??!
5 photos
Samsung Galaxy A20

Samsung Galaxy A20 (2019)

MPNs: 1091005646 and SM-A205YZBTXSA
3.6 from 105 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.1 (90)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (90)
  • Software
    4.0 (90)
  • Battery Life
    4.4 (90)
  • Camera Quality
    4.0 (91)
  • Hardware
    3.9 (90)
Previous
Next
Yanni

YanniSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks can be deceiving

published

Camera above average,
Display adequate,
I used my A20 to read my BGI monitor unfortunately it failed as not suitable the NFC works on most model samsungs but not the A20, The A20 has a great battery but over all not reliable can take ages to re start after updates or closing down. The factory reset according to a random phone retailer is impossible. I found away to do it. It is a convoluted job I am now seeing if possible to have Samsung help out with a new model.

Purchased in August 2020 at Vodafone for A$280.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Adam

AdamSouthport

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

The worst smartphone I ever had

published

I always had S series phones, never had any issues. Since I have this piece of sxxx I wish I didn`t have a phone at all. Slow, unreliable, storage is always full and you have no idea what takes it up. Worst purchase I ever made.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
baco

bacoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Speaker

published

Loved this phone but exactly a year old the speaker has stopped working on calls
Still loud on YouTube and ring tone. I'm eldery and hard of hearing so left devastated. Hoping the retail shop of purchase can help

Purchased in November 2019 at Vodafone for A$250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shane H.

Shane H.

  • 3 reviews

Just purchased this phone

published

So far no issues took a few photos day and night much clearer than my old IPhone 6 camera great.
Still navigating my way friend set the phone up as he has brand new Samsung for his business.
He blocked deleted apps that I would not use any issues call him I don’t use the phone a lot battery is awesome .

Purchased in November 2020 for A$200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
allison

allisonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Moisture detect- phone 4 months old STAY CLEAR

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks Online store for A$299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
7 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
allison
allison

I had an independent inspection done, at my own expense and there was no moisture found.
As I said, I will be taking this further and also be claiming compensation.

Samsung
MickSamsung

I understand Alison, we’d be happy to look into this for you so please send a Message if you would like to proceed.

Mick
Samsung AU

luke

lukeGold Coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stay clear buy different brand

published

Bought it almost a year ago, what a waste of money. I have the same problem with phone calls, it puts callers on hold then say RESUME CALL. It does this due to screen staying on during calls. Then to top off with a faulty phone i received terrible service from a Samsung female team member in store. Very disappointment with the experience of Samsung. Will not be buying that brand any more.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Nlventu

NlventuSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Pocket dials emergency services 000

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Nlventu
Nlventu

The double tap to wake feature was already switched off so not the cause. We are no longer using the phone and replaced. It’s just disappointing that it’s happening at all.

Samsung
KathSamsung

I would be happy to look further into this however, I understand that the device has been replaced. We really appreciate sharing your feedback on this and I will be sure to pass this on internally.

Kath
Samsung AU

Vince

VinceSouth East Queensland, QLD

Garbage

published

Worst Samsung I have ever had. I have difficulty answering calls. It cuts out partway through calls. tells me to resume call, then the call his lost. Try returning lost call & does not work. Tossing this & going to Apple.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$248.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Vince
Vince

what is a pm?

Samsung
KathSamsung

Sorry, Vince. If you could send us a private message via the link provided above, we'd be able to better assist you with this.

Kath
Samsung AU

DDD

DDDSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

OK phone.

published

Using Samsung for years now.
This is the worst.
Too slow, sluggish. May be the price says it all !
Camera - too much red tint at sunset
Good Battery.
I would not recommend it.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greggo

GreggoCentral Queensland, QLD

Best phone I have owned

published

Great camera and photos, snappy performance and fantastic battery life (2 days on single charge). The sreen is not fhd but it hardly matters, colours pop and everyrhing looks great.
Watching netflix and YouTube is a pleasure. Only thing neg I can say is the sound is a little on the quiet side, which can be a little frustrating when using speakerphone for calls. 9/10 overall

Purchased at Big W.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Valalan

ValalanPeel, WA

  • 4 reviews

Not happy to have noisy adverts jumping in even during my banking session

published

I was in the midst of keying in my banking details when a very noisy ad jumped in .These ads are way too many and recently I have had sexy girls that I find very offensive.

