?
? !
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy A30

Samsung Galaxy A30

MPNs: 1091005648, 1091005649, SM-A305YZKNXSA and SM-A305YZWNXSA
2.9 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.1 (35)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (34)
  • Software
    2.9 (36)
  • Battery Life
    4.0 (36)
  • Camera Quality
    3.7 (36)
  • Hardware
    2.9 (35)
Previous
Next
Justice

JusticeGlen Waverley

  • 2 reviews

My Samsung S5 was so much better than this!!

published

One of the worst phone I have owned. Needed to be sent back for repairs twice in the first 6 months. No support from Samsung . This is used as a company phone have already instructed our procurement team not to purchase any further android Samsung phones.

Purchased in March 2020 for $499.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnWodonga

  • 2 reviews

Not of marketable quality and very fragile

published

After 11 months in a 2 year warranty the screen stopped working completely. It had NEVER been dropped and was always kept in a protective wallet. Samsung refused to repair and was going to charge me $305 to repair. The phone isn't of marketable quality. Coupled with the bug-ridden Android system it wasn't a good experience. If you want a better experience try one of the many new brands where you don't pay for the SAMSUNG name. Don't buy Samsung.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $329.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill

BillMelbourne

  • 42 reviews
  • 31 likes
  • Verified

13 months and it self implodes!

published

Was working fine for 13 months until we took it out on a 33 degree day. After an hour in a jacket pocket the phone curled and it became non responsive! Not dropped, sat on or anything that could damage the phone. It seems like there are serious quality issues with the A series of phones hence their rapid upgrades. Do yourself a favour, save up for an s series or get an Apple as they are not worth the money. I also had an A20 and that was worse. Very disappointed Samsung.

Purchased in December 2019 at Target Australia for $225.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Bill
Bill

Update Samsung offered a full refund without accepting liability. Enough said!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zoe

ZoeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

OK for the price

published

Camera is OK, nothing special. battery duration is fine, can lase on day.

The biggest issues is slow responding and processing. It takes longer to response on a click to open a link.

Also the sensitivity of fingerprint scanning is very low. I tried several times and still can't get my thumb registered. Luckily I got my index finger registered.

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mandy

MandyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Very dissapointed

published

The phone is very slow responding in all aspects. Taking a photo seem to take forever, by the time you take a photo and want to take another there is a huge lag time. While in an app and you press the back button it is very slow responding. The touch screen isn't very sensitive, most times having to touch it a few times to get it to respond. While in an app and the phone rings I can never answer the phone...very frustrating. The predictatext is appalling. I would not recommend this phone.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James

JamesFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terribly slow and annoying phone

published

The phone is so slow. It can't keep up with the user. Takes forever to load a page and when dialling a number you can still be on the call list page when the phone is already calling. Or vice versa receiving a call. Takes about 10 attempts to load a Netflix show you get audio no visual. Worst phone I have ever owned.

Purchased in July 2020 for $400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
James
James
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
maurice m.

maurice m.Perth, WA

A Big Disappointment. !

published

Screen kept Flickering and moving .Tried to get right many times. Just kept returning to same problems.
Poor battery life. Screen marked (burns). Very Slow performance. A Big Disappointment .Now Replaced and a bad memory

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $375.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dont bother.

published

The phone was painfully average the entire time I owned it. Accidental touch protection in your face all the time, apps would crash, have small freakouts, the touch screen was average at best. The screen is fragile (Cracked when it fell 3inches onto a tabletop.
And to top the whole awful experience off, during a firmware update it forgot the screen lock pattern. Meaning I had to try to wipe the entire thing, but again that process didn't work as it demanded the pattern just to restart it. Stay away from this money pit.

Purchased in September 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil M.

Phil M.

  • 2 reviews

Worst samsung phone I have every had

published

Camera blinks but does not take photo.
Apps take for every to open and then u wait for it to respond
To make a call u press phone then wait for something to happen. A30 would be the worst samsung phone that i have every had, mite be the last.

Purchased in May 2019 at Southern phones for $429.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very disappointed

published

After using galaxy s range for years I just expected the a30 would have a flashing light to notify you of msgs etc I end up having to go through a process just to check for msgs a big waste of time.
The a30 just seems to do things off it's own back as well. If you're use to the s range steer clear of this phone.

Purchased in May 2020 for $349.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

We do apologise that this feature is not available with your Samsung A30, Justin. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team so we can improve on our products and services.

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tom

TomGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Samsung a30 rubbish

published

Avoid buying this phone. I've had 2 other Samsung phones previously and both have been reasonable. The a30 has too many problems you mention. Even trying to type with the preemptive text is almost impossible. Never buying Samsung phones again.

