2 photos
Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount
3.8 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

3.8
9 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Nick
NickSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Terrible after sales service

published

I have the older model of this fridge, which is also excellent.
But I'm leaving this review to advise about Panasonic's after sales service!
I discovered a leak from the bottom of the fridge recently. Investigations with a Panasonic technician determined the cause is due to the fridge the missing water evaporator pan at the back to collect water. This has also caused the bottom plate of the fridge to rust.
Panasonic have refused to send out a water evaporator pan or take any action to the rusting plate as the warranty period has lapsed. This is despite them delivering a defective fridge which is missing a key component!

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised Review No

Left hand hinge in new model?

published

Hi. The current model is four years old now. Any plans to release a new left hand hinge model soon please? Pretty please? We love the layout of the current model.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Liz B.
Liz B.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

best fridge we have ever owned... with 40 years of owning fridges

published

I have never had fruit and veg last so long. Same for yoghurt etc. The chill tray is just perfect. Plenty of storage, great looks. Some people say it is noisy, but we find it is actually quieter than our previous fridge. The only less than perfect area is the freezer. The ice cube maker is great for some, but it would be awesome if we could actually remove it and use that space some other way - as we have a dedicated drinks fridge that caters to all our ice needs. While it wasn't the cheapest fridge around, the quality is great and we are saving soooo much money due to not having to throw food away.

Purchased in November 2019 at Betta Home Living for $1,290.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Liz, thank you for taking the time to provide your 5 star review and fantastic feedback. It's great you are getting such long life from your fruit and vegetables, just what our technology in this fridge is all about.

Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mitch5
Mitch5AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So Far so Good.

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Mitch5
Mitch5

Thanks for that

Not Good

published

It is hard to control the temperature (no temperature display), loud and worst of all the vegetable case is narrower then the brackets and it falls through every time you pull or push the case and gets wedged between the brackets, when you try to release case plastic brackets are being damaged and shaved, soon there will be nothing holding the veggie case (hope the warranty and extended insurance will cover this type of bad design). Stay away from this model.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Anna C
Anna CSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Too loud

published

I fell in love with the look of this fridge, great design and big enough for a family of 5, easy to clean. It is very loud though and vibrates through the floor, I keep it on the minimum to try and reduce the length of the noise but with little difference. I've had it for 9 months now and still the same. The stainless steel is very soft and easily damaged. Already had 3 dings in the first month. I have never experienced this with a stainless steel fridge before. A bit disappointing.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Kyles
KylesSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the design!..impressive Fridge.

published

Loving our new Panasonic Fridge! It has ample room for a family of 5. Great design with plenty of storage shelves for smaller condiments etc. Especially enjoy the meat cooler in the bottom of the fridge as it save having to freeze a lot of our weekly meat.
Great cooling & love the quick freezing button option for a boost when adding new items to the freezer after shopping.... Super quiet to run & being a glass shelving for ease of cleaning.
Only suggestion I have would be to omit the ice tray draw in the freezer & make a larger width freezer top draw.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Awesome Fridge

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mandi
MandiAdelaide
  • 4 reviews

Amazing!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Naven H.
Naven H.asked
551L Bottom Mount

Hi, what will happen if the door left open for a long period of time?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Naven,

Please call our customer service team on 132600 and they will assist you.

Cheers

Leanne G
Leanne Gasked
NR-BY55BPSAU (Stainless Steel)

How do you clean the outside of the doors on the stainless steel look side

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Leanne, Thanks for your enquiry, it best for you to contact our customer service team on 132600 for assistance.

Keiran
Keiranasked
551L Bottom Mount

Have a brand new Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount refrigerator. Less than one week old...the retailer is now away on Holidays. The freezer drawer is jammed solid on the left hand side (looking at the drawer) and refuses to open. the right hand side is willing but not the left. the drawer has not opened smoothly since purchase. Keiran - Murrumbateman 2582

6 answers
Mitch5
Mitch5

Oh dear, not sure how I can help you with this but it is a great fridge. Maybe check the foot level. Have a Merry Christmas.

Keiran
Keiran

Thanks Mitch5. All good there! hoping Panasonic will get back to me in the morning,

Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Keiran, sorry to hear you are having this issue. Please call 132600 for assistance.

Thanks

See all Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount

Details

Compare both Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount
Panasonic NR-BY55BVWAU (White)
  • Discontinued

Panasonic NR-BY55BVWAU (White)

No reviews yet
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,999.00$1,899.00
Dimensions 1714 x 775 x 741 mm1714 x 775 x 741 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people
FeaturesFoldable/Retractable ShelfFoldable/Retractable Shelf
Handle Type RecessedRecessed
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Weight88 kg88 kg
Door Hinge RightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhite
Capacity
Total Capacity 551 L551 L
Fridge Capacity 398 L398 L
Freezer Capacity 153 L153 L
ManualDownload manual
Compare both Panasonic 551L Bottom Mount

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.