??!
5 photos
Samsung Galaxy A20

Samsung Galaxy A20

3.9 from 56 reviews

Reviews

(27)
(16)
(2)
(4)
(7)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (47)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (47)
  • Battery Life
    4.4 (45)
  • Camera Quality
    4.3 (45)
  • Hardware
    4.1 (46)
  • Software
    4.1 (45)


Mick

MickDarling Downs, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Complete garbage waiting to die

published

I bought this A20 a few months ago and then it comes out with “moisture detected at charge port”. The phone has never ever been near anything wet etc . There is no way to charge the phone anymore and when I google this fault there are thousands of people with this fault. This fault will come even when nowhere near any moisture etc, for example people in the desert that haven’t had rain for years still get this fault.
I will never ever get anything made by Samsung ever again.

Purchased in November 2019 for $199.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Cindy

Cindy

  • 4 reviews

Lovely product.

published

I've been using this phone around a year. I do satisfy with this product. Affordable, working well. I highly recommend this product. I will get this product later on even though it goes bad.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mick a.

Mick a.

  • 5 reviews

Great phone until notorious mainture detected issues ruined everything

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $350.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Connerwj

ConnerwjWestern Australia

  • 3 reviews

Impressed

published

Ive never been a person to spend big money on a phone. I buy all my phone's out right and will never spend more than say 200 bucks. When I saw the a20 for sale for around that price I decided to go with it. And really is the best affordable smart phone money can buy. Plus it has the appearance of being a high end phone. So win win

Purchased in January 2020 at Big W for $230.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

unhappyblanco

unhappyblancoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent especially if you have arthritis!

published

For many years I've always used a laptop as I found this more manageable than a computer however as years have gone on and despite smaller and lighter laptops I was really finding them more and more difficult to hold and transport. By chance I found the Samsung Galaxy A20 - not only was it cheaper than a laptop but it was substantially lighter too which has been fantastic as I suffer from really painful arthritis. The samsung pad is economical, easy to hold and easy to use. I've had to do a few workarounds as it's not quite the same as a laptop but it's overall miles better and does everything I need. I will definitely buy a new replacement once this one gets too old. Very impressed that's for sure!

Purchased in March 2018 at Officeworks for $299.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
unhappyblanco
unhappyblanco

Rosie

RosieRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 21 reviews

I am 65 plus yo and I love it built for me

published

Never thought in a million years I would own a smart phone hey aren't they for young people well no this samsung a20 is perfect sync emails and your bank what I like the most is the samsung internet browser yes I ignored google it takes over as I replied to one of Google's many emails I purchased the phone or is my choice thanks samsung I love the a20 built for maybe not so smart or scared to take the plunge I took the plunge and I am so glad I did Rosie

Purchased in September 2019 for $259.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great for a while, starting to play up a little.

published

Phone was 5/5 stars for the first 6 months, could not fault it. However 6 months on & things starting to play up on it. Unlocks on its own every now and then in my pocket. Fake touches on the screen. Other than that, reliable and fairly solid!

Purchased in June 2019 at Officeworks.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

  • Verified purchase

An affordable phone with enough and more needed features!

published

The picture quality of the photos are good enough since it has 13 MP camera and 5 MP camera.(its dual camera). Selfi camera is not that gorgeous since 8 MP camera, yet its ok quality! also, most of the modern apps from playstore can be run using 3 GB ram and internal storage of 32GB . it has and 4000mAh battery last long for around one day with calls and fair usage of other application. overall satisfied with the price vs the features! (my brother bought it for me as a gift)

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $270.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Shanon

ShanonSydney, NSW

Excellent phone for price and super long battery life

published

My Samsung S7 got damaged at work so I bought this from JBhifi.I actually love this more than my 7 as the screen is much bigger and Im on the phone for nearly all day and when I get home Im still on 40% battery. Only thing its not really good for is night time photos. Ive never had it crash on me or had to reboot it

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $270.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Robert M.

Robert M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Lost my S7 edge on weekend, far prefer this

published

Purchased this Sunday from telstra after leaving my s7 edge in an uber and apart from having to setup, I actually like this phone better. Alot easier to use though of course not as fancy, but at 48yrs old I want ease of use not bangs and whistles.

Purchased in January 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

mike

mikeWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews

$176 at Kmart....amazing

published

I think I'll buy another one to keep as spare.
At this price without a plan its like half price.
Seems to work as expected no issues.
Four words to go yeah

Purchased in December 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $176.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Tyler M.

