?
? !
5 photos
Samsung Galaxy A20

Samsung Galaxy A20

MPNs: 1091005646 and SM-A205YZBTXSA
3.5 from 118 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.9 (100)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (100)
  • Software
    3.8 (100)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (99)
  • Camera Quality
    4.0 (100)
  • Hardware
    3.7 (102)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Roxy

RoxyPerth, WA

Good budget phone

published

I've had this phone for almost a year and the only problems I've had is that it's slow to open apps. Camera is fine for what I need, speaker is fine, battery last for ages. For a cheaper phone I think it's great. I did have the water detected message i just changed the charging wire and it was fine. My phone has been dropped but screen has not cracked altho I do have a cheap screen protector. Overall not a bad phone.

Purchased at Officeworks Physical store for $320.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ok phone BUT

published

to not pocket call someone you need to use a passcode but when you do trying to do a phone call with your ear on the phone is a nightmare. It does not matter how many times you go into your settings to disable the screen while taking calls, you get either off one situations the display is in fact black but to end the call you need to unlock the phone, otherwise it does not allow you to hang up. Or it simply does not disable the screen and you put people on hold. Battery does not last long either when using it for work.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob L.

Rob L.South East Queensland, QLD

Piece of slow junk

published

If the phone operated at an acceptable level, it would be good. Features are brilliant, just slow to respond. Never buy a Samsung again. My quad core is the faster.

Purchased in March 2020 at Vodafone for $249.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ann downey

ann downeyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not good

published

Screen cracked second day after purchase, put away for a year, took out again when my other phone battery dies, that was two weeks ago, button to turn phone on broken off. 4 weeks working in all, 300+ dollars and nothing for it.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kayleen T.

Kayleen T.Hobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

I can’t understand the bad reviews

published

I’ve had my A20 for about 12mths now and I’ve had none of the negative issues mentioned on this site, I think the phone is a ripper. I’m in a dark spot for mobile reception, with any make of phone. When I’m home I’m on WiF calling. Camera is great for the price of the phone. I love my A20

Purchased in November 2019 for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BBs review

BBs reviewMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Samsung A20.. Complete crap. Do not buy

published

If I could rate the A20 as minus I would. We have had numerous phones over the years but by far this is the worst. Do Not Buy. I complained numerous times to Samsung and Vodafone that our 2 phones would not work in our area and numerous other areas. As far as I am concerned they are not fit for purpose. Vodafone couldn't care less although the manager tried to assist, Samsung even less concerned. I know they are the cheaper end of the market but it was interesting that Vodafone withdrew them from sale.

Purchased in October 2019 for $400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Janet M

Janet MMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Like the phone but callers unable to hear

published

I use my phone primarily for calls and texts. The camera quality I have found to be reasonable. Particulary when at home, callers cannot hear me and i have to move to different parts of the house, or even outside. I have been sent many text messages which have not come through. These problems have never occurred before with other phones, and is extrememely frustrating. I would love to have the issue fixed, but so far both the phone provider and the service provider have not been successful in fixing the problems.
I do not have an issue with wifi or apps. Would love the phone to be more reliable.

Purchased in March 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cath

CathNortheast, VIC

I haven't experienced any of the problems I read in these reviews

published

I have no problems with the camera or display. I use my samsung for messaging and calling, for social media, I have several apps eg Vic emergency, BOM, Lens, Vic Gov QR reader most of the google apps, telstra and my other utility suppliers, . I have no trouble with my apps. Battery is fine. Charge it at night . Couldn't be happier

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rick p.

rick p.Sydney, NSW

Don't buy this phone!

published

This phone will make your eyes see double if you use it for reading or writing ... Not worth losing your eyesight over a phone whatever you do; Do not buy this phone.

Purchased in April 2019 at Australia Post Offices for $220.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matthew D.

Matthew D.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

A truely terrible phone

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Yanni

YanniSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

waste of money

published

Camera good,
display average,
NFC, in every other samsung I used works with out a problem. I was told this A20 will read my Blood glucose monitor, I should have been more careful it will not read my Libre BGI with out issues.
I now have a range of issues which means I am back to using a phone I do not like. I have wasted a lot of time & money on this phone with out any clear answers, now i am told the phone is locked so I i am having trouble unlocking it. The retailer is attempting to help, Only i am at a stand still. I am hoping the replacement model I hear about is available to replace the A20, Also

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ok...

published

Camera has it's good and bad moments. System UI considerably slowing down. Issue regarding water detection when charging. After 11 months, I am satisfied but not amazed by this phone.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GaT

GaT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Literally the worst phone you will ever own

published

The phone says it has 3GB but if you close all the apps then check memory used; it says 2.1GB used.
If you have a single app opened the UI lags like crazy, if you have no apps opened it still lags worst than any other phone you have owned.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Timothy M.

