?
? !
1 photo
Samsung Galaxy A71

Samsung Galaxy A71 (2020)

5G, 4G
3.4 from 24 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.0 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (19)
  • Software
    4.1 (17)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (18)
  • Camera Quality
    4.0 (18)
  • Hardware
    3.7 (18)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Wilma

WilmaMid West, WA

Do not buy if you like taking photos

published

Battery life is average, lasts me 24 hours depending on how often I use it. The camera is absolute rubbish! Do not buy this phone if you like taking photos

Purchased in January 2021 at The Good Guys for $650.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chris

chrisSydney, NSW

Bad quality phone

published

It was my first Samsung phone, and so regret I bought it. It started to show some problem after 6 months- couldn't answer the phone, phone get frozen sometime, and now phone is completely dead after less a year purchase , it has 'No Charge ' problem. A lot of trouble with this phone, I am so regret it.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Webby

WebbyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible disappointment. Intermittent fault during phone calls

published

I'd give it zero if that was possible, but had to give one star because there is nothing lower.
I have had issues where the phone goes dead during a mobile call for about 2-3 seconds intermittently. The call doesn't drop out, just the sound, from both ends. I have returned it to Samsung twice in the past 6 weeks. They said they replaced the "board" in the phone, but the problem is still there - worse if anything. I'm taking it back tomorrow for the third time!!! Never again will I buy Samsung.

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $899.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A71 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bambillow No

Bambillow NoRotorua

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok, nothing more.

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Behrang V.

Behrang V.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money, worst Samsung Phone I ever had

published

It was my 4th Samsung galaxy phone, compared it's specification with S20 and decided to buy A71.
Such a big mistake, the phone quality is not even close, after 6 months, the phone shutdown itself, took it to Samsung and they found a scratch on the camera and void the warranty. Don't buy A71

Purchased in July 2020 for $650.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Cannot preset the phone to turn off automatically

published

CAN'T set the phone to turn off at a preset time at night. Simple setting, can't understand why it's not on this phone which is not cheap. Miss my OPPO

Purchased in December 2020 for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published

I bought the a71 after reading many reviews and researching the phone, exactly a month after buying it, it became unresponsive and I had to return it, within the month that I had use of it, it constantly played up, apps regularly crashed, most of the apps features didn’t work correctly, screen would randomly freeze and become unresponsive, some of the features in the settings didn’t work and many other problems. I will never buy another Samsung phone after this expensive, time consuming and inconvenient experience, DON’T BUY THIS PHONE.

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $750.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Narayan J.

Narayan J.

  • 2 reviews

Extremely happy with this phone

published

Moved from iphone 6s to this phone in search of bigger screen and very happy with screen size, performance, speed etc. Only drawback I thought was charging cable which is USB-C both end, therefore one needs to use an adaptor USB-C to USB so that it can be charged in the car/laptop vis USB plug. Overall very happy after buying it from JB HIFI. Another trouble I had was moving data from iphone whatsapp to Android whatsapp as SmartSwitch does not work for whatsapp.

Purchased in December 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $700.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Queenie

QueenieSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The 5G does not have a Dual Sim

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Officeworks Online store for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A71 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mrcurly W.

Mrcurly W.

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

A71 - so far, flawless.

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jakop Reynolds

Jakop ReynoldsSydney, NSW

The phone is slow pictures come out even crappier. Over all battery sucks.

published

The phone battery dies quiet. Slow charging not so good of pictures to blurry. Could use a bettr core processor. The apps run slow and glitch. I'm not satisfied with this phone.

Purchased in October 2020 for $600.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gordon F

Gordon F

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Sorry I'm finding it a disappointment - I regret my purchase

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick

NickSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brilliant handset from Samsung

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Samsung Education Store for $448.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon

SimonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's a good phone

published

I really like this phone after having the higher end Galaxy models despite having less features. Everything works as expected but the biggest and most annoying flaw I've noticed would be the volume and power buttons being so close together. Trying to adjust volume conveniently isn't that great and the countless accidental screen shots.