Tyler M.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

solid so far

published

not a bad choice for people out the who dont want to run a burner phone but cant get ridiculously expensive phones because they are always getting broken it has most of the applications you get with the bigger name but for half the price.

Purchased in June 2019 for $220.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


AYA A.

AYA A.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

All one needs in a mobile for an incredibly affordable price

published

I simply wouldn't want any other mobile phone for my needs and at a truely great price. It looks like any of the very expensive mobiles. Happy with all core apps and all at $219 without the hassle of network locking and long contracts.

Purchased in October 2019 at Personal Digital Online store for $219.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Kat2705

Kat2705South East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews

Excellent phone for its price point

published

Purchased this phone for my mum . She’s not great with technology but found this phone easy to use. Has everything you need from a entry level smart phone. Very happy with the purchase .

Purchased in November 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
TonM

TonMcorowa

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works great for what I need

published

It's not the best phone but you can't expect much for the price. It does everything I need it to. Takes great photos. The main problem I have is the sound stays on in call or headphones and has to be restarted to get it working again. Apart from this issue I don't have any major issues with it. It just does everything I want it to do. Everything runs really well in the phone too.

Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Petra

PetraSouth East Queensland, QLD

Word processing

published

I find the word processing on texts VERY annoying. It doesn't remember words and seems to be u n able to predict obvious collocation.
The J20, although smaller, was better in that area.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $278.00.

1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

safal r.

safal r.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Okay, i guess

published

The phone itself has a very smooth and luxurious finish to it. I use the phone for my everyday life, like gaming, reading it calling. After using it i came to the conclusion that although it has a big screen that is fun to use, it gets really laggy. Using the hungry jacks app is impossible because the amount of lag.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $269.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
safal r.
safal r.

hoping a software update of some sort will fix the lag, thank you.


if you have any expectations, lose them.

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $279.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

F Mitch

F MitchSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great phone

published

Good camera not as high quality a some but still very good for a budget phone very bright display can see screen well Outdoors, apps run pretty well have not have any problems with this phone

December 17th 2019 Update: Great phone

very good camera not as high quality as some but great for a budget phone, very bright display can see well Outdoors runs most apps well i have not had a problem with this phone

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman for $200.00.

Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Rainer

Rainer

  • 10 reviews

Quality valued packed

published

Great Mobile phone. Used it for the lest ,6 months. Screen could be brighter @ max when viewing near sunlight reason I i upgraded to Samsung S10 plus Soni can see the screen better when flying my Drone.
Recommend.

Purchased in April 2019 for $279.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

graeme

graemeasked

i have trouble sometimes in that the camera wont take a photo when i have gone into the camera app. If it does take then it will take as many as required. But frustrating when you see something that need a photo, open camera, press dot and nothing. What advice please?

3 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Graeme, we recommend taking your device to the nearest service centre so we can take a look at this for you.

Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below:
https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/

Alternatively, you can reach out to our Customer Care team on 1300 362 603 for further assistance.

Ada
Samsung AU

graeme
graeme

ok will try

graeme
graeme

is it a common problem that others have had?


sandymac7

sandymac7asked

mY NEW Galaxy A20 is not letting me charge it. Alarm sounds with several loud beeps and says USB has moisture in it and to allow it to dry out.It hasnt been any where near water and it has been 3 days since I have had it drying ? out. what can I do to rectify this please. ....sandra mcmaster.

2 answers
unhappyblanco
unhappyblanco

Do you live anywhere where there is moisture in the air Sandy? Maybe that is causing the moisture as opposed to water? If not then it could be a faulty A20 - maybe take it and the charger back to the store you originally bought it and see if they can help. Good luck.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Sandy, we recommend taking your A20 to the nearest service centre so we can take a look at this for you.

Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below:
https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/

Ada
Samsung AU


Liz C.

Liz C.asked

Why is it always hard to hear people talking I the phone. Seem to only pick bits and pieces of conversation. Have a lot of calls that people say I'm dropping out but I can hear them

4 answers
unhappyblanco
unhappyblanco

I use the A20 for Facebook messenger and its perfect, in fact its better than a mobile reception! Maybe coverage is sketchy in your area or your particular provider doesn't work well in that area?

Liz C.
Liz C.

Ok thanks

Samsung
KathSamsung

If you do continue to experience issues with your Samsung A20 regarding call drop outs, you are welcome to visit your nearest Samsung service centre to get a member of our team to run a diagnostic on your device! You can find your nearest authorised service centre via the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/

Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/

Kath
Samsung AU


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.