Timothy M.Sydney, NSW

Garbage, don't even bother

published

So after a year of owning this phone it has had an issue with the microphone it won't work on voice recorder and can't answer calls unless its on speaker phone even if its connected to bluetooth headphones but the microphone works when recording video, Auto correct is horrible favouring gibberish words over actual words and every update had made it worse like it has to be taught how to spell words again over and over. if I have it in my pocket and its raining it gets the moisture detected warning and needs resetting. and now it's having issues with not charging it'll be left on charge all night only half charged by morning.

Purchased in September 2019 at office works for $277.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam

AdamSouthport

  • 10 reviews
  • 15 likes

The worst smartphone I ever had

published

I always had S series phones, never had any issues. Since I have this piece of sxxx I wish I didn`t have a phone at all. Slow, unreliable, storage is always full and you have no idea what takes it up. Worst purchase I ever made.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Adam
Adam

what is the point? Are you going to make this crappy phone better?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
baco

bacoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Speaker

published

Loved this phone but exactly a year old the speaker has stopped working on calls
Still loud on YouTube and ring tone. I'm eldery and hard of hearing so left devastated. Hoping the retail shop of purchase can help

Purchased in November 2019 at Vodafone for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shane H.

Shane H.

  • 3 reviews

Just purchased this phone

published

So far no issues took a few photos day and night much clearer than my old IPhone 6 camera great.
Still navigating my way friend set the phone up as he has brand new Samsung for his business.
He blocked deleted apps that I would not use any issues call him I don’t use the phone a lot battery is awesome .

Purchased in November 2020 for $200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
allison

allisonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Moisture detect- phone 4 months old STAY CLEAR

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks Online store for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
7 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
allison
allison

I had an independent inspection done, at my own expense and there was no moisture found.
As I said, I will be taking this further and also be claiming compensation.

Samsung
MickSamsung

I understand Alison, we’d be happy to look into this for you so please send a Message if you would like to proceed.

Mick
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Morrie

MorrieGold Coast

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stay clear buy different brand

published

Bought it almost a year ago, what a waste of money. I have the same problem with phone calls, it puts callers on hold then say RESUME CALL. It does this due to screen staying on during calls. Then to top off with a faulty phone i received terrible service from a Samsung female team member in store. Very disappointment with the experience of Samsung. Will not be buying that brand any more.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nlventu

NlventuSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 24 reviews
  • 16 likes

Pocket dials emergency services 000

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Nlventu
Nlventu

The double tap to wake feature was already switched off so not the cause. We are no longer using the phone and replaced. It’s just disappointing that it’s happening at all.

Samsung
KathSamsung

I would be happy to look further into this however, I understand that the device has been replaced. We really appreciate sharing your feedback on this and I will be sure to pass this on internally.

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Babba

Babbaasked

We have an A20 phone and are restoring a backup from Samsung cloud. We have a back up of the old "memos" from a dead S6. And we have downloaded SNote successfully onto the a20. However in the settings of SNote there is no option to "Sync with Samsung cloud". the option is just not there at all. Is this app just incompatible with the A20?

1 answer
Yanni
Yanni

I suggest you go to a Samsung outlet in person, ask them to either do the job or to detail you the answer. I had no end of probs with my A20 so much so I got rid of it when less than 6 weeks old. Samsung were helpful to a point but very slow to get back. . Depending on your location the Samsung stores I know of are George St Sydney, Westfield's Penrith. The repair shops are expensive & reluctant to get to involved.

Wayne L.

Wayne L.asked

is it 5G ?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Wayne. Unfortunately, the A20 model does not support 5G. Please see our current range of devices that support 5G through the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/galaxy-5g/

Kath
Samsung AU

Lois G.

Lois G.asked

How do I turn voice activation off?

2 answers
Morrie
Morrie

sorry the phone is at repair shop. So i can not tell u exactly with out it, but I think you go to phone settings then go to accessibility and u should see something in there.

Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Lois. I've replied to your previous question. You can turn this off by following the steps via the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/turn-off-talkback/

Kath
Samsung AU

See all Samsung Galaxy A20 questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $279.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight169 g
Colour / FinishBlack, Deep Blue, Red, Coral Orange, Gold
Dimensions 158.4 x 74.7 x 7.8 mm
Body MaterialPlastic
Display
Pixel Density268 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution720 x 1560 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core (2x1.6 GHz Cortex-A73 & 6x1.35 GHz Cortex-A53)
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Internal Storage32 GB
Memory (RAM)3 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)13MP Wide, 5MP Ultrawide
Front Camera(s)8
ManualDownload manual

  • GTIN14: 00613460052719, 08801643695514 and 08801643930066
  • MPN: 1091005646 and SM-A205YZBTXSA
  • GTIN13: 8801643847678, 8801643850913, 8801643929985, 8801643930028, 8801643930035, 8801643930059, 8801643930066 and 8806090032776

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.