Purchased in October 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thank you for your review, Simon! :)

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kathryn13

Kathryn13South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

From Samsung S8+ to the A71 5G

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Officeworks Online store for $699.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A71 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris C.

Chris C.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Just as good as more expensive versions.

published

Just recently got this phone, and for my purposes it is as good as the more expensive versions. The functionality as far as I can see is much the same as my Samsung A9. I am retired and would recommend this to anyone who doesn't need all the bells & whistles.

Purchased in October 2020 at Amazon for $645.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

danmurphy82

danmurphy82Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant mid-tier handset

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Samsung Online store for $628.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We really appreciate the 5 star review! If there is anything we can assist you with please do let us know :)

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ztt

zttGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great phone CHEAP screen

published

While sitting down the phone slipped out if my pocket and fell onto the tiles.
Big crack across the screen.
I can understand if it fell from half a meter...but from something simple like this.
SAMSUNG below par quality is an understatement.
Going back to xiaomi for sure after this. At third of the price.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Terry

TerryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great phone

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Officeworks for $689.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Terry, thank you for the feedback you have provided on the A71! It is much appreciated. If any questions arise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Ada
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stevey B.

Stevey B.

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Best phone for under a grand, insane cameras, amazing screen, music sounds great with beats and can handle 99% of games (if you're into that) lasts a few days on charge and has "super fast changing" 128gb of space is nice and can't complain with 6gb ram.

Purchased in June 2020 at Samsung.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Joy D.

Joy D.asked

Galaxy A71 (2020)

Can this phone be used on 4G network as well as 5G. Does the performance differ?

No answers
Nancemeister

Nancemeisterasked

Galaxy A71 (2020)

I am disappointed in my a71 as the flash notification is not satisfactory to me. I had an s5 which flashes a blue dot continuously until you have actually looked at message. I can’t for the life of me work out how to do that on my A71. I don’t like it when the light disappears and you don’t know you have a message. What am I doing wrong or is this normal. I’ve got it set to flash back and front but that’s all it does. Frustrating when I don’t know I have a message.

8 answers
Gordon F
Gordon F

Hi yes unfortunately the A71 has a mind of it's own any many problems. If its under warranty take it to Samsung to see if they can help. But again I haven't had much luck with customer service either. Sorry no good news but the A71 is a terrible phone.

Jakop Reynolds
Jakop Reynolds

samsung is a great brand and all but the A71 was shitty as fuck

Gordon F
Gordon F

Agree in full. I regret buying mine. But now I will not touch Samsung again...Customer service is as bad as there A71

darc

darcasked

Galaxy A71 5G (2020)

Is there an Aus version of the A71 5G with duel sim ?

No answers
See all Samsung Galaxy A71 (2020) questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung Galaxy A71 (2020)

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy A71 (2020)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $899.00$749.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, 5G Network Compatible and Expandable Storage3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight179 g179 g
Colour / FinishBlackBlack
Dimensions 163.6 x 76 x 7.7 mm163.6 x 76 x 7.7 mm
Body MaterialPlasticPlastic
Display
Pixel Density393 ppi393 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 6.7"6.7"
Screen Resolution1080 x 2400 pixels1080 x 2400 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetExynos 980Exynos 980
CPU Octa-core (2x2.2 GHz Cortex-A77 & 6x1.8 GHz Cortex A55)Octa-core (2x2.2 GHz Cortex-A77 & 6x1.8 GHz Cortex A55)
GPU Mali-G76 MP5Mali-G76 MP5
Battery Size4,500 mAh4,500 mAh
Internal Storage128 GB128 GB
Memory (RAM)8 GB6 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)64 MP Wide, 12 MP Ultrawide, 5MP Macro, 5MP Depth64 MP Wide, 12 MP Ultrawide, 5MP Macro, 5MP Depth
Front Camera(s)32 MP Wide32 MP Wide
Release dateJan 2020Jan 2020
Compare both Samsung Galaxy A71 (2020)

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 08806090379406
  • MPN: 1091006439, SM-A715FZKDXSA and SS-A715FD-128-PK
  • GTIN13: 8806090253911, 8806090276392, 8806090276507, 8806090379406, 8806090379437 and 8806090396175

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.