??!
1 photo
Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72

Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72

MPN: HD2178-72
3.7 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Should I get a slow cooker, pressure cooker or multi cooker?

Thanks to slow cookers, pressure cookers and multi cookers, the days of slaving away over a stovetop are over. This buying guide will help you decide which kitchen appliance is right for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.6 (8)
  • Pressurising Speed
    4.0 (8)
  • Slow Cooking
    4.7 (6)
  • Steaming
    4.0 (6)
  • Pressure Cooking
    4.0 (9)
  • Sautéing
    4.0 (8)
  • Rice Cooking
    4.1 (8)
Previous
Next
Bernadette123

Bernadette123Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Very sad. Not happy.

published

Broke not even a year old. Won’t pressure cook. Yes I did all the tricks and I did use it properly. I really love the stainless steal bowl. Lost receipt can’t return. What a waste of money.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Not Happy

Not HappyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Loved it until it imploded...

published

Purchased at Costco for A$185.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
j9

j9Wanniassa

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

My favourite kitchen product

published

This fantastic product can do it all. It saved me time and money in the kitchen and makes everything way more efficient. And tasty! If you are in the look for a multi cooker, look no further!

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
Slow Cookers

Find out how Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
obliviscere

obliviscerePhillip 2606, ACT

Versatile Multicooker - Really happy

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Costco for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
obliviscere
obliviscere

Hey guys - no worries at all, cheers for making something that’s helping me live my best cooking adventure life HAHAHA! Definitely will do and hoping you all are staying safe and well during these times :)

AZK

AZKSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very efficient

published

I’m thrilled with my machine. For those that can’t see the number display, make sure you remove the label covering the screen. U can’t really see the label but it’s there. Hope this helps.

Purchased in May 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Display doesn't show time during pressure cooking

published

I have similar experience for cooking lentils. Whatever I press, the screen always has 8888, not the figures I can read. I am not sure it is faulty one or something I did not do correctly. So disappointed.
Bought it at Coscto, VIC

Purchased at Costco VIC, Ringwood for $189.00

Purchased in December 2019 at Costco for A$189.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
婕 何.

婕 何.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Trouble for using

published

I spend the whole day and night to cook rice, cannot adjust cooking time. Whatever I press, the screen always has 8888, not the figures I can read. I am not sure it is faulty one or something I did not do correctly. So disappointed.

Purchased at Costco VIC, Ringwood for A$189.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Mary C.

Mary C.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Love it! Wish I had bought it sooner.

published

I have a slow cooker, a rice cooker, soup cooker and pressure cooker and not much space to store them. My other problem was all of them had small capacity so I invested in the Phillips All-In-One Cooker. Totally impressed! I’ve made soup, chicken casserole, chicken bone broth by slow cooking and pressure cooking and all turned out perfectly. It comes with two inner 6 litre pots, one of which is Teflon coated and so easy to clean.
The recipe book is rather basic and instructions could be better but youtube video sorted that out quickly. Sauté function works well and one of the best features is that when the cooking time is finished, it immediately goes on to warm function. Overall a great product and I would definitely recommend it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Allic

Allic

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Out of all the kitchen gadgets, this is my most used one!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Costco VIC, Moorabbin for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Slow Cookers

Find out how Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Buyer Beware - Philips Worst Pressure Cooker - Lemon

published

We had the previous model and loved it. We decided to upgrade, unfortunately what a disappointment. The touch screen has been problematic from month 3. Normally take 5 or 6 turning off and on to make it trigger the start program. It now has decided to not start. The touch sensor is clearly a manufacturer fault. Our family has always supported Philips small appliance, it’s a shame we have been let down this time.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Karl G.

Karl G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good buy, no regrets!

published

The AIO does what its supposed to do. The results are great.
Meats cook very well on pressure cook mode and is a very handy and a convenient appliance to have in the kitchen

The recipe book is a bit disappointing with a very few recipes included, would have expected more.

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco SA, Adelaide for A$187.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Karl, thanks for sharing your review. Great to hear that you've been cooking some delicious meats. Hopefully you'll be making many tasty meals for you and your family.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

julie l.

julie l.

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

So easy to use

published

We bought this model after I thought my old one had broke, but infact I wasn’t putting the seal ring in correctly, so now I have 2 pressure cookers. I love this modern model better than the old one because the electronic touch pad is easy to use. I love the diversity of how you can have a curry cooked in an hour or you can cook a soup throughout the day on slow cook.

