparent volume. It's very quiet (although not silent) and makes mince meat of any branch (fresh or dead/dry) that fits through the opening.

The unit is quite heavy and feels a bit off-balance when being wheeled around, but at least it does come with wheels and it can be transported easily, however moving it up/down stairs is definitely easier with 2 people.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

rose

roseasked

I have just bought silent shredder from Bunnings and having trouble putting legs on, took back to store and they kindly put them on for me. Now ready to start up after reading all material for setup & preparation, pressed start to rotate adjustment knob and shredder immediately stopped. Reset and tried a few times, changed extension cable to see if that was problem, but nothing. Do I need to take back to Bunnings?

1 answer
Sam H.
Sam H.

is the direction knob the right way? if its going wrong way (backwards) then you need to hold down the green button. If its right way (to mulch) then the on button only needs to be pressed once.


Bob B.

Bob B.asked

Yesterday the shredder worked perfectly. No jamming , shute clear. Today , on pressing the 'on' button, all I get is a buzzing sound and then the cut-out switches the machine off. This has repeated , whether the direction is set for forward or back. Is the motor stuffed?. Is it worth taking it for repair??

2 answers
Unhappy Phil
Unhappy Phil

I had exactly the same thing happen. I returned it under warranty.

Sean
Sean

Hey Bob,
Sorry I’m unsure. under warranty is easiest. Or,
If you find a guy that does the repair work on these small machines, drills, grinders, electrical cords etc he may have the knowledge.


Peter L.

Peter L.asked

Does a wiring diagram ( and winding resistance values ) exist for the SSH240 silent shredder.Thanks Peter

2 answers
Sean
Sean

Don’t know sorry

Unhappy Phil
Unhappy Phil

Don't know


Get an answer from our members and Ozito representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.