??!
1 photo
Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72

Philips Premium All-In-One Multi-Cooker HD2178/72

MPN: HD2178-72
3.8 from 32 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
8
3 star
5
2 star
3
1 star
3

婕 何.

婕 何.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Trouble for using

published

I spend the whole day and night to cook rice, cannot adjust cooking time. Whatever I press, the screen always has 8888, not the figures I can read. I am not sure it is faulty one or something I did not do correctly. So disappointed.

Purchased at Costco VIC, Ringwood for $189.00.

Product is used: Daily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Mary C.

Mary C.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Love it! Wish I had bought it sooner.

published

I have a slow cooker, a rice cooker, soup cooker and pressure cooker and not much space to store them. My other problem was all of them had small capacity so I invested in the Phillips All-In-One Cooker. Totally impressed! I’ve made soup, chicken casserole, chicken bone broth by slow cooking and pressure cooking and all turned out perfectly. It comes with two inner 6 litre pots, one of which is Teflon coated and so easy to clean.
The recipe book is rather basic and instructions could be better but youtube video sorted that out quickly. Sauté function works well and one of the best features is that when the cooking time is finished, it immediately goes on to warm function. Overall a great product and I would definitely recommend it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Several times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Allic

Allic

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Out of all the kitchen gadgets, this is my most used one!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Costco VIC, Moorabbin for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Several times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Buyer Beware - Philips Worst Pressure Cooker - Lemon

published

We had the previous model and loved it. We decided to upgrade, unfortunately what a disappointment. The touch screen has been problematic from month 3. Normally take 5 or 6 turning off and on to make it trigger the start program. It now has decided to not start. The touch sensor is clearly a manufacturer fault. Our family has always supported Philips small appliance, it’s a shame we have been let down this time.

Purchased in August 2018 for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Weekly
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Karl G.

Karl G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Good buy, no regrets!

published

The AIO does what its supposed to do. The results are great.
Meats cook very well on pressure cook mode and is a very handy and a convenient appliance to have in the kitchen

The recipe book is a bit disappointing with a very few recipes included, would have expected more.

Purchased in May 2019 at Costco SA, Adelaide for $187.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Several times a week
Features / Functions
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Karl, thanks for sharing your review. Great to hear that you've been cooking some delicious meats. Hopefully you'll be making many tasty meals for you and your family.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


julie l.

julie l.

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

So easy to use

published

We bought this model after I thought my old one had broke, but infact I wasn’t putting the seal ring in correctly, so now I have 2 pressure cookers. I love this modern model better than the old one because the electronic touch pad is easy to use. I love the diversity of how you can have a curry cooked in an hour or you can cook a soup throughout the day on slow cook.

Purchased in November 2018 at Costco SA, Adelaide for $240.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Several times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hey Julie, thanks for leaving your thoughts with us. We're glad to hear your initial trouble was solved swiftly. It sounds like you're making some delicious meals with the cooker. Bon appetit!


Dubbo

DubboGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Pressure cooker

published

Very happy with our purchase. Cooked a silverside and it was very tender. Can whip up a meal when I come home from work and have it on the table in an hour.

Purchased in May 2019.

Pressurising Speed
Product is used: Several times a week
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Morty

MortyMid West, WA

  • 2 reviews

Touch Screen

published

Very annoying that I have to go through the motions time and time again just to get this machine to start. The start button will not work straight away. The panel is not great.

Purchased in May 2018.

1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
flossy4564

flossy4564Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Pressure Issues with my Philips HD2178/72.

published

Hi, I cant get the Pressure cooker to work. The valve does not come up on mine when I turn the lid to close. I have the Philips HD2178/72. This is the second one I have had now and I can't seem to get it working...

Purchased in November 2018 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Product is used: Monthly
Features / Functions
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Prattys

PrattysGascoyne, WA

  • Verified purchase

It's the only kitchen appliance I need!!!

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Zigzaggered

ZigzaggeredHunter Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Great WHEN it works.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

minx

minxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect!

published

It a dream machine for me! Can do stews and braised dishes, chinese/asian traditional dishes in a jiffy! Got it at Costco for $185. Its a steal for such a fantastic cooking buddy. Performance is 10/10 and cost is a fraction of those other so-called other branded premium thousand dollar All in One cooking machines.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

manny

mannySANDHURST

  • Verified purchase

Philips HD2178/72 Atrocious

published

Purchased this on the week end for Costco. Very disappointed . The seer doesn't really get that hot and the red seal button doesn't release that the steam when you go to vent after cooking.
The general time on listening to all the cooks on you tube to cook a piece of beef all cubed is 20 -25 MINUTES. I had to have mine set for 65 minutes for the meat to be tender - And I was using rump at $ 20.00 per kilo -Not a cheap cut -I want my money back !!!!