Purchased in November 2018 at Costco SA, Adelaide for A$240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hey Julie, thanks for leaving your thoughts with us. We're glad to hear your initial trouble was solved swiftly. It sounds like you're making some delicious meals with the cooker. Bon appetit!

Dubbo

DubboGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Pressure cooker

published

Very happy with our purchase. Cooked a silverside and it was very tender. Can whip up a meal when I come home from work and have it on the table in an hour.

Purchased in May 2019.

Pressurising Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Morty

MortyMid West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Touch Screen

published

Very annoying that I have to go through the motions time and time again just to get this machine to start. The start button will not work straight away. The panel is not great.

Purchased in May 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
flossy4564

flossy4564Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Pressure Issues with my Philips HD2178/72.

published

Hi, I cant get the Pressure cooker to work. The valve does not come up on mine when I turn the lid to close. I have the Philips HD2178/72. This is the second one I have had now and I can't seem to get it working...

Purchased in November 2018 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
Features / Functions
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Slow Cookers

Find out how Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72 compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Prattys

PrattysGascoyne, WA

  • Verified purchase

It's the only kitchen appliance I need!!!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Zigzaggered

ZigzaggeredHunter Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Great WHEN it works.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
minx

minxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect!

published

It a dream machine for me! Can do stews and braised dishes, chinese/asian traditional dishes in a jiffy! Got it at Costco for $185. Its a steal for such a fantastic cooking buddy. Performance is 10/10 and cost is a fraction of those other so-called other branded premium thousand dollar All in One cooking machines.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
manny

mannySANDHURST

  • Verified purchase

Philips HD2178/72 Atrocious

published

Purchased this on the week end for Costco. Very disappointed . The seer doesn't really get that hot and the red seal button doesn't release that the steam when you go to vent after cooking.
The general time on listening to all the cooks on you tube to cook a piece of beef all cubed is 20 -25 MINUTES. I had to have mine set for 65 minutes for the meat to be tender - And I was using rump at $ 20.00 per kilo -Not a cheap cut -I want my money back !!!!

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
girlpower

girlpowerVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Appliance!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ervin

Ervinasked

what is material used for the coated pot? Is it teflon?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Ervin,

Thank you for your query about our Multi-Cooker. This model has 2 pots: One is the high grade stainless steel inner pot, to make sure the different using behaviours. Another one is Aluminum alloy inner pot, which is durable and offers more effective heat conduction. Special colored Whitford golden coating is non-stick. You can read more about its technical specifications here: https://www.download.p4c.philips.com/files/h/hd2178_72/hd2178_72_pss_engau.pdf

Should you have any further questions, please contact our local product team at 0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Denise T.

Denise T.asked

Is the non scratch surface healthy as both ingredients aluminium is toxic to the body & non scratch ingredients too?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, Denise

Thanks for your question and we appreciate your concern. The product has a high grade stainless steel pot and an aluminum alloy inner put. All parts that come into direct contact with food and/or water are made of BPA-free materials.

We hope this helps. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any further questions. You can reach us on 1300 363 391 from Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST for Australia and for New Zealand 0800 658 224 from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Parn

Parnasked

I was about to use my Philips All-In-One Cooker HD2178/72 for the first time, with a pulled lamb recipe which needed a searing at first. Pressed the Sauté button & pressed start (many times, both with & without setting the timer); but the START BUTTON didn't work no matter how hard I pushed it. I unplugged it a few times, but it didn't help. The CANCEL button & a few others seem to be working fine though.
Also, the light on the screen is so weak that I cannot actually see the time it is showing!

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hello Parn, thanks for sharing your concerns. We like to get in touch and see how we can help. Please contact our colleagues directly on the below number for further assistance:

Call us
1300 363 391

Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Details

CategorySlow Cookers, Multi Cookers and Pressure Cookers
Price (RRP) A$349.00
TypeElectric
Capacity6L
Keep Warm SettingYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
Dimensions 536 x 370 x 730 mm
Weight6.5 kg
Power1,000 W
Outer Body Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Cooking Bowl MaterialAluminium and Stainless Steel
Searing FunctionYes
Colour / FinishSilver
Cord Length1.2 m
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8710103792048
  • MPN: HD2178-72

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.