Purchased in June 2020 at Server for A$250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Lucas

LucasQueensland, 4032

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Quality phone

published

Very good phone. Nice and snappy navigation and takes nice photos. May not play the most high-end games on the best settings but most will be fine. Battery is a beast and for $220 bucks this was a bargain.

Purchased in July 2020 at Australia Post Offices for A$218.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thanks for the 5 star review, Lucas! If you ever have any questions or need assistance please let us know :)

Sara
Samsung AU

EmmaBrunner

EmmaBrunnerDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use and transfer of data from old phone

published

This phone was really easy to set up and I was able to transfer all my data from my old phone really easily. Camera is amazing and takes wonderful photos!

Purchased in June 2020 at Woolworths Online store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Camera Quality
3 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

That's great to hear, Emma! We really appreciate you sharing your review :) Let us know if there is anything we can assist you with in the future.

Sara
Samsung Australia

EmmaBrunner
EmmaBrunner
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

NeilC

NeilC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Phone and camera features

published

I purchased this phone recently and i am satisfied with it so far. Apps are running smoothly and taking photos to share on IG is amazing, great quality. Though, i wish the battery life was a bit longer so thats the downside but overall i am happy with my purchased.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Judy G.

Judy G.Sydney, NSW

Unable to use

published

Purchased online recieved 1 week ago
Unfortunately every word on the phone is in Chinese making it impossible for anyone who does not speak Chinese to change the language.
Contacted seller Tecobuy
No response as yet

Purchased in July 2020 at Tecobuy for A$207.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A20 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kris

KrisAdelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Great great

published

Great phone
Fast charging
Good size to keep in pocket
Camera is awesome, battery life is good. Only bad charging wire is the negative point, and headphones are pretty low quality for a $1400 phones.

Purchased for A$1,400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Wan

WanPerth, WA

Samsung Galaxy A 20 need more simplified .....too much agreement ! !

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman Photo Centre.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
TaniaP

TaniaP

  • 25 reviews
  • 21 likes

Great overall cheap phone but screen very fragile screen and cracks easily

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Officeworks for A$220.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
6 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
TaniaP
TaniaP

This a useless link. There's no option to message anyone

Samsung
KathSamsung

Hi Tania. This will take you to Samsung Australia's inbox. Alternatively, you are able to send us a message via the private message feature on Product Review.

Kath
Samsung AU

Great Phone

published

This is a pretty great phone in my opinion. Had it for almost a year and no problems other than it being a little slow because of all the apps I download. So far so good!!

Purchased in August 2019 for A$100.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Wayne M.

Wayne M.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great cheap phone

published

Great price for a great little phone
Has a great battery life and is easy to use with Android being a standout performer in software
Would buy again if I needed a new phone

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for A$320.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Wayne L.

Wayne L.asked

is it 5G ?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Wayne. Unfortunately, the A20 model does not support 5G. Please see our current range of devices that support 5G through the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/galaxy-5g/

Kath
Samsung AU

Lois G.

Lois G.asked

How do I turn voice activation off?

2 answers
luke
luke

sorry the phone is at repair shop. So i can not tell u exactly with out it, but I think you go to phone settings then go to accessibility and u should see something in there.

Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Lois. I've replied to your previous question. You can turn this off by following the steps via the link below:

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/turn-off-talkback/

Kath
Samsung AU

Lois G.

Lois G.asked

Voice Activation is on, how do I switch it off?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Lois, I've provided a link below with steps to turn this off!

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/turn-off-talkback/

Kath
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$279.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight169 g
Colour / FinishBlack, Deep Blue, Red, Coral Orange, Gold
Dimensions 158.4 x 74.7 x 7.8 mm
Body MaterialPlastic
Display
Pixel Density268 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution720 x 1560 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core (2x1.6 GHz Cortex-A73 & 6x1.35 GHz Cortex-A53)
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Internal Storage32 GB
Memory (RAM)3 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)13MP Wide, 5MP Ultrawide
Front Camera(s)8
Release dateApr 2019
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00613460052719, 08801643695514 and 08801643930066
  • MPN: 1091005646 and SM-A205YZBTXSA
  • GTIN13: 8801643847678, 8801643850913, 8801643930028, 8801643930035, 8801643930059, 8801643930066 and 8806090032776

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.