??!
1 photo
QBE Home and Contents Insurance

QBE Home and Contents Insurance

1.3 from 200 reviews

Reviews

1.3

200 reviews
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(14)
1
(173)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
  • Verified customer

Stay Away!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Run away from this business

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
Diguzz

DiguzzPerth, WA

Really not happy

published

Did not receive renewal this year! Have been with them 18 years always paid! They tell me it was sent but it wasnt! Now trying to charge lot more. Not happy

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how QBE Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean

SeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 15 reviews

ANZ (QBE) Home and Contents up 20%

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Rosie

RosieIllawarra, NSW

They use Sedgwick to commit fraud from customers

published

They use 3rd party Sedgwick to commit fraud on their behalf. Deliberately will deceive you. They do not focus on customer satisfaction. Take photos and create a portfolio of evidence.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
KARL

KARLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Claim warning

published

After 30 years my first claim, a hail storm, rejected. NOTE its ANZ\QBE neither company should be in insurance. Out of five tin rooved houses on my side of the street thanks to QBE I'm the only one not getting a new roof, the advice I received from the insurer was to fix it myself and paint over the stains on the ceiling. Not only am I shafting the insurer but the bank who recommended them as they just fobbed me off when I asked for assistance. I seek comfort in the fact that both originations will loose more income from me moving forward than fixing the roof would have cost them. If I sold a product with no intent of honoring it I would be in jail.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Kym

KymPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

If I could give 0 I would

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers

Pity cannot go below zero - terrible company

published

I had my storage insured with QBE to discover upon making a claim that they refused to pay despite photographs clearly indicating damage. From other reviews and ratings it is clear that I am not the only person to have experienced such lack of accountability, responsibility or customer care. Our recommendation - do not go with this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeCommercial
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers
Barry C

Barry CPerth, WA

Watch out - It is not what you signed up for with QBE.

published

I took out LANDLORD insurance with QBE only to find out when I had a claim that they had only sold me house hold insurance to make it cheaper than the opposition. So I made them go back to the recording of the conversation when I took it out, and sure enough it was to be LANDLORD insurance so they requested for me to pay the difference before they looked at the claim. Then they did not pay for malicious damage, due to hidden clause "Optional Benefits"

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2018
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how QBE Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not happy

published

Have been with this company for 5 years now. But after the first claim, realised that everything was hard and im leaving this company. It all started with water damage to the house and after multiple calls to them, they ensure me i can delay the repair as long as possible since i got the source fixed. We delayed because of the new baby arrival. After a few months, got an email saying we need to claim it within 6 months. All the phone calls before this became invalid. All false information provided from phone service. At the end, they said on page 50 of the contract it mentioned that all claim need to be done within 6 months and they 'assume' im aware of this when I enquiry over the phone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Walter John

Walter JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

They used to be a nice company. Not anymore.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeContents Only
Property TypeApartment/Unit
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimEscape of Liquid
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
3 comments
QBE
Bianca R.QBE
Walter John
Walter John
QBE
Bianca R.QBE

Hi John, thank you for this comment and feedback for Natasha, we will pass this on. Let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future. You can reach out to us via our social media channels or email enquiries@qbe.com. ^Bianca

Franz

FranzGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Have gone to the dogs

published

There is no value in this insurance now,have been with these people since they took over my policy's from Zurich 24 years old who l miss greatly ,now l have only one left from seven and l will be cancelling today as they now have an overseas call centre who pass you to there supervisor if it gets to hard or it's not in there program ,and you never here from them again ,so one star is to good they do not rate ,they are that bad ,from a client of 30 years plus !!!!!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Winx

WinxSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Increased fees by 25 Percent since QBE took over ANZ!!

published

Be warned our ANZ Home Contents Insurance (Run by QBE) has increased by a whopping 25 percent this year alone! Ever since QBE took over ANZ Insurance they have gone downhill I read.
We cannot afford that sort of increase every year! We are pensioners,
I rang up and asked how they justify this increase instead of the usual 3 percent inflation rate?
Got the usual avoidance answer: "Each area increase is determined by claims etc!"
Why don't they then provide this proof by showing us their stats? NO WAY.
Anyway I even spoke to the supervisor, "sorry they cannot help reduce it".
Be warned 25 percent each year increase is a joke. What about the following year, 50 percent?
No wonder Insurance companies have a bad name.

