??!
6 photos
Samsung Gear S3

Samsung Gear S3

Frontier, Classic
4.2 from 224 reviews

Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of smart watch / fitness tracker would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

224 reviews
5
(102)
4
(94)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(9)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (12)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (12)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (12)
Previous
Next
Shannon H.

Shannon H.

  • 5 reviews

Great Watch, Changed my life

published

Great watch, Have had it for 2 years and no real issues
comfortable rubber band on it
light weight so barely able to notice it
love that you can do everything from take calls to receive messages and reply
The voice recognition system on it is great, not as good as a phone.
can get LOTS of features with it and face watches for both free and app purchases

Purchased in March 2018 at Vodafone for A$480.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Kevin S.

Kevin S.Sydney, NSW

Accused of damaging watch, on 4th repair within a warranty period.

published

The first and second repairs were due to the short battery life, they couldn't do it right the first time so it had to be done again, the 3rd time was due to the system crashing. The 4th time I put the watch for repair, because the system crashed again, however the repair centre informed me/accused that I had created a hole the size of a pinhole through the back of my watch, which lead to water damage (did not tell me how ). I also went to the department of fair trade, to no avail. All this happened within the warranty period.
Poor and inconsistent service much like the watch. Not happy to recommend a samsung service or their product again.

Purchased in April 2018 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Shane

ShaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

I'm loving this but their are glaring problems.

published

Brilliant, but it still relies on your mobile to be on. This is meant to be a stand alone device. I can only assume that didnt' work for Telstra and Optus, so they tether them to something they can actually charge money for... a $1400 phone. Not good enough.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$44,980.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear S3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan. L.

Dan. L.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Good build quality, lacking some features.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$298.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Alan B

Alan BGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Bad battery life

published

The S3 is a great watch with all the usual features, but mine is now 12 months old and needs to be charged every night compared to every third when new.

Purchased in November 2018 at Samsung Physical store for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
joyalsaju28

joyalsaju28Southwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Smartwatch!

published

Not the easiest set up but once done at the start, the watch is really good. Premium box and accessories also included. The watch is really nice looking but kind of big. Heaps of apps and downloadable programs which make it really good in the customization area. A bit on the heavier side but its still fine to wear. Easy to get around to the apps and all. Overall a great watch!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Joy S.

Joy S.Southwest, VIC

Decent Smartwatch.

published

Good Smartwatch. Really easy to navigate and good software. Can customize really well. The Smartwatch is rather big but the watch has a really good performance. Heaps of apps also available from the app for games etc. Worth the money but not for kids as the face is quite large!

Nissa R.

Nissa R.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

I do not leave home without it.

published

I was lucky enough to be gifted this watch when it was first released but now in having used it for the past couple of years, I would have been more than happy to purchase it. Wearing it everyday to my job as a Fitness trainer, it still looks brand new and I cannot live without it.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Greg N.

Greg N.Murray Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

A watch to do it all.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Kogan.com for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear S3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ddreaming

ddreamingGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 16 reviews

So far so good

published

I have purchased 2 of these watches and so far they are working well. My husband's was to replace a Fitbit Blaze and he loves that it does the same things but so much more. The only difference being that he would wear his fitbit to bed to track his sleep but the Samsung is too bulky. I have to admit I'm happy about that as the fitbit flashed all night!
My son uses the most functions on his and loves the fact that he can customize the face and also pay with it.

The watches are very sturdy and screen protectors can be purchased online for a reasonable price (third party). Battery life seems good.
Purchased both heavily discounted - not sure if I would pay the full rrp.

Purchased in June 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Scotty74

Scotty74South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Absolutely Love It

published

I have had this watch for 2 years now, it is great and can be paired with any smart phone, including apple. Strange I know, the only issue is you can’t access some of the functions such as Samsung pay when paired with a different brand smart phone.

Purchased in March 2017 at Kogan.com for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
robin

robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews

Decent watch but lacks some features compared to Android watches

published

I love the watch, but i wish it had google assistant in it in stead of svoice from samsung. Svoice is quite useless. but over all it is a solid watch with good features and health tracking, i would recommend it :)

Purchased in November 2018 for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
Unhappy

UnhappySydney, NSW

Samsung wont repair my S# Frontier

published

Purchased my Samsung in April 07 so my watch is out of warranty. It has started to lock up and die. For no apparent reason it starts up and works for approximately one hour. It is fully charged. I have lost the receipt and Samsung won't repair my watch without it. I have an expensive watch collection and i am never been asked to prove they are my property when they are serviced. What an appalling service when I'm happy to pay for the repair but they refuse.
I'm I expected to throw it away, what a disgrace, don't buy one!
Imagine if you purchased a Samsung in the same circumstance!