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

girlpower

girlpowerVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great Appliance!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Helen

Helennewcastle

  • 2 reviews

Terrible design

published

The pressure cooker worked well when it was working. When i cooked congee with it, the water spilled out of the pot and ended up between the inner pot and machine resulting in water damage. I called Philips regarding warranty but they said it was my fault for not placing the appropriate level of water. I did not have the water level past the max marker in the pot. Terrible design.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Les Collins

Les CollinsBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Quiet machine. Expect an update

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Maddy

MaddyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Water condensation on the panel

published

This pressure cooker is no doubt very functional and convenient. However there 2 flaws. No.1 - There is no water outlet or collection cup like the tefal pressure cooker. Hence water easily seeps into the panel. And this happened even with the seal properly on. I don’t have this problem with my tefal even though I have times forgotten the seal. No.2 - The rubber seal becomes pretty loose after a few uses. And I usually do not remove the seal while cleaning unless necessary. So it do come off quickly easily half way through cooking. And this happened to my friend’s unit as well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Cecilia

CeciliaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tip top pressure cooker that every house should has

published

Just bought HD2178 from Costco last week. It’s very easy to use and very quiet when using the pressure cooking mode. I’ve been using other brands, never seen the pressure cooker can be so quiet, unbelievable quiet! Foods are all cooked just nice and yummy. It also very clean as the steam will not splashing out everywhere like others pressure cooking. Most important is its save my cooking time and all the cleaning hassles.
It’s a good product and strongly recommend every household to own one.
I’m getting excited as lots of cooking can be used by this fantastic cooker, from meat, soup to many types of desserts, everyday I just keep discovering it. You will regret if don’t have it!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Cecilia
Cecilia

Hi, just found out the rings and nuts on my AOI lid already rusted and when I unscrewed everything, I realised the round ring was cut, is it normal? I thought they are stainless steel, but yet the lid still a bit rusted? Thanks

Philips
Philips S.Philips

vanilla

vanillaCity

  • 8 reviews

Best Buy

published

This Has become an indispensable part of our household. Partner uses it to make dishes she would never have attempted before. And it’s super fast and easy. we have told our friends about it and even they are raving about it now.
we have only used the pressure cooker function so far and it’s been superb. It has paid for itself many times over. The only gripe I had is that the buttons are hard to press.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

BillR

BillRSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent machine but manual & recipe book are truely appalling!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kitty

Kittyasked

Hello,
Can I purchase a stainless steel inner pot from Philips to use in the Philips All-In-One Cooker HD2137/72? If so, could you please let me know the product number for the stainless steel inner pot so I get the one that fits this cooker? Thank you!

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, Kitty.

Thank you for reaching out to us here. Unfortunately we couldn't find a stainless steel inner pot for your All-In-One Cooker. However, we kindly ask you to contact our product team to look into this for you. Depending on your location, please call 1300 363 391 for Australia or 0800 658 224 for New Zealand. Hopefully our team will be able to assist you further.

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team


jaynagta

jaynagtaasked

Sub:The sticker in front of the display
All I can see when cooking functions are selected is just the lights of respective display button functions on the background ,the front view is obstructed by the sticker. Is this sticker just for the cosmetic display and could be or should be removed?. As the timings just shows 88:88 and can't actually see the cooking times. Please advise .
Regards
Jay

5 answers
Mary C.
Mary C.

Remove the sticker. I did exactly the same thing and returned it as faulty. When the second one did exactly the same, I got help from a lovely lady at philiips who explained that the sticker comes off and then one can use all the functions properly. The sticker looks like it is part of the front of the cooker. Good luck!

jaynagta
jaynagta

Thank you very much Mary. That is very helpful and to know that there is someone with the same issue.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for your question on here, Jaynagta. It seems that a helpful customer beat us to it. But indeed, you could simply remove the sticker - as it was meant to protect the screen whilst not yet taken in use.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Darshi D.

Darshi D.asked

I got a new one just few days ago and the non stick pot got expanded.. what to do now??

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Darshi,

Thanks for letting us know. We're sad to see you've been having some trouble with your brand new Multi-Cooker, so we'd like to suggest contacting our consumer care colleagues on 1300 363 391 (AU), or 0800 658 224 (NZ). They should be able to investigate this further and see how they can assist. They're always happy to help!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.