??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy A30

Samsung Galaxy A30 (2019)

MPNs: 1091005648, 1091005649, SM-A305YZKNXSA and SM-A305YZWNXSA
3.0 from 37 reviews

Reviews

3.0

37 reviews
5
(7)
4
(8)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(7)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (32)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (31)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (33)
  • Camera Quality
    3.8 (33)
  • Hardware
    3.1 (32)
  • Software
    3.0 (33)
Previous
Next
Zoe

ZoeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

OK for the price

published

Camera is OK, nothing special. battery duration is fine, can lase on day.

The biggest issues is slow responding and processing. It takes longer to response on a click to open a link.

Also the sensitivity of fingerprint scanning is very low. I tried several times and still can't get my thumb registered. Luckily I got my index finger registered.

Purchased in May 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Mandy

MandyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Very dissapointed

published

The phone is very slow responding in all aspects. Taking a photo seem to take forever, by the time you take a photo and want to take another there is a huge lag time. While in an app and you press the back button it is very slow responding. The touch screen isn't very sensitive, most times having to touch it a few times to get it to respond. While in an app and the phone rings I can never answer the phone...very frustrating. The predictatext is appalling. I would not recommend this phone.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
James

JamesFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terribly slow and annoying phone

published

The phone is so slow. It can't keep up with the user. Takes forever to load a page and when dialling a number you can still be on the call list page when the phone is already calling. Or vice versa receiving a call. Takes about 10 attempts to load a Netflix show you get audio no visual. Worst phone I have ever owned.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$400.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
James
James
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
maurice m.

maurice m.Perth, WA

A Big Disappointment. !

published

Screen kept Flickering and moving .Tried to get right many times. Just kept returning to same problems.
Poor battery life. Screen marked (burns). Very Slow performance. A Big Disappointment .Now Replaced and a bad memory

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hifi Home for A$375.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Dont bother.

published

The phone was painfully average the entire time I owned it. Accidental touch protection in your face all the time, apps would crash, have small freakouts, the touch screen was average at best. The screen is fragile (Cracked when it fell 3inches onto a tabletop.
And to top the whole awful experience off, during a firmware update it forgot the screen lock pattern. Meaning I had to try to wipe the entire thing, but again that process didn't work as it demanded the pattern just to restart it. Stay away from this money pit.

Purchased in September 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Samsung
KathSamsung
Phil M.

Phil M.

  • 2 reviews

Worst samsung phone I have every had

published

Camera blinks but does not take photo.
Apps take for every to open and then u wait for it to respond
To make a call u press phone then wait for something to happen. A30 would be the worst samsung phone that i have every had, mite be the last.

Purchased in May 2019 at Southern phones for A$429.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Very disappointed

published

After using galaxy s range for years I just expected the a30 would have a flashing light to notify you of msgs etc I end up having to go through a process just to check for msgs a big waste of time.
The a30 just seems to do things off it's own back as well. If you're use to the s range steer clear of this phone.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$349.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

We do apologise that this feature is not available with your Samsung A30, Justin. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team so we can improve on our products and services.

Kath
Samsung AU

Tom

TomGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Samsung a30 rubbish

published

Avoid buying this phone. I've had 2 other Samsung phones previously and both have been reasonable. The a30 has too many problems you mention. Even trying to type with the preemptive text is almost impossible. Never buying Samsung phones again.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$319.00.

Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tom
Tom
casa

casaSouth East Queensland, QLD

huge disappointment

published

Purchased in July 2019 for A$325.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luka G.

Luka G.

  • 5 reviews

Does not meet expectations.

published

We have bought two of these phones.

The first phone's screen has poor sensitivity and often doesn't detect touch (even with setting turned up). We have also found this phone to suffer poor battery life.

The second phone was in the water for about 1 minute (about 30cm depth) and then stopped working. Returned to Harvey Norman, who referred to Samsung. Samsung refused to replace, however the local Harvey Norman store refunded the phone. Seems like there is confusion about whether this phone is water proof or not.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$339.00.

Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Georgios

GeorgiosGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Overrated, too slow too react.

published

Overrated, too slow to react, cannot multifunction smoothly. Don't care about the screen nor the camera but battery is great. Was told by a staff member at Good Guys that it's a better phone than the Samsung s7 however most apps take longer to respond, as a matter of fact it appears to react much slower than the s7 in all functionality. I guess you get what you pay for!!!

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$340.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
3 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Georgios
Georgios
Samsung
MickSamsung
DazB

DazBGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

Purchased this phone from office works a few weeks ago. $329 Love it, Big screen, all apps work well.. Probaby prefer it over my work iphone 6. I would recommend it

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for A$329.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Helen

HelenSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Nice phone

published

I brought this phone from office works it was a little slow lagging at first but now it's fine it has 32kg of phone memory it also comes with a screen cover and phone cover but no ear phones

Purchased at Office works for A$377.00.

Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Disappointing

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Officeworks for A$377.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
sammstein

sammsteinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Meh... Very MEH

published

>Very laggy- apps,games, camera etc
>unlocks in my pocket sending random texts, phone calls, even instagram stories! Very very irritating.
> opens apps and randomly scrolls by itself, freezes up all the time, u have to lock and unlock it to gain control of the screen again... Again, very irritating
> not a normal charging port, so u can't use any normal charger like u can with the s8s s9s etc

Had the phone pushed on me by a Vodafone sales person claiming it was as good as the s9, just cheaper...
Pff... It's garbage, I can't wait to get rid of it

Purchased in August 2019 at Vodafone.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A30 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joan

Joan

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great phone for Seniors

published

Galaxy A30 great phone , easy to understand and use. Camera great for wide group photographs. Very bright displays and smooth running apps. Cannot fault this phone on price either. Would recommend.

Purchased in November 2019 at Vodafone for A$379.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Clinton O.

Clinton O.Perth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great budget phone

published

The phone run very good. It has the same features of other higher end variations of the same brand. NFC, bluetooth, 3 camera flash. The pictures come out clear, the size is very big.The screen is very clear. It has usb type c so has fast charging. Only minor issues are that on speakerphone it is not that loud, but it is passable. The power cord stopped working after 4 months

Purchased in July 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$379.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
jesse r.

jesse r.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Does the job....just

published

For $300 I guess i can't expect much. The phone works. However it is very laggy in pretty much every aspect....even the camera lags. If you dont use many apps or widgets I'm sure this phone. However if your like me. This phone is too slow....bought AS an interim phone untill my plan on my smashed note 9 runs out

Purchased in December 2019 at Target Australia for A$299.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Arslan

ArslanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Suprisingly good display

published

Started using this phone a few months ago at work. Didnt expect that from a phone of that price. Very good display, a bit slow but do the job. Happy overall with the product

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Hoang

HoangSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

It's not bad and does the job.

published

Phone overall is ok and represents great value for money. It is however quite slows with multi-tasking or to even start up the camera. Auto-rotate function is also quite slow. Ok for the price but might be worth going A50 instead.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$315.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Anura W.

Anura W.asked

Why is the Samsung A30 freeze and I cannot even get it to shut ?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

I'm sorry to hear that this has happened, Anura. Are you able to perform a forced restart to see if your device restarts?

To do this:
https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-restart-my-device-if-it-is-frozen-or-not-responding/

Kath
Samsung AU

Anura W.

Anura W.asked

What do I do when the phone is frozen?

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hi Anura. We have replied to your same questions here -> https://www.productreview.com.au/questions/652ba375-921f-46bc-9512-4a1e860914b2

Kath
Samsung AU

Phil M.

Phil M.asked

I have just read though the reviews and it seems that the same problems are with most of the A30 phone. My review was just a brief one as there are a lot more problems that i did not mentioned, with the same problems happening why don't you do something about them as it seems that a lot of us are long time samsung customers and by fixing them you my keep us or if the A30 is so bad offer us a deal to replace them.

1 answer
Samsung
MickSamsung

I’m sorry if we haven’t been able to meet your expectations Phil but we’d be more than happy to investigate further into this. You can contact us via Product Reviews private message system but our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information.

> m.me/SamsungAustralia

Mick
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.