??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID

Ryobi RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID

MPN: RLM36X46L50HID
3.9 from 27 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

27 reviews
5
(14)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (3)
  • Safety
    4.3 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.3 (3)
  • Battery Life
    2.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Vicki S.

Vicki S.Melbourne, Victoria

  • 28 reviews

Rubbish

published

I bought this as I was sick of hurting my back trying to start the petrol mower but the catcher on this is just awful, I struggle to get it hooked/unhooked...hurting my back anyway! The catcher is a terrible design and when you finally remove it, huge wads of grass fall out from a chute on the mower which often needs clearing by hand. But the worst is that after just two uses, the mower will not turn on at all. The battery is fully charged, everything is as instructed, tips and tricks I found online have all failed. I will be returning it to point of purchase ASAP and would not get another Ryobi battery mower. Whoever designed the flimsy catcher should be made to sit and take it on and off all day as penance!

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Wayne Cannon

Wayne CannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Battery Robbery

published

Looks like I'm not the only one to feel ripped off by Ryobi's rechargeable products. Only $300 to replace a battery that has lasted just 3 years! They suck you in to getting multiple products and sharing the batteries. But then you're just left with a heap of useful gear unless you pay through the nose. Do you think you're meeting your obligations under the Australian Consumer Law Ryobi? We'll see...

Purchased in December 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$649.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Tupai

TupaiWollongong

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in July 2015 for A$620.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anonymous

AnonymousSydney

  • 2 reviews

Useless warranty

published

My Ryobi lawn mower is only 3 years old, it suddenly won't start one day. I've been told it is out of warranty and that it's not worth servicing. So I've basically spent $629 for a lawn mower that has lasted 3 years. Not to mention I've purchased extra batteries. Very unimpressed.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Not powerful enough

published

Very poor power. Struggles with more than a lawn trim. Battery lasts about half the time mentioned, and then must cool fully to charge. Light and easy to maneuver, but only fit for very small yards with fine grass. Would be appropriate for twice weekly mowers or townhouses. Or buy 4 batteries.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Dennis Davies

Dennis DaviesToowoomba

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Does what it claims.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Light Domestic Use - Happy So Far!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
KatieHenry

KatieHenryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews

I do the mowing at our house and LOVE my Ryobi mower!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
luckyphil109

luckyphil109South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

I thought it was my fault

published

Cuts out every few minutes. I thought I was relaxing my grip so I put a clamp on the switch. Made no difference because it cut out again in two minutes. This is my second one. Bunnings swapped the first one for another new one but both do exactly the same thing.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Glenn A

Glenn AWestern District, VIC

  • 29 reviews

Dose the job

published

Purchased the ryobi 36v after 8 years of successful use from Victor Enviromower.
Wanted an mulching option.wide cut path is great and edge cutting is good.
The manual is somewhat useless too many pictures and no description to explain.
The only criticism l have is the handle operation buttons, l seem to have issues with the mower stopping,user interface, l would prefer an bar or lever to activate the mower.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ujd

UjdMelbourne

Very happy so far

published

I have just purchased and used this mower today. Im very happy so far. Its light and easy to manouver and a lot quieter than my old mower which still runs after 30 years. I was concerned that i would run out of power so i bought the one with the 5 amp hr battery. It cut with ease and i still have plenty of battery life left after id finished cutting my medium sized block. Well done Ryobi.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
JC_Brisvegas

JC_BrisvegasBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

I'm a convert

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jim K

Jim KSydney

  • 8 reviews

Great mower, haven’t used enough but so far so good

published

The mower makes little noise, lasts for so long and the cutting results are great. It works just as good if not better than my old Victa mower. It’s super light, it’s so easy to manoeuvre. It’s easy to clean and to maintain. I would recommend this mower to anyone unless obviously your yard is huge but even then this battery would probably last the distance.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
JLK

JLKStdbey

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love this mower!

published

This mower is perfect for our villa! We have approx 150 sq meters of lawn, after 20mins of mowing through very long grass only a quarter of the battery had been drained! It is very light and easy to maneouver yet had enough power to cut through very long grass which had been left neglected for a few months!
Highly recommend this mower as a great alternative to the heavy petrol types!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Mandye

MandyeMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I live in a block of units so a noisy petrol powered mower was not an option.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gigreat

GigreatGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 26 reviews

Good for short grass

published

I bought from Bunnings RLM36X46L50HID on 2013 only $399 including 36V/5Ah battery dan charger kit.
It's till running perfect. the battery last 1 hour on short grass at big back yard + front 20mt long nature strip.
It'd be difficult on longer grass, the motor seemed slow down.
No complaint with the price, as the normal price would be $649.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
Neil11

Neil11Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

A great mower to replace a 30year old petrol Morrison

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Neil11
Neil11
WeWantValue

WeWantValue

  • 13 reviews

Brilliant... exceeded expectations

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Ryobi Battery Mower Worst Design of a Mower I have ever seen

published

Battery operation is fine, preferable to the old zip-pull even, but the body carriage sits way too low making it impossible to push on a setting lower than 3 & the catcher sits up at the back, dropping the clippings straight back out on to the ground. Great Workout though!

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Very happy with cut & battery life, and kids can now do the mowing.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Page 1 of 2
See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Dulce

Dulceasked

RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID

how do you change from mulch to catcher

No answers
Blakey

Blakeyasked

RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID

Hi l have a Ryobi 36 volt that l brought 5 months ago hardly been used and now notice that the handles that connect to the frame and has locks on them have all squashed the plastic which now make the handles loose. Would this be covered on warranty??

1 answer
Waz
Waz

Covered under warranty for sure - as you've probably already found out. .Ryobi are pretty darn good when it comes to replacing faulty products and from what you describe,, it definitely sounds like a fault in the design specs. I don't believe Ryobi would quibble, however, if you purchased the mower at a Bunnings outlet, you may run into trouble with the 'head man' of that particular department. Bunnings are in pretty tight with Ryobi at this point in time and I have experienced over zealous sales-people from Bunnings who often give the impression that they're paying for 'breakages' out of their own pocket!

Mike

Mikeasked

RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID

I have just started to use my Ryobi 36V Brushless mower and it keeps stopping and the it will start again immediately.....any explanations?....thanks you

5 answers
TREVOR M
TREVOR M

You have to keep one of the four buttons pressed in all the time it is mowing.

Mike
Mike

Yes I do understand that but even then it is happening when I keep the button pressed in.

Thank you

Paula Ann
Paula Ann

I'm having the same issue and no help from ryobi on any possibilities would love to know if anyone has this problem successfully repaired

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.