??!
1 photo
Philips PerfectCare Elite Silence GC9642

Philips PerfectCare Elite Silence GC9642

3.5 from 15 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
4

Jodib

JodibNortheast, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

PerfectCare perfect finish

published

This iron is amazing! It heats up in just a couple of minutes and allows you to shoot continuous steam to get through your ironing faster. Initially I did get a smell when I left it on the ironing board but I think it was new iron smell. Now I leave it an the board and there are no signs of scorching. It can be used on anything safe to iron without any temperature changes between fabric types. It’s very gentle and I haven’t had any signs of scorching or damage to any fabric types. Fantastic for fiddly items like baby sized dress shirts, and pressing seams when sewing pieced quilts.

My only grievance is that the water reservoir is difficult to clean if it grows algae. I’d love to be able to open it up to give it a thorough clean.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Clothing Material Cotton, Denim, Silk and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

May Smith

May SmithSydney

  • 2 reviews

So So disapointed

published

I purchased a new one over the weekend. I had previously purchased a Philips steam iron similar to this style about 9 years or so ago. Obviously over the years its been on the decline and recently I dropped it and a few things broke. So it was time for a new one. I was so excited for the new one but only to find that my old iron still works A LOT better, it is equivalent to any normal iron minus the price tag. I will be returning it for a full refund this weekend. I've lost my trust in Philips iron. I will be looking for another brand to replace my old one.

Purchased in July 2019 at Costco NSW, Marsden Park for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
julie l.

julie l.

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my iron

published

I love how I don’t have to adjust the temperature on the iron, it’s so easy to clean and the tank is easy to fill. The iron head its self is light so I could iron all day if I didn’t hate ironing, but this iron makes my life easier.

Purchased in April 2017 at Costco SA, Adelaide for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Clothing Material Cotton, Denim, Silk and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank for sharing your review with us. It's lovely to hear that the iron has been such a great help to you. Hopefully you'll be able to enjoy it for a long time!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

MrsC

MrsCPerth, WA

Iron Broke - 6 Weeks In For Repair and Still Waiting

published

Irons well, however it just stopped producing steam, which is very disappointing considering the price of the iron. I took it in for repair as it is under warranty and told it would take 2 to 2.5 weeks to repair. It is now 6 weeks and Phillips repairs are still waiting on a part. At no point have I been contacted to be advised of the delay. Each time I have queried when it will be ready I have been told another 1 to 1.5 weeks. Poor customer service.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Rachel

RachelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good results, and easy to use.

published

You can iron anything without adjusting a single thing (has to be . It's an attractive machine with cord storage, delivers excellent results, no fuss required. You can iron silk in one second and bed sheet in next second, and don't have to worry about burning the material. Very much an idiot-proof design.
I can iron at least 3 times faster than using the traditional steam iron. It's a very good investment for people who is time poor and have nice garments that they don't want to destroy.
Highly recommend this to everyone.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Laurie - Wakerley

Laurie - Wakerley

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

No more scorching, so good

published

It’s pretty pricey at $431 but oh so good. A standard iron is always scorching clothes or spitting dirty marks on them. This does none of that, just turn it on and the steam does jeans or synthetic shirts with ease. I can’t remember how many shirts i’ve wrecked with my crappy standard iron so this iron actually pays for itself in saved clothes. If you’ve got a cotton shirt that’s extra creased just hit the boost setting and take em out. It has auto cutoff so you’ll never have to worry that you, or your kids, forgot to turn it off.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Lori

LoriHARRINGTON PARK

  • 4 reviews

Excellent value steam generator

published

After my old LauraStar bit the dust I bought the Philips steam generator iron as a replacement because it was about 1/4 the price of the new LauraStar and online reviews were very positive. It's less powerful but lighter in weight so very easy to use. I like that i can see the water in the reservoir. Lots of plastic so not sure about durability, but it seems well crafted.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Lori, thanks so much for sharing your experiences with the PerfectCare. We're delighted to hear you are happy with its performance. :-)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


rebicloud

rebicloudSydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for me and very lightweight

published

I purchased my iron steam station on special and also with 100 dollars cashback from Philips which turned out to be a good buy. I iron a lot of shirts for a family of 4 and needed something that I can rely on and I wanted to move much faster than a traditional iron. This iron glides through fabrics and ironing is a breeze. I am considering purchasing a board as my next step. The water tank capacity is great and also last through a good pile of clothes and does not need constant refilling. The iron itself is also very lightweight and I do not get tired ironing. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality ironing station.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Steph

