??!
2 photos
Rinnai Ultima II

Rinnai Ultima II

Inbuilt, Console
2.0 from 27 reviews

Reviews

(2)
(3)
(3)
(5)
(14)
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (3)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Heating Speed2/5 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    1.0 (2)
  • Safety
    4.0 (2)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (2)

Service 90 error codes.

published

Service 90 error codes frequently displayed, just over two years old and now out of warrenty. Can't opperate above 21C or cuts out, even when functioning correctly did not heat effectively. 5 stars for safety though as it cuts off frequently.

Purchased in May 2017 for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Leonie W

Leonie WCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Does Not Heat

published

Replaced an older Vulcan Heritage Heater with the Rinnai Ultima II - and simply it does not heat anything. You can be standing 2 feet in front of it and there is not warmth. After 8 weeks of phoning every second day and trying to get something sorted with Rinnai, they now tell me that it would never be able to heat the room that it is in and therefore I need something more powerful. The Vulcan used to heat the room and the Rinnai is meant to be more efficient with greater capacity.

Purchased in October 2018 at Local Electrical & Solar Services for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Leonie W
Leonie W

Sorry, cannot provide details as I have returned the unit to the supplier

FedUp

FedUpGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Total junk

published

Worst choice ever.
I replaced an very old but very reliable Rinnai and have been driven crazy with '90' errors ever since.
Call out costs are impossible on a pension so I carefully cleaned the dust out every few months only to gain a few more months of operation - a ridiculously tedious and unfriendly process. Now it's error code 14 and with the current cost of gas I'm giving up. This overly sensitive technology might survive in squeaky clean parts of Japan but just doesn't cut it in Australia.

Purchased in March 2013.

Value for Money
Room Type Living/Dining Area
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
FedUp
FedUp

The fan was already replaced and we can't afford more service calls. I have zero faith that my problems would be resolved. Feeling a little sorry for you guys trying to support a real lemon.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Ultima II compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A lemon, unit never worked for longer than a month. Rinnai know this unit has major defects no customer service

published

The heater has major problem and constantly comes up with an error which the company fully knows about, and has failed to address.
It has never functioned from the time of installment.

Purchased in April 2013 at The Good Guys for $2,179.00.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Ron, there has been upgrade to the Ultima II heater which resolves the issue with error 12. Please contact Rinnai on 1300 555 545 option 2 for service if this is the issue you are facing.

Error code 12

published

Had constant errors (usually code 12 or 13) since warranty period finished. When it works its great but this is getting less and less common. Difficult to start when needed therefore tend to leave on more than necessary. Many others have this same problem. This is a known defect. Difficult to recommend.

Date PurchasedJul 2013
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for your review privacyit. Please forward an email to enquiry@rinnai.com.au and we will be able to assist with this issue.

Waste of money

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jacqui s

Jacqui sMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Terrible

published

So regret buying this piece of crap have had nothing but trouble have to keep pulling it apart to dust off sensor for getting to much dust and it won’t ignite. First time it happened was first year of warranty we got it fixed. Then it kept happening and every 3 weeks dust gets built up and it won’t ignite. I’m so annoyed it’s only three years old now. Don’t waste your money.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jacqui s
Jacqui s

Well I did send an email three weeks ago I’m still waiting for a response

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you Jaqui S, please resend your email mentioning this review and we will be able to assist you.

Steve

SteveLavington

Very happy

published

Only had the heater 3 months. It heats our open plan house very well wich I didn't think a space heater could do.We had a gas log heater before this and it was useless. Very happy so far.Maybe some of the problems people are having is from poor installation. Thanks

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Steve, we are happy to hear the heater is serving you well. Correct installation is certainly a very important element to ensuring the correct running of any heater.

This heater is money making for rinnai

published

I had to replace a piece of glass that I had accidentally broken as i was cleaning. Rinnai did not want to supply me with the glass because i do not have an account with them so they suggested me to go to plumbing supplies and it cost me $245 for a glass that is 555mm x 225mm

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for review Enver. As a manufacturer we cannot sell direct to the public which is why you would have been referred to one of our stockists. We do not set a retail price for spare parts and recommend shopping around for the best price.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Ultima II compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
StandUp

StandUpMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good when it works, frustrating & cold when it doesn't

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016

good heater

published

Had heater installed for a week. heats beautifully. I replaced a 30 year old rinnai that worked fine but lacked the capacity of heating my raked ceiling home.
Not sure what people are complaining about with the temperature control mine starts up full blast as the room heats flame goes down ant it seems to keep a constant heat.
Only issue is the clock, too comlicated to set up the timer, finally managed to set the actual time and then gave up.
In summary heater is excellent and i would recommend it. Hopefully there are no gremlins lurking that have affected other referrs.
Also after readin the reviews against my better judgement i took out an extended warranty from the Good Guys at Hectorville who gave me an excellent price.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Renee B

Renee B

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Piece of trash

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Renee B, we would like to investigate this matter further for you. Can you please email your details to enquiry@rinnai.com mentioning this review and we will be in contact.

