??!
2 photos
Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W

3.7 from 105 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (29)
  • Portability
    3.7 (26)
  • Blade Durability
    3.3 (18)
Previous
Next
Michael Whitehead

Michael Whitehead

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Broke 3 months out of warranty.

published

Worked well for 3 years and 3 months. Then stopped without warning. Was not even heavily loaded at the time. No support, no service when out of warranty. So my only option is to toss it, when the issue might be very minor. Ok if you want a disposable shredder for $100/year.

Purchased in April 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Very disappointment, experienced frequent jams.

published

Very disappointment, experienced frequent jams. I spent more time clearing Jams that i did chopping. they seem to have narrowed the expulsion chute. The previous model worked well, but this is not worth purchasing. If the yer 2020 have a mascot shredder, this would be it!

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tredz

TredzBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Shred to your hearts content

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Scootre

ScootreSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it. Gets through anything.

published

Love my Ozito mulcher. It just goes and goes. Gets through anything That fits the slot on the top. Little to no maintenance required, just the occasional adjustment taking 10 seconds. Good warranty too.

Purchased in January 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
tassietony

tassietonyHobart, TAS

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best mulcher

published

Our Ozito silent shredder is now 6 years old and has processed a mountain of shrub clippings. Its excellent compared to noisy rotary blade ones that jam constantly. Get one

Purchased in January 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Phil J.

Phil J.Central Queensland, QLD

Pure Trash

published

I wasnt expecting much but this was a joke. Continual blockages and weak. I put it on Gumtree straight away as I couldn't return it. Worst $300 ever spent.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Disappointed, my experience is not good

published

I expect a product like this to just work. Well, I set up and turned it on and fed some recently cut soft wood branches with leaves, none exceeding the 40mm specified, and, it just clogged up. Perhaps it can be made to work with effort, but, that isn't what I bought it for. Bunnings gave me a refund. I should state that a mate who is an avid gardener thinks they are great. But, he lives about 2hrs from me, so, I can't go and see how he makes it work.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
BruceW

BruceWperth

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can be easily taken apart for servicing

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mr SS

Mr SS

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for occasional home use, quiet, does not jam often

published

My first Ozito shredder blade broke after about 4 years, but we found this does our occasional backyard shredding without much difficulty and it is quiet. It rarely jams and has a reversal in case something gets stuck. The capture bag is not very good however. No doubt if you do more shredding a more expensive model would be more efficient.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nadine

NadineMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great little unit

published

This shredder is great and does what it says and even more surprising it is actually fairly quiet. Definitely recommend. Easy to use and set up is very simple. Glad we purchased it.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Doug - Bacchus Marsh

Doug - Bacchus MarshCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Old model was better

published

Broke the plate on my old Silent Shredder. Couldn't get it apart to repair it. The holes in the top were jammed with debris and I could only get the first two screws out. First thing I did with the new one was to tape over those screw holes.

I was looking for improvements to the faults with the old shredder but the new one is worse. Continual blockages, new outlet chute is narrower and much harder to clear out.

Softer material has a tendency to wrap back around the teeth and back into the shredder.

Not impressed.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Parko

ParkoIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Last model better than the new one!

published

After having purchased one of these many years ago and finding it an invaluable tool in the garden. It suffered many years of abuse and gave up the ghost eventually cracking the internals (my fault jamming pieces way to big in it). i decided to get another only to find it clogging up within minutes? discovered they have made an "improvement" to the machine in that they have put a narrow plastic extension to the exit chute (obviously to stop any morons that would otherwise try to stick there hand up the chute whilst the machine is on). Whilst i cant reccomend it, i removed the plastic chute using a very long philips head screwdriver and hey presto i had my old shredder back!

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
DKT

DKT

  • 29 reviews
  • 40 likes

Great unit for the money

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Lawrie

LawriePerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waste of money

published

Just crushes does nut shred. constantly blocking hard to clear . Bought to save time so waste could go in bin instead dump trip . Back to dump trips now ! Dump is best place for oxisols shredder!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Don K.

Don K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best garden buy I ever made

published

Had this for quite a few years (at least 10) and though occasionally clogs up, is easy to clear. Neighbours also use it and always remark how well it works. Brilliant with palm fronds, which I get heaps of.

Purchased in December 2008 at Bunnings for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ozito Silent Shredder 2400W compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim4949

Jim4949Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

all show no go

published

This would have to be the worst piece of garden appliance I have ever puchased
constantly clogging up and having to clean out shute which looks too narrow to me. Does not shred like it should. I have seen cheaper brands do much better job Dissapointed. Dont buy it

Purchased in January 2020 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Avro

Avro

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Had this 2 years and getting rid of

published

The real problem with this shredder is that the blades have to be sharpened every time I use it. I think they are made of mild steel. I tried to get new ones but the delivery time was two to three months. If anyone wants one they can have mine for free.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$165.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Don

DonSouthwest, VIC

A disappointment

published

1. Branches jamming sometimes very difficult to dislodge as limited access.
2. Chute clogging constantly needing to tip shredder on its back to unclog.
3. Partial shredding of green branches has difficulty with bark.

Purchased in February 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

DO NOT BUY THIS

published

I cannot begin to talk about what a waste of money this was. I understand products that are produced for a price point and that these cheaper models are not going to perform like more expensive models but its got to do a little bit. This product is like buying a cheap drill that doesn't spin or a vacume cleaner that doesnt suck. Id have been better off with my kids safety scissors. Im putting it out on the sidework with a sign that says 'free to and sucker who wants to cart me home'. Better yet I'll tape it to the roof of my car and drive around Bunnings Cannon Hill and use my PA to testify to what a piece of useless crap the Ozito 'Shredder' is!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Michael B.

Michael B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best avoided

published

Be exceptionally careful when loading this. If it jam's it can't be opened and unjammed without an unbuyable tool. Works well up to that point, but take it VERY easy.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Kora K.

Kora K.asked

Why is smoke coming out from my shredder

No answers
Kora K.

Kora K.asked

Why is smoke coming out from my shredder

No answers
john H

john Hasked

material keeps blocking the exit chute so have to remove that manually every few minutes, twigs seem to wind around mulcher. Help.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryGarden Shredders
Price (RRP)$309
Power2400W
Cutting Capacity35mm
Release dateMar 2010
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.