Purchased in April 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Unhappy
Unhappy

Jo, I don’t use Facebook or the messenger app, what other means do you provide for contact?

John .T

John .TNorth Queensland, QLD

Good watch, poor Samsung service

published

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$300.00.

1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
LakesideComputers

LakesideComputersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 35 reviews

Wear it daily fantastic device

published

Great product, have had it close to 2 years now and wear it everyday, apart from the wheel bezel starting to get little grippy, i have had no problems. its great with music and notifications, Samsung offers a variety of applications and themes so that you never get sick of the watch face.

Purchased in December 2017.

Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear S3 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James J

James JFar North Queensland, QLD

Don’t Update Software

published

Worked great for 2 weeks but then I made the mistake of updating the software when I was prompted. It used to have around 50% battery remaining at the end of the day - with all features being used and watch face always on. Since the update it struggles to make it to lunch time - and that is after I turned off the watch face, health and everything else that might be draining the battery. I loved the look of the S3 and was happy with the limited functionality with the IPhone, but looks like I will have to make the move to Apple Watch.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for A$295.00.

3 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
James J
James J
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Arno R.

Arno R.

  • 7 reviews

Better than the Apple Watch

published

I have had the Huawei Watch 1, then changed to an Iphone and got the Apple Watch 2nd series. All I can say is that the Samsung trumps these watches. It looks awesome and has so many features. The beauty of this watch and similar watches is the flexibility in changing things such as the straps, apps and watch faces. Something which is limited on the Apple Watch. I highly recommend this watch

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$269.00.

James T

James TGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fragile as egg shells

published

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$300.00.

2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
James T
James T
Bhuwan

BhuwanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Best I've ever used

published

I've been using it everyday and its very nice. I even use it while swimming and there's no any problem at all. Thanks samsung for making this wonderful smart watch.

Purchased in November 2018 at Samsung Online store for A$299.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ronny

RonnyIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great looking watch but not worth

published

Bought this as a gift for my brother. Overall he is very happy with it. It looks great and has many features. There are many faces to choose from. The rotating bezel is a smart design by Samsung. However, the battery life is pretty average. Need to charge it almost everyday.

Purchased in September 2018.

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Heather B.

Heather B.asked

Gear S3 Frontier

can you make calls on this one

1 answer

Yes! Provided you are connected via bluetooth to a phone with a SIM card. You are able to make, answer and receive calls, as the watch is equipted with a microphone and speaker

James T

James Tasked

Gear S3

Hi Folks,
Anyone considering buying this watch should not buy it. It is touted as a fitness watch for active people, yet it is super fragile. The back glass has cracked on mine and i dont even wear it outdoors. In less than a month after receiving it as a gift i felt a harsh scratching on my wrist and there i discovered its glass is smashed..... I never dropped it or mishandled it. it is super fragile. Buy a real outdoor watch perhaps an apple. Samsung wont fix and the youngster at JB HiFi was quick to accuse me of dropping it. Its cracks eminate from the two charging point on the rear, so check yours if you have one, other than that it looks great as a bedside table alarm clock.

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi James, we'd be more than happy to look into this for you. Would you be able to provide me with your contact details and any reference numbers to our Facebook via the link below?

Please ensure to copy and paste your enquiry in a private message to us.

> m.me/SamsungAustralia

Jo
Samsung AU

Sez

Sezasked

Gear S3 Frontier

Hi, is the Samsung Gear S3 watch compatible with Oppo phones?

4 answers
Sean
Sean

Hi Sez,

I think as long as you download the Samsung watch app it should be OK. The watch is even compatible with IOS so it should be compatible with other Android devices.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi Sez, unfortunately Oppo is not a compatible device for the Gear S3 - Here is a link to the listed devices that are compatible https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/gear-s3-compatible-android-devices/

Philip
Samsung Australia

James T
James T

Before you buy, if you want to use it as an outdoor watch for activities, perhaps look elsewhere. The glass back is super fragile and subject to cracking and cutting you. Mine is less than a month old and it has cracked where the charging diodes are...... so consider other options or buy the real rugged one.

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.