Purchased in April 2020 for $319.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tom
Tom
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
casa

casaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

huge disappointment

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $325.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Luka G.

Luka G.

  • 5 reviews

Does not meet expectations.

published

We have bought two of these phones.

The first phone's screen has poor sensitivity and often doesn't detect touch (even with setting turned up). We have also found this phone to suffer poor battery life.

The second phone was in the water for about 1 minute (about 30cm depth) and then stopped working. Returned to Harvey Norman, who referred to Samsung. Samsung refused to replace, however the local Harvey Norman store refunded the phone. Seems like there is confusion about whether this phone is water proof or not.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $339.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Georgios

GeorgiosGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Overrated, too slow too react.

published

Overrated, too slow to react, cannot multifunction smoothly. Don't care about the screen nor the camera but battery is great. Was told by a staff member at Good Guys that it's a better phone than the Samsung s7 however most apps take longer to respond, as a matter of fact it appears to react much slower than the s7 in all functionality. I guess you get what you pay for!!!

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $340.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Georgios
Georgios
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DazB

DazBGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

Purchased this phone from office works a few weeks ago. $329 Love it, Big screen, all apps work well.. Probaby prefer it over my work iphone 6. I would recommend it

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $329.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen

HelenSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Nice phone

published

I brought this phone from office works it was a little slow lagging at first but now it's fine it has 32kg of phone memory it also comes with a screen cover and phone cover but no ear phones

Purchased at Office works for $377.00.

Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Disappointing

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Officeworks for $377.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sammstein

sammsteinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

Meh... Very MEH

published

>Very laggy- apps,games, camera etc
>unlocks in my pocket sending random texts, phone calls, even instagram stories! Very very irritating.
> opens apps and randomly scrolls by itself, freezes up all the time, u have to lock and unlock it to gain control of the screen again... Again, very irritating
> not a normal charging port, so u can't use any normal charger like u can with the s8s s9s etc

Had the phone pushed on me by a Vodafone sales person claiming it was as good as the s9, just cheaper...
Pff... It's garbage, I can't wait to get rid of it

Purchased in August 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joan

Joan

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Great phone for Seniors

published

Galaxy A30 great phone , easy to understand and use. Camera great for wide group photographs. Very bright displays and smooth running apps. Cannot fault this phone on price either. Would recommend.

Purchased in November 2019 at Vodafone for $379.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clinton O.

Clinton O.Perth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Great budget phone

published

The phone run very good. It has the same features of other higher end variations of the same brand. NFC, bluetooth, 3 camera flash. The pictures come out clear, the size is very big.The screen is very clear. It has usb type c so has fast charging. Only minor issues are that on speakerphone it is not that loud, but it is passable. The power cord stopped working after 4 months

Purchased in July 2019 at Betta Home Living for $379.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Darrin B.

Darrin B.asked

fingerprint stoped responding on samsung galaxy a30

No answers
Anura W.

Anura W.asked

Why is the Samsung A30 freeze and I cannot even get it to shut ?

2 answers
Samsung
KathSamsung

I'm sorry to hear that this has happened, Anura. Are you able to perform a forced restart to see if your device restarts?

To do this:
https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-restart-my-device-if-it-is-frozen-or-not-responding/

Kath
Samsung AU

yy y.
yy y.

I'm using now.  What I still think is:
1. when get a little wet the phone erre.
2. After locking, put it in to pocket the phone usually unlocks automatically

Anura W.

Anura W.asked

What do I do when the phone is frozen?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hi Anura. We have replied to your same questions here -> https://www.productreview.com.au/questions/652ba375-921f-46bc-9512-4a1e860914b2

Kath
Samsung AU

See all Samsung Galaxy A30 questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $379.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight165 g
Colour / FinishBlack, White
Dimensions 158.5 x 74.7 x 7.7 mm
Body MaterialPlastic
Display
Pixel Density403 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution1080 x 2340 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core (2x1.8 GHz Cortex-A73 & 6x1.6 GHz Cortex-A53)
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Internal Storage32 GB
Memory (RAM)3 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)16MP, 5MP Ultrawide
Front Camera(s)16MP

  • GTIN13: 0613460052740, 8801643925406, 8801643925437, 8801643925451, 8801643925499, 8806090143618, 8806090197222 and 9316423048033
  • GTIN14: 08801643925437 and 08806090158438
  • MPN: 1091005648, 1091005649, SM-A305YZKNXSA and SM-A305YZWNXSA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.