Elva

ElvaCooma NSW

Just had the Ultima 11 installed on Friday 8th September 2017

published

I am having trouble getting the current temperature to stop rising, I have the heater on Gas/Econ with the Set button at 16, however the current temp keeps going up and tonight I was so hot when it reached 23 I had to turn the heater off. Any clues as to what I am doing wrong. A bit worried also by the lack of good reviews, I do hope that everything goes well with my new investment.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
4 comments
Elva
Elva
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Elva, we have a technical help desk which will be able to go through the operation of the heater with you and answer any questions you might have. They are available on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Elva
Elva
joda5084

joda5084Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 likes

toasty heater

published

This to date is very good no problems and lots of heat quiet too no problems the timer is a little difficult to wrap your head around but no too hard to use when the power cuts out th clock needs to be reset but the timers stay set. You have to stay on top of cleaning the filters or codes can pop up I am told it takes some getting used to having the fan run when it is switched off to cool itself off.
Very Happy

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Ultima

published

Purchased the Ultima approx 3 years ago, has an error code 70 which I found out it's got something to do with a faulty switch. (would you believe it's only 3 years old) Called the Rinnai service dept, a tech will contact me within 24 hours (great I've got a 76 year old mother at home with no heating mid winter) and got quoted a call out fee of $190 that includes the first 45 minutes labour + parts, that's close to 10% of the purchase price just to come out. Dare I say this is a common problem. Buyer BEWARE.

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Ultima II compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

rinnai what a piece of crap

published

this heater spends more time on error codes than working I had a Vulcan for 30 years before this that never skipped a beat I would not recommend this heater to anyone the most unreliable fault ridden piece of equipment I have ever bought rinnai should hang their heads in shame for selling this to consumers will buy nothing with the rinnai brand on it ever again

Date PurchasedOct 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Wayne, we would like to look into to the issues you've had with the heater further. Can you please email your contact details to enquiry@rinnai.com.au mentioning this review and we will contact you to discuss?

Don't waste your money.

published

Ive had my heater repaired well over 20 times. And it's stopped working again tonight. Biggest lemon of a heater ever. Also been informed that there are many others with the same issue.
There are many design faults with the heater, reality is its faulty.
I can't be bothered calling about the issues anymore. It's to stressful. I would just hate for someone else to waste their hard earned money on this heater.

Date PurchasedMar 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Shell, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced with your heater and would like to follow up on this for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au, mentioning this review so we can contact you to resolve?

really over this piece of S$&÷T

published

every year something always seems to break down on my Ultima II. Have it serviced evey 12 months but doesnt seem to help at all. Latest issue was combustion fan, which was replaced may 2016, heater not used since november 2016, coming up error code 61, tech just left, may now be the wiring or the circuit board, has to order and try to see. just with the fan last year and now this bill looking to be approx $700 plus, has cost me more to keep repairing than what l paid for it. was meant to be such a great heater and so energy efficient. yeah right.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Steve, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced with your heater and would like to follow up on this for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au, mentioning this review so we can contact you?

I am freeziing at home

published

I am freezing at home with a code 12. I had it serviced this year but nothing seems to help. I did not expect to have to pay two lots of $195.00 plus parts in the same year. How can a pensioner keep warm. This situation is too much to take. I think one service per year should take care of things

Date PurchasedApr 2011
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
lin

linAU

RINNAI .. MODEL; REH-311 FTC

published

OMG..Every year code 12 and shuts off . costing a fortune since first purchased having to have it cleaned/serviced. I brought a Rinnai because they are suppose to be a reputable brand instead I think I have a lemon. At 12 months old it started now it is costing a min of $195 for call out to fix. Rinnai what is going on we are a family that just cannot afford this just to maintain a heater. What has happened to one of the once respected brands in Australia.. So upset and would now never recommend them. We are now all freezing our butts off.. Thank's Rinnai for letting us down.
Regards Linda

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Von

Vonasked

Our heater is set at 21 it doesn’t turn off when the current temperature is 24, it should shouldn’t it?

2 answers
Leonie W
Leonie W

absolutely should.
Ask for return & full refund to your dealer

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Von,

Thanks for the question, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Jen

Jenasked

Have just purchased a rinnai ultima 11. We can change the temperature setting however the heater just keeps pushing out hot air.
We have dropped to 16 degrees but it doesnt slow down even though the room temperature is showing as 20.
This unit hasnt worked correctly since we got it installed 5 days ago

3 answers
Leonie W
Leonie W

Good luck with Rinnai getting them to admit there is something wrong with it. Keep trying- ring them every couple of days

ron
ron

Is the unit set
On the following
MODE
GAS ECON
AUTO OFF

Thats the correct setting for you then to choose the temperature

When no one home during the day I set at 17 o keep the chill off the house and bump up to 20 when we home.

Works like a dream now! after five years of hell!

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Jen, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

ray m.

ray m.asked

heater cuts out ,red light flashes all the time,restart the heater and goes for 5 mins then stops again code 12.been doing this every year for the last 5 years. we get it serviced but doesnt take long to play up again.should we just buy another heater.

2 answers
Leonie W
Leonie W

We are not having this problem- ours just doesn’t heat up. Running flat out but no warmth

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question ray m, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.