1 photo
Sharp R890EST

Sharp R890EST

MPN: R890EST
2.5 from 10 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Microwaves in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Sharp

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Shawn
ShawnHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Terrible Convection and Grilling Function

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Winning Appliances NSW, Newcastle for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Not what I expected from Sharp

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Wales
WalesAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Biggest Ornament in my Kitchen

published

Useless at best. Convection only mildly warms food...it certainly doesn't cook it.
My old convection microwave would cook my pizzas in about 10 - 12 minutes, I tried cooking the same pizzas in this useless ornament and after about 40 minutes the cheese was only just melting.
My advise....run out before you buy this useless thing called a convection microwave...shame on you SHARP.

Purchased in January 2020 for $352.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890EST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MrsC
MrsCAU
  • 46 reviews
  • 45 likes

Worst microwave I've ever owned

published

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for $440.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SLK
SLKSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Convection Oven Not Heating to Specification

published

I bought a new SharpR890EST and used the convection oven 3times. With cooking times above 30 minutes, it failed to reach the 230c set temperature all 3times. Based on the temperature gauge, it only reached upto 180c. I now have a new convection oven that cannot reach its stated temperature. I'll be contacting Sharp for a resolution shortly.

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Owen
OwenSouth East Queensland, QLD

A capable microwave, but...

published

This unit does everything we need it to do, however we are surprised and disappointed that the bulb blew after just over a year of infrequent use. An online search for a replacement revealed a price of $44.00 plus postage! This could turn out to be a very expensive investment if this is a typical lifespan. Considering the expected longevity of LED bulbs, this is certainly 'not up to scratch'.

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for $364.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
stumpjumper
stumpjumperAU
  • 4 reviews

Convection oven is more like a convection refrigerator

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jackie
JackieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good microwave but oven is average

published

Good for reheating and steaming quickly. Oven function is ok but food wasn’t as browned as normal oven roasting. Panel is easy to use and clean. Bought it on sale with minor scratches for $200 so value was reasonable.

Purchased in November 2019 at Home Clearance for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Adrian
AdrianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic Microwave Convention Oven

published

This Sharp Microwave Convention inververter Oven is Great it heats food quick and when using the Convention oven heats up to temperature really quickly.I have cooked Cakes, Pizzas,Apple pies, Lasagnas pretty munch anything and perfect every time.Also love the grilling option and Convention combine cooking great for pizza ect. I would recommend this microwave Convention oven it is fantastic great product . Also the touch pad and controls is so easy to use very self explanatory

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Adrian, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged.

Adrian
Adrian
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890EST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aldrich
AldrichWILCHERRY
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Please don't hesitate. This microwave oven is worth it!

published

We tried Woolworth’s frozen 125g Apple Pies at 175° for 30-minute cooking time. This time we just added five minutes for pre-heat and the pies were perfect.
I'm very happy with the control software for this microwave oven, and more than that, it's very uniform when you heat food, just like the delicious food you've just made.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Aldrich, Thank you for providing feedback. It is great that you enjoy using the microwave. Have a good day.

See all Sharp R890 reviews

Questions & Answers

Margaret
Margaretasked
R890EST

How do I get good roast vegetables in my R890est which just does not roast.
Margaret

No answers
gbrownie
gbrownieasked
R890EST

I’ve got this microwave and considering returning it, we replaced a sharp that died after years of good use. It would heat a cup of milk within 1minute (1200w inverter)
This 1100w convection/ inverter takes a good 2m30s to heat that same cup of milk
What on earth am I doing wrong?
We also have meal prep lunches that used to cook within 1m30s now we put in for 2m30sec and the center of the food is cold
Have we got a dud?
We are just using the basic microwave functions none of the bells and whistles

No answers
Darryl cowie
Darryl cowieasked
R890EST

How much clearance do need in a cabinet for this microwave

2 answers
Darryl cowie
Darryl cowie

How much clearance do need for the sharp R890est convection microwave

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Darryl, thank you for contacting us. Please find below the information as per the operational manual.
For R-890E(W)/(ST)/(BS): Allow a space of at least 40cm on the top, 5cm on both sides and at the rear of the
oven for adequate air circulation.
When installing in a cabinet, the minimum inside dimension of the cabinet should be 620mm(W) x 715mm(H) x 560mm(D).

See all Sharp R890 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R890EST

Details

Compare all 5 Sharp R890
CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $449.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function and Inverter
Dimensions 315 x 520 x 510 mm
Turntable Diameter315 mm
Door MechanismPush Release
Power1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Release dateJuly 2008
Compare all 5 Sharp R890
Visit official website
  • MPN: R890EST

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.