Steph

  • 4 reviews

Take 2

published

I purchased a Philips PerfectCare Elite Silence iron in October 2017 and within 1 week it showed fault during the descaling process. I returned it to the place of purchase (which immediately replaced it with another one) and the second iron (hence the Take 2 ) has worked perfectly for me ever since. It is used daily for between 1 to 4 hours as I have a local ironing business. I'm very happy with the iron, it is light, effective and can be used a steamer of garments as well. I would highly recommend purchasing the Philips steam iron ironing board as well as the steam produced must have the ability to escape the board or else you'll end up a soggy mess.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jodie59

Jodie59Newcastle

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Impressive

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

sukobi

sukobiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

No complaints so far

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Nick R

Nick RSydney

Less than a year old, and stopped working!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Nick R
Nick R
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Meg

MegMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Disappointing

published
Date PurchasedDec 2013
6 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Meg
Meg
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We see your point, Meg. Do you mind sharing your contact details with us through a private message here on Product Review? We'll have the right team reach out to you. Looking forward to your message.

Kind regards,
the Philips Australia team.


Fabian

FabianSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Huge disappointment out of the box!

published

Never been so disappointed at a brand new product specially to one to be the best in the market and awards winner! We bought it to replace a previous model GC7635 which after 2 years gave up by the now popular Eco+Power buttons of death. Out of the box when we filt up the water tank and switched it on, water was leaking from the Easy De-Cal knob...seriously how tight does this needs to be! I tried multiple times and water was still leaking as sooon as it was turn on. Also the iron's cord was extremely hot which was a major concern and this never was the case with the previous model. I see why you are offering a 100days money back guarantee!! Well I won't be waiting for another 99 for that to happen.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Thelonius

Thelonius

  • 9 reviews

Best iron I've ever had

published

Philips PerfectCare Elite Silence 290 Gram Steam Station GC9642/60
This thing is amazing. I've never had a steam generator iron before, but this one makes ironing extremely easy. I used to hate ironing before I got this thing. Got it at David Jones on sale. No design or quality flaws at all. Marked down from $749 to $549, and reviews on other web sites seemed positive. No regrets.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Questions & Answers

donaanod

donaanodasked

Can you use this iron without steam? I am a quilter and sometimes I don't want steam.

3 answers
Jodib
Jodib

Technically yes but its not very effective and as a quilter myself I always want steam for perfectly pressed seams. I also have an oliso that everyone raves about but its got nothing on the perfectcare elite and lives in the back of a cupboard.

donaanod
donaanod

Jodib, thanks for your response. I too have an Oliso but it keeps "dancing" and turning off so I have to turn it off/on at the powerpoint. It will work well for a while and then start again. My favorite part of it is that I don't have to stand it up, which is also a feature of the Philips. I wish I could try it out as it is a lot of money.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thanks for your questions! It seems like the answer was already given above, very helpful indeed. :) You don't have to use the steam boost. However, we do recommend using the steam, as it will improve the overall result. Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Thao

Thaoasked

I’ve had my steam iron (GC9642) for about 8 months and it has been great until sometimes discoloured water drips from the bottom. I believe it’s build up of calcification on the plate that creating the discolored drip. I have tried ironing on a damp cloth to clean it but it does nothing. Hope you can help as I have spent a lot of money on this iron.

Thao

No answers

Sharifah

Sharifahasked

Hi. I've had my perfect care elite iron for 2 years now. Last week it stopped generating steam. I think water is not flowing in... maybe calcification is making it stuck? What can i do?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hey there,

Thank you for your question. That could well be. Have you already tried descaling the iron? This is often the solution to your described problem. Here is a link to some further information on how to descale your iron: https://www.philips.com.au/c-m-ho/ironing/descaling/how-to-descale-my-philips-steam-generator-iron. If this doesn't solve the problem, could you please reach out to us? You can contact us on 1300 363 391 if you're based in Australia or on 0800 658 224 if you're based in New Zealand.

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team.


Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.