??!
1 photo
Philips PerfectCare Performer GC8712

Philips PerfectCare Performer GC8712

MPN: GC8712
3.0 from 11 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
3

reviews

reviewsPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

So frustrated

published

I am so frustrated with this iron. I am about to give up on it. I have followed all instructions and do the Calc clean regularly, but the problem is, the iron spits out dirty white or yellow water onto clothes intermittently. My son wears polo shirts as part of his work uniform and this iron hates them and spits white water that dries and leaves a mark nearly every time I iron them. I have just ruined a crisp white business shirt as the iron spat out yellow water and has left 4 large stains. I am frightened to use this iron for clothes on the run as I never know if I am going to be able to wear them or have to wash again. Even directly after the clean, the iron will do this . So dissatisfied! What am I doing wrong.

Purchased in May 2018 for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear you are having issues with your Iron and we would like to see what we can do to help! Could you contact us through: 1300 363 391.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


sonyahmaree

sonyahmareeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers

Love it,

published

This is a easy, non fussey steam station, ironing is so much quicker, I do lots of sewing, and have found it to be great on all fabrics, heats up quickly, prejudices lots of steam. If you havent had a steam station before and are still using an average iron, make your life easier. I love it

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
CHRISTY

CHRISTYBELMONT NORTH

  • 4 reviews

Good steam iron

published

this is exactly what it says it is going to do and that is being a steam iron I can't really fault it it is just a steam iron if you want a cheap iron this is the way to go,Fantastic iron, makes the job so much easier and quicker. Does a much better job than regular irons. Recommended!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Sarah

Sarah

  • 2 reviews

Mediocre

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 9 likes

It’s good, but its not great.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Lisa
Lisa
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Sunny

SunnySydbey

  • 7 reviews

Yaaay

published

This was a god sent. My husband would always burn sensitive garments, I would have clothes with burn marks and wholes. Perfect care is easy to use I can and so safe. Turns off after 8 mins if u forget things like me. Only thing that is annoying is it takes a few mins to get ready to use. But that's easily over looked because of all the other features.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Peacemaker

PeacemakerMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works like a charm

published

Having used the no-steam iron in the past, Philips Perfect Care steam iron is amazing. It has an automatic sensor that enables you to lay the iron flat on the board (as opposed to keeping it upright)

The quality of the unit is very good and well made. Haven't had a issue in the past 24 months of the usage

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Mel

MelIvanhoe

  • Verified purchase

What a waste of money!

published

I’m so disappointed with this steam iron. I have just purchased it, and gotten home to try it out and compare it to my old iron - also a Phillips, but the old one cost only $40. Well, the much more expensive new steam iron doesn’t do any better than the old one. Not only that, like the other reviewers on here I find the delay between pushing the steam button and the release of steam to be dangerous - I nearly burnt myself!!! I wish I had read these reviews before purchasing it, because they are 100% correct!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Very disappointed - and potentially hazardous

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
4 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
nsm54
nsm54
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Lyn

LynPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

So disappointed

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Lyn
Lyn

I have...three times.

Questions & Answers

Donna McGowan

Donna McGowanasked

Should this iron leak water on the floor as I’m on my second iron now and both are doing the same leaving a puddle of water on the floor?

3 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi, Donna. Thanks for reaching out to us with your question here. Is the water leaking out of the soleplate? If that is the case, there may be a simple solution to the problem, namely descaling. If that doesn't solve the issue, please reach out to us on one of our social media channels (Facebook and/or Twitter @PhilipsCare). There, we're available 24/7 and happy to help! Alternatively, you could reach out to us by phone (AU 1300 363 391, NZ 0800 658 224).

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team

Donna McGowan
Donna McGowan

It’s brand new it’s the first time I used this iron and I took my first iron back after three months with the same problem. I think is coming out the lead and also it’s wet underneath the unit. I think for a $225 iron you shouldn’t have this problem?
Thanks
Donna McGowan

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Donna, thank you for your reply. We would like to look into this for you. Could you therefore reach out to our team on social media or by phone? This will allow us to have a closer look at your appliance so that the origin of the issue can be discovered. Many thanks in advance. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team


Renae

Renaeasked

Hi there, I have just today purchased the Phillip's Steam Iron and while I am very happy with the results and the easy use of the iron I am just concerned as to whether it is normal for the iron to make like a pumping noise when I press the steam button as the steam irons I have had in the past were quiet. I just wanted to make sure that this is normal as I would hate for it to be a fault and stop working in the near future. Thankyou.
Regards
Renae

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, Renae!

Congrats with the steam generator iron, we're glad you like it! Don't worry about the pumping sound. When water is being pumped, your Philips steam generator might be noisy. This is perfectly normal and to be expected with steam irons and steam generator irons that use a pump to generate more steam. You can reduce the noise by placing a cloth (or similar soft material) under the base. Wishing you all the best with your GC8712, Renae!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia team


Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.