Claim MadeNo
Aizu

Aizu

  • 2 reviews

Jacqueline what a service 11/10 service thank you

published
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimStorm and Rainwater
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Discussed

Discussed

  • 11 reviews

Never let me down

published

All incidents are not a claim ,even if you think or want them to be there has to be an appature opening due to storm damage not just that water penetrated during a storm (bad building is too common a reason) normally a burst pipe is not however resulting damage is ,wind damage for most part is ,theft, malicious damage etc is covered with police report .they are a big reputable company and your genuine claim is not bigger than their reputation.i and my family have been with them forever, always helpful. I will say outside assessors can be the problem ,them qualifying there existence ,ask for in house assessor if not happy i say the company is great but every thing is not a claim

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Home and Contents Insurance

Find out how QBE Home and Contents Insurance compares to other Home and Contents Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil K

Phil KRichmond-Tweed, NSW

CLAIM, WHAT CLAIM

published

Went to claim in 2017 after nearby cyclonic high winds had caused water to leak in garage roof .....was refused the claim as apparently the builder in 1972 had failed to seal the flashing correctly, pleeeease! Despite the rejected claim it still appears on your renewal for four years as a claim????? After the initial policy the cost of the premium jumped ridiculously so time to shop around!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome Only
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Georgie

GeorgieSouth East Queensland, QLD

change to underwriter policy regarding rewiring of home

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Madz

MadzPerth, WA

They do not deserve even a single star!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimImpact at Home
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
1 comment
QBE
QBEQBE

Hi Madz, we're sorry to hear about this experience. We will PM you to get some more details and take a look into this.

Cranky Alice

Cranky AliceHunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Disgusting, be warned

published

My mother holds home insurance with QBE. She died recently and we are in the process of selling her property. In the interim I dont want the insurance to go into arrears as she paid monthly. I contacted QBE to attempt to make payments to prevent this. They initially refused to assist until I demanded to speak to a supervisor. She was little more help. Long story short, I have now complained to The Ombbudsman. This shouldn’t be so hard, people die every day. I’m not trying to steal from them, I want to GIVE them money. DO NOT insure with them. The amount of poor reviews tells the story.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Krystal

KrystalSydney Surrounds, NSW

Disgusting insurance company

published
  • +1
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimVandalism/Malicious Damage
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers
1 comment
QBE
QBEQBE

Hi Krystal, we're sorry to hear about the experience your grandparents have had. We will PM you for some more details and take a look into it

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Prue T

Prue Tasked

Does contents insurance cover lost reading glasses?

1 answer
Kym
Kym

Only if u added them under your cover I’m sure

Prince S.

Prince S.asked

I have breakinn theff took most of the stuff. I just read all reviews I bit scared now . Will qbe accepted my cliam. If they don't what should need to do. Do I need to hire a solicitor. For my cliam.

1 answer
QBE
QBEQBE

Hi Prince, as with all claims, you will need to submit a claim form with supporting documents for assessment and a determination will be made on your claim. You can find the claim form here - https://www.qbe.com/au/claims

Archrival

Archrivalasked

Is there enough dissatisfaction with QBE and their tactics to present a complaint to ASIC

3 answers
LS1
LS1

Yes

LS1
LS1

I’m told I was going to get a call to respond my claim but just like I expected no call and no follow up

Archrival
Archrival

Product review have pulled my review of QBE and hidden it in elders insurance even though elders insurance are 80% owned by QBE and have refused to publish a new review in QBE insurance catagory . Pressure or fear ?

Get an answer from our members and QBE representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.